(2011/05) May 2011

val, true lor... oh... she's sometimes can be so sweet & jealous of her lil brother.. she'll give her pacifier & toys to her bro... when i asked her whether did she love/kiss her brother, she'll start to stroke & kiss him... then there are times she's cranky over him too...

dolly, mine ok too. currently no intention to start massage coz my mum wants me to have a very traditional confinement (no bath, no touching of water) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and partly coz i m c section, so no massage for the moment.

how many milk intake your boy have now? currently, i bf and bottled fed ebm. how abt u? how many ml your boy take?

Jenny, i delivered at NUH. and bb was 35 weeks, luckily no need to be in NICU. doc said the weight is ok. probably you really got to find way to increase bb weight. try chocolate favour if you cant take vanila. i also took a lot of avacado milk shake, bread + ice cream [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jenny, maybe u can take the chocolate milk, if u dont like the stronge milky smell can add some milo powder in..will make it taste better..i did that too cuz i really dont like the milky smell even if is chocolate favor..

Jenny:- yea give it a try. I guess imma same too, if comes to food I lyk (esp those strong flavor) I so diligent to eat, sick of home-cooked food for months.. No beef, only fish & chicken makes me so sick.. So whenever I can get out for checkup/ baby fair, I will eat beef!! Cos it definitely boost bb weight..

Omg! 10times to urinate per night is a lot! I have been diligent on drinking water whenever I wake up for toilet everytime to replenish my fluid in-take despite the fact that I will definitely wake up soon for toilet again.. But I wake up every 2hrs.. Standardize.. 10times is a lot srsly..

During day time, I will drink 1small cup of water every 1-2hrs.. Keep up my fluid in body & womb!

would like to know how soon we need to get to hospital if we hv the show or waterbag burst?

cuppie, congratz ... rest well n take care ... enjoy the confinemnt...

serene, jiayou ... ask bb to wait for daddy to be back first ...

lin, rest more on bed ... dont walk around liao ...

dolly, bb shd b now much more better rite ... rest well ...

jane, enjoy the bonds with baby ...

Serene, all the best, hope you hb rush back in time. Waterbag still intact?

Cuppie, congrats!! so fast!

Val, you take care too. not easy to take care of a sick boy in our current condition. Speedy recovery to you boy.

Jenny, try chicken soup, can help to boost bb weight too.

Auroa are u still on the pills now??

I have been damn lazy never do the exercise my gynae ask me to do, going to see her on sat, hope bb will turn by then.

kaykay, walking is good.. my gynae also encourage walking but lesiure walking. if yr foot hurts, it's best to rest. Wow, so fast at 36 weeks... abt 4 more weeks to go. Dun worry abt it, it's good tat bb remains till full terms then come out.. meanwhile u can boast the bb's weight now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, can use the ice pads gel (u bought it previously fr body shop) over yr eyes.. it will soothe yr tired and panda eyes... put it when u having nap or nite, it helps u to sleep better and relax yr eyes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jenny, maybe u choose the food tat u like and wun irriate u.. try to eat more and see whether can boast up yr bb's weight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, after my waterbag bursted for no1, nurse and gynae dun allow me to eat.. the nurse was kind enough to offer me orange juice but i puked half an hr before i delivered.. so hungry tat after delivery tat i asked for food but they said just delivered and cannot eat heavy stuff so i got milo and 2 pieces of biscuits. My hubby dare not go out to buy food for me as he scared tat nurse will scold and they said tat i might ended up in c-section and strictly no food intake. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ling, after show, it's best to get to hospital within an hr.

starfruit, i'm still on the pills for the contraction... really sian as it gives me headache and shaking of my fingers/hands, etc.

whitecherry: very sian ya? I dun really dream nowadays, more in the 2nd trim...jus keep waking up at wierd hours when I didnt even drink much water before I sleep....=(

Val: I didnt take alot of salt le...that is why very strange...ya lo ask my hb massage for me...but like not v.effective too. Cant wear covered shoe at all.

Auroa/Kaykay: Ya putting the legs up no use le...tried alrdy still the same...I thought only feet swell...didnt know the toes will swell too...

Jenny: Wa 10 times is really too much....I wake up 2 times alrdy feel very lethargic in the day le...

Jus got back from mount a. CTG scan shows that every 20 mins will have 1 intense. Gynae say not to worry as the interval is not significant yet.. Heartbeat stays average throughout..

I fell asleep while doing it, and Bb heartbeat was quite 'quiet' too... Gynae says we are both sleeping together... Heeeehe.

Ling: when ur waterbag leaks, it's a good sign to be admitted. I ask my gynae jus now. My prev 2 pregnancy was burst by my gynae, hence I have no idea how it will feel like when it leaks or burst. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] bring along a few pantiliners or pads in case it leaks during working. Hurrrhur.

