(2011/05) May 2011

allo mummies, long time no post here,

my daughter arrived 2 weeks before EDD ON 30TH APRIL..on my son's bday..

JIAYOU for those BFing and those waiting to pop!!!

congrats to the mummies who have delivered!!!

Hang in there during your confinement!!

happymumtobe - great!!

dolly - wa..like that ar..you might want to keep a close eye on the maid with regards to giving ur girl the medicine wor..

Evie, lately my kiddies have been taking medicine.. I'll only scold her if this is the 3rd time repeating the same mistake. Other than that I trust her what she's doing. Of coz, I'll spot check her on what she's doing.. Maybe I'm just too kind..

Sunflower: some avent bottles do leak.. Dunno why got such thing happening.. Was told that can bring to their head office to review or change..

My baby keep asking for milk And I really no milk!! Went to pump after she suckle, only yield 40ml from both sides.. I went to top up FM and shr drinks only 30ml. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cloud, starfruit, V and evie, yes, a load off our mind. Now left with dealing if jaundice n re-do hearing. Hope things will be fine soon.

Cloud, during discharge, his weight shrink to 2905g the when he admit last week, drop to 2890g, this week then slowly regain. His milk intake not much Sao, abt 60-70ml every 2-3 hrs. He is already day 12. Pd says need to gain at least 100g per week, hopefully by full mth, will reach 3.5kg.

I hv no choice but to give in to pacificer cos my bb cries non stop when he woke up n kept asking fir milk although jus fed one Hr ago.

My tear wound is still in pain n I can't move ard, lying on bed to rest my wound. I feel v heart pain to c my bb kept crying n I can't do anythg.

hi mummies.. haven log in for a while.

My girl have been emotionally unstable and wants to follow me whenver i go and wants her bb brother to come out otherwise she wants to go into my tummy... sigh.. even her school also noticed tat she's emotionally unstable. Haiz.

Btw, went for my gynae appt today and still diluated 1cm... seems like my cervix is very stuborn and refuse to budge. Anyway, my gyane said now i'm hypertension liao and placenta is showing signs of "old". Thus, 2nite @ 12am i checking into "resort" to induce liao. Asked my hubby not to follow and after i tucked my girl to sleep and I will leave the house on my own.

Praying tat it will be a short labour process unlike my no1 which tooks abt 32hrs. If everything goes well, i can be discharged by sun or otherwise next tue... haiz.

dolly - next time when u have new set of medi for your kid, must drill the instruction to the maid's mind! Tell u, they simply wanna be smart aleck when they dunno they are doing something wrong! These days I can't be bothered about my maid, wah seh she knows I super pissed off, now a bit AUTO when she sees me changing bb, know prepare diaper & wipe! faintz..but too late, we decided to change no matter she improved or not. Characteristic always very hard to change, the change just short term.

starfruit - wow, u cheong Robinsons! Bought mattress? Babysafe or adult mattress?

happymum - I'm sure bb S will be fine. Don't worry and rest well k..u have been running up and down to PD and so on.

sunflower

you can try turning it anticlockwise to another groove and turn it back clockwise to close it. if closed and doesn't feel like it's clipping the teat then it shouldn't leak, else do the step mentioned earlier. Sometimes it is also cos of the teat or cap don't match.

happymum,

S will get better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jiayous! my bb was also losing weight after the 1st week review & jaundiced. they say the hearing re-test thing is quite common cos the ear prob still has water or stuck. i also have to bring bb for review nxt mth.

my bb's much better now and gaining weight le...can see double chin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif] yrs will too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

is there a facebook may2011 group? can join?

Hi Aurora, I'm a silent reader. Just want to encourage you re being induce. I also checked in to resort midnight today at 38 wks coz of my gestational diabetes. At 9am only 2cm dilated with irregular contractions. But 10am took epidural and 10.30 gynae broke my waterbag. After that it was v quick dilation. Just before 1pm, my BB was out in 2 long pushes. Btw my 1st took close to 30 hrs labour. So this being your 2nd child can be fast and furious like mine. Jia yu!

dolly: actually i dun let my maid feed my gal medicine one... scare they anyhow give...

happymumtobe: congratz on the good news!!!

sunflower: i experienced it before... u have to open it again and turn the cap properly...

