(2011/05) May 2011

Apple: What!!! 100 pkts!! (Me eyes pop out, jaws drop!) I remembered the last time the highest record I had was 50++ only in top freezer, I don't hv deep freezer so can't freeze more.,,now very pathetic..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'm just so envious of u!

Val: u feel fat? But u look just sooo slim to me! If u feel fat, then I feel damn bloated! Haha...

Re: frozen ebm

I saw somewhere abt the list of milk in order of "goodness"

1. Latched on bf

2. Expressed b milk/ frozen b milk

3. Donated b milk

4. Formula milk

5. Soy milk

6. Goats milk

My gal has proven to be allergic to even hypo-allergenic milk (cows milk) so now she has to supplement with soy milk for one feed a day... Feel kinda sad though looking at the list, although I know tt I shld not feel so guilty giving soy milk (it's most expensive among FM)... And my gal takes frozen ebm well too...if only I hv enough for her...

Her face has very bad eczema outbreak...now skin is red and peeling...feel so sad when I see...I am still trying to work towards bf her for 1 yr...

Jiayou to all mummies who are still going strong bfeeding!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit: yeap...even dairy products like chocolate and milk tea also stopped..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] eggs also to the minimal.. My #1 went thru the same too, very bad and red skin... she was ok on similar though..

Starfruit: yea that is the prob...too used to emptying out my breasts already coz more comfortable..think I'll just have to do it slowly...

Like to ask what body wash u use for bbs?recently my gal's joints has been having dry n red patches.not sure is due to d weather too hot or d wash too drying.only her neck/inner portions of elbow n knees has them.been applying moisturizer on them for 4days.at nanny side she using j&j & at Hm usin pureen yoghurt.both r head to toe wash

sylvia: wow! you are really young =) and yes, that was the sentence that touched me.. i really love that sentence, got teary when I read that..

Yes, will destroy those very sensitive nutrients, so need to compensate by giving them fresh milk also.. Its still better then bb reject frozen totally, then is a waste.. =(

150ml per 3 hours is good lei.. Mine is like 180ml every 5-6 hours. Really need to buck up liao..

V: dont drag too long.. you can cont pumping at your current rate, just that you might like to try doing half your current pumping time. dont have to empty your breast..If you drag too long, will engorge and very uncomfy..might even lead to infection. When ss drops durign each pump, slowly drag the time..

vicki: your milk got fishy smell is it because you take alot of fish or the papaya fish soup? or maybe the fish oil supplements? My was fishy when I drink alot of the soup.. When I stopped, the fishy smell stopped as well..

Im using latacyd.. the blue one.. NUH has been using that for my gal, so Im using it. I tried Pureen yoghurt, but it causes rashes on my bb.. so used back Latacyd..

Xuanmin: What do you use for ezcema? I have a friend's baby, bad ezcema outbreak. Baby keep crying, could be because he's feeling very itchy.. see liao heart pain lei..

eh, my bb started wearing size m long ago.

vicki: i'm using j&j head to toe too. try to apply california bb calendula cream. very gd for healing

Vicki ur bb may have sensitive skin n J&J is no good for bb with sensitive skin. U wanna consider changing to mustela, california baby or latacyd brands of baby wash?

my baby develp fever and cough last night. he is only 4 months plus and my friend told me her PD said baby will be sick for every 4 to 6 months. got like that one meh?

hi starfruit, thanks for your advise. i was busy yesterday. just back from marketing, and store the food in the fridge. i hope my baby is ok. she does not cry after puke.

Reg odd smell in frozen ebm:

I used to freeze my ebm in the plastic Medela bottles. On hindsight, it was such a waste cos exp also, cannot reuse, and some more milk had fishy smell too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I read abt scalding but sounded too troublesome to do it so many times every day. I switched to glass bottles and pigeon milk bags, now no smell!

xuanmin: I also have eczema and I read could spread to baby so I dare not take any nuts during pregnancy coz I read abt that. Did u eat nuts when u were pregnant?

jenny, there is a very good PD (Dr Lau Tien Khoon) at jurong west

Singapore PAEDS Clinic

Blk 502, Jurong West Street 51

#01-813

Singapore 640502

Tel: 6567 4509

Dr Lau Tien Khoon

Paedicatrician

MBBS M. Med (Paediatrics)

Consultant Paediatrician to Mt Elizabeth & Gleneagles Hospitals

mayb u try .. according to my SIL, the consultation is expensive especially first time ...

Kristle: I heard that babies not on bm tend to fall sick every 2 mths or so...with bm could be 3-4 mths once... Think I read it somewhere.. Was a research.. But I think it also depends on the bb handlers etc a lot of factors de...

Bella,ya,d smell is stronger when I eat fish.but since back at work seldom eat but d fishy smell still there.I do take fenugreek & teas that help to maintain supply tho.

