(2011/05) May 2011

V: my Breastmilk output varies in both sides too.. My right side can have more milk, left side damn little.. When Bb suckle, I can sense she's not statisfy.. She will suck till angry and use her head and use her hear bang my boobs.. Sigh.

Happymumtobe & Xuanmin: jiayou.. Sound like u guys spend alot on these tests. How much does it cost to do such test?

Episiotomy wound - I read somewhere that it should be exposed to air as often as possible, so I air dry it after washing before putting on pads and undies, I find that after I start doing this the wound heal much faster.

Cloud, the blooddest us not ex, only $15. But pd consult is ex, $100, not sure is first visit consult then subsequent cheaper or flat rate. The cardio test that we did cost $300. Not sure how much is the liver function test.

Apple/split/ mummies who have gone thru c-sect:

Do u intend to do jamu massage? If so, how many weeks after your c-sect do u intend to start?

My gynae said after 6 weeks but I will like to start after end of 3 weeks cos my CL will be gone after a month and no one can help look after BB when I have massage.

Baobaolin: oh my! U skipped dinner? How is that possible? Are u breastfeeding? Dun skip dinner, tea break if BF.. I get hungry sooo easily after bf. :p

When I had #1, all I wanted was to sleep sleep sleep, din bother to eat also.. But I wasn't bfeeding than~

Pixie, for c-section my gynae said 6 weeks too. I got the jamu massage after 6 weeks. I think if you do before that, chances of hurting the stitches increases...

Thanks, Viman.

Did u feel that the massage was effective after 6weeks?

My hubby actually ask me to just forfeit the deposit but feel a bit heart pain cos already paid $200.

Janice - no choice lo..me also first time. but i think we need to go through this stage for the nipple to toughen up. erm..i didn't have the pain after my stitches are removed. jia you!!!

apple - not i do it, it's my dad. hahaha!! the night before her last day, he came to my place and questioned her on how she do things. he managed to make her acknowledge that those were her mistakes. next day, he came up again and asked her to sit down. told her that "hao lai hao san" (good come and good leave - direct translation) and they discussed her pay and angbao and she left. think she knew that she was in the wrong aly and thats why never make noise. which experienced CL can take care of bb until we have to bring bb to see PD for her butt, right? haiz..so glad that she's gone.

bunnymum - i did the same thing as u leh..but i dun have water spray. TMC gave me some wound antispetic liquid instead. but it's working ok for me leh..for me, breakfast i drink milo and eat bread. my standard breakfast. and i dun have tea break.

sh - i read somewhere before that every baby has a fussy time. normally it's between 5pm to 8pm but it varies among bbs. during this fussy time, they will cry for no reason, regardless what we do. can only carry them or give them their comfort item. it depends on whether you believe or not.

happymum - this is a good sign!! jia you!! wa..your PD consultation is indeed very ex. is it because your PD is very good and experienced?

Viman - for me, i wash and sterilise after each pump. then, leave it in the steriliser. only take it out when i wanna use it. a bit waste of water and tiring la..

Pixie, my massage lady would measure my tummy before every session (one-hour session each on 5 consecutive days). By the 5th day, it was about 2-3 inches less. Not sure if that is considered effective but I was happy, hehe! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] rest I can reduce when I start going back to the gym. :p

Evie, thanks! Baby's bottle teats must also sterilize with every use yeah? I am running short of teats because of that, must buy more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman - wa! your massage lady will measure your tummy wor..that's good! at least you will be able to monitor. mine only ask me measure weight. lol~~ with regards to teats, i kiasi la..i also sterilize after every use.

how often do we need to change milk bottle and teats?

cloud: yea..my left is like half of what my right can produce..my ss dropping a lil too...from 160-180 avg to 140-160...hmm...time for oats and papaya soup~

Ladies, my nipple is getting itchy too..how come huh??

pixie: i'm massaging on the 4th week..the massage lady said they won't massage anywhere near the wound but like most Gynae advise..it's to wait for 6 weeks~

happymum: did ur bb go thru phototheraphy?

Evie, yes, my pd very popular n patience. Maybe that's y the high charges. This is the first time using him, my eldest seeing another pd.

V, yes, he went for phototherapy 5th days upon discharge, needs triple light but expect to rebound after that too.

Pixie, I'll start massage after 1mth..they know c-sec, they will avoid pressing too hard on the wound area. My #1 I also do it after 1mth. This time I probably will do upper back & shoulder nxt week coz I bend up & down alot wanna get rid of the aches

Apple & Jane: I am feeling better now after a night sleep w/o the need to look after my bb gal. Will continue to take the pain killer and monitor it. Thanks for the concern.

Pixie: I did not buy any binder as i am not aware that i will require it.

