(2011/05) May 2011

Jane, another way, u acculmulate the EBM in bottle.sand only pack them them when its 100ml. This way, u will use up less bags.

Jane H, yup! same prob. I used glass bottles and then the space ran out so I used milk bags......hmm maybe the other mummies have better suggestions?

Mummies who wanna bf pls don't use cold cabbage!!! I tried using it on no1 after advise by the lc and my milk supply suddenly drop and eventually no more after I put it for 3days so pls nono

okok thanks for your feedback mummies. I now still sticking on my 3 hr pump.

Jane, when u pump immediately after bf, how long do u pump? 15 mins?

For the milk bag, u can try http://www.***********.com/

i got the milk bags there, i find quite good, ziplock type and not too x. Your current supply a lot? If bb can finish them within 48hrs, then u dun need to freeze, glass bottles shd be sufficient.

Spilt,

I oso heard that cabbage will reduce supply so i dun use except for the 4thday when my breast engored, super duper painful then i use 2 leaf to try, but dun seems to help. The whole big cabbage is still sitting in my fridge.

starfruit

the problem is after pumping the amount is slightly more than 100ml, around 120ml. and glass bottle only can store 100ml so i got to use two bottles which take up more space. tot of pour little bit away but wasteful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

split

from my #1 experience, i used about 30-40 bottles! i didnt really count, wat i know is the freezer compartment are all milk bottles!! that is y thinking abt alternative for #2. started using milkbags, but not economic leh..

Nic

heard that cabbage got certain enzyme which will stop the milk flow. anyway, if used, heard can only use one time / day. if not, like wat split mentioned, no milk.

bbpooh

when i pump, i will pump till breast soften. my current supply can meet bb's demand and still have extra. yup can finish within 48 hrs. but scare long term not enuf space (from #1's experience).

thanks for the link, will take a look. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jane, i cant remember already.. i some at last bought robinsons members sale.. a box about $10. they have at least 80 bags in a box. i stocked up whenever there is sale.. cos also using for #1's FM storage. Which brand of milk bags are u using. BTW, this playtec dun have self seal.. which is why its cheaper.

starfruit

i am also using playtex (w/out self seal). am using 4oz (100 liners) but got to upgrade to 8oz (125 liners) coz 4oz always not enuf and hav to use two bags every pump. oh so robinsons also hav playtex? may b i should go n c. but how come only 80pieces? mine one got 100 pieces wor..

Jane, if its 120ml, u can transfer from pump/glass bottle direct to milk bag. i ever stored up to 180ml/200ml per milk bag! like the playtex cos the quality is thicker and very good. I will use wire tie to secure. Its too expensive for me to buy the self seal/ziplock bags cos they are more expensive on the long run and also i use tons of the bags. i dun reuse the bags, will discard and throw after 1 time use. (Cos they are pre-steralised and cant be re-steralised)

Jane. hahah i told u i forgetful, ya u are right, its 125 lines.. hahah (8oz) i only use the 8 oz ones.. i used them for so long till i dun rememebr the qty in them. Yes robinsons have and we bought at least member sale at 30%.. which i remembered paying approx $10 per box.

starfruit, ya.. my current milk bag can only store 100ml so will change to bigger one so that no need to use two bags. and i use rubber band for sealing. for me, i also cant buy self seal coz too exp for long run. still thinking if there is any alternative ways though..

starfruit, woo.. the robinson sales is really cheap! pity that i am not a member [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jane, if i can remembered correctly apple also stocked up the playtex bags at robinsons sale.. hehe i see them everywhere now, metro also have.. heheh

I store them upright, in a lock and lock box so it takes up less spaces.. actually i think this round, i may not store so many bags, i turned out throwing all away the last time round.

starfruit, i also ended up throwing away the stored ebm so this time round, I think i will let #1 drink the excess and not store so much....