Ok,so meaning pureen might also b not gd for sensitive skin

Starfruit,u know if centaphil wash will b ok?cos I m usin it's moisturizer.pd recommend physiogel.

Lantern, I got fr those temp stall at khatib opposite ntuc.bought a nice Thomas train at $7 for my no 1.Chinatown sold at $12

Mommies, helppp! Need urgent advice. My Freestyle display suddenly went off and even though the motor is working, I am afraid it may suddenly stop working too. I will be taking it to the shop as it's still under warranty, but if they send it for servicing, what will I do??? My premmie baby is exclusively on ebm and does not latch at all due to her 2 months in the ICU where she was bottle fed right from birth. Should I get an inexpensive manual pump as back up? Any recommendations on which brand? I am sooooo stressed! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ling: I've been to that PD before and thats the worst doc I've ever seen. Exp and yet totally no use. And doc supposed to come at 9.30am 11am he haven't come yet.

haiz.. today is such a hectic day.. I took half day to bring my gal for her 4th month jab. She's ok with the jab, cried for less then a minute and stopped, started playing happily.. but on the way back, she kept screaming and crying. I think is could be her teething that causes the pain and it must be really painful because my gal dont cry easily due to pain.

I used Dentinox teething gel on her gums, it did calm her down.. but i think it sort of wear off really fast than 10 mins she starts screaming again. She even woke up screaming in pain.. I wanted to apply the gel for her but I'm afraid that I apply too often.. because i taste it, its kinda sweet too.. use too much like not good, but if not see her scream in pain i also heart pain.. I've never seen her like this before lei..

Any other recommendations for babies who are teething? She dont like cooling teether at all too..

vicki: how often u take the fenugreek? 1 a day is it enough?

Ya, pureen is not for sensitive skin.. I tried the samples I've got because it smells really sweet. I bought J&J top to toe wash but haven use because im afraid she will have rashes if I change..

Viman: you might want to check if medela service centre have a loan set? or maybe LC if they have loan sets? Im not sure about SG though..

but Yes, you should get a manual pump as a backup.. Avent is good.. I bought one in case my ameda decided to go on strike.. if you have no budget constrain, you mite want to get a electronic single pump..

Hi mummies... Silent reader here as I've May bb too =)

May I ask those who r on Fenugreek, I realized there r many brands ard... Are they all the same n safe to take? GNC, Natureway, Greenlife... Is it really useful to boost up supply?

Many thanks in advance!

Bella,I take at least 4 a day. During weekday,I also drink tea. Seems that malunngay tea no effect for me, did try tm milk tea for 2 days.seem to have abit of effect but dislike d taste of d tea.

just to check, mummy with toddler kids staying near yishun u all got send ur kids to swimming lesson? tot of sending my boys but cant find any instrutor need some advise here..

Deon, Bella,

Thanks! I will def get a backup pump. Manual preferably cos less chance of conking off! Avent is good yeah?

Thanks, vicki. So true what you said abt us being so used to elec pump!! I just tried to express by hand and wah quite painful for hand. Though I must say hand express is gentler on the breast and quite fast also.

Hello Mummies -

I feel sad, my girl don't want me to feed her.. Before my maid came, only mu mum and muself was fedding her. When my maid came, my girl rejected my maid so we try to let my maid feed her.

And also I am back to work, I will only feed her once at night when I am back home. These 2 days when I try to feed her, she just keep crying. I feel sad... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

She will still play with me and let me carry her but just don't want me to feed her... Sob..

Viman, do u mind a pre-loved avent manual pump? I am no longer using mine cos I got 2 electric pumps le and tt was frm my #1 time...if u interested, I can sell mine to u at a gd price. You can PM me if u interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickeyboy

I am also taking fenugreek but lazy mummy, I don't take regularly :p

To all mummy: have a great festive time with loved ones this coming Mid-autumn festival! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny

I'm not a huge fan of nuts, so don't ink I took any during pregnancy. PD told me tt my hubby and I must have it within us, tt's why both our gals cannot escape getting eczema. But my #1 has outgrown it, so I will hv to wait for bb to outgrow it now.