Re: Jamu Massage for c-sec

Am told before that c-sec mum can go for jamu massage after 3 weeks. Anyway, my massager have msg me and i told her that i am c-sec and she mentioned that she will contact me 3 weeks later to look at the condition of my wound.

Mummies, how long do you usually pump? Every 2-3hours, I tried 7mins each side, then switch. Ends up around 30mins pump in total. Is this too little?

Feeling my L side engorged all the time – pump 7 mins and you can count the droplets. Is this a case of plugged ducts?

Ash, I keep getting engorged. Its so painful to get up from bed, like 2 rocks weighing down on your body. Sigh…I can’t wait for #1 school to start on Monday. He also don’t want to go out if I am not going.

Janice – I actually feel better with pump to give more sore nipples time to heal.

My boy will keep pushing my nipple with his tongue while sucking and that caused my nipples to be sore.

My boy’s Jaundice reading is 13. Need to go for blood test again Mon. Heartache when they pricked his tiny sole with needles. Hope he will be cleared of any further review by then.

Apple, Janice, Happymumtobe – I do eat ginger but sparingly. My PD told me there is no scientific proof to link ginger with jaundice so I continue to eat a little to dispel wind. Did you ‘sun-tan’ your DDs? My PD told me to ‘sun’ him indoors for 20mins front and back every day, strip down to diaper only and eyes covered.

Bunnymum, you can ask CL to cook mee sua or macaroni soup for you – so long its some hot soup to warm your stomach to start the day. Sounds like your CL is quite okay, many CLs do not prepare breakfast.

CloudPoem – your mee sua soup sounds yummy. Oh yes, I will ask mine to add mushroom too.

Evie, gd that your dad helped to do the talking & settlement with her. Hope ur new CL gonna be gd help! Rest well babe

Janice, glad u feeling gd now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jiayou

Little fly, if there is morning sun, we will sunbathing him with only diaper on. Off course covering his eyes with eyepad too! Actually my boy jaundice not high, but I got a concern y it doesn't go away..sigh & PD keeps telling me nothing to worry continue bfeed him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: bfast

Sounds like most have yummy bfast =) I usually take oatmeat. Nw I am craving for pancakes with maple syrup again. Hahaha.

Re: sterilizing

I sterilize my bottles n teats aft every single usage. Even if i just use the bottle to pump and pour into milk bag straight aft, I will also sterilize both bottle n teat. I kiasi.

Every 6mths got to change bottles n teats. However, if teat bcum cloudy before 6mths is up I will just change the teat.

Dolly,

Hope W will recover soon.

Baobaolin,

Dun skip meals if u are bfeeding coz u nd the nutrients for the bm too. U catered confinement meals? If the food sent are spoilt u sld feedback sia coz u paid for it.

Apple,

wats ur boy's jaundice level? so long as below 100 or 10.0 sld be fine right?

Fly: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I love mee sua! Love it with parsely.. My mil will coat threadfin with corn flour or dunno wad flour to make ti fish nicer..

Mushroom:

My mil say mushroom can 'clear' dirty blood? I eat alot of it!!

Apple: u got anymore suggestions for confinement food? I eat the same dinner everyday...

Supper:

Amy mummies take supper?

Cloudpoem,

I am taking the quaker's oatmeal (creamy n smooth). I just pour hot water and let it soften for awhile before I consume. If my hb does it, sometimes he will microwave it for a short while.

Evie,

I wonder confinement can take pancakes or nt. Hehehe. This confinement I am consider kuai, haven't nt consume any cold drinks. The "coldest" I took was rm temp boiled water =p

Pixie my gynae told me after 3 weeks can massage le my previous 2 csect I did it 1week b4 my bb full mth celebration cuz wanna look slim gee..

Little Fly: I finally got the courage to try pumping again. As the other 2 times, 1st time i pump till very sore and crack nipple and 2nd time got blood. So become sceptical about it. Have been pumping every 3 hrs althou the amount is only 20ml.

As it's only 20ml, it's not sufficient for my bb. Can i keep the milk in the fridge and give to my bb gal when it reach 60ml? I cool down the milk at room temperature and keep in the fridge, is it correct way of storing the milk?

Apple: Thanks for the concern.

RE: Breakfast

I am having oatmeal occassionally with milk powder. If not then it will be latching milk with biscuits like sugar biscuit, butter cookies.

Have gotten my hb to get fenugreek for me. Will be taking the pills shortly.

Talking abt massage I remember when I have my no2 he keep crying when I'm half way thru the massage really is a waste of money cuz start 15mins my bb cry n I dun have cl only maid n I dun allow maid carry my bb so in the end waste my session.. So mummies if wanna massage must find a help so u can enjoy

Viman, V, Janice, Apple, Split - thanks for your feedback re: jamu massage. Will check with origins jamu to see if I am in the state to start earlier.

