(2011/05) May 2011

Morning mommies

Water retention: I've been drinking plain water since I discharg from hospital.. Don't think it will causE water retention

May mummies gathering: any date?

My CL said drink plain water will cause water retention n e tummy may b harder to slim down.. Tat's wat I heard frm her..

May gathering: sound fun but I hv to see where is e venue b4 can confirm if can go.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HELP! my 7 week old keeps crying n crying even daytime, but once carried her, she stopped crying. how? it had been getting worsen these few days. we know that we r not supposed to carry her too much but she just cried and cried till lost her voice.

just now when i pumping, she cried for the entire session.. she had been fed, diaper had been changed but once carried stop crying. ytd nite, didnt want to sleep and kept ask to b carried. most of the nights, she will sleep when we hugged her at bed.

i had tried not to carry her and let her cry just now. at the end, she cried for non stop about half an hour.. now stopped and i also not dare to go into room scare she suddenly wake up and cry again. HOW?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jane, me too.. Mine also wants to be carried.. He refuse to lie down.. We have been carrying him since week 2 & now he's week 8, 6kg.. My arms going to break when carry him for more than 15min..

dolly, u mean night time he also like dat?? hai.. mine small size, 3kg+ but carried for long time also 'shou suan'. night time even worse, cried and cried.. doesnt want to sleep.. ytd nite nearly 3am then sleep.. i am so tiring!!

btw i just gave mine gripe water.. hopefully will settle..

i wonder is it premmies will b like this??

Jane & dolly, my boi always choose good time to ask me to carry him, during pumping!!! Now I outsmart him, before I start pump I will bring him n place him beside me. When he cries, I will place him on my lap n shake a bit....

Gathering: sounds fun

bubble & dolly

not only want to b carries, sometimes she will startled half way while sleeping and cried very loud with both hands on the air!

Jane , same here n even beansprout shell pillow also no help but I realized if he sleep on his side, he will sleep more soundly n less disturbing..some more he turn himself..

Hi Val,

I had ordered my bb full month buffet last week from Magic Wok (Lunch) and Mei Hao Catering (Dinner).. Our Guest commented the food very delicious especially Magic Wok (maybe due to some unique dishes) that they request whether can ta bao back home.

You can view some of the compiled pictures of the buffet which I posted in my facebook for your reference.

bubble.. same the pillow no use. now my girl is on my hand n i use one hand to type, looks happy wor.. may b will consider use sarong or carrier to carry her at home liao. i wonder how she react when she goes infant care sigh...

wanna vent my anger: so angry with my boss..my aws have en hold for few mths already..suppose to pay out during march..den after that say april den april i sms my boss he not happy said cheque not sign yet..den said may..today is pay day still no bonus and cheque with acct..acct girl tell me my boss resign now serving notice so ord mode..den ytd i ask my aa to check with him he said ask me fly kite..superb pissed..he have been bad mouth me since i on leaves..my aa said he told people i nv finish my work..den i so angry cuz all the things he sms me after i on leave i all got do..if really no do how come he dont come to me directly and ask me wanna bad mouth me..

under him only got 2 female manager and both of us felt that he is superb bias..treat male manager very gd..everytime meeting alway ask the female to do minutes, got task alway ask female to do.and alway said female nv do their thing..when i pregnant he even make comments saying should not have hire female..hey he also got wife loh..got mother he not his mother born one ah..shit him..

Water retention:-

I also didn't take water thru out my confinement till now except for 1 glass taken at hospital when taking medi..

Its said will cause water retention.. Till now without water in-take, my urine very yellowish.. But its good to noe that lesser water inside body..

I got swollen foot lyk pig leg during 1week after discharge due to excess walking.. Older folks says its caused by the water 'flowing' down to the leg when u didn't have enuff bed rest.. Just lyk during pregnancy, we lift our legs up to prevent swelling..