Auroa: my gal is like tat oso when i was abt to give birth... tink they can sense tat bb is cuming... u r abt to see ur bb soon!!! jiayou!!!

went for my bb jaundice review today... although dropped from 13.3 to 11.3 but it is still not good enuff... cos my boy oredi 2wks old n his jaundice should be clear by now... need to went back for review next week if still not clear need to do blood test... sianz... tinking tat the needle poking into him make me heartpain... dun wan him to go thru like my gal did... been poked so many times to find the vein to draw blood...

Auroa: gd luck to u n u will b able to c ur Bb soon!!

Mummyzen: ya.. He is heavy, on mon, me, CL n

Bb went to c my gynae on my painful wound.. N my CL said her arms were tired frm carrying my boy.. Haha

Hi ladies, hope everyone is doing well =>

Dolly,

My boy in t3 stage. He is sweet n ok with meimei but he all of a sudden v hyper and every lit thing also cry n throw tantrums. Make me super fedup at times.

Re: #3

told my hb I dun mind going for another one but he mind! Hahaha.

Yaer,

Mayb ur boy wanna cuddle cuddle??

I also no cl. Mum n hb helping out. Mummy help to wash both kids clothings, look aft the kids when I am having my massage or when I nd to bring #2 for jaundice test...this week hb n my mum bringing my boy to sch as he been rejecting sch..other than tt, I am on my own as hb preparing for his exam so he head out to study. But he tries to help ard the Hse whenever he is ard and I really appreciate tat.

Use fridge to go to store the ebm. It has ice packs inside so can keep chill. 

Re: nite pump

Heheh. This time rd, I really got prob pumping on time at nite =p 

Ash, 

Happy 1 week to our babies. gals are generally easier to take care Ho?*choi, touch wood!*

Little fly,

Hm sweet hm =)

My gal's mouth v small so sometimes got to unlatch n relatch a num of times before she can suckle properly.

Cloudpoem,

U got to cont massaging and let ur gal suckle. Recently I also got blocked ducts, really painful but force myself to massage hard and let my gal suckle. Thankfully it was cleared aft slightly more than a day.

Happymumtobe,

Hope ur #1 recovers soon and all be well for ur #2.

Bubble pearl,

My mum also mentions she nt able to handle 2 and ask me to put my #1 in full day cc. Nw I am considering if I sld tender...

Janice,

Congras on the arrival of ur gal =>

Auroa,

Think ur gal can sense that changes are coming thus she behaved like tat. Even my boy nwadays like to throw tantrums for no reasons or if we dun give in to him...haiz.

Wah! U inducing tonite!?!? All the best babe! Hope it will be a fast n smooth delivery for u...and I peifu u tat u will go thro it alone...to minimize impact to ur gal. Jia you!! 

Val my SIL(MIL's daughter) was asking me if i have confirmed a childcare for #1. wha stress me dunno isit hinting for tat MIL cannot take care. I wanna put #2 in infant care but MIL say no. I say wanna hire maid hb say no. Then i a bit angry n emo cos SIL make me feel guilty n bad n all suggestion i gave MIL n hb say no. I give up! Just ignore SIL. She should just have spoken to hb instead of hinting to me so now i feel a bit angry!

Val i think ur gor gor may be feeling a bit insecure now thus will act up every now n then. Give him more assurance.

Apple i bought adult mattress simmons very good deal more than half price off n members have additional $400 off.

Auroa all the best n have a safe delivery.

yaer, my gal also got jaundice and similar numbers to yours.. but my PD said its good that its peaked and its coming down.

is the poop yellow in color?

keep sunning the baby between 9-10am and 5-6pm and i think there are some special baths for baby for jaundice from medical halls...

i've been doing that so can see some improvement.

