(2011/05) May 2011

baobaolin - my bb also had jaundice. thought i was doing bf, i still let her drink water. this is to let those stuff to be flushed out from her system.

many thanks to the mummies who have replied to my query..greatly appreciate it!! now bb is waiting for PD. hubby see her butt red until like that and decided to bring her see PD

jane - so, it's normal? lol..not only when bb fart, it also happens when she sneezes. then will u wipe her butt when this happens?

baobaolin

dont worry too much abt ur bb's jaundice as long as pd said he is fine.. u can sun ur boy (morning sun), i did it for my bb at around 8am and each time not more than 5 mins. i used eye mask to cover her eyes. u can hold or carry him for the sunning. may b he is crying coz no body holding him and feels insecure.

Janice

re:jaundice

continue to sun ur bb. as long as pd said it's ok, u dont hav to worry. just observe bb's skin, eyes to c if the yellowness get serious. my #1 had serious jaundice (4x phototherapy in a mth) and the readings reaching 400! it attracts two PDs' attention that time. luckily went off after one month. so dont worry too much, pd will know what to do..

for the pimples, last time i used to put mustela facial cream on bb.. u can try that?

evie

hmm.. normally old folks will said, bb's tummy got wind if fart and hav poo.. but i havnt rub bb tummy yet coz she only 5 weeks old, wait till she bigger then will use ru yi oil to rub to get rid of wind. now only massage gently after bath.

ya when it happens, if i put liner, i will wipe and change another liner.

Evie - can give water? I dare not give him any other liquids..

Jane h - I was cuddlinging him.. Even wrap his body from belly down and naked only the top.. But he still don't like. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] will try again when there's sun.. Thanks.. :)

baobaolin

for the sunning, my bb only wearing diaper with covered eyes but i hold her during the process.. (sun together with her :p)

Evie, if pd say ok then u continue to bf him, his poo n pee will flush out jaundice, for my case is dr ask me to stop all confinement food include drink..so I stop bf him n express instead..

Latching, just now try to latch him n realised he is too fierce... Dun dare to latch him now.. Scare scare..

Baobaolin, a bit of water is fine as we are in a humid condition..

Jane h - I wrapped his belly down.. Scared he get cold. I also sun together with bb cos carrying him as well and always get full body of sweat! Lol.

Bubble pearl - if that's the case can I give him together with the red dates soaked? Wanted to try but didn't dare to..

Everytime latch on bb he also very fierce! Haha! Like wanna swallow my nip down. -.- my left side nip alrd cracked n bleed.. Have been pumping from left n latch on the right for 2days alrd.. Very painful..

Baobaolin, red dates I not too sure, my neighbour told me sugarcane add a bit water n feed bb will bring down but I dun dare try, water is try n tested on my nieces n nephew, when I was 1st time mummy I also scared this n that unless got proven live example then I trust, so I give my #1 water too.. Keke, once again everything must be moderate..imo

Bubble pearl - Yah.. I dare not try unless it's really proven useful to many.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh.. Hopefully the herbs is gonna work well. Will give him some water later on as well.. Thank you!!

Jane: Thanks for the advise. Will try to get mustela facial cream to apply. Provided i am able to go out lah.. Scare hubby blur blur dunno where to buy and get wrong one. Ur bb only wear diaper with cover eyes ah, wont it be too cold for the bb to be w/o clothes? I did cuddle her to sun the other day and i was like sweating like hell.

Went to gynea this morning and the nurse ask if i got wear binding. Mind asking y do i need to wear binders? Is it a must to wear as doc tell me since i have not gotten can dun need to get already.