Val, last check was 7.7..I just don like to see jaundice linger for so long [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cloudpoem, this confinement I consider v good life..breakfast I have Swiss roll or chee cheong fun if my hb free to go out n get for me. The chee cheong fun is no sauce added, my mum will add on oyster sauce n sesame oil for me after steaming.

Lunch or dinner will be veg w oyster sauce( which I prefer most), abc soup, pig stomach soup, chicken herbal or emperor chicken, fish will be steamed fish

Janice:- to chill ebm & mix it, chill the freshly ebm at least an hour first den mix into the previously chilled btl of ebm.. That's wad I do..

apple - thanks!! 7.7 is considered borderline case, right? if so, you have a very high chance of it coming down soon!

val - i also dunno whether can take or not. just now, got no red dates drink at all. and my mum say cannot drink plain water. in the end, i buay tahan and went to the fridge and took a sip of green tea. hahaha...

regarding storing chilled ebm and those fresh from us, i just pour them in right after pumping. will it cause any problem?

Janice: my #2 & #3 was 'calculated' by taimaobi.. Paid the $80 one. The most basic package.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Littlefly: I pump 20 on my left than 15 on my right and than 15 on my left and 10 on my right. Sometimes I do +5 min too.

Engorgement: I experienced it last night on my left boob. Tingling sensation + hard like rocks! The only way to ease is to massage hard on the hard nodes. Very painful but have to loosen the blocked ducts. If not after u pump within 5 min it will be hard again~

Sunflower: I don't think can? Ebm keep in fridge only for 48 hrs? Usually I pump and I put 1 in the freezer and 1 in the fridge.

Happmum: hang in there hopefully will come down soon ya? My girl did phototherapy for 24 hrs..

Evie: I take 1 cup warm plain boiled water every other day. My red date water I also dilute w water sometimes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] reason why cannot drink is they believe it will cause water retention and we will be 'swollen' again~

Ebm: I express and put straight in the fridge or freezer. When needed than take out from the fridge and put in warm water to heat up.

Umbilical cord: my baby's 14th day tmrw but still have not dropped off.. Any mummies here have the same prob???

just want to know which brand of cloth diapers u all use? i am using bumwear for #1 but for #2 cant used yet coz below 5kg. Any other cloth diaper i can consider? And, any mummies use traditional nappy cloth diaper? how to fold??

Viman

how's ur bb? ok already? when can go home? tot hernia will go off on its own? how come doc ask ur bb to undergo surgery?

Re: confinement

i took chicken soup (one chicken) everyday till full month on top of the confinement catering. and hav bread + milk for breakfast & supper. so 5 meals per day (breakfast, lunch, tea break, dinner & supper) a lot hoh.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: pump

for mummies using Medela Freestyle, can i know how you sterilize the pump? Would you put whole pump (membrane, connector, breastshield) in sterilizer? as i know breastshield cannot b sterilized. what i do is to wash using soapy water and rinse using hot water.

while in office, i will use sterilization tables and put whole thing in the tupperware container.

cloudpoem: Taimaopoi? Is it good? Saw the basic package now is $88..

Any mummies got other recommendation other than taimaopi??

Actually my hb got a uncle that is known for name calculation but the name he gave is so 'pai tia' that i really cant accept.

My mil also say that drink water will cause water retention. I am only allow to drink the red dates water that she have prepared. Everyday i try to drink finish the red dates drink that she have prepared for me.

Evie: Sweet? Issit due to ur CL add in sugar? As my mil just put in all the neccessary ingredients with no sugar added as all the ingredients are nature sweet.

hi mummies, i have discharged fr hospital today. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My boy got jaundice on day 3 and readings at 185. Luckily today reading at 108 and PD allows him to discharge w me. Otherwise need to run to and fro hospital and home.

I think bcos of jaundice, my boy is super sleepy... latched on for less than 20 mins and fell asleep.. can't even wake him up... my hubby wipe him just now for the evening.. no matter how he wipe (even took off his clothes, still can sleep) till my girl made noises then he wake up.

Janice: Er, I dunno if taimaobi is good another leh.. My hbby was in charge of all the admin stuffs while I jus rest in hosp.. Haaaha.. But they calculate the 'ba zi' and tell u Bb is lack of wad elements.. Hmmm.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, no news fr her. Last update fr apple is tat she have given birth and doing confinement.. think her confinement shd be over by now...

btw, i'm having "hard-rock" breast and blocked milk ducts... despite pumping for 30 mins and massaging for nearly 20 mins, i can't seem to unblock it... so tired.. my boy missed one feed and it harden liao.. haiz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Janice - dunno if she added sugar. but i can tell that it's full of red dates. lol~ what's the name that the uncle gave? I heard yu long zi is quite good.