(2011/05) May 2011

hello mummies..i need to rant this out.

my hubby's family stays in JB. ever since bb got her passport when she was 5 weeks, we have been coming back EVERY weekend, staying overnight. packing her stuff to come over is like moving house! doesn't really help when his grandma can't stand bb's loud cries - kept saying that bb's loud cries scares her. yet, in front of my hubby and aunt, she kept saying that it's normal for bb to cry. -.-''

when it reaches midnight, i am so worried that she will wail out loud for feeding. thank goodness, bb was very cooperative by giving me ample warnings last night. but because bb is used to sleeping with fan and alone, she didn't get good night sleep here as she has to sleep with me and hubby, and we have to close the windows for fear of mosquitoes.

have to acknowledge that hubby's grandma treat me very well - always cook nice and healthy food for me. but i will constantly be worried abt her cries!! haiz...yet, my hubby wants to come back every week. how how how??

Cloud,

Ya, for colic, usually bb will cry at the same time everyday. Beta to see PD and check. IF got colic take medicine.

Sling,

I got MIM one, i'm stll trying to get the hang of using it. Keep having the feel that the sling is very loose and bb seems to be slipping down. I quite tempted to get Beco Carrier as my friend have one and it seems very comfortable to use but expensive and need to order from overseas. My hubby keep discouraging me to buy... i have the combi carrier but it is not comfortable so seldom use it.

Nepia diaper,

Ya now still having promo of $14 per pack, i just called to check yesterday. Will order one carton to try.

Cloud u can search fot little wardrobe@UOB in facebook to see their collection of items. Sure will get tempted.

Bbpooh: hannah is using a becco, i have a becco too. One thong good abt the becco is tat it can carry up to 20 kg n can carry on the back. Must dig out mine to try. But i think i still like my pouch n my bjorn. U can try WTS see if u can fond any mummies selling it.

deon: have added u on fb here. ;)

Sling: where is selling at $30plus? online selling $50 plus? hmm, thought of getting the reversible one..

Starfruit: at least u know the trick to make ur bb quiet and feel comfortable.. i cant. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] she doesnt seem to settle down at anything. thought pacifier could do the trick, but no.. she has to cry till she's very very tired and sleep when suckling on my breast.. and this has been going for 1 month liao. to think, i can still tahan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

depressing.

Cloud go to pupsikstudio.com they have GSS sale. The non reversible ones going for $30 plus only.

Actually some babies need to cry it out before they sleep. Same for my ger lah before zzz must cry out loud!

my bb is down with flu n cough..sigh. pd say the virus has gotten into her lungs. i was sick last week.. and my mum too. she must hav gotten it from one of us. juz wondering if im sick, n bb drinks BM.. will the bacteria/ virus be passed on via BM?

goofie,

guess almost an hr of milk drinking is quite long but some bb really need such long time....my gal at 1st oso take quite long still cant finish whole bottle of 100ml...now improving....she drinks about 80-100ml each feed n takes about 15mins....

sunflower,

virus in her lungs means RSV / brochritis already rite? juz like my gal tat time when hospitalised..... really poor thing, hope bb recover soon....

wow eevie,

xiong to go in n out of jb every wk.....can understand ur stress of bb crying ....

try persuading ur hubby when he's in gd mood....?

@sh: whats RSV ah? pd gave some med to 'remove' the phelgm etc. gotta monitor for 1 mth.. if still same condition, den gotta admit her to hosp. super stress seeing her like this. its also affecting her feeds as she cant breathe n drink properly. sigh... instead of giving her gd antibodies, did i give her bacteria instead??

sunflower....

monitor 1 mth...izz too long....??tat time my gal took about 2 wks to reach peak of RSV syptoms when she's super xin ku n running a fever...so i check her in to hospital when pd did a blood test, xray n mucus test to cfm its rsv...she stay for 5 days 6 days for the virus to clear totally....

think if u think something is nt rite jus gt to pd again....which pd is tat? u might wanna go to the one apple is recommending Dr Terrence Tan....which is specialised in this area *respiratory).

my gal oso cant drink milk n sounds so phelgmy....pd gave her cough inducer to cough out all the phelgm. its was a heart breaking duration too....not so easy for bb as well....

gt to keep monitoring esp at nite, if nt bb might get choke by the phelgm, she cough a little only u muz wake up check....don take it lightly. my gal every nite cant slp well so xin ku tat time.

u can read more on rsv at:

http://www.childrenshospital.org/az/Site1521/mainpageS1521P0.html

its acutally can cause bronchitis / pneumonia.....

per pd, rsv gt no medication to treat, only can treat the sysptoms....

Sunflower: monitor closely. Speaking from experience as my #1 had it.. Not at infancy but at toddlers..