After I knew it, I was fully bed rest & didn't walk here & there in the house and my foot swelling got better 2days later..

Dolly: Wow 6kg now alrdy? Haa...time flies ar...and bb is really chubby...that time see pd he got say anything abt the weight?

Jane: Ya sometimes mine too...also scream till no voice...but once he settled down I put him down le...train him...ya in the middle of the night is really challenging...sth I am so sleepy that it becomes frustrating that bb dun wanna sleep. Then comes morning see an angelic face then I feel guilty abt feeling frustrated the night before...hai....

bubble: Ya side sleeping helps...wa bb can turn himself? Haa...cool! I am too worried that he might turn to face down then that is dangerous. But side sleeping really reduces the 'shock'....he lie on his back always get shock easily even with the 'chao chao' on his chest.

Re: water

Ya same as split...I drank alot of water le....no water retention...

Jane,

My preemie also gets startled while sleeping sometimes. Swaddling really helps her sleep soundly. I also put the beanie bag on her legs so the weight will hold her legs down, otherwise legs in the air and startled again!

The crying for no apparent reason could be due to gas. When you hold her, maybe the position is more comfy to get rid of the gas that's why she wants to be carried when crying. Try burping her more and keeping her upright for 10 min after each feed. Seems to work for my baby.

Split, he cannot talk like this..this call biased employment , can kena legal action...so how now? Can hold aws so long? Hmm..can talk to ur hr? Cos if I not wrong, portion of ur was goes into cpf n if they nvr contribute to cpf , then it is an offence... U know what I mean? Can use this as an reason to 'wake' up their idea..I did the same to my previous company as they hold back my pay for 1 mth...till I report them to cpf

angie

me too, there was one time, i was too frustrated that i put crying bb in living room and i went back to bedroom.. coz she cried non stop and i was very tiring..cruel hoh.. now when tot of it , very guilty lo..

viman

my girl doesnt like to b swaddle now.. she will free herself after i swaddled.. sigh.. tried burping and heard the 'burp' sound just nw.. but still cried. even now.. sigh..

kay

wow.. u really abite all the confinement rules huh.. salute u la..

Angie, ya. Turn to sleep on his side himself..at 1st my bb cot I nvr put bumper but now I see him like that..after full mth when shift back home..I better quickly put bumper lor... His action faster then my #1 who only know how to sleep on side in his 10 weeks

Re:- baby crying

I don't think is premmie den gt tis prob ba.. All babies cry, nv cry = nt call baby liao..

To me, I always kip telling myself these - all babies cry & they still 'bu dong shi', in order to cool myself down & not getting frustrated when my boy cry for no reason..

Nowadays babies very smart, u put them down they noe de.. My boy don't like to lie inside playpen & also loves cuddle..

I hug, my grandma hug, my dad hug.. All hug till arms sore liao.. My arms gonna break soon when my boy only 4kg++ now..and its only gg full mth..

So imma considering getting a baby carrier.. Once he turns 1mth old I can use it on him when he's more stable on neck..

Carrying almost everytime he cry is really tiring..

I have tried methods lyk leTting him cry his hearts out inside playpen.. End up kanna scold by my grandma.. Scold me- ask me carry him up & pat !!

Initially they tell me - cannot let him use to carrying, if not in future very 'sticky', no carry cannot den 'cham' lo.. Den I abide & tried not carry & wanna train him to 'fall aslp' by himself awake..

But now they say 'carry him la! How could u let him cry & let him 'eat air' into his stomach?!!

CONTRADICTING LAH!!

So I made up my mind: carry!

Cos baby still 'du dong shi', but for now best is do all my very best to stop him from crying cos baby 'eat air'/kip cry no good for them.. Train can slowly train.. They still infants, aren't they??