Auroa: I'm given pills to mellow contractions too. But side effects are getting tired more easily than usual. I din take it Cux I'm still working and taking care of 2 kids.. I will only take when BH became too unbearable for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jia you!!

Val: I don't dare to take avacado. What's the taste like? I also don't dare to eat chicken essence. I think it taste like soya sauce, very scary. I want to eat durians only. LOL. But its exp and can't get it daily.

Jane: Which class of ward u stay in? I'm staying in C class and I dunno whether they will bring my baby over to breastfeed anot. Coz I rem during hospital tour the person say if there's no nursery we have to walk over to breastfeed. Kinda scary at night.

kay: I don't take beef. And after I got pregnant I can't eat pork too. But getting better these few days. I can take a little pork now but I'm trying not to take too much in case baby is sick of pork again. I got some friends who also can't take pork once they are pregnant. Wonder why...

Angie: Coz before pregnancy I also have to wake up for toilet at least 5-6 times. And I like to drink one whole cup of water before sleeping. And before I manage to fall asleep, I already go to the toilet for at least 5 times. That's why can total up to more than 10 times. And my sleeping time is quite long. Sometimes I go to bed at 12am (but don't sleep immediately) and I wake up at about 11am. So need more toilet breaks.

Recently also having a lot of leg cramps. Very sian. Yest morning when I wake up I stretched my legs and immediately got leg cramp.

Jane: Do you have any idea if we can wear our nursing dress instead of the patient's clothes in NUH? I'm thinking of packing a nursing dress to make it easier to bf but not sure if we can wear it...

Just managed to nap a while.e lady who shared room is non preg. .Need to undergo blood transfusion.. Damn noisy..kept talking loudly on her hkg holiday..

Water bag still intact..no feeling now..stil good.

Val, during my#1 time at Mt A, the nurse wheeled me to delivery suit before my dinner.. i was complaining say i so hungry, Then one of the midwives came and say will arrange for dinner to come to me cos i need all the strength to push the baby later.. hehehe

Ling, actually if u call hospital, they will ask u to time yoru contraction and only go when is regular. cos when waterbag burst and have the show, sometimes, contractins dun happen so quickly.

Ash: I don't eat durian stuff, I only eat fresh durian fruit. Haha.

How come we cannot eat before delivery? I thought labour is going to be so long so we need food?

Serene: Jia you. Hope your baby comes out healthy and cute!

cloud, gynae wants to hold your bb in longer? or will u be inducing soon.

Auroa, the th pills has such bad side effect? can u reduce the dosage?

Jiayous all mummies! Last lap le!!

Approximately 1more month or lesser to go!

Angie:- ya my foot swell when slping despite I'd tried putting legs up. There was once or twice my toes swollen after walking too long at baby fair -_-!

Serene:- Do update us on ur conditions. =D

apple/starfruit, checked with Stemcord and 1st enrollment fee for existing client is $850. Storage fees is $250 fr 2nd yr onwards and before GST. Also will get $50 one time rebate for 1st and 2nd child for next yr storage fee. Do u think worth it?

starfruit, gynae said tat the pills are normally used for asthema attack patients... thus, got some side effects but safe for pregnant mums. I scared if i stopped it, the contractions will comes fast and will deliver soon. Currently taking 3 pills a day and hope it wun get worse, otherwise, will need to add on more meds to control it.

auroa, last time I wanted to sign with stemcord but they say might increase the fees dunno how many percent after a certain no of years. So I signed up with cordlife 10 yrs package instead. At least the price is fixed.

Initially I was delivery at TMC, the cost is $3600+ but now I just changed to NUH then its further reduced to $3400+. But all can use the CDC account, so still ok. I not sure if stemcord can use CDC account every year coz for cordlife is u nv sign 10 yr package from 6th yr onwards u can onli pay cash.

auroa/jenny: i juz signed w stemcord for #2 last nite. can use cdc for payment. they hv a 5 yr package which offers abt 10% disc.

Starfruit: I wasn't admitted to mount a. Was told to go there Cux gynae wants to check contractions interval and baby movement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my gynae doesnt have the ctg machine, hrnce asked me down to donit.. so, I'm home now!!

Nurses at mount a was really good, caring and gentle. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] had my 3 births there and din regret. Actually wanna opt TMC for this birth Cux wanna do ligation.. But I scared the procedure, hence will try other contraceptive..

Jenny: Whao! U opt stemcord!! I was contemplating! But too pricy hence hubby and me not going for it.. And for ur hospital, u mean they don't carry Bb to u for breastfeeding? How can ask patient to walk there? Wad if u feeling giddy and so on, and during night some more. Hmmm, can ask the nurses to help?