By the way, i am being schedule to do pap smear 6 weeks later. Is it a must too? Reason for it? Paiseh, 1st time mom, this don't know and that don't know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baobaolin - if u go according to LC, they will no need to give bb water because bm is sufficient. but hubby and i see no harm in giving her 4 teaspoons of lukewarm water each day. it worked for us. it was around 14 when PD say she got jaundice, 7 when was she was discharged and it dropped to 4 when we did the blood test in 2 days. that time, we had no sun. so, wasn't able to sun her.

jane - ohhh..that means my bb got wind in her tummy lo..we have been applying ru yi oil on her everyday.

janice

hehe.. at first i also scare bb catch cold, but she is alright.. may b coz my hz got morning sun in living room so i just open window the sunlight will come in. but must b less than 5 mins.

binder? u hav c-sec? for mine i wear binder, during the 4th week check up whereby doc took away my bandage, i got ask whether need to be on binder or not, my doc said no need. but i still put till after one mth (want to bind my tummy bah.. or else scare will b very flubby.. )

pap smear, i just follow gynea instructions.. do it lo.. heheh..

Janice is not a must to wear, the binder usually people wear during the first week was said it support ur tummy n reduce ur pain. Personally I find it cause me more pain so I nv wear. After 1 week usually u wunt feel pain le so no point using binder also

Evie - I just gave bb 5ml of warm water after I fed him half way n then finishing with latching on again.. Hope it'll work on him as well! Thanks!! :)

Jane & Spilt: I have last min c-sect due to insufficient dilation and have been in labour pain for close to 8 hrs. So clueless of me of the binder. Went to gynea to remove stitches and they ask if I'm on binder then I told them have not gotten. So doc say dun need to get le.

Will try to sun bathe my gal tomorrow provided there is sun. Mine here sun raise at 7+, hopefully I got the energy for it.

My bb j have not been adjusting well during night time.

baobaolin - np~ hope that it will work for you! i know how heartpain it is to see ur darling having jaundice.

my CL is finally gone. but that will mean we have to survive with no CL till monday. *sigh*

Mummies who had given birth in KKH: Do they still give any freebies? I remember last time they give kodomo bb toiletries set.

I haven't get NB bath stuff. whahaha. maybe that's why my girl dun wanna come out. anyone past their EDD? very worried by next week if no news, doc gonna induce me le.

Evie,

U getting a new CL?

I also tot of getting my CL to leave by next sat, she suppose to be till 31st may, but both mi & hubby dun wan her to join our bb shower which is next sun.

evie - bb back from PD? What did the PD said about the rash??

U sack your CL? She fr agency?? Quite horror with lousy CL, that was my nitemare during #1, so #2 I decided to go without CL. Eventhough I have to do lots of thing myself, with a helpless maid, but am happier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and not so stressful rather than facing lousy and naggy CL.

Jane - I stock up during the earlier member sale..remembered me, starfruit and some other mummies cheong Robinsons after work :p that was the time they given 20%. Super good buy..I bought a lot of Mustela items coz my #1 still using.

Hope OCBC buck up their service and give u the card coz GSS coming..am sure they gonna have pre-sale or member sale again.

good afternoon mummies!!! just start my pumping session...

nic, auroa: congratz!!! rest well too!!

Starfruit: jiayou!!! hope u have a smooth delivery!!

bunnymum: not sure abt sitiches down there... but my c section stitches is self melt oso... it will cum off by itself... no need to remove...

viman: i use drypers or pureen for daily uses... at nite will use mamypoko..

ash: me using medela swing... can adjust the strength... but if u wanna pump exclusively better buy a double pump...

evie: i use desitin for nappy rashes... tis cream is gd... use for both #1 and #2...

hubby wan me to stop feeding EBM for now... cos bb oredi 17 days n his jaundice still not clear... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

This morning I tried bottle feed my boy, given him 60ml of EBM via Avent 0m+ teat..he doesn't like it!! And only drank 55ml then he gets angry and refuse to suck anymore. After an hr, crying for milk, so I latch.

Still not a good time to bottle train him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi! I am also pumping now.

