(2011/05) May 2011

Jenny - I have a dog at home.. Initally, my dog was unhappy cause all our attention goes to bb.. But now he is getting better and loves my girl.. When she cries, he is the first to go into the room and see what has happened. Sometimes, when we ignored my girl's crying, he will be frantic and will come and catch our attention.

So far other than the inital first month period while my dog is adjusting to my girl, he is ok with my girl now.

Maybe your dog is not scared of your boy but maybe he is still trying to adjust.

As for my girl treating the dog as invisible, I did noticed that she will look at my dog. But we don not allow her to get close to the dog now as she is too young. Other than that, no problem so far. Hope it helps you.

Stephanie: wah! u r very efficient! I dun think I can do that if I am a SAHM :p Really admire all the SAHM =) your bb really very good gal wor, can play toy herself, my bb will put whatever in his hand into his mouth!! haha.. must watch him while he play all e time =.=

you read books to your bb? she interested? Can advise me what kind of book i can read to my bb? And what kind of motion gym u got for your bb? really nid to get some toys for my bb to play himself so that we adults can have some free time, last time got him a FP rainforest play gym but he lost interest already XD

deon, thanks for sharing. My dog stays with my mum and they see each other once a week only. But during confinement, its already like this. But when I'm slinging my baby, that's the only time she will come over and smell him. Hope they will be friends with each other very soon.

Stephanie,

Wow, I would love to have a day like yours! I also like fitting in a thousand things in one day and doing all efficiently, like I did when I was working. Hope I can do that at home too once mom goes back. So great that you can nap too! I can never catch a nap cos my bb takes very short naps. But yes, the playgym and books really help to keep her busy when I do my chores. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ash,

Years of practice, hehe! I even 'scold' my expat friends when they anyhow use 'lah' and 'leh'. :D

Mimosa,

I got the Usborne books -- Baby's first colours, animals, etc. She loves looking at the bright pictures. But need to rotate. Cannot show the same book every day or they'll be bored.

Mimosa: Haha my bb is a boy keke. I'm getting bored at home so always wanna go out but can't venture far w bb. I always try to keep him occupied so tt I can do my own things thou it's hard lol.

E motion gym I got is a gift from friends, Lamaze brand, u can see from my bb photo album (purplish with toys hanging), it's a good toy to keep bb occupied [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I oso bought a tummy time toy from Lamaze too.

Haha I oso trial n error one, bought classic fairy tales n sleepy time stories small book version under bb books section in popular. So far he will keep quiet n listen n aft I'm done reading he'll start to goo goo gaga like talking haha. I talk to him v often n bring him out so he's more responsive n not afraid of strangers according to my pd [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: haha I'm e kind can't have too much rest in between otherwise I'll be bored to tears. Even nw I'm still trying to think hw to enrich bb w knowledge lol. Haha I read e same book 3 days in a row before switching to e next [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] bb seems ok? Hahaha! I tried reading w diff intonation like story telling to keep him interested

eh...any mommies here still have spare huggies green stamps? i want tat caterpillar. :p

jenny, my dog loves to sniff my kids & even try to lick when we r not lookin. slowly intro them to each other bah. on another hand, it might b gd they ignore each other. when they ganged up, really headache. 70% of my #1 toys cant pass down to #2 cos dog loves to bite #1's toy & #1 love passin d toys to dog so tat we'll chased them & shout at them =.=

Viman: wow.. to pay back 2 months pay is alot.. actually same for me, my co aso requested for 2 mth notice which left me thinking.. wanted to leave immediately but cant bear to give them 2 mths pay, n if to work for tat 2 mths, by then my stress may hv slowly overcome..haha.. but i really aso hope to b a SAHM for my kids.. :p

Viman & Stephanie: Thanks for e info, I will try to go popular to get some books for my bb too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stephanie: Pai seh, i confused u with another Stephanie Lim :p

ya, so good, ur bb let u wake up at 8am! Saw ur previous post, ur bb can slp from 8pm to 7am and only wake up once! *envy* @.@ My bb wakes up every two hrs at night...

Viman: I also came to Singapore many yrs ago, 1996 to be exact, now also Spore citizen, High 5! hehe... oh ya, right now we r ordering Tingkat for our dinner, they will deliver it to your door step, however it is chinese food, not sure whether there is same thing for indian food or not.. Quite convinient if you really no time to cook [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: is usborne books good? hee wanna try diversify reading materials for bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunflower: hee thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my hubby average comes hm ard 7pm, sometimes ltr so when he comes back maybe bb alr slept. Nw I pump bm once every 2 days cos like no more supply n no matter wad I eat or do it jus won increase, so gg to stop bf, tts y can wake up at 8am haha

Mimosa: when my confinement nanny jus left, he oso wakes up every 2hrs at night n tt period I'm like zombified. soon ur bb will oso be able to sleep thru e night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jiayou jiayou [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u're not local oso? I thought of ordering tingkat too but seemed ex?

