(2011/05) May 2011

Deon: Understand how u felt. When I was doing confinement at my mum's house, baby cries but after that during evening when husband comes, he will be very guai, at most cry a little. And weekends also behave himself. I told my husband that I scolded baby and he scold me and said I shouldn't do that and say until he very wei da like that. But once we bring baby home after confinement immediately the first nite he bth and asked me baby isit everynight also like that. Then I told him already better than during confinement.

Preciousmom how much ur nanny charging now? Maybe u wanna look around for other nanny? I'm not sure abt the market rate for nanny now but last time my mum was charging only $500 for day time and include meal parents can pick anytime b4 9pm and sometime if the parents got something on also put the kid at my mum place overnight. If is baby she usually 1 to 1 only cuz she said some parents don't like too many kids.

Good day mummies.. Weather at north is pretty good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] rainy rainy feeling..

I'm in the midst of planning my #2 birthday, even though her bday is on OCt. Felt that I left her out alot, Cux I'm busy with Bb most of the time, and daddy needs to coach #1 spelling when he's back. And because she's in her terrible 2 stage, she sleeps with my mil.. Sigh. Feeling guilty.. I'm looking to purchAse a exp cake, cost $250.. Dun dare tell HB.. Would any mummies be willing to pay $250 for a cake?

If I buy, need to order 2 cakes, for #1 & #2.

morning ladies. been days since i can sit dwn n on my lappy =) last nite record, had my dinner at close to 11pm!

cloudpoem,

got to weight the pros n cons of moving out of this job...mayb u can stay in there for the time being while u search for another job?

esp nw u gonna shift hse, sure will need to spend even if u are nt going to buy alot of big ticket items. and with the festive coming up (xmas, cny) u will sure be spending quite abit too...unless u have already set all these aside then i think u can consider to resign then look for 1 carefully...as seriously i think towards yr end and before cny, hiring will nt be as active as beginning of the yr.

u have gd memory - still rem my gal highest record of 6days! hehehe.

v hard to take babies photos outside le as nowhere to lie them all. hehe.

tell u something....my boy's 3YO cake for $300++ SHHHH!!!! coz my hb duno coz i paid for it myself! hahaha. then on top of the cake, i ordered cookies...he also duno the cost...the baby shower cupcakes i also depreciate the values. hahah

yaer,

yes. rec ur trf =) hahaha.i have some clothes tat are too huge for my gal too, thus i ended up buying 3M, 6M =P

poohlyn,

rec ur email. will let u know how much to trf for the postage.

ash,

adding sugar to baby's milk?! even for young baby?!?!

re: pooing

yes. my gal highest record of 6days no poo =P freaked me out till she finally poo-ed, a massive big one. hahaha. anyway, i called KK Ask-A-Nurse and was told its normal even for bfeed baby as she may have absorbed all the nutrients so nthing comes out. so long as she peeing n drinking well is ok. only aft 7days and i am still uncomfortable can bring her to the pd they will help to make her poo.

my gal 2nd highest record was 4days aft the 6days record...so nw, i am more relax but i try to make it a point to make the poo sound to see if i can help her.

angie,

since vivo near ur place, sld try..coz its near so if really u cant cope still can cab hm. have confident in urself, there is always a first for everything. jia you =)

re: gymboree, havent got time to see. i will try to see it and let u know ya =)

i think for boys they grow faster coz my #1 also wore 9m clothes when he was v young. for my gal v diff. keep buying but end up buying smaller sizes =P

i love 3-wheelers, thus i go for quinny...initially wanted buzz but too heavy if i wanna go out alone...so ended up getting zapp. even with zapp, also quite heavy at times if there is no lift and i have to pull up the stairs. its v easy to nagivate. when young, u can get a maxi cosi and use it as car seat n put it on the pram as well. dwn side is, u cant hang heavy stuffs on the pram so i put them in the shopping basket underneath. and its nt fully reclinable. u can consider the new version of zapp. its reclinable.

actually i like to use pram as well beside pouch...so tat when i go shopping, at least i can try some clothes/shoes on mah, more convenient. hahaha.

janice,

sense is the one with 4 wheels?

my gal recently also started sucking her fingers, so everytime i see, i will pull it away and tell her she is nt suppose to do it..and aft sucking she will rub her face so i think tats why the red spots came abt. i will clean her hands/face aft she sucks them too.

