(2011/05) May 2011

Up for pumping again....

Party over with alot of leftovers. Hb dun want to invite his relatives so I only invite my side. Then one of his uncle had a surprise visit and we were quite embarrassed. This would further sour my relationship w my hb's family. Regardless I am always the villain to them. I rather my mil openly confronts me why I never invite his family than bear grudges so I can defend myself that my hb made the decision and i pay for everything for my son's party.

Split: can empathize with you....regardless your mother-child bonding will be there n when your #1 is older he will want to follow your home. Your hubby will need to support you n make a stand on this.

V: my Bb also uses pacifier tho my mum is against it. my CL also let my Bb sleep on his back as she claims he prefers it that way n he can lift his neck already. I just trim my Bb nails as it is too long.

Goofie, my ger will take abt 20 to 30mins to finish her 150ml of milk.

My ger now is on 75% ebm n 25%fm n she has not pooed for the past 4 days. I haven been giving her plain water. Could it be the reason y she din poo? But i must say she passes gas a lot n its really v smelly. Do u all think i should bring her to a pd? She has always poo every 2 to 3 days for the past 2 weeks.

up for pumping too!!

first time let my girl latch on during night time. but she only latch on one side, so got to pump another side..

2ww- my sil told me that her bb at newborn once did not poo for 7 days record. Did u try making the hmmmmm eh eh shitting sound to baby? The last time my bb didnot poo for 1day, my cl did that to bb for long time. And then he pooed.

Gas is good. At least bb has no wind.

Jus latched on right, Jane u're s hardworking, o don't even bother to pp out the left side, just Gina let her latch on the left at the next feed, too sleepy.

Full Month catere: I chose Kriston, international set. Last time for #1 I chose Stamford catering.

V, my bb also use pacifier. My #1 naturally stopped wanting it when he was 1+.

preciousmom; not recommended to rebound or dye coz chemicals w get into our bloodstream. Have to wait until we stop breastfeeding. It was the first thing I did ;p

Littlefly I don't think my no1 will follow me even my hb said he take it as only got 2 kids now. I reLly don't know wats on my mil mind she seem to wanting to snatch my kids away can I expect a mil tell her grandson she belong to my bil instead of my hb my bil

N sil both not married. My mil told my my son said to him he belong to my bil my no2 belong to daddy n mummy n no3 is my sil one.. I don't thing my 3 yr old boy can said that unless peole Thot him loh.. I once heard my mil tell my no1 弟弟是daddy mummy 寶貝你是奶奶寶貝" den now my no1 tot we don't love him.. Got once I bring my son home to slp my son tell me later his grandma not happy ...

Split, your mil really know how to 'poison' your #1..sigh not healthy this way. In fact you shd even spend more time with him & let him get the msg rite instead of keep having your mil manipulation to his mind since he still young.

I use Seyu catering this time. Portion is huge. Last time use Neo garden.

Split: ur Bil himself don't have kids? Maybe can be ur #1 godson? So he knows Bil is god father only....it's good to have more people doting on your kids but your mil seems to favor #1 more. Can u send him to childcare as he's already 3 so ur mil cannot don't hang on to him n claim he's only your bil's.

I Am so sleepy!

Nic check with u, when u pump for 30 mins how long does it take for your milk to finish flowing? Cos i was reading a link on pumping n it mentioned tat to pump min 10 mins and no more than 20 mins. If need can pumP additional 5 mins after milk stop. Was just wondering if it will yield more if pump longer cos my milk flow stops after 10 mins n so far if i cont to pump to 20 mins the yield is the same.

Any comments from pumping mummies?

Split i think kids are easily influenced at this age not goo if they think u dun live them. Anyway for u to spend more time with no.1 to change his mindset?

Starflower: thanks for advise.. Then I will wait till I stop bf then go rebond

split: aiyo.. Ur mil no gd leh.. I cannot imagine if it happens to me ..Try to spend more time wif ur #1 to bond back e relationship... I'm sure ur #1 will feel it... E bond always b there...

I am zombie..my boy suddenly change his feeding schedule! I used to feed 3-4hourly @ nite but last nite he wakes up every 2hr to feed..gosh!

Starfruit, my feeding & pumping pattern the same..only 10min or less. Now I stop pumping coz lazy..

hi morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my no1 currently down w running nose and fever. Hope she wun pass it to no2 as bringing him to his jab on this fri. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nowasdays no1 is very sticky to me.. even i pump milk in the daytime, she also wants to sit besides me and using my notebk to watch show and wait for me at the same time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Even sleep also wants to hold my hands too.