Yaer, u taking confinement food ah? How high is ur boi jaundice? Maybe 50 50 fm n ebm? I v sian too cos I throw almost 1liter of ebm cos I run out space n container to store them...waste my effort

kiko - i past my EDD by 4 days and got induced.

bbpoohfamily - ya, we getting new CL. she is reaching on either sunday evening or monday morning. waiting for her to confirm her flight from Jakarta. just praying super hard that she will be a good one. what happened to your CL?

apple - yep, bb back from PD. like what the mummies here say, use lukewarm water to wash her everytime. PD also gave a antiseptic and anti-inflammatory cream for her. haiz..heartpain! ya lo..we sack the CL. she was recommended by another CL. not from agency. really a horror.

PD say to use the cream that she provided twice a day. the rest of the day can use Desitin. She mentioned that both Mustela and Desitin are good. it's a matter of preference. since we already bought 2, don't waste it.

apple - could it be because of the teat? do you want to consider changing it?

Baobaolin:- my boy in his 2wks+ alrd jaundice lvl @ 148.. Low but to be safe still got to be lower den 100..

To clear jaundice, yes small red dates helps..

U buy those small red dates wif seed inside de(don't buy those without seed de) den put abit warm water den put in rice cooker & steam with the rice when the rice half way cooked.. Let it steam for 20-30mins den give bb drink.. My A jaundice lvl went down after taking that.. U can try.. Just lyk what ur mother say..

Hello mummies! Finally gotta to login and post.

Congrats to Auroa and Nic.

Starfruit, wish you a quick and smooth delivery!

I have a quick question here for BFing mummies here. Do the breasts still feel full and heavy after pumping ? Is this normal? I feel like they are encorged every 2-3hrs.

V(Buff), Hannah - agree with you on BF. My nipples are in such sorry state – I switch to pumping/bottle-feed baby instead.

My elder boy has not been taking well to bb brother. I breastfeed baby, he got jealous and upset and throws tantrums. I pump milk, he also cannot take it coz he knows I am doing it for bb brother and demands I stop and spends time with him. My hb is also at a loss. So sianz, with CL around, he’s already acting that way. Cannot imagine when she leaves and I will need to spend more time caring for baby, how my boy will react. He’s starting to say he don’t like Mummy. Arrrgh...

Jane:- I nv use other diapers before except for drypers.. Leaking lyk %$@#, used 2times.. I use nepia all day for my A. Can hold 3pees..

Apple

Oh Robinson wil hav pre sales for gss?juz hope dat I can get the card before it.

Kay

Ya agree drypers really can't hold more than one pee.my girl will cry everytime it wet.which pureen u use?red or blue one?nepia is $15 per pack rite?am considering getting it once finish drypers.

baobao: if u express out, can feed direct without heating up if u feeding soon.

i'm using drypers nb. so far ok. how do u all know how many pees it can hold? how u know bb peed?

littlefly: mine feels full v fast after pump too. wonder if i emptied completely.

how we handle #2 is really delicate now. i try to play w him as much if possible. lucky he is ok to see me pumping. he even doesnt want to go out w daddy cos im not comin along too. but so far i think my #2 still ok. hope he cont to b gd.

CL: im lucky mine is gd n v experienced. v happy to hv her ard.

today is 1st day i showered n washed my hair! feels so gd. hv been sponging only e past few days. but i did wash hair on e day of discharged la. keke!

im bringing bb for jaundice check on monday. hope it will drop below 10.

anyone bot 2nd hand pump? i hv an offer of 300 for freestyle. seller said in tip top condition used only 3 mths, bot fr shop in paragon. price ok?

ash_r - glad to hear that your CL is good and experienced. i think this kind of CL is very hard to come by! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

CL: my current CL is aso a replacement one as e prev 1 can only stay for 9 days.. So far feel tat tis is better than prev but still observing.. Cross fingers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Evie - good that the horrible CL get sacked..but do u get a replacement? Or u will DIY?

CloudPoem - my hb also afraid he is like jiejie..make us run all shelfs to buy all brands of btl & teats, so he wanted to start him on btl early..who knows the boy also fussy pot!! but since he still young, I slowly intro.