ann,

my boy is 3yos. and he been acting up quite alot since arrival of meimei. got to give them more attention and its a common thing.

apple,

ya, need to cut down on tv/ipad/watever digital device for her. i think the kids are getting younger n younger as they don on glasses! my friend's boy is only 5 and he needs a pair of glasses already.

preciousMom,

if ur hb thinks he can handle it, try it out for awhile?? but must let him know that if he canes the kids as he cant handle then u will stop IFC?

i have short temper...so i dare nt buy cane at all. at most i use palm to hit him...coz i worry i too angry then nt thinking properly n anyhw whack...

starflower,

hope ur #1 recovers soon. =) tell ur hb, heartache awhile will b ok le. so long as the kids are fine, small dent nvm la.

Val: my hb agreed to try out for 2 mths in IFC n c hw lor.. Hence, we shall tell our nanny tat we b letting a relative to look after 1st c hw.. Worse come to worse then back to her lor.. I guess I will change e cane to a thinner 1 so as to minimise e hurting to them since their dad can't control his strength..

Split: my nanny charges $600 nw n increase $100 when eat solid.. Where she will still ask us to provide dried scallop somemore.. N she is not 1 to 1.. Hers is 1 to 3.. N cld b more if she has other lobang lor.. Then she requests us to fetch by 7:30pm aso..Where got gd leh.. Furthermore, this is not e 1st time we let her look after my kid.. E 1st 2 kids aso let her look after 1... Unless is 1 to 1 then I more willing to spend lor..

Cloud: wow.. $250 for a cake.. I tink my hb will kill me.. But I intend to organize a grander bday for my #2 next yr as he is a leap yr baby n next yr happened to hv 29th feb again.. Hence, really hv a thought to celeb for him in a grander/special way... But my hb dun agree.. He said at e end of day.. Nothing will b left.. Cannot c hw is spent.. Sigh.. Then I told him at most I pay for e extra stuffs lor.. :p

Val/starfruit: u mummies are the splurge queen man!!

Val: ya, I'm thinking of tendering maybe after I stop nursing Bb.. U were saying employment would be slow in the beginning of the yr? So, I should jump ard after cny? I plan to bf Bb till 1 yr.. See if I can tahan in that coy.

Precious: same! My HB will kill me too! He say not necessary to buy such exp cake. I gotta depreciate the value. Sigh.. So, should I opt for the cake? It's a 2 tier fondant cake. 3"8" kind.. If I order 2, it's $500 sia! Impulsive purchase!

Starfruit: where u get ur cake? I'm ordering from online, a home baker. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: urs?

Cloud, it is common to pay >$200 for a cake..I have spent greater amount on cakes for 5yrs :p

Hope your #2 will hv good memory by having such a nice cake..take pic for keepsake.

Apple: my HB don't agree that $200 cake is cheap. Haaaha. Sigh.. This is consider splurge, to me la.. I always take pictures. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and video when we sing birthday song. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My auntie is a nanny. She charge $650 and $50 more when intro solid. Think nowAdays nanny market rate is like that. I prefer to put infant care if the ratio is 1:3. At least there got proper system to teach them. I remember there is a few infant care which operate till 9pm one leh. Maybe can check it out?

Blurlemon: actually my neighbourhood nt alot of infant care ard.. E nearest wld b e 1 we enrolling him in which is ard 2 bus stops away frm our place.. N ya.. They hv 5 full time n 1 parttime teachers there n e incharged said e max is 15 infants.. So shld b ard 1:3 ratio..

Thanks Val & Deon, yeah hubbies can be such a nag sometimes!

cloudpoem, nvm la , if u like the cake , just buy ;) dont have to tell hubby hiw much exactly lor hehehee...then confirm 'peace' in the household and to our ears ;p

Someone was discussing about strollers, i have 3 now: a zapp which i like when going out on my own, light and manouvres very well, fast & can spin 360 in tight lifts. A Phil & Teds for when i bring both kiddoes out, baby k seats behind, korkor sits in front. And a lightweight stroller in hubby's car for when he takes #1 out on his own. I'm so tempted to try the twin maclaren, any comments about that one? Perhaps w check out at mothercare...tho the seats look a little tight to me....

Angie, there's always a first maiden trip out w bb alone. Dont worry, there are many mummies out to help u and u'll find it very liberating after [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seems our thread is becoming a strong support group for handling #1 & #2 issues, since quite a number of us are juggling both now.

