(2011/05) May 2011

Hi Ladies!!!

Finally went for my final gynae visit today~as expected kylie's still breech so i'll be heading in tmrw to 'carry' her out. Than my moo-moo career will start~ will update tmrw!

Medela purélan nipple cream isnsold at takashimaya, spring maternity, kiddy palace and most baby supplies store. I find it thicker than lansinoh and way better for super sore nips. Breast milk contains vit E which heals sore nips also, so coating on nips to dry is also good, but still less efficient than the medela purélan.

If supply drops, try power pumping. Each time after baby latch and is full, pump out the excess. Keep breast empty as often as possible. Ss should kick up again after 2-3 days of power pumping.

I also like ziplock type milk bags coz can lie flat to make 'ice milk sheets' that dint take space. The fat base type of milk bags are the worst, can't keep many at all.

By the way cloud poem, how do I link to other mummies in the forum? I only know u and dunno who are the other mummies on our forum ;p

sharks mummies,

juz finish pumping then realise i forgot to clean away my purelan cream on my nipples...how arh? cannot keep those milk liao rite???......sharks!

Am also suffering from bf-ing. Had very bad sore nipples and then i decided to go back to mount a lactation consultant who taught me about proper latching and I think it's money well spent...maybe those with problems can consider visiting a lac consultant too.. What we learnt in theory in the classes are very different from actual execution I realized...

Something to ask - what are your views on direct bf orffeeding via expressed bm?

I have been direct bf-ing the past 2 days but am considering

expressing everything into bottle to feed cos my boy suckles for about an hour each time and it's really quite tiring... Using the breast pump takes less than half the time... But bottle feeding ebm has negative effects?

RE: avent manual breast pump

mummies, i read ur reviews be4 that this is gd....does it helps to clear / empty our breasts? cos i've been using PISA and once breasts r soft, it seems cant able to clear / empty breasts fully.....

wondering if after tat i use avent manual pump will it empty my breasts further?

if yes i may wanna get it on wed robinsons sales....pls advise....tks

apple/starfruit/cloud: whats the ratio of lemon + water? is it filled to the level like when we use the streliser...

Cloud - I nvr thought of it. Shall call avent and ask.. thanks thanks.

Went for checkup today. BB only put on 30g cos i was having fever n diarrhea last week. Does all yr gyane let u all listen to bb heartbeat every visit? He forgot to show me today..sighz

Fever finally subiside after visiting gyane. Gave me antibiotics that cost 7 bucks per pill.the most ex pill i ever had.. hope it works...

Gyane will discuss with us again if i need to induce anot on the next visit. Since BP is under control by the medication, he would prefer bb to stay in my tum as long as possible..

Got 5 days MC to stay @ home n rest.. Dont need to go back office anymore...

tks sharonL,

i pour away wif heartache now.....5oz gone to the sink.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Elbarc ratio for lemon to water1:3 or 1:4?also can. Run 1 cycle of lemon + water n then 2 cycle of pure water. Steraliser should be clean after tat.

Sh the purelan need not be clean off its safe to be consume by bb. Dun throw away the milk very sayang.

Sh i have both avent manual n medela freestyle。 i use the manual to pump one side while bb feed on the other easier cos no wire n the manual is standalone very portable. I think may not be very effective if u use manual after the motor pump. Your PISA should be good enuff to clear ur breast. Massage ur breast before pump so u can clear totally.

SharonL the recommended time frame to introduce bottle to bb is after abt week 4. Cos any earlier may cause nipple n bottle confusion. With bb latching it can stimulate milk supply faster as compared to pump. But if latching is really painful n have bad crack nipples maybe can pump out instead.

tks starfruit.....

a bit tempted to get the avent manual pump....if cant clear fully then no pt....

i find that my PISA cant clear fully after breast becomes soft....i still need to hand squeeze some out before its totally clear....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sigh.....juz pour away the milk liao.....next time i know i don throw... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so heartache, its nt only milk, it consists of my pain i have endured.... kekeke.....

Sh actually latctating breast will always have milk. It will not bd totally cleared out 100%. as long as breast feel soft after pumping it should be ok.ya dun throw away safe for even bb to consume n latch even if u dun clean it off.

Starfruit: the fb page. I was being invited by apple one.. U can add apple from my status update about the confinement weather can kill. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elbarc: I have no idea on the rationof lemon is to water.. :x

Kaykay: seen ur son pictures in fb.. Do swaddle him with a receiving towel or cloth nappy.. Baby will feel more secure when asleep.. U must rest in order for milk production.. First time mummy can be quite handicapped. Hang on, tale charge of ur current situations, will be over soon..

