(2011/05) May 2011

sylvia, my boy previously also didnt poo for 6 days. I sid get really worried but he let go the 'motherload' on the 7th day and we were all relieved ;p so it should be alright, tbf babies do that sometimes.

hannah, sorry i cant turn up at ur place tomoorrow, the technician coming to fix the cctv cams urgh, cant change appointment w him so cheesed off w him...hope he finish fast then i can still pop by hehehee

Split, I suddenly got a call fr the maid I wanted to get her 2 weeks ago but her employer doesn't want to let go. Now she seriously need to trf & hope I can help her. Suddenly am having option of maids haha..

Well, the employer is on vacation, they will only return on Thurs. If everything turn out fine..I'll take her instead of the 9yrs experience maid. Headache..

good morning!!!

Angie: thanks for helping me to ask dr tt... i oso brought my gal to see dr lim from raffles... she said maybe becos of her block nose... just make sure no bruises on her body n her bleeding is those thick type like cuts, not those mix with liquid one...

xuanmin: thanks!!! my gal oso sleep aircon room... but i got put humifier leh... thought it will help...

val: i got emailed u regarding the shipping fee... have oredi trsfed... will collect at hannah place tomolo... still wanna me resend?

apple: congratz!!! now u got lots of choices... can choose the one u like liao... but if the maid wan to trsf can the emplyer dun let go?

GAP/OLD NAVY: Any mummies wanna spree? now got 35% off...

Apple how the maid get ur no? So u mean her employer go oversea she find other employer herself??y she suddenly so urgently need to transfer?

Yaer employer can choose not to transfer them since thy have a contract like my previous maid she wanna transfer I don't let despite her already found agency to help her den she tell me she wanna go back instead and give me alot of nonsense..plus nowaday hard to get transfer seriously if I got choice I wunt wanna transfer my maid gotten retrain again and alot of cost involve if I close both eyes no problem I will choose to keep the maid

Yah like what Ash asked, I'm also curious those with 2 kids like Val, how did you all manage?

Are your hubbies very hands on?

Hi all. I feel really upset. My baby is getting fussier and fussier. During the first mth, if he sleeps too much in the day, he will refuse to sleep for a few hours at night. After first mth, he totally dun sleep during the day but he had a good sleep at night. Now he's 8 weeks and he's refusing to sleep day and nite and keep on crying. He even cry during feeding and after feeding. I really dunno how to handle him anymore. Just now after crying for very long, I put him in his yao lan and shake for very long before he finally sleep. Tot of waking him up for his bath coz he wet his whole body just now but thinking of him crying non stop after that really puts me off. Haiz. Really dunno why I have such a fussy baby.

LJ: sth i change sides too...but sth see him slp till so soundly just let him slp...

yaer: u are welcome...i told him u wanted to see him he say better stick with your current pd cos the pd noes yr kid situation best and his waiting time is v.long...jus in case u cant wait.

Jenny: Can feel yr frustration...but yr mood will affect bb too...i dun believe at first but when i got v.frustrated at times bb also becomes fussier...when i m more relaxed bb also more cooperative.

Home sweet home! Got discharged le...so happy to be back...bb sleep better at home too..he keep waking up in the hosp...any mummies experience this? 2 months old bb can 'ren' places le?

Ash, arisz: at this moment, I'm aso looking after my 3 kids wif my hubby only.. Although my 2 elder kids go to cc in e day.. Nw during office hr, only me n baby at home, then after work, my hubby will fetch e 2 elder kids Hm n we will look after them ourselves..

Jennyu wanna bring bb to PD for a check. According to my PD bb should not fuss so much. I think he may be unwell could be gas or something tat iscuasing disomfort and since he cant express so he just cry lor. My ger was like this too whwn she was hAving her acid reflux condition. She kept crying n fussing n i just felt tat there was something not right. We delAyed a week before bringing her to see PD n after the diagnosis i felt sooo bad caused she suffered for 1 week before we treated her. After tat she got so much better n dun cry or fuss so much after the medication. So now i know if she keeps crying therevmust be something wrong. So my advise bring ur bb for a check to make sure all is ok.

Jenny

don't stress yourself out so much. Did you try giving him a pacifier? I was very against babies using pacifiers but I had to give my #1 tt time cos she had colic. It was quite easy to wean her off by 2 yrs old. I've read many articles that says it really helps to calm fussing babies down and prevent SIDs. He might have swallowed too much air while crying and the discomfort will make him scream more and swallow even more air. Try burping him and carry him upwards. Hope this helps. You must take care too..