Auroa: jiayou!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: haa maybe when meimei grow up abit more yr hb will be ok with #3

Dolly: u feeling better now?

Starfruit: your sil also quite kpo...do wat u feel best...can't handle everyone's feelings well all tog too.

Cloud: my bb too...drink very frequently...scared my ss not enough for him...stressed...

Re: jaundice

Tml gg to bring bb to check again...pains me to see him get poked...hopefully tml is the last time....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Now put maid issue aside, wanna rant about my hb again.. I've not rested since morning till 1hr ago, my boy doesn't want to sleep & kept whining.. Just finish pumping, my hb raised his voice @ me again & asked if I'm going to take care of the bb or do I want to the washing of the dishes (my maid went over to attend to my boy).. Woa koaz.. He himself sitting infront of the tv watching news.. I've never seen him helping out with the nb & ordering me to do this & that... Angry man!

Starfruit,

Think ur mil may have talked to ur sil and she comes to u. Perhaps ur mil duno how to bring up the subject with u?

I feel la, baby too young to go IFC...coz aft all their immunity is nt so strong still, go in sure fall sick easily...

Ya, think my #1 just wan more attention frm us...thus he is v unreasonable nw...so u see la, if I listen I my mum n put him in full day cc, even worst lo. He may think tat coz of meimei we send him to sch whole day. When I was preg I asked my mum if she can handle both, she was quite angry and says if she can't hw she brought up my younger bro n me...then nw tell me diff thing....haiz...but I am afraid of giving up my job....coz I am used to financial independent....used to the current lifestyle...

Angie,

Hahaa. Know my hb too well. He will nv agree to #3 as max he wans is 2 due to the high cost. 

Dolly: is yr hb having a hard time at work? Try to talk things out with him? Not good for you physically n mentally if this continues...

Vsl: I also feel like taking care of bb full time at times...but the thought of not being financially independent makes me feel insecure too..but can't bear to put him in the care of strangers or miss out his growing up phase. Ha yr hb enough with 2 kids.,.mine surrender with 1 lo...

Angie my SIL is like this she likes to pass this kind of remarks dunno why must like this just makes me more wary of her. Cos MIL was taking care of nephew before my #1came then when my #1 came mil insisted tat SIL's own MIL have to care of nephew cos she say mine is her " nei4sun1" so prority given to me. Cos tat time sil's MIL did not want to help her take care. But these were all decisions made by MIL n i never say anything. I even offered to send my #1 to childcare then but they all say no!

val i dun think my MIL talked to her daughter on this. Good chance is my sil trying to plant this idea in her n that i should send to child care. Sil always have a lot of idea how i should arrange my childcare arrangement. Buey tahan her sometime. I just one ear in n one ear out lor. I told mil if she cant cope i will send #2 to infant care. Simple as this. Maybe now preggy so more emtional. Must tell myself to zen. I think worstncome to worst i will hire a maid.

Val there must be a way out. Sit down n discuss with hb n see how to resolve this. I also very fan over this. The elders keep asking us to have more kids but they dun provide support to take care. How to have more kids this way right!

So long didnt post liao. 12 more days to end confinement. This confinement totally no discipline. Went shopping at compass pt at ard 10 days and also stop drinking the red date tea cos lazy to boil. And I bath on the day I discharge from hospital cos of the horrible weather.

Val, same here. My elder boy is getting out of hand. Making me so depress. Cry over the smallest thing. Lucky mei mei is good gal seldom cry. And even she cry I just stuff my nipple into her mouth she will stop. I get angry with my boi when he cry even I know he is insecure that why he cry. However I just can't control my temper. Poor boi got alot of scolding from me.

By the way, my gal drink less than 6 times a day leh. Day is every 3 to 4 hours then nite is 6 to 8 hrs leh. Should I dig her up to drink? I dunno how much she drink cos I direct latch. However her weight gain seem okie. Now at 18days old she gain 500g from the discharge weight of 2.6kg. Any advise

Angie n val i took care of my #1 for 13 mths before i rejoined the work force. During this time MIL was taking care of nephew. I did feel a bit bad tat MIL came bck n help me instead of helping her own daughter.