Oh ya Janice, mine eats her mittens too when her pacifier drops out...its terrible, i have to pop it back for her at least 5-6 times each time she sleeps coz she turns her head so much...

angie: dunno y my whatapps not working. saw yr msg on preview but then when i want to view full msg it just keep searching for network. we can cab there together coz i had an appointment there at 12 noon at vivo too. what time are the mummies going to meet there?

Re: infant care

i didn't know there is subsidy for infant, i thought for chilcare only. yesterday then i realise from the posts here. bang wall. if i knew that first, i would have place my baby there instead of employing a maid. so after i go to work, will be just maid and baby only. i feel so uncomfortable. sighh.. and i feel she is quite stubborn. she took more than 30 mins changing just our bedsheets. sighhh...

Infant care: if u r working mother,subsidy is $600 but so far the cheapest infant care I find after subsidy still have to pay $580.

Babysitter: d market rate I think current fr 7-7 weekdays only is about $600. I engage mine for $600 but start solid add $100. The rest I check that are cheaper take care of more than 2 kids.

Had wanted to put infant care initially but worried they'll get sick easily.

long time no post... been a silent reader again..

preciousmum: i got a silly idea. shorten (by cutting a bit away) the cane to reduce the impact on your child when your hubby use it to whack the kids.

Vicki: e 1 that I enrolling my baby is $550 after subsidy.. Ya.. Actually aso worried baby will get sick easily but thinking is no diff wif my nanny as she looking after 2 nw where 1 of them Is her granddaughter.. So abit worried abt biased..

Dolly: we r meeting at 11am at vivo.. Do come n join us...

Val: Is the zapp material v.warm? I am thinking of getting zapp extra..the new one that can recline...but it seems warm compare to buzz and I heard it is hard to keep. Haa true la but I hope to wait till bb is older then bring him out myself...

Kristle: U joining the gathering with baby? If you are, I will seriously consider going with baby...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starflower: Haa u too have so many strollers? I tot zapp is quite heavy?

Re: Gymboree

Pm if there are anymore orders, I manage to get a 15% off from Gym instead of 10! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Off everything including sales item, will be using 1.27 and intl shipping.

Split: ur mum's way is the perfect nanny I would to engage! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now nannies seemed to be very scare. I am still searching for one for my Bb before returning work. Really hope to find one near my area v soon....

Precious: regarding the canning part I believe your hb will feel pain himself too. Since u has decided to try out IFC get your hb to agree not to use cane but bribes for the kids?

Re:bb poo

Yest my bb poo abit after 3days.dun hv a massive poo like wat some mommies say.tdy I found signs of poo on her diapers but didn't poo even abit.keep hearing her farting jus no poo.hai..my mum ask me everyday y bb no poo..she ask me to bring bb to PD.I told her I read online many bb didn't poo for 6-11days oso like tt.seen many PD n oso they say bb is fine.n bb is feeding as per norm..so I guess I shld juz wait rite?

Re: meetup at vivo

Mommies,if u r comfy to bring bb.or even ur #1 & #2 u r welcome..lol..we wil help each other.dun worry abt not able to handle..kekeke..

Dolly,pls cum.dun worry abt time.based on last few meetups usually we stay ard 2-3hrs.tos who cun stay tt long can alwas lv earlier n tos who cun cum on d dot, u r oso welcom to come later at ur timing.. C ya =)

Angie, I wanna order gymboree..u mean sale items oso hv additional 15%? ..wil pm u my orders soon..lol

Re: Strollers

I hvn bought any strollers at d moment.cos I'm looking for 1 tt is light wgt to me..juz wanna ask mommies.if u r out alone w bb on stroller,issit easy to handle? I mean if u tk MRT is ok cos ter r lifts etc. Bu wat abt bus?u all sling stroller on ur shoulder n 1 hand carry bb up d bus? Paiseh ah..I abit sua ku w strollers cos I tot carry bb oredi heavy n if I nid to get up bus w stroller I really duno hw to handle man!!

Cloud i have been buying from pine gardens customising my own design but last yr i bought from bengawan solo cos my ger wants a princess full cream cake!!

Little fly: Nannies seldom want to take care overnight nowadays, but the last I heard if $1000 le...cos it is like 5 days straight full time taking care.

mudpie: yeah even clearance items! wa u even tot of bringing strollers up to public transport? Very challenging esp on buses...in that case must really get a light weight one le...