Starfruit, normally i pump for 20 mins (not more than 30 mins). Normally on good days, will hve 2 letdowns within the 20 mins. Now got my girl "supervising" beside me, only 1 letdown during the 20 mins pump.. nowadays to empty the breasts while no2 sleeps (his nap in the afternoon normally lasts abt 3 to 4 hrs).. nowadays he only drinks fr one side and off to dreamland (sometimes 1 hr or up to 4hrs).. i only pump once a day now.

apple, my boy taking longer naps or sleeps longer now... last week was drinking every 1 hr or 2 hrs, now sleeps and drinks every 3 to 4 hrs. Dun know when his schedule will change again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

split, if my mil do tat, i sure will tell her off.. how can she tell the littles ones the kids belongs to who and stop them fr going home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I think i too stress when i pumP thus 1 let down only. I sneak time in to pump n akways worry tat she will wake up thus cant get beyong 1 let down. Each letdown only 50 ml of milk. I think if i have 2 letdowns i may get 80 ml per sides. Sigh

Auroa my #1 same as yours, must stick with me all the time! Cant wait for confinement yo be over sO i can do more for her like bath her etc.

Arisz, congrats again! ;) handsome baby p!

Starfruit, I pump 20- 25 min will get 2 let downs. The second let down is at abt 10- 15 min of pumping.

Split, Oh dear, what's yr hubby's response to what yr #1 said abt him belonging to your BIL?

Nex gathering: when is it? Am keen to join.

Rebonding: my gynae says it's ok but not dyeing of hair. Just ask hairdresser not to let chemicals touch scalp?

Apple: hope u are able to catch some rest in the day! Hugs!

Auroa: hope yr #1 recovers soon!!

Pixie: I am using Ergo but u need to get the infant insert for our babies now. But I wouldn't advise sing bjorn and ergo at this stage yet cos babies' necks still need lots of support. Stroller or slings will be better.

starfruit, me same as u.. i pump per side abt 80 to 90ml per sides (w letdown). nowadays my hubby will try to spend more time w her so tat she wun feel left out as i spending more time bf no2.

Haiz very hard for me to bond with my no1 everytime me n hb bring kids out during weekend mil nt happy, now she purposely enrol my son on a course on Sunday den when we wanna bring him out she said dun waste her money. Everytime I buy sweets for my boy she will said no gd this n that but she alway buy for my boys den she will said the one she buy is gd one.. Feel so pissed.. I so regret letting her take care of my boy that's y I diedie don't let my no2&3 Tay overnight at her place but she keep asking my hb to put at her place. Worst she alway like to said my kids look like my bil n sil and not my hb or me only those bad habit like picky eater she will said like mummy bad temper and all like daddy I nv hear she said my boy look like me or hb even when people comment my no1 look like me she will said look like my hb den mh no2 look like bil.. Ytd she purpose said she wanna carry my girl deb said so loud he whole day nv carry her I also nv stop her from carrying her she herself act bz. Den my girl cry when she carry her my sil ask her to pass back to me she act blur in the end she pass to my sil instead of me. My maid said everytime my mil carry her she will cry

Nic my hb is very angry but he don't said much n he is ver fierce towards my no1 cuz he felt that his mum everything give in to him n he very naughty my no1 very smart but very naughty n selfish alway fight with his little brother.. Now my hb like give up on my no1 le everytime he naughty my mil ask us to scold den she will be the gd guy that help him.. But as parents we can't leave him to be so naughty so will said him and scold him.. Sigh

Bubble pearl, 

Saw someone posting asking if they will have new designs for the pouch n pupsik studio mentioned they are wking on it n hoping can be ready by mid June. Which is like just a few days away =p

Aiyo, lucky just the cloth n nt the whole pillow covering his face, this is v dangerous le. Actually we cannot leave the pillow on them aft they fallen aslp at least nt till they are 1 unless we are staying at their side.

Talking of which, my #1 yest attempted to use pillow to cover my gal's face...n I scolded him...

Goofie,

I do drink plain water during my confinement. The red dates drink n other soups nt sufficient to qrench my thirst le.

Dun stress abt ur ss, the more stress u are the more low it will be.

Hws ur baby nw? Still regurge milk with phelgm??

Dolly,

Think boys' growth is faster than gals ba as boys' appetite generally bigger. So fast going back to wk. Wldnt u b feeling se bu de??

Pixie,

My gal wakes up 2-3x per nite for feeds.

Starfruit,

Hmm...think I am abit off in my mind coz I wld v much like to organize another baby shower! Wahahahaha! Had a fun time catching up with my relatives n friends.

Which design did u get? I hope I will nt see anything I like frm their new designs =p

Sometimes I get letdown 10mins aft pumping so I just cont to pump  till my breasts are soft.

Btw, u have mail =)

Apple,

Before I cld replied u u have already tried out the pouch le n nt buying, tats fast! Hehe. I have been using size m as my hb will sling the pouch too so the size is nice for both of us =)

Another growth spurt frm ur boy?