Jane, then u should sign up for robinsons member soon...heheh very worth it. this milk bag should be one of the cheapest option for storage. i used to use the Avent bags till they go out of production but prefer this playtex ones cos the quality is quite good compared to the others. I think i have about 8 -10 boxes on standby on my side. I very worry they will go out of production just like the avent ones (Which they replace with teh storage cups which takes up space lah). I dun have a space frige to keep the EBM, using the common fridge so no space at all for glass bottles.. this milk bag is the best storage way for me.

Nic, good if u have excess to throw away. me also not keen to freeze the ebm, may just store enuff for feeding onma daily basis.. cos really not much space to store for my #2 this time round.

starfruit

haha.. i also throw stored ebm away.. yeah.. will sign up for the card soon, see so many goodies, tempeted liao

Nic

i also let my no. 1 drink the excess hahah..

split, yah you are right! My boys are 07, 09 and coming one 2011. All boys! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How about you? how many boys and girls?

jane, NI, can i ask, u add to #1's FM milk?? the ebm i mean for #1. i dunno if my #1 (she is 4) would want to drink mei mei's ebm?!! hmm.

precious/nic; me cant sleep well too. my arms will get numb after lying on my side. so hv to keep turning side to side.

starfruit, I dunno if my #1 will take to the bm now that he is coming to 4. I think I will let him try without adding to FM first and see how he reacts....;)

Ash, just hang in there....i keep telling myself that at least now i can still sleep (though very interrupted), when bb arrives, i think moo moo career will make us even more sleepless!!!

Starfruit,

i tried playtex previously but i dun like. I used the cable ties then it will leak sometimes and i find it very hard to defrost. For the ziplocl type, i can make it lay flat so it takes up less storage space as well.

Milking time.

bbpoohfamily, heheh i on a budget, cant spend so much on milk bags, yeah the ziplock ones are good but really too expensive for me.. cos i go through so many of them.. very heart pain if i use the ziplock ones. i use wire tie and loop through a few round.. u can try, maybe better than cable tie. And no leakage so far, will store them upright.

starfruit, my #2 is a boy...(again)...:p Due 28 May....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]2 days after u ah....rem? dr eunice chua too...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nic, oh yeah yeah.. hahah i damn forgetful these days.. cham.. must eat tons of ginko nuts.. u we one of the newer mummies tat joined the thread? so many of you here, i also cannot remember who is who.. hehe sorry!

and yes eunice chua and now i remember u.

MY#1 is a ger and #2 also a ger.. heheh

starfruit, it's ok....no worries. me also very forgetful!!!! kekekeke.

are you on FB? Can I add u? maybe with the photos easier to associate....

Jane I dont store ebm more den a week maybe that's y can use the glass bottle I usually use those more den 1 week old milk for washing face gee.

Arisz, my no1 and no2 is boys too this 3rd one is girl. U?

Morning mummies!!!

Finally home sweet home with my boy yesterday... the stay in RH quite nice... been staying in single bedded room with the price of 2 bedded room and the confinement food is nice!!!

barely survived the 1st nite at home... my boy eye opened so wide at 3am!!! make me crazy... keep crying leh... latch him and he sleep after a few suck, put him in bed den cried again... dun noe wat he wan...

any mummies can teach me how to latch on properly... i heard tat the bb mouth must open big big and latch on the whole nipple... i did tat the nipple still very sore and painful... make me wanna give up oredi...

Split/jane/starfruit/sunflower:-

Thks ladies..

I tried all methods alrd.. V tiring.. 10pm-7pm crying crying..

My dad & ah ma ask me don't keep carry him or let him remb my 'ba wu'(smell), or else no me = cry.. Somemore I gg back work 1mth+ later..

He sweat & cry lyk mad.. I think maybe nt use to new place.. Now better after I swaddle him myself.. He managed to slp..