Every decision have to take time to establish.. Just lyk milk supply.. We start off with a few drops to more ml(s).. Slowly loh..

angie & bubble

re:sleep on side

ya.. sleep on side really helps.. but i scare bb head out of shape le.. hahahha.. guess they feel secure sleeping on the side with hands under the head.

kay

like wat u said!! high 5!

it's true that they still 'bu dong shi' guess i m bad tempered mummy.. if my parents knw i put bb in living room coz she cried, sure kana scold..

ya.. if they cry too much, air wil go into their tummy..

Wow, glad to know that I m not alone.. My girl needs to be carried all the time too; I literally hold/carry her for 24h n she has to slp on top of me if both of us need a gd slp.

She'll cry once I put her down, n mil is unhappy that I keep on carrying bb as she said the bb will b "spoilt" n v used to my smell, making it tough for her to take over after my ML, I wonder how true is this?

Jane: I heard that sleep on the back then not so good for the shape of the skull le...sleep on sides is better but must left and right equally...

Bubble: haa yr bb so strong...mine too...burp him that time he will force his head backwards...refuse to let me burp...bathe him also a few times he tried to force himself up...

Re: pupsik pouch

Anyone use before, is it good? I have the 30% voucher...tot of buying...

Actually, when they are below 3 months, bbs will cry for a reason. And if you meet their needs when they cry, they are more secure because they know that you are predictable and reliable. So, dun bother with those pple who tell you not to carry coz you'll "spoil" the bb. There's no such thing ok?

angie

oh is it? btw i use the dimple pillow for bb to sleep on the back le.. not sure how useful it is..

sylvia

yup, bb will use to mummy's smell.. that happened to mine, once other ppl carry,she will peep to see who is the one..

Tough night again! Doesn't want to fall asleep and keep crying.. Hubby was too tired from work to help, hence most of the time I was alone handling her. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] backache, hand tired and emotion wreak!

Auroa: ur baby so good, sleep so long! My Bb 1 month liao, still wakes up quite frequently.

Kay: ok, u made many mummies eyes green! No tummy so more! I have the love handlers, and cupcake! Everywhere is meat!

Split: Wah! U are still in the 20+ inch range! Not bad le! I dare nit buy much pants too, hips swaying~

Angie: u're so hardworking! U do sit ups? How many? I should start doing. But dun like to sweat when I'm doing it..

I din opt for massage too. No time when my 3 kids around.. I din do for my #1 & #2 too. Sigh. I hope I made the right decision.. In fact, I was BFing during my #2, but din lose Mich weight, in fact, it's after I breastfeed, I diet, no dinner than lose about further 7-9kg.. Sigh..

Yay! Gathering sounds fun. Let the babies gather! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angie, I am using pupsik during my #1. in fact I use bb bjorn 1st but too hot lah..so use sling n I used it till he is 1 yo.. Now their price increase a lot..last time I bought only 30 now 40+.

U know like machim u sling a bag? That kind feeling lah...haha

Jane my bb also will suddenly wake up and cry fiercely..

Cloud last b4 I give birth was 23" now after this mayb might be more den 30 le

Jane: I also use dimple pillow but still let him sleep on his side...

bubble: ya lo luckily I have the 30% voucher...think will buy one to try...initially wanna buy beco butterfly II but think wont really use that often to cover he price...

Cloud: Haa...ya I am very vain...wanna faster get back to shape...wanna wake up in the morning to run before hb went to work too so he can look after bb but till now still not successful...too tired....I try to do 100 a day le...50-50 like that. Watch tv and do at the same time...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I love multi-tasking...nowadays I also latch one side pump one side tog...save time...but really have to be more agile...have to fix this and that and be v.fast.

Viman: I using pigeon...still not so bad.

Angie: I have both the pupsik pouch n the ring slings and I find that pupsik is better for older babies cuz you can't adjust the length of the sling, ESP if u wanna bf in a sling. For the moment I m using the ring sling for my 4 wk old, but will use pupsik to carry my 17 mo cuz it's more secure n the fabric wouldn't loosen by the weight of the bb like a ring sling..