Arisz

You shld get hubby to help you out. We all are not machines. and if the mothers collapse or fall sick, the hubbies will have more to handle. So get him to help out! I survived with 2 kids w/o domestic help too until recently my maid came. So get your hubby moving now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val

not sure why ss drop also. been drinking a lot and she's on tbf too. Dont wish to supplement with fm yet...How much u got your pupsik for? saw so many mums wearing it tt day but i already got another new sling..v tempted keke..

starfruit: do u have any PD to recommend to me? We've seen one at polyclinic e doc just says dunno what's wrong with him and tell us to monitor ourselves. Then last week went to NUH the doc just say he's fussy. That's all. I scare go private so exp den doc tell us he dunno then waste our money.

xuanmin: I gave him pacifier but now he dun really want it ever since I latched him on. I think he wants to sleep but he cun get to sleep. He doesn't want to try to close his eyes, instead he just cry and cry nonstop.

Angie: glad that u & Bb are back home! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] no more yummy hosp food liao.. But this kind if food, better don't eat too much Cux eating it meaning it's in hosp.. Haaha.

Jenny: hang on there.. I agree with starfruit. Brung to ur PD if u're unsure of what's wrong.. Bring ur Bb for a evening walk, get some fresh air for Bb and urself. Play some Bb sleeping music during the night and see if it helps..

Sigh.. I hope time pass slowly now! Cux I'm reporting back to work soon.. I told my #1 that mummy is going back work, she say she doesn't want me to go work and be home so late.. I hear liao, heartache and teared abit.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'm torn between switching job or staying put..

Switch job:

Cux my current job work hrs are like 1-10pm, reach home ard 11pm. 2 weekends gotta work too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Staying put:

My children has benefits.. Half price on the kindergarten fees, I save abt $800 from them.. They can get free tuition too.

Delimma. Mummies, if u were me.. Stay put or Leave?

Jenny

you want to try Dr Irene Chan at ikids at Paragon? She's at level 19, both my gals go to her. She is one of the best PD in Spore and the founder for KKH child intensive care.

Jenny, I agree with starfruit. Check out with the pd first. If nothing is wrong, then it's just yr bb being fussy. My no 1 was a super fussy bb since birth. Cry day n night n refused to sleep. Brought him to see many pds but there was nothing wrong with him. He can wake up every 10-15 mins from 10am to 4am, then every hrly from 4am till 8am. This gies on till he was 17 months old. Read up dr sears' book n Kellymom n realized I had a fuzzy bb.

I chose to use attachment parenting instead of cry it out method. Enduring n giving as much love as possible though there were times I nearly want to bang on the wall. Furthermore I was in states with no support from my parents except my hubby. Now my boy is sleeping pretty well. Just hv to hang on. Try to grab some fresh air as cloudpoems has mentioned n get some help from yr hubby. Jia you! They will get over the stage when they r older.

My joker now refused to sit on the manduca carrier n prefer his old pupsik. Amy manduca mummies here can guide me how to use? I am going to gone mad soon. Invest in it n he was alright while trying out at the shop and now he refused totally! I don't want my 250 bucks to be wasted man.

cloudpoem

you have to consider how much you save in terms of dollars (income plus benefits) vs how much you lose in terms of hours with your kids. If your hubby's income can support for the time being, you might want to switch job to a normal working 8-hr shift like 9-5. At least you can spend some time having dinner with your kids, reading to them and settling them to sleep. To me, that is the best time to bond. When I sleep with my gal, we will chat and she will share with me her day in school etc. This kind of bonding time, once lost, can never be found.

Also, weekends are really precious family time too. You might seriously want to consider. Of cos, it's ALWAYS about $$$$.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jenny - Don't stress yourself out. My bb girl is also quite fussy. She will cry before and after feed as well, most of the time she wants to be carried.

So we have to carry her and pat her to sleep. She also do not like to sleep in her cot and likes only the sarong. Inially, do not need to rock her to sleep now she will cry for it.

Hope things get better...

Xuanmin: my HB has to pay most of the household stuffs.. Maid and parents allowance.. He gives alot to parents, and my new flat is coming..