From wad I know, u can still breastfeed when we're having fever & flu. Unless under medication, whereby it's stated not for lactating mummies. Than got to pump and discard milk.

Phglem would be the last to go as thie air sacs are still small. Help ur Bb to clean nose every night or before feed ti ease drinking and sleeping..

Sunflower pls cont to BF even if u are ill or running a fever. U will pass the virus antibodies to bb via your breastmilk. Its good for bb. If bb is sick itz not from ur BM but most prob from ur body fluid or airborn virus. Yes dr t Tan specialises in the area of child respiratory. He is at kinder clinic mt A. U can google his name n clinic for number. Anyway his appt fully booked till aug. So better u walk in n wait. Waiting time min 2-3hrs but then if ur case serious, u get priority.

Apple/dolly i love the bra!! Hehe

is it advisable to let bb sleep in aircon room?

actually my #1 and #2 dont sleep much in air con room.. my #3 in fact, slept the most since infancy.. hmm, wonder if its a good or bad thing.. would it cause skin sensitive? nose sensitive?

today seems a better night! yipee! she did NOT fuss at all. yay! at least, i no need to indian dance at home.. hahaha.. quite happy today as got to bake cake to destress and bb is relatively cooperative. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies... just finished pumping.

My boy been sleeping thru the nite and i got to get up between 2am to 3am to pump.. haiz.. i miss my sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa, did you train your boy or he just sleep thru on his own? That's good leh... There's one time he slept for 6 hrs.. His sleep pattern from 9-10pm, wake up from 1-2am, then 4-5am, then 7am... Going to work on Friday le, don't know how to train him? During my girl's time, quite easy.. Just drag her feeding by half hr to an hour.. This boy can't wait for feeding, wants means want.. Otherwise, the entire block will collapse le...

dolly, up for pumping? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my boy co-sleeps w me.. so when he wants milk, he will brush his hands towards my face or my hand to wake me up... previously i will instantly wake up and latch him but hor, he will drink for 5 mins and doze off and wake up 1hr later to drink again.. so recently, i dun want to give in so easily, i will "pretend" to sleep and now he will wait(previously he will wait for awhile then wail) and call out gently for me to wake up... if he sees me sleeping, he will just lie down there and gently calls me.. so dragging his drinking fr 1 hrs to 3 hrs then to 5 hrs slowly...

for 2nite, he actually sleeps fr 10am++ and just woke up for his milk .. got to warm up the EBM for him now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evie...wah, I salute to u.. For me, traveling from hgg to cck every weekend, I can die liao. Maybe can ask ur hb, if can go back every 2-3weeks? R u a Sahm?

Can i ask mummies w 2 kids or more, do u all sleep w ur elder kids n bb together in a room? Today is the 1st didi came home..n I actually need to prolong my pumping 7-8 hrs..n it happen twice.... Haiz, make it worse, my #1 woke up at 3am n keep wanting to sleep in playpen w didi..

Hello mummies!!

I completed my bb shower yesterday. It was fun!! Lotsa frens and relatives turn up and it was really a good catching up session after 30 days of not seeing them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And yippee... The end of my confinement and later will be my 1st alone time onwards with baby as my cl will be leaving. I would still like to continue eating more nourished confinement food but doubt I have time to cook to last 40 days of cf. Any suggestions?

Also, check with mummies, if I have 2 bottles of ebm in fridge and I needed to combine them into one- do I pour into one bottle before or after warming up?

Starfruit- thanks for adding me to the group on fb!!! Will go check it out later.

Bubblepearl; how old is ur big boy? I'm co-sleeping withy Bb, hubby and #1 sleeps on the floor. My #1 is already 4.5yrs old.. She's quite obedient. When we get busy and no time to pat her to sleep, she'll entertain herself and slowly drift to lalaland..

My #2 sleeps with my mil Cux she's at her terrible 2 stage. No negotiation at all. I dunwan her to scare my Bb with her cries or so on... Hurhurr.

Goofie: I din try to combine before.. What I combine was freshly pump within 24 hours in the fridge. Than warm up for Bb.

Auroa: I think I'm training my Bb as simiar to urs!! But u got big supply to begin speaking with. Cux I know my boobs, can't pump much out either. Sometimes, pump only 30-40ml per side. In fact, one side yield lesser. Is it normal?

Dolly: Haaaha. No joke.. Sometimes, the dance also can't appease her. And my girl similar to ur boy sleeping pattern. ;( still quite alot of night feeding..