Serene, u r at the normal gynae ward instead of maternity ward? U can actually request to change to other room if u r not comfy with the sharing patient.

When I delivered my girl, GEH run out of single room which I booked much early, they put me on 2-bedded and my "room-mate" is also not on maternity but gynae procedure. She makes hell noise nvm, the hb is like ah beng ah seng type who talk loudly on the mobile & even hv their visitors came to peep at me! U know after my c-sec, I really need a good rest while waiting for the epi to wear off..this irritating ppl keep banging the door, pull the curtain and so on until I couldn't take it..my hb went to talk to the nurse, but still no help. End up, he got fed up and lodge a complain at the customer service mgr. Finally they agreed to upgrade me to premier room by charging me 1 bedded!!!

This time, when I did my pre-admission, I did told the customer service about my past experience, so I want them to give me a single bedded room as mine is schedule c-sec.

kaykay..my leg swell too.. but it wont hurt.. Notice it only when i put on my covered shoes..

Lifting my leg wont help too.. it hurts the next day.. guess i shall just let it be...

After a long day..took a cab but the ride was so jerky that make me even more stressful, sick & nausea!!

Am having sudden backache on my left with bone cracking sound & tight tum tum! The feeling quite scary..also got the weird feeling of waterbag leaking..gosh

Apple: yes! I hate jerky cabs! It will really cause nausea and backache... Try to lie down and rest..

Feeling of waterbag flowing? Oh dear, pls monitor! All mummies here are on high alert!

cloudpoem: I signed up for Cordlife. Overall experience was quite ok. I only intend to have one kid so I have to store his cord blood. I rem that time they told me they will not bring baby up and down coz got lotsa virus. So if there's no nursery in the ward we're staying then we have to walk over to breastfeed. If same level still nvm. I can't imagine taking lift alone in the middle of the night in a hospital. -_-

apple: I have upper backpain everyday and I feel like my upper body is going to be separated from my lower part soon if the pain persists. I can't go out or sit for too long with this stupid pain.

Long time no post. Read that many mums already popped or getting ready to pop soon. so excited!

flying back from Shanghai this sunday to prepare for delivery. will be my 34th week then. The overseas singaporean unit organised a "Singapore Day" in Shanghai this sat flying in alot of well known hawkers to cook for the singapore folks here. so i am looking forward to feast before i fly back sunday. already salivating thinking about it.

talking about baby weight, my baby was consistently 3 weeks bigger than his "supposed wt" based on no of weeks he's in, for my past 2 checks. He was about 2.4 kg at 32 weeks and it got me abit worried cos gynae say if this continues i may have a baby around 4 kg or more, which i surely didn't want as i want to be able to deliver naturally. so i cut down my food intake, and then in my recent check, baby din grow much, infact about the same, which was worrying again, cos gynae say if baby is consistently 3 weeks bigger and suddenly no growth also no good. sigh... so vexed. this also cannot that also cannot. think i will check further with Dr Adrian when i reach singapore for peace of mind. actually intend to fly back on 35th week, but the growth of the baby is abit scaring me so i decide to come back few days earlier after reading so many post of mummies delivering earlier or having early contractions here.

Got alot of errands i must rush to do in the remaining weeks. Haven't registered at Mt A yet (is it too late if i want to opt for single bed?), got to register my girl in full day child care while we're here for about 3 mths, and contact cordlife again for the baby this time, send my medela breastpump for servicing etc etc, and still got to work in singapore office.

Planning to "geng" MC for the next mon & tues to settle some errands before i start work in singapore officially. hehehe. Hopefully dr adrian will oblige.

Hope all the mummies are well!

CloudPoem, as a driver myself I hate rackless cabbie! I feel like telling him I am not in the hurry & willing to pay higher cab fare due to heavy traffic, no need to cut in & out like nobody biz!! Even come to join lane, he also wanna squeeze with trucker. Sicko..am so worried he bang on the side & I surely hurt.

Jenny, my weight gained quite minimal..I shd not experience such intense backache [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I really on high alert today coz I felt something wrong with my body! And I felt warm

Apple/ cloudpoem> i am experiencing alot of discharge every other few days that i also thought if my water bag is leaking and i quickly go toilet to check. By wet, it's to the extent where the whole "double padded" portion of the panty could be wet.

i guess for me it's a combi of urine (cos baby pressing on bladder so "leakage" becomes easier) + discharge. Wondered if other mummies also experiencing alot of discharge?

Backache is always there, and these 2 weeks when i sleep, even my hipbones are getting painful, as i sleep on my side. When right hipbone pain becomes unbearable, i shift to left side, and when left becomes pain too i shift back right side. so whole night is frequently changing side with slow moving actions and shifting my pillows/bolster along with me, to support the big tummy and my back.