I've always wanted to stay hm with them.. If I switch job, I need to secure a much higher pay.. I've 3 kids, income can't afford to be lesser. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] moreover, I'm still nursing~ ahhh!! Arghh! Money versus time with kids.. I wanna chose time with kids. But can I afford?

preciousMom, you really power mummy! Salute you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xuanmin, my hubby do help out a bit here and there only. His work is very busy and he travels a lot.

I do have a helper but over the weekends, we brought 3 kiddos out so 3 adults with 3 kids but can't even eat in peace. Haiz!

Probably cause my #1 and #2 not those guai guai type. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angie, yeah! good that bb and you are home! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny, yah, calm down and bring bb for a check with the PD to be sure.

maid: im so impressed by my new maid..is either last time im too relax on my old one or this new one is too hardworking..she've completed myold maid 3 days chores withing a day..vacuum the mattress, vauucm the floor, mop the living room floor and hand wipe bedroom floor, handwash baby clothes, wash toilets, tidy the cabinet which my old maid never done for 6mths, tidy my kids cabinet and clothing, wipe table and tidy drawers and cabinet, clean window grilles and wipe window..auto one i never tell her do...now she ask me for things to do..i cant think of any..and i keep telling her go rest awhile but she said she not tire....

oh not to mention among my so many ex maid..she's the only one will greet us gd morning and gd night

hope she will remain this hardworking and polite..

Split, wah seh! your new maid is super!

Can complete so many chores in a day.

Hope she can continue like this and you can have a peace of mind!

Btw, Indon or Filipino?

arisz, yeah im quite impressed..plus she iron clothes very fast..and she still apologise to me saying she do it too slow ask me give her time to adapt..but she actually used lesser time den my ex maid..shes from myanmar..only thing bad now is my boys still dont like her and her english abit hard to understand

bbpooh, thanks..u getting a fresh maid? my maid was transfered maid 9mths in spore le but her english still half plus six.. hope ur new maid will be gd too.. gee getting a gd maid is like striking 4d like that so hard..

Cloud: ya I miss the food...like it so much tt I asked the nurses if they got do home delivery svs..haa...

Erm...really dilemma if I m u I will try looking for a more flexible hr job so I can have time with the kids cos yr current job the timing really sucks le....weekends burnt some more...no time w hb n kids....

Arisz: hee thanks!

Split: wow such an efficient maid...!

V - ya, did LASIK. All along wanted to do it.

Central gathering - let's go vivo! I'm not familiar with that place. Any suggested restaurant that we can go? If u all are ok, shall we meet on 19july (tues)?

Evie

Preciousmom

V

Jennymy pd is Dr terence tan from kinder clinic at MtA. A few of us are seeing him. Be warned his queue can be quite long. I like him a lot ashe is very very good with babies n children.

Jerejoy its not easy to take care of a young bb yourself alone oversea with no family support.

Cloud, my suggestion to u is tat while u go back to work, u can try n see if u can look for another job. If u can find one tat matches ur current pay or not too less but with better working hrs, u can do the switch.

split, this should be a maid ought to be perform.

she has been almost two years with us and i'm granting her two weeks leave in coming oct. from 1st day till now, she'll greet us in the morning & night before she go to bed. she'll ask us for permission to have her meal.

she's new w/o any experience, don't even know how to cook.. & now, she can cook cereal prawn, sweet & sour pork, bak ku teh, vinegar trotter and many more... right now, my MIL's teaching her how to cook braised duck. i'm so glad that i've her around but there are times i've to close one eyes...

I may not make it hannah's plc tomorrow. Need to standby to pick up my ger.

Val i have not trf yet. Cos ib token not with me. Will try n do it tonight. If i cant make it tomorrow. May have to use couier again.

Central gathering - let's go vivo! I'm not familiar with that place. Any suggested restaurant that we can go? If u all are ok, shall we meet on 19july (tues)?

Evie

Preciousmom

V

Ash - or orchard central/313? there's marche at 313

Dolly ure so lucky I employer so many maid le and all of them the most greet gd morning n only for first few days after that no more so i still abit reserve abt my current one. Ur maid is from which country?

split, she's my second maid. 1st maid is a ex-sin (both are indo), so during that time thought i want to hire a experience maid coz we don't have any experience in handling baby plus lack of time to train. we were so happy that the moment she came to help us to do the chores. as we almost didn't do the housechores for almost a month, next thing she will handmop the floor. i'm happy that she handmop the floor but that doesn't last long.. it's only for show... 2-3 weeks later, she suddnly used mop... we were wondering how come from handmop turn out to mop? then she don't greet us in the morning & night too... especially after dinner, she quickly wash the dishes & took her shower. next thing, she went to bed w/o asking for my permission.