Re: crying

My bb is considerably easier to manage than my #1 who was a high need cum colic, but I still feel v frustrated when she keeps on crying after being fed changed burped carried.. Last night she literally woke up every hr to b fed n I lost my temper at her cuz I was soooo tired (and she woke me up frm my cosmetics shopping dream).. I feel like a bad mum but I can't point to the cause of the outburst [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: breastfeeding

I have been exclusively bf-ing my bb by mainly latching, but recently intro bottles cuz to transition her to my post-ML stage.. Dunno is it cuz of bottles that she's impatient to suck at my breasts when e flow is slow.. Breast compressions dun really help either, and advice kind mummies?

Sometimes I feel like giving up cuz bf-ing is so time consuming n I dun have time for my #1 but I have gotten this far n I dun wish to stop juz like that..

Cloud: Actually I lost 15kg since birth le...shed all the pregnancy weight in 3 weeks but haven get back to 'those were the days' yet...sian...wondering wat to wear for this sat too...still cant fit into most clothes....

Split: still very slim le...i dun think i can be like u if I have 3 kids....was telling my hb abt wat u said the the cup size after bf'ing...haa so funny you.

Angie: younger bb not as much, but older babies it can b qte strenuous.. But to me it's manageable la [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jane, yeah lor.. Luckily my maid & mum help to carry & coax him to sleep..

Angie, yeah.. He's about the weight of a half kg of pkt rice hahahha... Well, the pd didn't say much about his weight...

I m aso looking 4ward to this sun full month party!!!! Had ordered frm Neo garden... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ash, np.

Power pumping, anyone heard of it? Does it work?

Poo poo: wah I nearly "bomb" by my boi's poo poo...I was wiping his backside n he 'shoot' his watery poo poo.. Nearly hit me..Right at my face..cos I was sitting at eye level to change for him

Like to know if you all wash your pump after every session of pumping? I do so and always find the set is not dry yet for the next session.

For mummies that took Fenugreek, do you and your bb experience soft stools? As me n my bb have soft stools.

Angie: 15kg? Wow, that's alot of weight. How i wish i can shred off so much too. Not sure if i can start doing exercise as i have c-sect. Need to shred off my tummy and love handle. Sian... So many clothes cant wear.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kiko: he's only my team manager.. My was abit complicated cuz I'm a condo manager so need to wait fir the client sign the cheque b4 they can issue the bOnus but aacording to my aa client already sign cheque last mth but my acct nv receive it cuz my boss holding on to it.. I angry not becuz money got hold but the way he bad mouth me and infront of my staff said I nv do my thing ask me fly kite.. After I on leave he SMS me for some works and all I've done b4 I go on leave after that he nv contact me.. If got outstanding work y he dub call me is all completed thats y don't come to me mah den still wanna bad mouth me.. My aa complain to me the new manager alway go work late and go off early yet my boss like him so much even wanna increase his salary.. The replacement is a guy loh sometime I think my team manager must be gay if not becuz he married..

i am having a prob. my bb haven't pooped. today 2nd day liao. i am trying tbf and only gave 60 mls of fm ytd and the day before. so dunno y bb will have constipation. :/

kaykay: yeah, the old ppl so funny... talk like peng satay. :p i also think just carry them lah. when they know how to run / grow up, they dun wanna be cuddled liao. so just enjoy this stage while it last.

viman: i am using the pigeon laundry powder

janice: i steam then take out and use liao. nv wait for it to totally air dry.

v pissed off w old ppl sometimes. cos the smart alec suggested supplementing fm then my breast engorge. cos bb slp 4 hrs aft fm. zzz

spit: u shld complain to his boss or ur hr. he need to b taught a lesson.

Thanks, all!

Janice,

Yeah I sterilise after every use and it is never dry for next session. I just wipe with facial tissue and use.

Fenugreek: yes, both me and baby had soft stools when I was taking fenugreek.