Stephanie,

My bb needs a new book every day hahaha! So I cheat her by rotating and pretending that it's a new book! :p

Preciousmom,

Yeah we thought long and hard and even though it was a lot of money, we decided to do it cos bb still needs medication and hospital visits and we felt it was best for me to become a SAHM for a year or two.

Mimosa,

High-5 hehe! Where did you come from? Reg tingkat, I like Chinese food, and am not particularly fond of the Indian food here, but I think ordering every day will be expensive? Now that I am a SAHM, need to cut costs. :p I like cooking actually, just need to manage my time and do it. Right now I am up at 6ish and sleep only past midnght after last pump so am too zombified to do anything. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stephanie,

Yeah I like the Usborne set I have. They are small and sturdy and bb can easily hold them herself and try to turn the pages, though I have to help her go through page by page of course. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stephanie: I have already been zombified for more than 4 months, hahaha.... although my MIL help me take care bb at alternate weekday night after i bk to work, he cried so loud when he dun get his milk in time (cos my mil nid time to warm e milk), I will still wake up, still like a zombie e next day XD But at least some night when he dun cry so loud, I can get some rest..

Tingkat: We ordered the 3 ppl set with 4 dishes, which is around $4.60 per person, but the portion is good enough for even 4 ppl. Me and my hb are big eaters, but sometimes cant even finish all food! Oh, btw we cook our own rice...

Viman: I came from China, but most ppl say that i dun sound like typical PRC Chinese, hehe... maybe bcos i came from the sourthen part of China [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I dun know if $4.50 per person consider exp to u or not, but sometimes when we buy take away food, it can go up to $5-6 per person, that is why we decide to try it. In any case if u decide to try, u can just call to terminate e service (7 days in advance for my caterer) when u feel that u can do the cooking yourself from there on?

Viman: oh! Okok I shall go look for it. U bought at Popular too? Haha ur girl so cute! Can imagine u rotating e book n she thought it's a new book hee

Mimosa: *hugs* looking at bb growing up well is worth it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] saw ur fb pix, ur bb v cute hehe. Where u ordered tingkat from? I was looking mom's cooking but seemed v ex so dropped e idea of getting

Mimosa,

I know what you mean. Most people think that since I am Indian, I can speak Tamil, but I come from North India where they speak a completely different language! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

4.50 per person sounds reasonable. Maybe I'll give it a try and see how!

Stephanie,

My colleague got me the books from Borders, but Popular or Kino shd have. Btw, I just added you on FB too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: oh icic I go check it out soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee accepted ur friend request n replied to ur comment. such a coincidence tt we worked in e same industry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vicki: I rather my doggie n baby are good friends coz I love them a lot. Anyway my doggie is 12 yrs old and is not so active anymore so I hope with my baby, she would play more, hopefully when my baby can crawl, they can chase each other around. Will be a cute scene.

2 more days for my baby's next jab. Extremely worried and afraid again coz the last time he got a jab, he cried like mad for a few days. But anyway these few days he also cried like mad. I told him I love him so he shouldn't cry but he still cry. Haha

Jenny - Your bb will be guai guai lah... Don't worry ")

I came back from work and realized my girl was tearing.. Noticed sticky discharge in her eyes yesterday but did not know will get so bad. Rushed her to PD just now, no transport a bit troublesome. Have to wait for cab and took awhile. PD said she got infection in her eyes.. So poor thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

This is the moment I will feel upset and guilty because I am not at home to take care of her. Sad...

Paper tearing: My gal burst into tears instead =.= when I tried fast n loud.

Deon,dun blame urself. Bb will get well soon.

Lil fly,buy ipad2. Got loads of educational apps too. + u can use it to watch drama when they r nt using. But have to ctrl tho it's hard cos I personally nt setting gd eg.news state that kids nowsaday r wearing specs younger due to iPad iPhone etc

Waaaaa my bb doesn't laugh at paper tearing after that first time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My sis says it was a one-time offer. LOL!

Thanks Deon, I hope ur baby will be ok soon.

Just now my husband saied 'yes' very happily and loudly to baby and he kept laughing. Very cute. I even managed to take e video.

Good morning, ladies~ Finally, it's FRIDAY [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Paper tearing - ya i tried, bb no reaction, just stares at me. then after awhile, he cried, haha dunno y... then my hb kept asking "y u keep tearing paper ah? what happened to u? see, he oso cry!"

vicki - ya we have ipad, and i think its really hard to control my boy from using it. everyday once i reach home, he will ask "when will daddy come back?", coz he will associate daddy w the ipad. no daddy means no games to play... so sad huh...