Mudppie if u want to handle stroller alone n sling up on bus u need a very light weight one which u can carry yourself. U consider jap brand like combi or aprica which do very light weight strollers. I ever sling my 4.5kg combi up the bus with bb in pouch n other free hand carrying a small bag. One down side abt light weight stroller is tat u cant hang things on it.

Wah i am down with slight flu n took flu med last night. Today bb keep sleeping n i suspect some of the med may have gone to the BM making her drowsy. Med is BF safe though.

Todays weather is soo nice! Hope it stays this way the whole night.

Angie i dun dare to click on the gymbo link!!

Apple i could not resist n went to buy one more FTG from the BP. Have this fear tat my current one will die on me. Anyway it was last stock available so lucky me. I reckon tat i can use it n bring out on picnics next time!!

Angie yeah my combi allows for one operation. There is a catch, u click n swing stroller outwards n it opens fully. Same when u need to close it. One hand click n press down & it will collapse.

Starfruit,tis is definitely safe cos durin pregnant n after give birth doc also give this med.he rather I eat tis med than use flixonase spray for my sensitive nose

i hv e same lightweight combi stroller as starfruit but mine is 2 hand operated instead. i wld hv much prefered a 1 hand operated one too. i've also brot it up e bus myself. sling baby and carrying a sling bag

starfruit: i saw manduca carrier at isetan scotts but only 1 color. price is 249.90 i think

Any recommendations for a part-time cleaner in siglap area? Those $10/hr kinds. The house is a mess and I need help!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: Yup, Sense is 4 wheel one. Like it very much as really very easy to do a 360 turn. Easy to keep and open too. Now most of the time used by my hb and he can one hand take the maxi cosy and the other to open the sense.

My ger have a bad redness on her cheek yesterday night. Just one afternoon of sucking her fingers and wiping on her face. Manage to reduce the redness after cleaning with Jun Yin Hua. Been busy wiping her mouth and hand today.

Starflower: Mine will use her mitten to wipe everything on her face. From milk to saliva, her mitten is forever wet. Have to change at least 2 before she go sleep.

Infant care & BB sitter:

Well, i previously considering between Infant care and bb sitter. This is what i have concluded.

Infant care price range from $300 to abt $700 after subsidize from the govt. $300 one is non-aircon and the place is on the "lou kou" side and $700 is IFC like 1st Skool which is fully aircon for infant and place really very clean. Sparkletots after subsidy is only about $580.

Joyceline: I finally found the contact for the sparkletots that you mentioned. The stupid pcf website number is not correct. Called a few times and it's a residential number. The people who picked up is totally clueless what im saying. Call other outlet and they do not have the hougang branch number. Asked them where else i can get the number, am told to call HQ. Finally got the number after trying so many ways.

BB sitter:

I manage to found one near my hse from the recommendation from my mil friend. She is charging $600 and additional $100 for solid food intake. She doing 1-1 for us and she is a full time housewife with kids of mature age like 20+

Final conclusion for me and hb is that we will be going for the bb sitter as she is doing 1-1 and the amount diff comapred to places like sparkletots is only like $20. Furthermore, during school holidays my mil will be at hm and do not need t bring my ger to bb sitter there. Can save the money for other needs.

Poo:

I made a stupid mistake last night and my ger have been poo-ing the whole of today. Every night i will standby my ger fm mixture as i am going to migrate her from Mamil to Friso plus she is drinking Friso comfort. While preparing the mixture, my mil brought out my ger cos she crying very loudly. So i went to take over from her after my mil did not manage to calm my ger down. Fed her some milk and she calm down. So i left her with mil and went back to prepare her FM. Accidentally, i put 2 times the amount of comfort. Thinking that i take out the same amount will solve the problem. Until now, she poo like 6-7 times. Hai.. So careless of me.

Janice- this is very good reminder for many of us. Will take note when preparing fm. By the way, my bb is on partial bf for the first few weeks with nan 2 feeds per day and now he's on bm only. Was thinking of switching similac how to mix?

And also,my bb gets a little 'frightened' after outings. He seems to wail suddenly when napping in the day. But it gets ok the next day. Hope you're baby is fine now.

I didn't know 'Jin yin hua' can help the redness thought only for consumption.

Janice *hugs, dont worry, baby's tummy will clear up very soon, there's only so much they can poo...ya think our babies can form the "wet mitten's gang" liao hehee

ya tonite is cooling, going to stop aircon and turn on the fan for once...