Split,

Hugs. I agree all the more u sld bring ur #1 hm to stay. Dun let him stay with ur mil anymore. The son is urs, must "claim" him back n let him know who are his immediate family members.

V, 

Mayb ur baby wan comfort latching. I m against pacifier so I will nt intro it to my gal.

Lin,

Well done on ur boy's size =) boy usually bigger appetite n size than gal.

Moo mum,

Hope ur flu will go off soon. Take care.

Starflower,

I gives ebm to my #1 actually. My hb says the same time tat he doubt my bm will have sufficient nutrients for his growth at his age. So wat I do is partial ebm partial fm lo. Aft all, if I dun give him the ebm, either I will have to freeze all those or throw away so just let him drink since he enjoys.

U still have time to consider if u wanna shave at 4th mth =)

2vv, 

Trying massaging or stroking her tummy in downward strokes n see if it helps.

Auroa,

Hope ur gal recover soon. Gonna separate the 2 of them n minimise close contact. If ur #1 wanna touch #2, make sure she sterilize her hands too.

Sounds like ur #1 is rather insecure nw. Does she bully her bro in anyway??

Dolly: wow your bb is really growing very well. Mine is 5kg and my hands are really suan after carrying for more than 10mins...I bought playtex..recommended by starfruit I think..but haven got the chance to use le...no milk to store yet.

Starfruit: me too...only pump for 10mins cos after tt nothing le...I wonder how come some mummies can pump for 30mins....so much ss!

Goofie: I used Elsie...love it!

Arisz: congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: haa ya u must be crazy...but then again me too...though I dun have time to mingle with e everyone cos I invited over 100guests but am touched by the turnout and all. Upload that day pictures..I wanna see! Aiyo your boy boy playing "ah za" with meimei? Is he more guai this week?

Sunflower: mine too sth let out a cry or 2 in his sleep...think maybe they are having nightmare?

Congrats arisz on your new arrival!

me today home alone for first time... MIL went for her off day ... hee hee .. hope i can handle my gal ...

but the house directly below us doing big reno .. so noisy ... lucki my gal can sleep ... look like the drilling can make her sleep ... good for me ...

nicole, i use a comb wz round tips and hot towel to clear my lumps ... place the hot towel on the breast for abt 1min... the use the comb to comb from top to nipple a few time on the whole breast ... then use more firm strokes at the lumps to ease the block ... hope it helps u ...

xing, can jus take the soup, no problem ...

V: I think beco is better le...

Split: I will be pissed off too if I m u...but think have to take it easy...it is almost impossible for the elderly to change their character too...end up u will be the one xin ku only.

@angie: i chked with the pd before (as my gal has been screaming more and her hands will be up in the air like calling for help??) but was told that bb now this age dun hav nitemare.. :/

val, i'll only feel se bu de during my girl's time, coz she's really good girl.. she didn't cry as much as this boy.. while this boy, i keep wanting to leave the house without him for having some peace...

angie, everyone is saying he's really heavy.. where can we get the playtex milkbag?

I haven't had time to read all posts! My bb is undergoing terror 6th week! Yest was the worst! She jus kept crying crying crying.. BF no use, carry no use, rock her mo use, put ru yi oil no use, check diaper and so on.. Hb nearly brought her to kk cux she jus can't stop crying and settle down. I than gave in to the solution of pacifier and fair enough, she suckle for 10mins and fall asleep. Sigh.

Yest night, my boobs suddenly turn engorge. All along, I dong have enforcement prob, was painful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa: my #1 & #2 also down with flu and cough.. My bb do going for injection this sat. Hope they recover by time. Sigh..

Sunflower: aiyo really? Wat did the pd say? I tot they are just scared or sth like tt.

Dolly: I got it at taka that time...25%+10%...but it is the unsealable kind...need to buy the wire thing to bind it.

Cloud: wa u and your hb must be dead beat ytd..mine wakes up every 2 hours during the weekend...super tired too...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] try pumping it out? Will feel better after tt.

split,

i think you MIL kind of mean leh. how can she build a barrier between the child and parents? i remember my MIL wanted me to have 4 kids and offered to look after 2, while the other 2 to be taken care by my mother. i told her straight in the face that how can siblings of the same family be taken care separately?? anyway, i am stopping at 2. she didnt offer to look after any of them also as going there weekly is enough for her now. she thought it was so easy to look after children.

starfruit,

i will usually pump for 15 minutes, then rest 10 min to let supply recharge, then pump another 10 mins again.

dollyqueencess,

i use playtex milk bags. so far the cheapest to get is from taka baby fair.

this bp is closed http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5403440.html?1307923445. u can pm the organiser.

cloudpoem,

i am having the same problem like u. my girl just wailed non stop till her voice turned soar. we took turn to cuddle her. soft singing helped to calm her.