But i must say, some educational apps r really gd. my boy likes one that is a coloring game, he knows many new colors (eg. lilac, magenta, lime..) bcoz of that game. and also got some flashcard games, can teach him new vocab, some even got sound (touch the aeroplane then will have the aeroplane sound)... also can play lullaby for bb when trying to make him sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stephanie: Thanks! but quite heart pain sometimes to see e eczema on his face, always comes and goes, cant fully recover [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ur bb is v chubby n cute too!! Love his smile, can see he is a v happy baby, hehe..

ya, Mom's cooking is exp! and i read that their stuff attitude ok, but the boss got very bad attitude =.=

Viman: haha... I understand what u mean, I have an indian col also can't speak Tamil, at first i also v surprised.. very ignorant i am :p

Tingkat: currently we ordering from Hilltop, http://www.hilltopkb.com/delivery.html u can choose 4 dishes or 3 dishes + 1 soup, but forum ppl recommend to get 4 dishes, cos more portion and u can boil your own soup if u got time. My comment: overall the taste is acceptable, esp like their meat dish, yday nite the herbal pork rib is good! But their fish dishes not tat good but portion big, and my mil likes them being not so oily & salty.. I read got ppl even request no MSG, but we not so particular since no kids to share our dinner..

I search forum before we order, here are two forum links abt Tingkat:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/1674109.html

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/4680463.html?1269483950

According to e forum, a few 'ok' caterers would be: 2BQ, Hilltop, Jack's deligh, Neogardens and Kim's kitchen

You can ask for 5 or 10 days trial first, if u like then continue [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon: Hope your gal gets well soon! Cheer up ok? She will understand de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but saying is always easier than doing... if it happens to my boy, i would feel v upset too.. but no choice la, we nid to earn a living, we gain some we lose some...

Jenny: Ur boy still not feeling well? Milk intake back to normal already? My boy also going for his 2nd jab next week, i also very worried! Cos last time he also cried so badly for a few nights after e jab... U even try '哭惊'/ 'ham gian' b4? A fren's mum taught us to do it, seems working sometimes, maybe just Psychological effect / 心理作用, but who knows it might really works, no harm doing it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: hmm his eczema is triggered cos of? got apply anything for him? my bb has those whiteheads like thingy, sometimes red patches den I apply Johnson's baby milk lotion. I apply to affected areas on face n oso apply on his body, hands n legs twice a day, apart from treating e condition of his face, oso can be a bonding cos bb loves touch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shd I get pupsik? Bbjorn is quite exp and not sure if bb will like. I need a way to take her out when not taking stroller...

viman: now tt bb growing bigger n heavier, u mite wish to consider bb bjorn rather than pupsik. pupsik not suitable for everyone i find. weight is on 1 side of shoulder. bbjorn will hv a beta distribution of wt and straps more comfortable. if u r going next wk's gathering, i'm sure some mommies will b using them

sunflower...issit....both me n hb r ok with bbjorn. much easier to manage n have both hands free to carry bag n buy stuff... :p

maybe u check your posturn n also the position of the bb, if too low might cause backache...

halooooooooo

nice weather to sleep ... me n my gal finally fully awake at 11am ...

it is friday ... hope everyone will hv great weekend ....

@luann: ya i tout it was too low initially.. But hb told me its de highest position liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] quite aching lor. Bout 3hrs walkg in town, i bth already.

Ling: i'm so sleepy now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] office is extremely cold! so nice for hibernating! but cannot, got eyes on us :p

Stephanie: I also no idea triggered by wat, i read online articles until I 'Luan4', haha... PD also said it will come and go [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hope he can outgrown it soon! was applying Ezera cream given by e PD, from last week i start to try California Baby Calendula cream, but still same =(

About touch, i will do it this weekend =) Last time, I was using Mustela baby lotion, but after using a few days his knee cap started to become abit rough, so i stopped. But it is still e same after i stop using e lotion, guess it was not caused by e lotion.. my bb skin is sensitive i guess... Now u remind me, so i will give e lotion another chance again =P

Pupsik: my boy doesnt like to be sling too, he dun like his legs being restricted :p and he like to face out when we use baby carrier, if we put him face in, he will either use his face to rub our clothes or he will keep turning his face to peek from e side, haha... he is too easily alarm and active, can nvr get him to nap using a baby carrier XD

Ling: so shiok!!! can slp until 11am!

Lucky today my boss on half day leave in e afternoon! i can try to doze abit after i pump milk, hehe...

Mimosa: oh is e ezera cream steriod free? If got steroid can't use too often wor. hmmm it could be oso due to bb's saliva, maybe can try wipe clean his mouth area n hands more often? yeh keep trying [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] there will be a way for e condition to get better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For rough skin at kneecap, could be dead skin. Like those on wrist n ankle area? Maybe can try rubbing e rough skin area during bath time n see if it comes off? I oso tried when I found bb's wrists, ankles n kneecap area rough n e dead skin came off den I continue applying lotion again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pupsik: my bb oso don like being slinged so I got bbjorn n stroller for him. I use stroller more often cos bbjorn him is v heavy for me :x

Ling: 11am? Wow so envious!

Thanks, mommies. Will consider bbjorn then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Weekend is here!! :D

Viman i am looking to let one of my pupsik go ( i have 2) and i bately used. Have sent u a message n FB. See if u are keen.

Mummies after reading up on the baby spa tub, i went to WTS n find a pre- love one. Found one selling at $20. The mummy told me she used only once. Just collected it today. Maybe let my bb try next week.