Angie, mine is the 09 zapp model, which i find is super light & easy to close and use. i find the main prob is w the recline also. I'm glad they came up w a better design now but i'm happy w my Phil& Teds which #1 can recline 180deg flatbed in front. I've seen a Britax stroller which is so super cool, i'll try to find and post up. it's also a double stroller, very sturdy. My other mummy friends swear by the maclaren but i got frightened with the scare last year when some toddler's fingers got chopped off by the side metal bar when being folded up. I never quite understood how that can happen.

Preciousmom,

Since u n ur hb already have a plan then try it out first ba. Hope things will go well for u =)

Thinner cane also can be quite painful if whack too hard le.

Haha! I think most guys are the same! My hb says nt point getting exp cake! To him $100 also consider ex Ho. So I tell him I will pay for it myself, as to hw much is the cake he dun nd to know =p anyway, my hb always give me xx budget so I just top up watever excess which is usually the case.  

Cloudpoem,

I love beautiful cakes and somemore once a yr so I am more willing to spend...fondant cakes more exp coz paying for the unique designs n wkmanship of the baker so am ok. I usually order from hm bakers. I also order frm pine Garden (pg) but find their designs too common and standard. Some cakes can easily guess is frm pg. They are also cheaper as they are cream based n nt fondant based. If u can splurge for the party, splurge on the cake coz it's kind of the highlight of the party. The kids will love it when their friends go wah over the cakes. Haha. 

Hw long do u intend to bfeed? Towards the end of the yr n before cny, most ppl waiting for bonus so unlikely to job hop. So once they gotten the bonus they will hop and companies will be hiring. While some mnc have headcount freeze towards the yr end also.

Deon,

Our gals have the same name - right dwn to the surname! Haha. 

Angie,

The original material for the Zapp when they are older is nt as warm as buzz or zapp extra. Yes, zapp extra is hard to keep as u can't fold it unlike zapp'a version. Which is y my hb doesn't wan to upgrade to zapp extra seat. Also, when u recline the seat, the legs will be higher than the body.

I wldnt b getting anything frm gymb coz nthing attracts me. Thx for the offer ya =)

Mudppie,

U can wait a few more days for baby to poo.

Janice,

Sense is nice too. Was surprise to see this new range from quinny as they usually do 3wheelers.

Mayb can let ur gal stop wearing mittens already? My gal was also sucking her mittens till wet n rubbing on her face till I got fedup and I stop her on mittens. Nw everytime have to keep alookout to see if she is sucking n if so need to clean.

Oh dear, hope she will stop pooing soon. 

Ash,

Yes! V cooling nite. Hope it will cont to rain tml. Hehe. 

Val: thanks, I hope it will turn out well as well.. Hmm.. Tomolo better dun rain as we hv to bring my #1 to ballet class n aso to register for e infant care as well.. But I dun mind a cloudy day thou.. Hehe..

Gd nite mummies!

Preciousmom,

hope ur side dun rain and my side rain heavily! Keke.

Sometimes I can't help thinking stay at hm too long will be taken for granted by the hb. He is the 1st to slp and tat leaves me to put 2 kids to slp...n he is spared frm nites duties lo! He also dun help out with the hsewk anymore, nt evening washing the dishes or a cup. Sian man.

Starflower: ya I heard alot of good things abt phil&ted too but I dun think mothercare carry...will go and try out the different ones this weekend.

Precious: haa I hope for a cloudy day tml too...so shiok to go out in cloudy day...

Val: like that I must really think twice before getting zapp extra le...somemore I got a combo cocorro...maxi cosi no use too...yr hb very good life...haa life everything to u...maybe he feels u are doing a great job le so let u continue...I m not so nice like u...I expect my hb to relieve me when he is back...now he is putting bb to slp while I hav my own time to myself...but sth if he is too tired I will just do all the night duties.

Starfruit: ya, my #1 also ask for princess Cake for her sch celebration.. But the online baker princess not very nice leh.. So I dubno if I should opt fondant cake for #1 and princess from bengawang for #1..

Still thinking, maybe will jus purchase la! Arg. Follow my heart!

Val: I love beautiful cakes too.. Ya, agree that most HB don't like to spend money.. They jus spend in gadgets! Humph! I plan to bf 1 yr? Maybe by that time lose wt, more presentable to go interview! Lol! ;b