though she knows how to cook but that's her style of cooking.. my mum keeps on telling her the style of dishes we are expecting.. she just simply ignore my mum's guidiance and carry on with her own way... plus if anything in the house that runs out, she don't informed us as well... for example, we run out of eggs or toilet paper, she also don't update us. till we asked her, then she will blur blur and tel us she don't know it has run out...

one best thing, my mum brought her & J to my aunt's home coz we are all out. we even have instruct her to help out if my aunt required her, she agreed to do so. but @ our back, she expect payment of SGD50 from my aunt otherwise she'll report to MOM that she's asked to do household chores in someone's home..

OMG... we change her after two & 1/2 month of her nonsense..

dolly: can change just after 2.5 month?

my agent told me min 6 months before can change leh? am i being conned by my agent? i just engage one.

kristle, of coz you can change if she's not suitable.. i remember i've paid certain sum of monies if she can't stay more than a month. you can check with your agent about this. we can change the maids up to 3 times per year if i'm not wrong...

Just brought baby for his 6 in 1 jab n his weight is 5.9kg and height: 64cm.. Am wondering if his weight gain is too little as his birth weight is 4.385kg.. Which means he only gains 1.5kg after 2 months.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

now with the new rules from the phips embassy, we got to pay extra $400+ for each application of maid. if we change maid, we got to pay again the sum of $$ as it is peg to each maid's name and not to employer. this is what my agent told me. think they trying to stop changing of their maids that frequent.

Angie: I always take it easy and relax when carrying him. But it doesn't work. Now he's getting worse. Last time if I carry him no use I will pek cek and someone else carry he will stop crying. But now even if someone take over he will still cry.

cloudpoem: We tried giving him music but he still cries. We totally can't pacify him now. Even if sling also must sling very very long before he will quieten down to sleep for a while. When he wakes up and find himself still in the sling, he will continue sleeping but if he realised we put him down elsewhere, he will start crying again.

xuanmin: Thanks. I've called and booked an appt with her for tmr. Hopefully she can diagnose someone from my baby and cure it. I hope its not another " I don't know" answer.

jerejoy: OMG! 17 mths? I kept telling myself to endure and endure. He will be ok soon. When he still newborn, I tell myself he will be better after full month, then now I tell myself he will be better by second mth. But each and every day passes with him being more and more fussy.

Deon: I rem u also had a fussy baby. Haiz. Last few weeks I carry him he will be quiet and sleep. But now carry he still cry. Really felt like crying with him. But my depression is over, I used to cry a lot with him during my confinement.

starfruit: thanks. I'll try out the doc at paragon first if really no use then I try out urs.

preciousmom: Wow u have a really huge baby. My baby now is 5.2kg at 8 weeks I already find him very heavy.

Jenny - Same here lah... Now my bb will just cry no matter who carry her... Understand what you meant to cry together with bb.. You just do not know what to do... Try and take it easy...

You must take good care of yourself to take care of your bb !!

split, the maid got my contact coz 3wks back I wanted to take her, but her employer doesn't want to let her trf..so she stay put. Now she really cannot take it anymore, so she rang me up last nite asking me whether I have gotten a maid or can I take her when her employer back fr vacation this Thur/Fri.

Hmm..your Myanmar maid sounds great! Hope she remains good attitude throughout her stay. Actually my super duper lazy maid when she just came to my home, she was real hardworking..but only last for 1wk..haha after that the lazy worms all come out :p

Jenny, yes. I think my boy is one of the most fussy baby in the world! Lol! I understand how u feel now. Don't despair. Believe in yrself that things will get better. They will get over this stage. Just a matter of time. Hugs! Jia you!

Starfruit, yes, It wasn't easy for me that time but blessing in disguise. My hubby and I are much closer to our kids and we prefer to cope on our own with no maids and without any help from our parents. 

preciousmum, u can be rest assured that yr boy is gaining well. According to my pd, baby shld gain 500gm every month. Yrs is above the minimum weight gain. 

19Jul gathering (tues)

vie

Preciousmom

V

Ash - or orchard central/313? there's marche at 313

Starflower - prefer Vivo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] eg white dog cafe, Cedele, earle swensons. afraid its very cramped at marche though i do like orchard central/313, not enough space for strollers hehee