Now he wanna intro pacifier for evening fuss..let's see today my boy's pattern :p

U can apply Robinsons card via OCBC.

Jane:- yupp, I tried the sample kkh gave.. Drypers is horrible.. I will nv use it again.. Nepia is $15.. Cheap for nb & s size cos one pack consider more worth the $. Can tahan 3pees!

Janice:- u can try baby sebamed protective facial cream for ur baby on face regarding acne.. I used it for my A when rashes appear & next day it disappear..

bubble - what is that herb for? can bring down jaundice? I find my boy still a lil yellowish..but PD said continue bf, I guess it is bf jaundice. Maybe I try the herb, hmm Hock Hua selling? Or must be those traditional chinese medical hall?

Sh - the jaundice ball u saying is the same as what bubble pearl is using? the herb?

Evie - yah.. The urge of crying when I look at him worrying about his jaundice.. Though is not that bad but still afraid n kept thinking a lot.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kaykay - really works? I've been hesitating for so long! She told me to put 7 red dates and pour hot water in wait till it's warm n good temperature then let bb drink..

I guess I would give all a try..

Ash_r - thanks for telling! I've been wondering if it's too cold for bb to drink if I didn't warm it. Haha! Thanks! :)

Bubble pearl - it's all one seed one seed de.. Black - brown in colour?

Herb for jaundice: like those in unbloom flower? Once u add in water, it will change water into yellowish? Normal medical hall have, not sure if hock hwa has it?

Kaykay: Thanks for the info. Trying to see if it will get better in the next few days.

Am using the chinese medicine method for my bb j as other aunties told my mil. My mil use it to wash her for the past few days but we have placed the item on her wrongly. Have not put into ang bao and place under her pillow. After reading from here, quickly went to change it.

I tried bf my bb j this afternoon, have bf her on and off for 30 mins. She fall asleep during bf but in less than 30mins. She woke up again and wanting bf. So i gave her the other side and some 30ml fm @ 1+. Manage to keep her calm and quite but she is hungry at 3+ pm again. How do one know if the bb is full during bf? As my bb always fall asleep during bf and she will wake up in a short while wanting bf again.

Thinking of pumping out the milk and bottle feed her but scared as the other time when i pump it sore my nipple and the milk is pink in color.

Bubble pearl - I guess its the right one then. I placed some into red packet n put under his pillow alrd, will use it to bathe him tomorrow, just put into his bathing water or need to boil then pour in?

wow..thread moving super fast...i slept the whole day away except to wake up and pump and snuggle my lil one. super tired.

Re Jaundice: my CL say keep feeding BM and eat less ginger. Kylie's jaundice has cleared. Usually after 9-10 days will reduce le...

Ash: my hubby went to check the price for freestyle at robinsons..I think a new one was about 700. So the deal shd be not bad..he bought a swing for me..not bad too...has the letdown function and I'm also full BM feeding..haha..i washed my hair today too~ yesterday had a shower before heading back for checkup.

Evie: my CL also rec Desitin for Kylie. works great~

CL told me the rashes on the skin is due to the 'dirt' in the body and it will expel by itself. Having worked as a CL for 4 yrs I trust her. She's a really good cook and is open to comments too~ really blessed to have her with me although there are some issues which we have ironed out already.

RE Water:the EBM has foremilk and hindmilk. foremilk being more translucent which is equivalent to water. So LC mentioned not to feed water. I've not given her water but I've been taking oats and fruits to let her poo-poo easier.

Jane: yea, my girl farts/poo at the same time. =P

Evie: must clean like the ladies say..with cotton ball and luke warm boiled water..pat dry with tissue. don't use the wet wipes first. learnt from my CL..

Any mummies able to pump more from 1 boob as compared to the other? my right is giving me at least 20-30ml more than my left I think. I tried pumping my left more but still no avail. Now both sides add up about 140-170ml. still enough for my girl. thinking of starting the mother's milk tea bags...