Val, for me, cannot quit to take care kids..feel like financially insecure. Want hire maid, mum dun want...if get my sil who is a homemaker to look after the #2 for me, only get to bring him back on weekend..haiz, headache.

Wonder who else is also doing exclusive pumping only?

Yaer: I went for jaundice check today too n reads 11.2 drop fr 14.3 but nurse says need to drop to 10 by next monday. Bb has exceeded birth wt to 3 kg in 8 days! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val: hi5! Happy 1 wk old!

Auroa: u go hosp urself? Hb join u later?

Star: dun think so much at e moment. Any progress on yr labour? Still hv tummyache feeling?

Bubble: *hands waving* I'm doing exclusive pumping. Latching too tiring n I want to make sure drinking enuf to flush out jaundice. Working well so far. I get to rest n others can juz use ebm to feed. Im supplementing w fm too

Auroa, same here, my #1 also showing emo insecure, ESP w my hb ard..poor thing got lots of scolding n beating from us too since didi is born but he still love m dote his bro a lot. Can get someone to jaga ur gal when sleeping whole hb accompany u to hospital? U take care.

Ash, do u are ur ss increasing or stable? Mine like stable since last week, want increase despite I have emptied both boobs but still same

Nic, Starfruit, yah, my apptmt this Fri with Dr Chua is 2+pm. What about you ladies?

Starfruit, you took no pay leave for your #1?

Auroa: jiayou! All the best! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ash, that's good news! BB will be free from jaundice soon! No worries! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The #1 being emo unstable and insecure is a passing phase. Will be very difficult now but soon it will be over. Hang on there mummies!

Bubble

Me too, exclusive pumping. only latch bb when she doesnt want to sleep at night and feeding time not yet reach (just simply latch, i'm sure she only want security haha)

Yaer

when going out, I will warm up the ebm using warmer and put it in insulated bag. and if estimate that will go out for whole day, i will bring one bottle of warmed ebm + pump, and an sterilized milk bottle. will pump out for the second feeding.

Dolly

Dont be angry at ur hubby. may b he knows that ur boy only want you, that is y he didnt go and take care of him... guys are like that, unlike mummies, we are more sensitive towards kids. my hb also, for first week, he tot my #2 didnt wake up at night and i didnt need to do night feeding. when i told him that i actually pump and feed bb every 3 hrs, he was surprised that he didnt hear bb cried. see! man.....

Val

may b consider IFC? yeah bb might fall sick easily but at least it will solve ur problem. can work at the same time let ppl who is experienced (caregiver at centre) to take care of bb..

Auroa

b careful when u go to hospital alone ya! take care!

Starfruit

guess u got to discuss with ur hb and let ur hb talk to mil see what is her plan.

blurlemom

since bb is gaining weight, should b alright le.. my bb only gain about 600-700g after one month, PD didnt say anything..

cloudpoem & apple

my block is undergoing upgrading. can understand your situation. i hav been going thru all these drilling and noises since months ago. it affects my mood during confinement and now after confinement, it affects bb. so we always sleep in air-con room so that the noises wont b so obvious lo.

Angie: yes.. I have a big eater! I resort to FM from 9-12pm. My supply can't satisfy her. So, she's having 1-2 fm and rest BM... I need to rebound supply.. May want to take MMP..

Dolly: think ur hubby is stress.. See if there's chance that u 2 can have a good chill talk... Dishes can wash anytime, leave it there and ask yr maid to settle.

Val: can sense ure enjoying ur time with ur sweetie.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u also quite 1-woman-show~ it's true that upbringing kids is high cost.. There're times when I wan to splurge but don't dare cuz my commitment is too high... 3 kids practically can spent most of my savings. I may not be able to give them the best but I hope to be able to give within my means of best. Sigh~~ emo~~

Milk supply, pls kick in~~~~

Yes, home Sweet home finally! Tired but happy mum. I got milk this time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but still have to overcome the latching challenge and super sore nipples now. LC told me few days unable to pump? Tried pumping but nothing come out athough my breasts are full.