Regarding sore nipples:- isit common, I got a bit sore cos latch on quite long.. & abit bleed.. Healing I guess.. Any nipple cream I can get from waston/guardian?? I need to get one!!!

yaer, BB's mouth have to open very very big to ensure a good latch. once they latch correctly, u should not feel any pain. but if u are new to Bfing, and not use to the constant abrasion, u will still have initial soreness and pain and even crack bleeding nipples. All these will go away once your nipples toughen up.

Kay, afew of the mummies, here have recommended for you to get the medela purelan nipple cream.

yaer: how come can get 1 bed but pay 2 bed price? i hope i can too!

star/nic: i cant rem'ber n associate who is who in FB too! we need a list with real name vs nick names. mayb shld create a doc in FB group so tt easier to refer to

Good morning mummies,

I'm surviving & the routine gets better..phew! Now I really DIY..can't rely on my maid at all. See her doing things I more pek chek with the hot weather some more :p

Today my hb return to work, my gal also go to cc full day. I managed to sun bath my bb, bath him, bf & now he is in his lala land..so I relax a bit.

Later gotta call my maid agency to see what they gonna do with my helpless & useless maid..sigh..sien & tired with the maid changing & training.

Starfruits, yea I stored 6 boxes of playtex milk bag during Robinsons sale. Affordaable & better solution for me coz I dare not let maid handle washing of glass bottle. What if they knock & the glass chip off internal..cham

I better be safe than sorry..

This time I also don want to store that much..wanna donate some away to premmie

Apple, my maid today just pack bags n say wanna go. Do u think i shd just send her back or make her work until new maid arrives. Really headache. We also nvr scold her. She has attitude prob. But i scared keep her later she not happy dunno what she will do in the meantime. Plus dunno is it bb dun want to see her tts why keep giving me contractions but dun want to come out.

morning yaer, kaykay and apple...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ash: good suggestion, can create a FB group....

apple: great to hear that the routine is in place.....yes it's super HOT!!! I am drenched in pespiration......hopefully yr maid issues get settled soon.

Newtoitall, anybody help u during confinement if maid leave now? How u gonna send her off? Get her to pay for her air tix? If she has packed means she made up her mind not to work anymore, if u keep her u will hv more headache during confinement like me! I regretted nvr send her off in Apr..argh

I hv just spoke to my agency, they wanna give me replacement. I shall see the biodata. I also rang up another agency which my colleague took the Indian maid fr them. I wanna try Indian or Sri Lankan now but I want someone experience & independent.

Nic, yea lucky me..phew! But my notty boy still like to poo & pee at wee hour during the midnite feed..make me panda.

Hope he gets settle on day & nite diff soon.

apple, yeah your maid carelss , better dun let her handle glass bottles.. this is the thing, i also worry about chipping and gettig the chipped glass in the milk bottle.. milk bag is def safer

starfruit....yup....thanks for adding...=)

apple: press on, am sure yr boy will settle down...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia You!

Starfruit: how long will the nipple get use to it??? I'm using nipple shield now... Though still painful but better den direct skin contact... Tat one really cannot ren.. To me it is more painful den my c section wound... Do I need to stop using so that my nipple can toughen up faster???

Kaykay: me using medela purelan too... Works fine for me...

Ash: cos tat time when i c section no more 2 bedded room wor... So they ask me to stay in single bed room 1st... But after tat they didn't ask me to trsf room oredi so I just keep quiet loh... Heehee...

Apple: glad tat everything working well for u... Me still struggling to breastfeed my boy... The six bottles FM tat hospital gave me are tempting me to open them...

Newtoitall: if there is someone to help u... Den maybe u can let her go straight away... No point keeping her when she oredi determined to go... Somemore packed bag oredi... Later she do hanky panky things u oso dun noe... If ask her to teach the new maid later even more jialat...

Starfruit

For ebm,I add to the fm of my #1.eg if she drinks 200ml n I hav excess of 50ml of ebm,I will prepare 150ml of fm n mix it with the 50ml of ebm