(2011/05) May 2011

hi mummies, i think my #1 kena HFMD. what should i look out for during taking care of her? she dun want to eat and drink. dunno what to do... kept whinning and whinning... already packed and sent my #2 to my mom's hse liao. tomolo going to see doc.

Twinkle: I remember a mummy mention in fb said that can let her eat ice cream to sooth her ulcer n I think also can prevent her from dehydration or sth..

Good night mummies! It's been some time since I logged on here. Things are ramping up at work and there are days when I don't see the sun at all! Lunch, also in a meeting. So envious of the SAHMs... It's a depressing Sunday night, dreading the Monday rush.

I think I'm having some split personality. Dive into back to back meetings one day and suddenly become a mummy to my boi the next day. Also very forgetful nowadays and feeling quite disjointed from reality. Just the other day, don't know for what reason I just left and went back to my desk when actually the meeting wasn't really done. I was so paiseh when colleagues started asking me why I left so suddenly. Gosh... Anyone having these symptoms?

WT are u stressed up my dear? Relax...try to think positive ya?

Sunflower: yea I feel really lucky too. Me n my hb made a pack to have a day off and a movie/dinner night off after my girl turned 3 mths.. Need the couple time to maintain r/s...

Happy Monday mummies! Look fwd to the mid week holiday!!

The Halloween party was fun and it was great catching up with all the mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we should do any party soon!.. hehehe

bunnymum, is your bb better? suggest u stop the cereal for at least a week to 2 weeks before starting. DUn cont if he has rashes. Anyway it should be the cereal that he is allergic too, should not be the milk cos he has been taking this same milk all along right?

actually u dun need to mix the cereal with milk, can just mix with plain water.

SYlvia is good to be a young mom! i am a "old" mom leh.. no really no energy to look after my 2 gers!! xuanmin was asking me if i want #3.. i told her she is mad!>. hahahahaha

twinkle yes, keep washing your hands and keep #1 away from #2. Give #1 ice cream, if she cannot stomach any food.

Take care and hope she gets well soon.

re: halloween

it sure does looks fun! plus all de dressed up babies n mummies makes de pic look even nicer! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower, glad u like it.. i love mine too!! hahah besides steaming for bb, i steam corn for myself too, super yummy when u add butter to the steam kernals!

Did u come for the party? i am having a hard time matching mummies with nick in here now.

Good morning, it is Monday again. I still have no progress with my company’s maternity claims. Damned pissed with them! It is employee entitlement – what’s wrong with these people.

WT: are you under sleep? Lack of sleep can make one disorientated and forgetful.

Twinkle: Very xingu to have HDFM. Have to monitor her fever closely. Can also try porridge water if she got no appetite. Adults can also get it when immunity is low so you remember to pop vitamins too.

Deon: Sounds like your maid is progressing well. I have to train my maid to help out more. She is very good in pretending to be busy. Can take whole afternoon to prepare dinner but when we bring her out, she only need 1hr to do everything.

Good morning Mummies~!

Saw a few mummies talking about the avent steamer + blender. i tried it yesterday and must say that it is easy to use and its great!

Yesterday i tried making carrot puree and tried to upload the pic here but got difficulties leh. What i did was to steam the carrot for 15 mins and blend it for 1-2 min. And da la... carrot puree out! i mixed it with the rice cereal and milk powder and smell so nice!

I kept the remaining and freeze it and bring it to my MIL's house so that my bb can have it for the rest of the week! its really fun to make something for the bb! so excited to try other food. Will let my bb take carrot for 2 weeks and i will proceed to the next food!

Think i will not intro porridge so fast. seems this is easier than porridge!! *lazy mummy here.. hee

Hi Starfruit,

thanks! i will stop baby for 2 weeks to clear his rashes. I don't know why these 2 nights he sleep halfway and will throw up quite a pile of water on the pillow.

wow you gals are so fast.what have you used the steamer for?

Little Fly, saw your msg and realise that i haven got mine too! called them up and told me require more doc.. sian... oversea insurance very troublesome!

Thanks for all your concern! I do have lack of sleep, but I was all along keeping late hours before BB came along. I guess age plays a part as well...

2ww: you can try to reszie the pic using Microsoft Office Picture Manager> Edit pictures> Compress Pictures > Compress for Web pages to get it under 50KB requirement.

Your bb so fast 6mths? Wonder if i should start my bb earlier... The carrot puree sounds yummy already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I went retail therapy just now and bought goodies bag items for my #1's classmates when I don't even know if the school will organize Xmas party or not!

V: Good that both you and your hb are very appreciative towards each other. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think it takes one to find one.

Hello mummies, it is Monday again! but am looking forward to the mid week break!! hehe...

The forum thread really move v fast, sometimes really miss out alot of thg :p

Nina: Thanks for teaching e method of using lemon to descale sterlizer, i will try it out later =)

Mickyboy: I just sent u the pictures, sorry i miss out ur email :p

Deon: ehh... i dun dare to take bb out by my own... haha... i would prefer to have Dec gathering, cos my company will shut down for more than a week on e last week of e yr XD

Little Fly: yea, I also stay in SK!! and my comp also want us to clear leave on e last 2 week of e yr, maybe we working in e same comp, haha...

Bunnymum: how is ur bb now? u bring him to see doc already?

V: If ur gal can swallow well, I think can slowly incream e amt of cereal, or add in vegi / fruit puree..

wah, really envy u and ur hb, me and my hb long time nvr have couple time ler...

Avent blender: I also cant wait to buy mine and make puree for my bb!! hehe..

baby cube: any mummy bought already? I still dun know where shld i get it, hmm...

starfruit: cook fruit nid to re-warm again b4 serve to bb? or can serve with room temp?