Mummies, can we combine new EBM with old EBM that is chilled (not frozen) into the same bottle? Very waste to keep using a new storage bag and too many bottles with little milk take up space in the fridge.

@cloud: faced de same thg as you.. before wk 6, my gal alr cranky liao. everythg we tried still cant stop her from crying. see her cry her lungs out super heartpain. esp wen de last chkup, pd say she got heart murmur.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now no choice, intro pacifier le.. she will spit it out sometimes tho.

Hi Mummies out there,

I am a first time mummy and need some advise. My baby is 3 weeks old and I have some questions on her feeding. I used to give her 60 ml and it will last her up to 4 hours. Recently she kept asking for more and I have increased the milk formula to 80 ml but she still keep asking for more milk ? is this normal ?

Now she will wakes up after an hour or hour and a half asking for milk. When she poo, she will not sleep also and kept asking for milk. I am worried that I will overfeed her and not sure how muchIshould be feeding her. Can someone please give me some advise. Much appreciated.

Thank you !

Angie/xing/sunflower: yes, super tiring.. I hope it'll pass soon.. And I hope pacifier will soothe her.. Dunno wad to do sia.. Her cries will make me feel handicapped! Sigh~

Sunflower: heart murmur? Did ur pd ask u do further tests? The other time, happymumtobe bb also suspect heart murmur but turn out false alarm.

Deom: week 3 sounds like a growth spurt. During these spurt times, bb will 'demand' more milk, more cranky so on.. And yes, my bb will ask for milk after every poo too. Hee.. U might want to know that week 6 is another spurt~ hope it helps!

Thank you CloudPoem for responding to me, it helps me a lot.. I am so worried that she keep asking for milk !

So it is all right for me to give her extra during these period ?

Thank you Angie !!

I will then feed her more..

Thank you so much !!

Reading from earlier posts, I still have a lot coming and to learn !!

Haiz my ss suddenly dropped super drastically.. Now I pumping every 2-2.5 hrs and started taking tea to aid ss..

Think I too stressed moving to my pil hse and my CL leaving.

Any mummies experience significant drop in their ss huh?

Xing: I do mix chilled ebm together but not freshly expressed and chilled.. Ie same temp ebm I will mix if needed. Frozen ebm I defrost until its chilled before I mix w chilled ebm too..

Deon,

my bb also asked for milk after she pooed. hubby said tummy emptied so much refilled again. Haha

V,

my ss has been dropping over the passed few days. think i too stressed over the supply. hopefully learning to relax will help a bit. why are u moving to your pil hse? first time staying with them? ok, will keep chilled ebm and fresh ebm separately first before combining them. thanks for the info. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me had instant noodles with abalone for lunch. not too healthy but let go a bit since passed 30 days now. thinking of having McD big breakfast tomorrow! i miss LJS breakfast also.. and my KFC, subway....*slurping*

can we take turkey meat now?

Xing thks for the tip. Think i will pump 10 mins rest 5 mins n massage my breast before i start to pump 10 mins again.

Nic ur 2nd letdown within 15 mins is very fast! Envy leh.

My first let down will usually cOme abt 2 mins or just before and by 5-6 mins most of the flow will stop n will cont to pump till 10 mins before i stop. I tried pumping till 20 mins once but still cant catch the 2nd let down.

Val i think mine is the confetti design. Thks again for arranging the courier. Is this ur reg courier contact?

My ger just regurgitated lots of milk out. Weird cos i burped her already. Hope she is ok n quite sayang to see her puke out so much of my BM!

my baby borned on 25 jun. all the while my daily supply do not exceed 250ml, recently my milk supply is dropping. anyone had tried the sacred tea before? is it good? i would like to have some feedback before deciding to buy a packet.

Xing my no1 is taken care at my mil place while 2&3 by my own mum since she's a bbsitter since I'm young. Infact my mum was angry with me when I told her no1 not gonna put at her place. My mil at first said she gonna quit n help ip but she's a liar only said to win over my son after that throw to maid take care n she go work very selfish right..

split,

is your #01 is the first grandson of your MIL? for my mum, she will let my MIL looks after my kids if she wanted bcos my mum felt they have 'priority' since i am a daughter lor. to win my girl over, my MIL will showered her with lot of presents, sweet treats, junk food and tibits. during my confinement, she bought my girl one bunny toy a week. i got so fed up till i made my girl picked one and return the rest to her. luckily my girl quite obedient and understood that one extra is too many. this is possible bcos all my family members (who is looking after her) sings the same song.

try to get your #01 over when he is still young, might be difficult esp when your MIL is still there 'poisoning' his young mind, but being easily influence, he will know who is his parents as you continue to work on it.