Dolly, split, my hb also seemed to be more tired than me though I am the one waking up to feed milk I guess men need more sleep than women! But I got him to do all the running around like marketing and buying the things I need…

Starfruit, I also reading your advises on BF. They are very helpful. I also get bleb at times. What is FTG?

Cloud, I also like the blue sanitizer! Aiyah, wished I read your post earlier. Now got to make do with Dettol version.

Apple, agree that PILs can say they want another grandchild when they don’t even want to take care! Heck lah, my shop is definitely closing at 2!

Auroa, wish you a smooth and fast delivery !

Val, I have same issues. My elder boy already got jealous on day 1 when bb is back! Do things to seek attention and said he’s ‘sad’. Bb drinks milk, he also wants to drink. I tried to ‘talk sense’ to him and tell him I will devote my time with him when I am done with feeding bb. Hope he can understand.

Auroa- jiayou! Hope your delivery will be a quick and smooth one. Do keep us updated.

Ash, Bubblepearl - I also want to exclusively express. How often and how long must u pump to keep supply up?

Angie,

Ya, really financially insecure as I dun wan to have to ask hb for permission everything I buy things.

Haha. Wait for urs to be older ur hb may consider #2 =)

Starfruit,

Oic. Then mayb u get ur hb to sound out ur mil, better to settle this nw then when u go back to wk and things crop up.

Hmm, my hb also wan to send my boy to full day cc...he says better but I beg to diff la. Ok la, my parents nv ask or comment tt we have more kids or xxx kids so still ok.

Blurlemon,

Exactly hw I feel. Meimei been v gd *touch wood* but the korkor really make me so angry I have to scold him everyday. 1 day I asked him if I scold him v often and he says yes, mummy always scold him. Haiz. Tell him nicely he dun wanna listen wanna throw tantrums so no choice got to scold as last resort lo.

Bubble pearl,

Actually I think la, being a sahm is doable so long as I can give up financially...this is the only thing tat is holding me back. My hb has already given his support many things...just tat I am too used to the current lifestyle...fan right? Wan to be financially independent yet wan go be sahm. Hahaha. So hm based job is the best option Liao. Hahaha.

Ash,

Wah! Cross 3kg le, I wonder if my gal has crossed 3kg too! The last weight at 3rd day was 2.9kg.

Jane,

No IFC. My boy 3yo I dun even wan to put him fullday cc so I wldnt put my young gal in IFC. My mum can help out is whether she wan or nt but she always think she can't. Just like my confinement, she think she can't cope with cooking n looking aft the kids...but to be frank, she only help out a few hrs here n there as most of the time I handle on my own. Only nd her to help out when I do my massage or when I nd to bring meimei for review. Sometimes I feel like asking her back how she brought up my bro n myself. Hahaha.

Cloudpoem,

Yes. I enjoy my gal alot! Hahaha. I also enjoy the time with my boy -when he is nt throwing tantrums n listen =p

Yes, I am quite a 1 woman show. =) and I am proud to be 1. Hehe. I always tell my mum I sld be sahm n she go out to wk =p

Yes! Having kids nwadays are really high maintenance ESP when it comes to pre-edu. 1 kid 1 mth 1k, more kids will mean more K!!

Little fly,

So far my boy nt jealous just like to seek attention only. He super happy when he can kiss or sayang meimei n keep asking to carry her. He direct the negative things to us rather than to his lit sis which I am thankful lo. 

Val, ya, setup hm based work is best..one of my previous thread mum quit her job n she setup online shop n heard business not be bad leh. So good have ur hb support, I told my hb n guess what he say?? Ah, then I quit too, let's stay at home take both kids...piangz

Little fly, same here, last nite my hb bunk together w me at my parent's place to take care bb at nite, guess what, I have to make milk n wash bottle for him as he simply too tired to do all, his job is feed n burp bb

Jane, how come u not latching him when u go out? Troublesome to bring pump out.