Cloudpoem:- thanks! I now swaddle alrd.. My grandma is helpful towards me on taking care A.

Sh:- I str8 away go get ridwind after u all say it.. Haven got to tried on him yet..

Tml still need bring A go check on jaundice lvl.. 222 consider high? The doc say higher abit den average, so tml need go check again for the lvl, if drop best..

My friend teach me to put red longan dates into a bowl of hot water(a bit) den put inside rice cooker to steam with cooked rice for 30mins..den give bb drink to help lower the jaundice.. I went to try.. Hopefully it works..hmms..

Mummies, I dunno if what I do now is right..

My boy keep slp & I let him slp for 4-5hrs.. But he now day 5, he only take abit of my pitiful amount of bmilk & 10ml of FM. Isit enuff for him per feed?? I tried my best to keep pumping whenever he refuse to drink/slp alrd.. If I continue pumping, will my milk come in??

So worried, first time mum.. Hais.. Keep trying even tired ttm.. =/

Sh, I'm actually expressing my bm to bottle feed my girl cuz this time I feel pain when my girl suck on the nipples first time feeling bfing hurt since no1 n 2 I direct bf. My girl like to play on the nipples instead of sucking.

Kay the more u pump the mire supply u have

Re:- Confinement rules

I have been guai guai, no bath & wash hair till now 5th day.. Wipes my hands after wet to avoid wind get in.. Hope can 'ren' !!

Didn't drink water & cold things too.. Keep drink milo, 'mai pian' & red longan dates tea.. Hope can last..

Hmms mummies will stitches of tear swollen? Isit normal?

How long usually so stitches heal & no pain..?

I still experiencing pain & abit swollen..

Kay what u mean by pitiful amt? He able to clear ur breast? 1 side or 2 side? U may wanna pump out 1 side of ur breast to see the amt of milk u roughly have if bb soften fir u 1 side.

The thread is always moving so fast! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Split, mine are all boys!

Nic, starfruit, when are you seeing Dr Eunice Chua again?

Any mummies awake?

Dk if I'm having contractions.. Tummy tightening that come with strong crampy pain and backaches.. Was having this since Sunday midnight but then it wasn't so regular till now I'm managed to time it at 5mins apart for the pass 30mins. What should I do? Continue to monitor? Cos this afternoon my gynae did VE for me and said it's still closed. Afraid that it's false alarm but I'm feeling so uncomfy for the whole day!! And now it's stronger.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif](

Hi SharonL, I had the same problem w my #1 last time, he had difficulty latching on coz my left nip was flat, had to 'rub' & shape it for him each time. I exclusively pumped for 1 month until he was a bit bigger and he learnt to open his mouth wider before I could successfully latch him later on. Some mummies I know pumped exclusively and never once ever latch on their babies ever and could still successfully breastfeed their babies this way for 1.5years so long as u donrt miss the 3hourly pumping time. So gotto be very disciplined and can't be lazy.

The diff mainly is if bb latch on, bb can clear the, milk fm the breast more efficiently and the saliva triggers our uterus to contract. I'm not sure pumping has this effect, but I guess so long as evey 3 hour u pump ,most of the milk is drawn out, the last 20% is still stuck at the back of the breast unless bb latch on, but it's still ok, the breast w still reproduce.

As for medela pure LAN, no need to wash off. I always have it on so no sore nips. Don't wash your nips w water thinking that w be clean for bb when bb suckle coz washing w dry the nip skin. When bb latch on, and if latch wrongly ( eg small mouth can't cover the aerola but only grab the nip) , then likely w tear. I ever lose skin,lose flesh, lose blood before, so very painful. If there is blood in milk, no need to throw, a little bit, they can digest.

Baobaolin :- try monitor? If regular den go to hospital for a check if u r worried.. Its true that sometimes VE will disturb the cervix & may cos it to dilate & have spotting/show.. Do monitor..

Kaykay - yup.. Am still

Monitoring.. Still 5mins apart but luckily the pain is bearable so I ordered mac breakfast, hope I can have some food first then see if it continues.. so Kan chiong!!

Kay,

Re: stitches

Did u get a swim float to sit on? Its really effective n help to recover faster too...

My no1 I took a mth to get it all heal cos 1st 2 days I sit on my stitches too long while taking care of bb n it get infected n sore. Now round 2 smarter prepare a float so I took only about 2 wks to recover. Also, aft every pee, I will dip tissue ppr wif plain wtr to clean n apply the spray doc give in wk 1 n come wk 2 I use mentolatum cream which has mentol n aft apply, it's cooling at ur stitches area...this cream can get at ntuc or trad medical hall. I find using tissue ppr softer so won't hurt my wound.