Sh, apple, starfruit, split, val, V,

thanks mummies for all the concern!!! guess would have to discuss with my gynae n hubby again... at first my gynae is not really supportive of vbac cos he got sue before due to womb rupture... so he said he scare liao... but after i told him my wish... he said will how near the end....

MRT:

tomolo got course at Grand copthorn waterfront hotel... damn ulu place... dun noe wanna drive there or take mrt or bus... need to reach there so early but now still in office... sianz... if really take mrt, hopefully gto some kind soul can let me have the seat... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple: i tout the hospital should have upgraded u to the higher room when they dun have the room that you booked??? During my #1, RH dun have the single bedded room when i'm going to deliver... they upgraded me to their suite but charging single bedded room...

congrats to mummies who have pop!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Serene,

take care n jia you!

me still feeling contractions every hour, nt really painful and this waiting game is terrible.....tomoro will b my last day of work before i go on ML. hope i can go on leave in peace.....today boss last min throw me a bomb to work on. sian, got to do it by tml i leave.....so angry tat i am glad i take leave liao. at 1st feel so bad to take leave....now juz hack care n those green horn auditors keep pestering me with k1 questions......argh....

i'm oso having disurb slp at nite....sometimes its disturb by my contractions.....

Val,

hope ur son gets better....my son past 3 wks oso sick n high fever, this wk a little better but still phelgmy......sigh...he had skip sch for 3 wks liao.hope he can recover be4 meimei is out.....

enchine,

me too have very thick discharge and feel wet but when check, its always the thick discharge..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EnChine & Sh: when I had my no.1, I had v heavy discharge for a few days before my waterbag burst. So I think u might wanna monitor 1st.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple: My weight gain also very little. But my backpain has been there even before CNY. Very jiatlat. I can't even meet my friends. Sometimes when baby is shaking his head around I also got the feeling that water bag is going to burst.

Enchine: Same here. If my right back pain I turn to the left and vice versa. But these two nights its getting ridiculous with both sides so painful that I can't do anything. Don't dare to lie flat coz scare later blood and oxygen can't flow to baby.

Jenny, i was a private patient so taking class A1. not sure abt class C but for A1, the nursery is just inside the ward. for class B, nursery also is in the ward, guess for class c also the same. for my #1 and #2, nurse passed bb to me straight after i came back from recovery room (after c-section) and the bb can room in with us. if want to hav better rest, bb can b in nursery and when comes to feeding time, nurse will send bb over. class c should be the same coz after delivery will b tired and sometimes giddy, dont think we can walking around to look for bb?

as for nursing dress, i am not sure whether we can wear our own clothings. should b ok coz dont think i seen any rules on this. for myself i wear hospital clothing due to convenience.

so which gynae u normally see?

Ling, after show or waterbag burst, you should call delivery suite. they will advise you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly, my bb's intake is abt 50-70ml. each session my pumping is about 100ml for both sides. so u mean you manage to pump 3 or 4 oz each side? wow that is a lot! so do you latch your bb or express out?

Jane, what I mean is both sides about 3-4 oz. if he don't wake up in the next feeding, I'll just pump it out... I'll get engorg easily if I would to wake for him to wake up...

Enchine and Sh: I am also experiencing quite a lot of discharge especially in the morning.

Question re hospitalization for mommies who have delivered at Mt A:-

Upon admission, while waiting for dilation, do u share a room with another mummy (even if u opt for single room) before being pushed to the delivery suite? My fren told me that she was sharing room with another mummy at her early stage of labour.

My baby is full term at 37 weeks today and I am getting apprehensive abt becoming a mummy...think I am not mentally prepared yet despite the last 37 weeks of pregnancy.

Good morning, I also experience lots a discharge in the mornings, have also started taking the antibiotics for strepB. Today is gynae visit, hope baby out on weight coz I didn't have any chance to buy avocado or durian and not been sleeping enough coz #1 been very cranky these few days. Overall I am still 63kg at 35.5 weeks (together w bb)...wonder if I w hit 65kg by 40 weeks...

when are we suppose to take strep B tested.. me ~36 wks.. but my visit to my gynae on monday,, he didnt mention at all.. only do blood test.. wad is the blood test abt.. (my no. 1 born at ard 36wks plus so i didnt manage to do any of the blood test or strep B..

hi pixie, for my previous birth #2 in mt A, I was taken directly to the delivery suite. So, no sharing. I went to 24hr emergency sect. at about 1+am and the security guard there escorted me straight up the lift direct to the delivery ward. No admission procedures done - only did them subsequently when hb came (he was late for the birth). I was not visibly in pain yet as I could still walk in with my trolley bag.

Even in GlenE where I had my induction with #1, I was taken direct to the delivery suite to get hooked onto the monitors and induction started. So, also no sharing then.