(2011/05) May 2011

Dear sunflower, mayb u can let her wear the mitten to bath, when u almost done that u take out to wash her hand. My gal also cry when bathing, after trying this method she ok. Maybe u can give a try.

My bb ger just vomited out all the milk i gave her. Think i really have to bring her to a PD to check out what is wrong with her and if i should continue giving her the ridwind.

Understand that BM can be left in room temperature for 3-4hrs. But do you all warm it up if bb have it 1-2 hrs later?

Re: Bathing

Did you mentioned to your bb that you will be showering her? My mil does bathing for my bb but she will always talk to her and tell that that she will be bathing her and ask her not to be scare.

Sh: thanks! N hw's ur baby nw? Hope she get better

Cloud: wa.. E relief PD like not v pro like tat leh.. But better to monitor ur baby closely on her fever hor..

Sunflower: as wat poohlyn said.. Let ur baby wear e mittens when showering will give her a sense of security.. My CL aso doing e same thing..

cloudpoem, nowadays weather not to so good. My 2 kids when touched (forehead) also feels warm. I'm been monitoring their temp and try to give them as much of water as possible (no1 drink plain water, milk and juices while no2 drinks BM & gulcose). My no2 dun like to be swaddle so gave up liao. Maybe u can feed/schedule more milk feeds so tat bb stays hydrated at all times. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Janice, is it very frequent tat bb vomits the milk? Think after warm up milk, can leave it outside for 1hr. This is to prevent bacteria from growing.

Sunflower, Janice is right, need to tell bb tat u will be bathing bb. Every step tat u do, like washing hair, going into water, wash hands, etc will need to tell bb beforehand. It's for them to know beforehand and not to be scare (even we adults also dun like to go into things tat we are not aware of). try it for a few times and bb will not be crying liao.

Auroa/preciousmum: yup, will be monitoring closely. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm not swaddling her since we're back from clinic, touch from forehead seems fine..

@janice, auroa: ya, will always talk to her before i put her into the tub. in fact once her clothes are taken off (not in the tub yet), she's alr struggling. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi all - Any mummies know if it is safe to eat raw oysters and sashimi while breastfeeding?

Have been deprived since pregnancy and have booked a nice buffet this weekend to celebrate end of confinement (woohoo! I only go w 28 days even tho c-sec). But feel a bit guilty abt eating the raw stuff cos dun know if BB will be ok. I understand that the bacteria shd not pass thru the BM.

@preciousmum - remember to opt for registered post when u buy from the Blogshop. I ordered a pair of medela tubes from there but never got them but can only blame myself cos I asked for normal post

sunflower,

thanks for the recommendation. YLS also nt bad =)

when bathing my gal, she also tend to cling her fist tightly, think its natural reaction coz my friend's kid also behaved like tat. so far, my gal ok with bathing *touch wood* and like janice, we talked to her and let her know we are bathing her and which part of her body we are bathing her etc...

Nic,

thanks for the recommendation. Purple sage looks v gd but quite atas ah. hehehe.

dolly,

thanks for the recommendation, cldnt find any caterer by the name of jia le...i think u meant jia lei..

ur boy v gd weight le..6kg..i think my gal only half his weight. hehe.

June,

thanks for the recommendation. I have gone thro meihao also but find it so so la...

saw ur photos, v nicely done up =)

re: poo

for my #1, he poo aft every feed lo...

as for my gal, she poo only at nite or in the wee hrs of the morning. sometimes she poo i changed her aft 5mins, then another 5-10mins she will poo again.

diff baby diff.

Sh,

oh dear. hope both ur kids will recover soon. its v poor thing for ur gal coz she still so young!

re: slpping

i realised both my kids slp better on my bed than in their cot! they tend to slp longer hrs at a stretch..

nw i let my gal slp on my tee if i put her in cot, hopefully she "smell" my tee n will slp longer! hahaha.

cloudpoem,

oh dear! So young dwn with fever. hope she will recover soon! yes, its better to head to PD even if fever has went dwn coz still an infant, better to seek prof medicial advise.

bunnymum,

dun bother abt wat ur CL says, if nt sufficient, sup with fm and give watever bm u have. dun be stress. u know u did ur best =)

tks Val / preciousmom.

glad i went down to PD today. trip is worthwhile. PD did a suction for her n relieve her from the block mucus! something which i went to GP yest and nothing was done ....

tats the price we pay for quality prof svc...

cloud,

hope u bb is fine by now....so ke lian them, so young sick....mine oso kena from korkor.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Val, think so... It's my hb make all the arrangemment.. Btw, wanna check with you how do I go about to arrange shipment from USA? I wanna do the order myself as I've a long list of items to order & don't wish to trouble you..

split - I couldnt get any suitable trf maid..and agent told me not advisable to take trf unless those finishing contract & wanna continue working here but change of employer. So far no luck yet..

Now am doing direct hiring via agency. She is my friend's helper sis. She just applied the passport last week after I confirmed her via phone interview. So it takes about a month to be ready [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] then agency will need approx 3wks to process..sigh I also wish she can come earlier. My current maid really switch off, dunno she really in pain or simply just act up lo. Anyway since she is leaving, I cant be bothered anymore unless things get out of hand.