Re: ridwind

Give only after u eliminate all otr possibilities....normally if bb is colicky, he will b tat pattern for the 1st few weeks... It's Nt a day pattern only.

Buy gripe wtr oso which is about $4, pour some plain wtr onto hanky to wet it, then pour a bit gripe wtr onto the hanky, n let him suck before u wash his mouth wif the same hanky. Gripe wtr helps in wind too... U can do this everyday even he is Nt colicky.

Re: bm

Agree wif split, Pump out to see u hv how much on each breast n aft fat if A suckle, u will rough know how much he has consume.

Re: juandice

It's old wife tales to buy jaundice balls from trad med hall to put in a ang bao n place it below bb pillow... Can put quite many days as u like... They believe this will help in reducing the juandice. I do tat too although I don know how much it helps but definitely my kids juandice do improve! My CL oso use half of the juandice ball tat I buy to put into bath wtr to bath bb. The wtr will b yellowish after u put the balls, it's ok de. This method bb don hv to consume any otr things cos his liver n kidneys still small, don know if can digest otr things than milk...

Oso we did the sun tanning....n I myself bf I don take ginger.....

Baobei, if it is regular n getting more intense better to go hospital coz the last time #2 i had VE doc say still high etc, but i went into labour that night n delivered.

Baobaolin,

Hope to hear ur Gd news soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So looking fwd to this sun... Where I'll b release from "jail"! Haha... Yest go make bb full mth things... More or less settle wat I need to buy /do for this occasion.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So sleepy to wake up pump... Whole nite interval is 5.5hrs... Mmmm.... Scare supply dipping, later will go buy fish to ask cl cook.....

Year n split...

Nice names! Yaer, hv the Jun word is masculine, so Nt girly la....

I'm oso using En, it's a veri nice n meaning word.... Hope my girl will grow up being grateful for wat she has in life....

Newtoitall - Yea.. Am thinking about the VE had disturbed my cervix as well. I just had my breakfast, gonna monitor for an hour or so first before I made any move.. Now is 5-6mins interval.. Hope it's really time! In my 38weeks +2 today.. Hehe!

Sh - hopefully it's today as well!! Thanks! :)

@kaykay: i had tear during my delivery. it still hurts for me tho day 9 alr. wen to gynae yest.. wound not healed yet. the norm is bout 1 wk to heal.. guess mine is slow.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Good morn all!! Cant sleep, cant work just gota wait. Starfruit thks for yr advice! Am i right to fill the lemon water solution to the level indicated on the sterlizer?

yaer/sh.......my boys have "en" in their names too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

split...i like the name isabelle leh...if i have a girl, will name her that. ;)

elbarc: hope u get well soon!

arisz: my appt is this fri...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] what abt u?

apple: which part of sg are u at? the rain stopped?

my boy is supposed to go the bird park now with his classmates.....not sure if they get to go in this weather

thanks sh, i like the en too but hubby prefer xuan so we pick xuan. oh sh pls take note gripe water can only be given to bb after 1mth old so dont let ur bb drink now. is gd for them after 1 mth to let them drink but now too soon too young.

Sunflower did u try pumping ur milk? pump every 3hrly can increase ur supply even if u pump and nothing come out..just continue pump for abt 15 min each side every 3 hr evenually will have more supply one. once the supply increase if u wanna increase ur supply somemore u can continue pumping for 5 more min after u empty ur breast. this is to let ur system know bb need to drink 5min more need to increase supply.

and drink more soup and water, eat like 5 meal a day, breakfast, lunch, teabreak, dinner, supper..teabreak and supper u can just drink milo and bread. usually 1hr after ur food u pump will have alot of milk.

Nic, am at the northern..super hot now with thunder but no storm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I wanna take a bath after moo moo my boy..

morning ladies =) 1 more day to my edd =)

apple,

it rained quite heavily this morning and the cool breeze was a god sent but nw its still v humid -_-'''

Morning mummies.. 4th day slpless night..

Re : breastfeed

My pitiful amt of bmilk is like only a few drops (like 20-25drops)?? Baby suckle so I dunno how much bmilk I produce.. But he suckle well.. But I top up wif FM.. And he is nt eating on time.. Slp = 4-5hrs.. =(

I tried keep up wif the expressing but my emb is only a few drop!! 10drops like tis.. Nt even enuff..

Now having bleeding nipple on right (healing back) & I stop bfeed from right side.. & feed on left side instead, can like tis??

apple: yeah very humid now...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

val: any signs of labour?

dolly: adding to val's list...pine gardens?