Pixie, I am pumping 2 hrly daytime n 3-4 hrly at night. Not too sure for the rest.

Morning mummies... Almost missed my pumping session..

Lucky my hubby woke me up.. Hes been ard sine Kylie came out.. Took 2 weeks leave to be w me and I really appreciate that.

Welcome home littlefly n NB!

Morning ladies.. Yawn so slppy wake up to do wat a mother cow need to do..

I wish I can stay home to look after children too but too bad spore hard to do so need the income if not the kids will lose out alot nowadays parents all so kiasu if u don't have gd foundation for ur kids when young later they go primary sch hard time for them to catch up le

Good morning mummies...

Auroa, ganbate ne! Have a smooth delivery!

My poor boy kept coughing, heart pain to see him fall sick.. Thought taking bm will not fall sick easily? He's just 6 weeks old.. My goodness!

Dolly maybe u wanna talk to ur hubby. Last week after I shout and complain to my hubby his attitude change abit got said wanna help me at night even though he didn't manage to wake up but still got heart n he will rush home to bath my girl.

I told my hubby he think ml is very gd he think I alot of time. I ask him if he like to every 2 hr slp wake up pump and feed bb in the middle of the night. Ask him if in deep slp kana wake up is it very nice, cuz I know he dub like to be woken when he slp.. Den day time told him I need to do this and that count all the chore I do for him to hear.. He keep thinking I very free since got maid.. Still got things u can give to maid do one mah like sterilise ur pump, bath bb, pump, bf, pump n bf alone already take up so mug of ur time loh

Starfruit: I think your sil is just jealous...dun care abt her...so irritating of her... Wow 13months of leave...that is v.Wei da of u.,,

Val: haa maybe..but this one really occupy most of our time. Since 12am dun wanna sleep, keep crying for milk every 30 to an hour...dunno wet is wrong....then cry n scream till no voice every time we try to put him down to sleep or changing his diapers.

Cloud: same here...v.worried abt my ss...also super tired of the constant feeds in the middle of the night....

V: your hb is so sweet! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I miss my 3am pumping session!! Now breasts are so rock hard, I don't need a bra to "push up" le...haiz..

Pixie/bubblepearl

I am switching to exclusive pumping and I do 2-3hrly too like bubblepearl to establish milk ss. It's very impt to stick to schedule esp if exclusive pumping also. Sometimes bb looking for smthg to comfort on, I will offer my breasts and latch her on.

Re: weight at full mth

For mummies whose bb has reached full mth or reaching soon, wat is the increase frm their birth weight/ when discharged to first mth old? My gal took her weight and she increased by 1200g so far on TBF...is it enuff??

Viman

Was the hernia discovered during birth? Don't be nervous, bb needs u the most now. All the best to bb, we will all be praying for bb now..

Sunflower

I agree, man will only noe what they can see. What they don't see is the nite feeds and pumping and the length per pump session. Before long, the net feed again. I was analyzing with hub two nites ago, cos I complained too tired then her asked me "what I was doing the whole day at home"... arghhh! MEN..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dolly

Maybe ur hubby is too used to having a maid to do everything and he gets lazy..I'm sure he will wnt to help, but seeing the maid ard, he takes her for granted. And we mummies become their new 'milkmaid' since we hv 4 mths of long leave and they don't, so we are assumed to take up all the housework.

Val

I agree, 1 todd + 1 baby will set me back by another $700-$1k on top of my gal's cc which I am paying $700+ cash after subsidy plus sch bus if I were to send bb to IFC.

I am also the same, financial strain is the main factor holding me back frm sahm decision. I want financial independence, having the ability to buy anything I want for my gals. Although getting away frm all the hsewrk and back to work for a few hrs a day can keep me sane..but still want to stay hm with my gals..