@sh: ya lor, i tout 1 mth is too long too. will monitor everyday now.. i wen to dr ang @ tmc. come home feeling a bit unhappy as 2 wks ago wen i brought bb for monthly chkup, i told her bb sounds like got flu n cough le. but she chk n say no. tinkg if at tat time treated, now bb wun be so xin ku. sigh..

oh my, dr tan..heard lots of raves bout him but the waiting time.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] how to get priority? tell the nurses?

wen hospitalised, was yr gal given the oxygen mask to breathe? how long does it take to get well?

goofie,

congrats pn ur full mth celebration! finally out of jail feeling rite...lol...

cloud,

love ur idian dance comments....hahaha.....

sunflower0121,

oh it started 2 wks liao? think u gt to monitor closely as it might peak anytime soon if its rsv....

actually 2 wks back ur pd cant do much too cos there's no medication suitable for veri young bb like ours....n pd normally wont wanna give medications (if really no choice they gt to give, for veri serious cases).....mine was like tat lo..... i kaisi bring her go pd at start of her blocked nose n phlegm but end up only hv 1 medicine to clear her phelgm but didnt help at all....pd mention some bb r juz to young to respond to medications.....

after nose spray, gt to use the pigeon nose sucker to suck out for her....but frankly speaking its useless for my case cos all phelgm are behind the nose......at the throat which she keepshaving this wanna vomit n swallowing look but juz cant get anything out....

the only cure is to admit hospital and they use the machine + tube to suck out for her....its nt a 1 time thing....as n when she feels blocked then gt to do liao....n bb is super xin ku doing this procedure.....nurse wont allow u to seen its close door + bb cry super loud....

but i gt chance to see be4 cos i tell nurse i can take it.....its really heart pain! if u cant take it better don see....

once even bb whole face turn blue black! no oxygen then the physiotherpist stop! so angry but check wif pd she say its like tat!

u still let bb slp aircon rm? do u find it worsening her condition? but in hospital oso aircon n its wif medications help of cos.....mayb u put a cup of wtr so tat air is nt so dry....?

Auroa, aiyo he's so cute.. I can't stand W.. He used to sleep with me.. Maybe he smell my presence, he will wake up every 2 hrs for feed.. I've him moved over with my mum, then I can have longer sleep.. Since he can't smell my presence, he then sleep slightly longer.. Think I've to start to train him Liao..

Time flies, he's 12 weeks old today... I've shed 11 kg & am back to my pre-pre-pregnancy weight.. That's even before my #1 pregnancy. Bought some clothes during gss last month, can't fit in anymore, especially the bottom keeps dropping...

@sh: ya 2 wks, i see her coughing but no phelgm kind. yes, my gal also shows the vomit and swallow look. initially tout she going to vomit out milk. but i tink its more of the phelgm..

when did pd ask u to admit yr gal to hosp? after how long medication?

omg, sounds very heartpain just by hearing you describe. sigh...

previously bb is in aircon rm at night. i worried her heat rash come back, so on the aircon at 28deg. last night tried without aircon..

dolly,

its a gd sign the pants r dropping.... guess u don mind the purchases at gss gets wasted rite... keke....

i still don hv time go buy buy buy .....still hoping to shed more kgs off me too.....lol....

sunflower,

cos tat day she fever 37.5....i juz think something is nt rite aft so any days of cough n phelgm...n it seems to worsen

i go kkh hospital tat day was sun no pd, kkh doc suggest admit but didnt give a coinfidence look n answer.... she say let her check wif her colleague for opinion 1st then tell me, then when she come back, she say advise for my gal to admit....then my hubby n i hink better bring her go back mt a n call for my pd.....so my pd over the phone say let the a&e doc access then she call tat doc....end up both sugguest admit too.....

be4 tat hm nt much medication n its nt workng on her....do nubulisation too....

think u better stay at hm cos rsv will spread thru air.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wah super zombie now. My ger wss awske from 12plus/1am till 3.30am then woke again close to 5am followed by 6.30am. She barely slept last night. N i also didnt get to sleep!

I suspect it was the pearl milk tea i drank from gong cha!! I was quite good n didnt drink any coffee/tea till i saw gong cha and cannot resist! Wah no more bubble tea for me!!

morning!!!

pat my no1 to sleep yesterday nite but in the end sleep with her n forgot to wake up to pump... it's been 12hrs since i last pump, luckily onli breast hard but no blockage...

sunflower: oh dear... hope ur bb recover soon... my gal oso got hospitalised before for lung infection... really heartpain to see my gal kana poked 20 over times just to get the needle into the vein for IV... still can bf when u r sick wor... just tat if u r on medication must make sure it is bf safe...

bubblepearl: my no1 now sleep with my hubby in one room n no2 sleep with me in another room as for now... until my no2 can sleep thru the nite oredi den i will let them sleep together in a room...

Cloudpoem, my #1 is 2.5yo, still in his T2 stage... Think school reopen I am going to place him weekdays at my parent place so that didi will not disturb him or he will not disturb didi..