Bella

I used all sorts of moisturizers/lotion/medication cream frm PD and specialist... California baby, atopeace, QV, Dermaid, Dermaveen, QV balm, physiogel, elomet, seba med, ellomel and even steroids frm e doc when the scars starts to peel and bleed...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] really very poor thing, but my bb doesn't cry out often but I noe it must be really itchy for her...I call her my brave little warrior who fights the bad skin condition...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon: dont be sad.. for the sake of livelihood, we have to work.. maybe at this stage, they will be closer to caregivers, but when they grow up, they will be more closer to mummy.. this is what i'm experiencing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so take heart, its jus a passing phrase. :D

by the way, wanna rant about my work place.. i overheard that some colleagues complain about me pumping milk in ofc too long.. i mean, they are not mothers themselves, how can they have such audacity to say behind my back? arghh..

but i must confess that i take 45mins on each pump. but i need to pump this long to yield 120 to 150ml. if pump 20-30 mins only 60ml, than might as well dont pump. sigh sigh sigh

Xuanmin,

Thanks so much for the offer. However, after what happened with my new Medela within a few months, I think I prefer to get a new one with warranty so I can go after the shop if something happens, hehe! Cannot trust these machines one.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: fenugreek

I have started taking fenugreek seeds. Not the capsules but the actual seeds. Could not tahan taking 9 of those supersized capsules every day! Will report back to mommies if I have any success. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mickeyboy: hi, i only use gnc fenugreek because i dont really dare consume other brands of supplements. and yes it does help to boost ss but it doesnt work for everybody.

Thanks Vicki, looks like i need to increase my intake already..

Xuanmin: did u try changing the detergent or not using baby softener? maybe it can help to reduce the chance of sensitivity..

your little gal is sure brave =) hope that she gets better as she grows..

Cloudpeom: i too express 45mins to 1 hour just to get the amount of milk for my gal. for me, im always worried that my hr, who is also a new mum but does not BF because she din like the idea of it, will come and tell me to compensate the amount of time used on pumping. she very ge gao one..

Every time when i see her number calling me, i super stress..

Cloud & Bella: I also feel that I pump for qte long in ofc; although i only pump for max 22 mins (extra 2 mins hoping that I can have one last letdown), but after washing the parts i will take 30-45 mins. feel very paiseh at work cuz I keep on going for pumping break.

Anyway I took a slice of papaya during lunch yesterday and my supply increased by 50ml during my 5.30pm pump! Maybe papayas help?

I also wanna rant about my pantry auntie! I would wash my parts after every pump cuz I can't stand the idea of letting my milk stand in the parts for hours. The auntie chided me for washing my parts too hard till the soap suds are sprinkled all around the sink cuz she likes her sink to be dry. Subsequently, she would stand beside me whenever I wash my parts and stare at my washing! She even commented that other expressing mummies don't have to wash their pump parts, dunno y i'm so special..

i feel that it's a very unjustified comment. firstly, how can soap suds not fly around when we use the bottle brush to wash bottles? secondly, i can't even wash my bottles since her sink has to be dry?

i'm not confrontational in nature but this really pisses me off. maybe i should complain to my admin officer if this happens again.

Sorry for the interruption. I am a Jan '11 mommy who is letting go of a brand new lucky baby playmate (with pictures of animals printed on it)at $25. Orginal price was $30.

Also letting a baby swimming tub( used only 3 times) at $45. Bought in March '11 at $70. Self collect at CCK MRT or delivery can be arranged at $5.

Do PM me if interested. Price still negotiable. Thanks for reading.

Cloud - Thank you for your encouragement. It is true we have to work to earn a living...If not, how to pay for bills and spree at the same time.. ha ha ha

My boy has rashes on his neck and joint areas too... Even the armpit! I'm using Sebamed Bubble Bath, but the rashes still surface. I attribute it to the heat rather than sensitivity to food. He's on eBM in day and NANHA for nite.

cloudpoem/Sylvia: Pple who are not mummies will nv know how hard it is to express milk and the time needed.

Deon: Try to think on the better side that ur baby is accepting ur maid well. I believe ur baby will want u to feed her too. =)

WT: My baby has rashes on the scalp! Not sure if can apply the lotion on his scalp.

Little Fly: I rem u were looking for walkers at NTUC? I just asked my husband to buy lucky baby walker cum bouncer at promo price $59.90 at Fairprice Extra JP. If I'm not wrong the promo ends on 14 or 15 Sep.

Anyway mummies, I bought my baby to pd yest and the pd diagnosed him with an infection that caused the diarrhea. And pd also confirmed that he is not teething yet. Yest night he suddenly cried loudly when I was latching him, I rem my friend telling me if baby's forehead is cold, it means he's having a stomachache and when I felt it, it was indeed very cold. I knew how terrible he feels coz I was also having stomachache at the same time.

Doc also advice me to start solid food after his diarrhea clears coz he is not drinking well.

And sorry mummies for the consistent complains over here. I know I'm getting irritating coz I felt irritated by myself too. I was just feeling extremely stressed esp when my husband works day and night now, he can even come home at 10pm+ and tell me he haven't finish his work and continue working until 1am+, even once at 1.30am. My mum told me to treat baby as if he's singing when he cries. I'll try to bear that in mind and also try to picture him smiling when he cries. I hope I can do it. =)