Cloudpoem - Pls monitor your bb closely..running high temp for nb is quite dangerous.

Auroa - my boy shoot his poo poo & urine very often! We have been changing our bedsheet many times [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] coz the poo poo shoot all the way..horrible!! Cannot imagine if I don't have a maid, I think I'll be slogging in the toilet washing most of the time.

sunflower - water temp is important, pls test with your elbow before put bb down. Too warm or too cold will frighten bb. Must follow step by step too. Wash diaper area, hair, tap a bit of water her bb chest before putting the feet down and touch a lil water then land the body in.

Apple: ic I alway took transfer maid only once took a new maid and she's horrible. Transfer maid got gd n bad though change so many maids only got 3 transfer maid I took is gd one but usually can't work for me long gd one usually wanna have off on Sunday

Sh..., end May and start of June liao but I haven't pop!

From May mummy become June mummy. My bb still very comfortable inside me.

You all talked about confinement and going out but I haven't even started mine yet. Lol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@apple: yup, at first we tout mayb its bcos water too cold tats why she scream. so hb wen to get the thing tat test water temp to see if temp is ok as advised by my aunt. 1 mth le.. still no change [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] everyday bathing is a struggle for me! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

split - We wanna try trf maid coz can interview and see her in real person rather than just select fr biodata or interview thru phone. Recently, Phil are difficult to get out fr their country, so trf maid are on high demand. Some requested $500-550 salary with Sun off!

Since I gotta take new maid and the wait also 6-8wks, I must well try my friend's maid sis lo..if things really doesn't workout then I look around again.

Apple ya transfer maid can interview and know if they look neat like the lasttime when I get the new maid her bio data look very decent but when come very untidy an messy..u got check the maid u hiring her age? Cuz I actually wanted to get my ex maid sis b4 my this current one.. Everything settle le even email her contract and her passport all done le but on the end she can't come cuz she is underage philipine govt need them to be at least 25yr old b4 can come spore to work

Pixie: thanks on e advise on reg mail.. I always will opt for reg

mail if I order frm BP.. Cos I aso had experience on missing order....

Nw I letting my baby nap wif me as can c tat my CL is so tired.. Cos my boy dun really 1 to sleep at nite n hence, deprived CL frm having her rest.. Hehe.. At least I

can hv some bonding time wif my boy

split - Oh, I din know the they must be 25..coz my fren maid only 24 but already came here to work since last yr June, and the sis is 26. So quite safe to apply her over. I let agency handle the processing..

My hb said biodata we also tikam..good or not also can't tell. So we wanna try this maid see how lo and since her sis is with my friend, I let them meet once awhile.

Thnks for the consolation! My cl really talks alot! This afternoon shestarts again. She was at bf topic with my parents n told me some pple alot milk n every Hr pump out let bb drink! Ask me I nv c before meh.. Atrghh!

We carry bb she always say she carry. Then tell us dun rock yet she herself rock bb n now I carry bb he doesnt like it cos I think our way of rocking him is different! Her ways of communicating also diff so when my hubby n I pacify him, he cries non stop but when cl carry, he stops! Sometimes I'm so frustrated. She's gg bk n I hv to handle hi

Myself. How to??

Sunflower my ger same as u every bath time will cry n cry like being tortured. 2weeks already n she is still like this. Sigh. I hope it will improve as time goes by.

Dolly, u can go apply for an acct with vpost(under singpost) for US shipping to singapore. Go to vpost.com.sg to read more.

apple, currently my hubby doing all the washing whenever he pees/poos. Next week, he will be going back to work liao.. guess i will be pretty busy washing up in the toilet... haiz.

btw, Cold Storage have delivered the ordered huggies ultra to me today. I got 8 M size and 2 XL huggies ultra. U shd see how my hubby jaws drop when he saw the boxes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunny mum: dun be disheartened abt ur supply.. Wad u can pump out is only as efficient as ur pump, so u can't pump out doesn't mean ur ss is low; maybe ur pump can't drain ur breasts well that's all.. I was very stressed with my supply the past wk n it plummeted even further, so now I try to be more positive cuz ur ability to bf is not indicative of how gd a parent u r..

Anw try to stay calm when u rock ur crying bb cuz he can feel it.. Maybe cuz u r gan jeong so he also felt e same n cried even further.. Try white noise like e hair dryer or the make a shhh sound when bb cries, it works for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jiayou!

bunnymum,

re: bb carrying by cl

for my no1, CL oso keep shaking while carrying him n he gt so used to it. even we carry he dun wan cos its diff angle n no cl smell.....

so sad tat time n worry wat to do when cl leaves....for the 1st 2 days, bb really keep looking for tat carrying feel n smell of cl....it takes a few days for him to slowly adj to me.....

juz gt to go thru it.....

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa, gd that u managed to ord & get the playset [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nvm la..diapers sure will use up. Just need storage space only.

Sh

Thanks.. So sad that bb sticks to cl than u... Hope we can get thru it. Nxt tine my mil coming to tk care too. Part of me hope bb dun stick to her too. Bad of me..