Bubble: envy ur Bb can sleep thru the night. I pray for mine to happen soon ....Bb going 7weeks still feed every 2-3 hrs

Dolly: ur Bb so gentle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So fast ur Bb 12 wks already? N good for u to be able to lose weight so fast!

Auroa: my boy also can't wait one lor. Scream until korkor woke up n start whining too. I kaoz....then morning korkor also scream for milk when he woke up n woke Bb up....

bubble pearl, my no1 and no2 sleeps w us in the same rm. Initally no1 complaints as no2 cries in the nite for milk feeds or need to on the nite light to change his diapers.. now no1 just sleeps and hardly wakes up now (maybe get use liao). But hor, my no2 sleeps w me and no1 is jealous and wants to sleep w me too so i joined her bed to my side of the bed.. so it's 1 on the right and 1 on the left. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

goofie, can consider confinement tingkat like Natal Essentials.

cloudpoem, my both sides dun give out the same output... normally one side which my bb din drinks will hve higher volume. Initally my supply starts fr 20ml for week 1... slowly climbed up to 300ml ++ now... I catered confinement food. Strictly speaking, i din drink the herbal soup (except the fish soup) fr the tingkat as my bb got G6PD and i need to avoid the herbals, so wat i do to up my water supply is to drink lots of mllk (2 cups a day), 6 cups of red dates drink (but i find tat drinking it gives me sore throat.. so i reduced it eventually), lots of plain water, sometimes also drink bubble teas and milo too. And ya, supply = demands... my bb latch on 1 to 2 hrs in the daytime.. now getting lesser.. daytime feeds abt 3 times and he sleeps till 12pm or 1pm then wakes up and play for less than half an hr and then drinks and sleep for 2 to 3 hrs and then wake up bath and drinks... bedtime starts fr 8pm (fed) and wakes up ard 11pm and sleeps till 4am to drinks again.. then 7am++ drinks again... my daily routine now.

Goofie: congrats on ending confinement! Anyone cooking for u after ur CL left? I just ask my maid to fry everything in sesame oil n add wine to soup for 40 days diet.

Starfruit: wah! Din know bubble tea could be so potent one.

dolly, me opp leh.. if my bb dun "smells" me, instally he will wakes up... like yesterday, i put him in my sis rm to sleep while we eat dinner in the kitchen.. once we step out of the rm, he immediately wakes up liao.. same goes at home too.. if i sleep longer, he sleeps longer too.. if i wake up, he also wakes up.. even i pump, he will wake up halfway when i pumping in the other rm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

must be quite happy to lose the "weights" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit, no wonder u wrote in FB tat no more bubble tea for u anymore... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] actually i drank milk tea but bb so far ok. wat did u order? milk tea (green or red)?

lttle fly, normally i will scold no1 for waking up no2.. told her tat bb only knows how to cry to communicate.. i expected no1 to be quiet and understand lor.. but hor, she always talks loudly and ask why she needs to talk like a mouse. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunflower, yr bb ok? sorry, i din read the previous post... hope yr bb recovers soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sh & lil fly, yeah it's a good sign... I didn't expect I can shed so much before going back to work...

Auroa, every bb is different.. But both my #1 & 2 are same, will cry for milk when they smell me.. Can't carry them or came back home, they are able to smell my presence...

sh.. - ya, very xiong. everytime we go in, have to bring a luggage of her stuff. haiz...

bubblepearl - i asked him aly. he just stare at me and said that i bring bb to my mum's house everyday and it's unfair. but, my mum is helping look after the bb now. it's different lo..no, i'm not a sahm. now clearing my maternity leave.

goofie - congrats to end of confinement!

sunflower - i was with Dr Ang as well. but after 2 visits to her, i decided to change PD. she's too rushed and very rough to bb. if i were u, i won't let bb sleep in aircon room. cuz it's more dry and it's cool air. slightly more straining on bb's respiratory system. hope ur bb gets well soon!

deon - have added u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, can add me on facebook? [email protected]

dolly - i envy ur weight loss!!

Oh dear I must be aging. Last few days I've been surviving on 4 hours sleep every day and it seems I feel ok! Maybe my body adjusted to it already! Oh no....

Dolly: so envious of u to lose to pre preg weight.. I lost quite a few aso thou but e tummy is still so big.. Feeling so sad.. Any1 tried/trying e reduze diet pills advertised by Jeanette aw? I feel so tempted to try... :p

evie: I hv added u...

Preciousmum: how can try? Still breastfeeding, right?

U are not alone. I'm feeling bad about my weight too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dolly: same as many mummies here. Envious of ur wt loss!! How did u jus lose weight? Dunno how many donkey yrs I feel my skirt tight! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sunflower, hope your bb gets well soon! Heartache to see bb sick.

Dolly, wah! Also envious of your wt loss! So fast! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]