Mimosa, i usually warm it a bit (after taking out from fridge cos i freeze enuff for 1 week) before serving to bb.

Not good to give cold or room temp fruit puree lah.

Little Fly: retail therapy again!!! haha.. luckily i only have one kid now.. else i will be shopping everyday. I sinned again over the weekend when my hb went for soccer... hee hee.

Yup, my bb is a premmie. Originally is a mid may bb then who knows it popped out in April so yes she is officially 6 months old! I must really say the carrot puree smells v nice though i dont dare to taste it!

goodie idea leh.. Mimosa and little fly can share a cab and come join Deon's gathering. so nice to see mummies with bb!

Im not using baby cube but i know some mummies say its v good coz the cube is small and the portion just right. Im using the Avent cup. a bit big but since i bought that, couldnt be buying the baby cube rite? unless.... Little fly tempt me again!!! **nono, must be resistant!!!

Yup, for me, i ask my MILk to warm up the carrot puree before adding it to the rice cereal. Else the rice cereal will be cold..

V: Thanks. I will. I stay at Jurong dun have the shops u mention. Now waiting for next week for 30% off gmarket coupon then buy.

mimosa: I bought my baby cubes from gmarket. Can apply ecoupon somemore.

2ww: Sat I tried steaming carrot on the avent steamer cum blemder and 1 hour its still as hard as rock even though I cut in very small pcs. Dunno wats wrong. Then my mum says must also cook in water but I wan to retain the nutrients leh.

Mummies.. I'm on two days Childcare mc, #1 is having stomach flu since Sun, had high fever, vomited n diarrhea a few times a day! He has lost 0.5kg alrd, how I wish I'm the one who lost the weight! Sigh.. Very heart pain seeing him vomit n diarrhea like this.. Fever is getting better today le..

Being a working mum is really tiring. Today still need to work fr hm. Pumping while working when boy was taking nap just now.. I feel so stressed rushing for sth for tmr, aih... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jenny: icic [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] need how long to get e coupon? Thanks so much for the tip, my bb slowly getting better thou his voice not v good yet. Hee thanks for the link on bb cubes too, I got the 40ml cubes n got $2 discount when I confirmed email during registration n still have a $1 coupon for new members [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

V: yeh correct, feed bb with usual milk abt half feed den intro abit of cereal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] den for increase in amt will have to follow bb's cues. For me I use spoon for fm to gauge amt tt bb is eating n mix milk till watery. My pd told me gradually increase cereal so that it replaces one feed before increasing frequency [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa, I didn't leh. Mil n hubby kept saying bb is ok, playing and all.. But I suspect his digestion not well cos his fart v smelly again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Twinkle: u can try give ur kid cold water at least it will soothe e ulcers n keep her hydrated... She surely will get cranky, hence must b patience n tolerant... Hope she will recover fast.. U take care aso...

2ww, dont give bb so many days of carrots... later bb will look very yellow ... other foods r ok to give 2 weeks...

2ww, u blend for so long?

jenny, did u close the lid tightly where u pour the water in for steam? if no, the steam will escape from there instead of steaming the veg.

i will also add some water onto the carrots to steam at same time... there will b alot of water in the veg after the steaming...i pour out, then blend for a few sec ... i will use the remain water to mix wz cereal ...so bb will stil take all the nutrients ...

morning mummies, thanks for your advise and regards.

yah, now her latest favourite food is ICE-CREAM & cool RIBENA. The day before is COLD MILK and water.

she seems hungry, requested for a hot dog bread. but when have the first bite, she said mouth pain and cast the bread one side.

poor girl.

twinkle, give her cold stuff, yogurt, bread soak in cold milk,or even mushy cereals soak with cold milk. Easier to eat than bread. speedy recovery to your ger.

sunflower, yes i steam enuff for 1 week and i store in the baby cubes and freeze, every meal, will take 1 down to defrost and warm in a bowl of hot water.

Jenny, for carrots, u need to steam for quite a while, u can read from the instruction manual, i think at least 40mins right? and yes close the lid tight like what Ling mentions.

Good Morning Mummies, I have lost track of the thread..

Can someone update me who is keen on the gathering on 12 Nov at Northpoint ? We meet at 11am, Swensen's ok ?

Ok then I go reserve seats ?

Thank you all so much !!

Auditors are here... Scary.

Starfruit: what size of the baby cube u think i shld get? and how many piece would be enough for 1 week? Thanks for ur advice in advanced =)

LittleFly - My helper is doing okay but she is the very smart kind and money motivated.. She knows how to dig dig our family background. Feel very scared..

Jenny: Thanks for the link =) wah, must log in everyday for 30 days then can get e 30% disc coupon ah? huh... i dun know whether i shld wait le, haha....

The baby cube is more exp in Gmarket wor, $17, babyonline is $14.90, but not sure whether they charge for delivery or not...

i warm the carrot using warmer. but my mil told me she put hot water to warm it. but she find it not hot enough and use a pan, pour the puree in the pan and "pan fried" it for a while. OMG! no choice!

but then hor, i only steam the carrot for 15mins and the carrot is soft and smell so nice! i diced about 3 carrots and all it takes is 15 mins leh.

let me try to upload the pic.

Deon: from what I rmb, below is e list for yishun gathering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon

Stephanie

Vicki

Mickeyboy

2ww

Correct me if I missed out anyone? 12nov 11am at swensens is ok for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: gmarket has another seller selling cheaper bb cubes at $15. If u register will get $2 off coupon upon confirmation of email den will cost $13. It's free normal mail [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I bought e 40ml cube

Twinkle: oh no hope ur gal is better nw...