03:30hrs, bf W & he fell asleep.. He woke up & cried after lay him on the bed.. So bf him again then Merlion on me after trying to burp him... Arrrg... He cried again.. Just fell asleep after bf him again.. Now he really asleep le...

Any mummies experience this too?

Dolly,

Sometimes I feel that babies are not able to differentiate between hunger and gas so they cry and it looks like they need milk again. The when we give milk, they merlion. Happened to me twice. So now if baby cries and I feel that it is too close to the last feed, I will burp her instead of giving her more milk. Usually she calms down right after letting a big burp out.

Viman, he also throw out milk even after burping... Sigh.. I'm really so pek chek... Should I bring him to pd anot? He sometimes ok & sometimes not...

Morning! Me up for pumping!!! Is thurs, 3 more days to full mth party... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yeah!

Morning ladies..

Precious: u doing on sun? I'm doing on sat so sun can rest.. Hehe...

Merlion issue: my girl had a few times also.. Cause of phlegm, nose blockage, no burp or just regurgitate a lil to feel better. There wad once coz I turn her on tummy and she merlion everything :p my col told me it's quite normal and don't feed too much at once. What we do is 90ml than aft 1-1.5 hr her eyes still big and mouth still moving than we give 30..in btw drinking we try to burp her sometimes..

I'm heading to salon to wash hair!!! Yippee!! Tahan for 3+ weeks only washed twice quickly~ guai guai coz I dun wan headache...

V: yes, I doing it on sun as hubby has a fren wedding dinner to attend on sat.. Wow.. U v guai leh.. Only wash hair twice so far? I aso tempted to wash my hair at salon cos of long hair but will c hw by then... Hehe.. Counting down

dolly,poohlyn,

the addr is to be filled into the shipping addr fields when either u sign up with merchant or when checking out.

min order depends on individual merchant. some have some dun have. u nd to read the details of the merchant carefully. max cant exceed sgd$400.

re: burping/vomitting

my gal does the same n worst is she doesnt like to be burp. so aft feeding i dun burp her immediately. let her rest then burp her aft sometimes. anyway, if alittle milk flow out of her mouth i dun consider it as vomitting...only projectile vomitting then i consider.

Yea twice.. Once after 14 days and the other coz I had fever and perspire alot so aft fever I wash.. Till now~ I waited till I pass the 3 week mark(tues) than I go salon wash for my girls full mth this weekend lor.. Tmrw I go threading haha ai Mei de mummy~ tmrw I gg to scrub myself!!! Hahaha...my first 1.5 weeks I only wipe myself w herbal water. After 2 weeks than pour w herbal and shower w warm water..once a day.. Never really follow the rules la.. Most of the day hide in aircon also: p

Vomiting: dolly maybe u wanna try burping ur boy half way thru his feed like he drink bat 50% u burp once after he finish another time. N also slowly stoke his back till he burp.. Stoke slowly took longer to burp but I find it helps on my girl if I stoke too fast after she finish 100 she sure merlion but if I stoke slowly n gently she will burp but not puke

V,

thanks for the tip, will try resting her on her side. =)

Starfruit,apple,

have u ladies heard of the little wardrobe? I just ordered 3items frm them. They have v nice designs for gals but alitle pricely...

Val, you mean vpost will issue us an address to fill up on the merchant website? So after checking out from the merchant, do we need to write to vpost of what items we are getting?

Rgd Merlion, he can throw out even after he latch off or even lie on the side... Most of the time, he regurgitate than Merlion.. By which month then he will overcome this phase? I remember that my girl don't have issue of Merlion.. Even if she throw out, it's 1/10 times...

Dolly, my #1 had this problem.. She will merlion every night, we brought her to PD Cux it wasn't normal that her vomit was projectile.. PD gave us colic medicine instead, saying there's lotsa air in tummy.. And because we were 1st time parents, PD taught us how to effective burp as well.. Maybe after 1st feed, u can gently pat him to burp or to sleep instead if milking him.. Jia you!

I'm heading to motherhood fair now. ;) any mummies wants me to check any pricing?

re: vpost.

if u find it troublesome, u can use TLL service, she is very active in this forum. look for her contact in spree thread, search TLL or tan leng leng....

her email is :

wat she do is she will give u her vpost address, when u buy, ship to her address and she will do the vpost pyt / coordination. she don earn anything except cr card points....

and 1 + pt is the base charge of $13.40, you only need to pay $1 cos she share it among all other pple who use her vpost address. when items arrive, can collect at her compassvale hse or ask for postal svc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i juz used her svc n recd my items 1 wk back.

email her n she will send u the details.

Dear val, thanks! As mention by dolly, merchant will send directly to vpost add n vpost will send to us? How the charges by vpost? Dun really understand by reading? They do have a min weight to charge?

dolly,

my girl oso will merlion veri easily. my boi don hv this prob at all....

my girl will hv to drink half way n burp then can continue....most times she will stop at 2 oz, then half to 1 hr later then continue the last 1 oz.

if feed (3oz )too much at 1 go and when i carry her to burp, she will merlion all over me...

so now i rather let her drink till satify but nt full, then later then continue.