(2011/05) May 2011

starfruit,

for the confinement meals, i ordered 2meals for 28days. weekend, my dad will cook extra or watever i feel like eating for me if he is nt rushing for his proj.

dolly,

when can u discharge with ur boy?

blurlemon,

the mind is stronger than we think =)

my hb told me no epi no laffing gas...so take it as those are nt available...at the end i almost wnana give in to the laffing gas...till my hb asked me if laffing gas no use and i cant take epi then hw? so in the end, i ren and manage to do w/o both lo.

sunflower,

do u foresee ur FIL can assist in helping to look aft the baby?

auroa,

i am the same as u, scare of needles. i cried when drawing blood or put on drip but i can tahan labour pain.

@auroa: i see. good that u were able to get NPL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]i heard that if we sent bb to infant care at a later stage (eg. 7/8 mths), it will be harder for bb to adapt as they can recg their caregiver le?

@newtoitall: SIL suggested staying 4 mths n hb ok so i guess we will try it out and play by ear. am currently not workg but will be returning to the workforce soon (est end of yr or early nex yr). Hb and i have decided to put bb in infant care when i start work. Have not decided on which centre yet but will choose one near my mums plc so that she can pick bb up in the evening.

Split, I'm not so sure how much will I be able to get the refund back.. As for the gynae fee, I didn't check the amount as I settled the bill thru Fast antenatal scheme..

We are going back after lunch, have done his bc as well...

sunflower,

oh. okok.

dolly,

great to be able to go hm with ur lit prince =)

dolly, congrats, can discharge together.. happy for u lah. your home situation under control too?

val, thanks, i emailed NE, they ask me to call them to enquire.

sunflower, u can stay at you rmum plc first and see how isit with bb and then decide later how to change the arrangement. no need to stress over this now. u can tell hb that cos ur mum will take care of you so best to stay at mum plc during confinement. U can put bb in infant care and u move back to FIL plc after that. I am sure your FIL will understand. since ur hb goes home evry night, it should be ok too.

starfruit,

ya, call easier to clarify things. I submitted my order via email le. waiting for them to confirm and then i will trf the deposit le.

auroa: ya, i think i will tell my gyna this thur when i am gog to see him, same here, BH only happen this round, #1 no BH too.

As for the pouch, for the 1st month, best if u can support abit as NB is still very fragile. Subsequently, i think you can free both hands.

Sunflower, how abt do confinement at ur mum's place 1st month? as for the rest of the months, u all can see how it can work out? for me, my parent's place is just next blk but i dun want my mum to come over to my place everyday, tiring for her as she need to take care my elder son too. During my #1 time, I will only go back home on weekend when my hb is off from work. Dun worried abt bb routine, they are too small to notice anything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly, yah!! u and ur bb can go home liao!

@bubblepearl: i see. thankss for advice. hopefully my worries are uncalled for in the time to come. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Newtoitall: hi! It's a great feeling to know someone out there shares the same feeling as me.. When are u due? I'm currently in my 36th weeks 2 days.. Not much space left, gynae will be checking got dilation in 2 weeks time.

How old are ur other 2 kids? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower, ic thats dont really sound like a gd place for bb..i mean with newspaper and food all around if is me i also feel uncomfortable ba..

if thats the case no choice for u..u and ur hubby getting ur own place?

dolly, gd to hear that u're discharging with ur boy..anyway how u find ur gynae? i tot of looking for a change of gynae at kkh since i got the feeling my girl might be out b4 may..

sunflower - After pop, it will be good to stay put at your mum's place for your confinement. Thereafter, you gotta work out with your hb, as shifting here and there on daily routine is not so advisable especially your hb is working late, can only come home 8/9pm.

Hmm, just wonder since your FIL place is so untidy, & u r staying with him, probably u can engage part time helper to clean the house and upkeep the toilet etc to ensure the hygiene level is there. It will be better for your benefits also bb. If u have intention to put your bb at infant care, I think now it is time to scout around. I heard lately the infant care placement like hotcake. Some friends of mine waited 3-6 months to get in.

Val - I also ordered 28 days, 2 meals per day from both caterer coz my hb said if I want something extra then he will get me fr fresh market and get my maid to cook xtra for me over weekends. Definately I'll go for additional home brew soup on daily basis. I still pref my own double boil soup..hehe

Starfruit - U just give them a ring, they shd be able to advise u accordingly.

I'm going to try the Newbaby confinement meal either this or next week..but next week my schedule rather tight coz I'll be back to ofc for group meeting & dinner with my team after that.

Dolly - Wow, so fast u r going home? Everything fine at home? Not sure in time now, but best if u can get someone to help buy red flower, put a small tub of warm water for you and bb to rinse before entering the house.

agreed with apple, if got intention to put bb at infant care better start looking for 1 early..cuz most of the time gd one will have to prebook way in advance..

split - why u suddenly wanna change gynae? I think a lot of ppl rav about A/Prof John Tee. My colleague seeing him for quite a long time. He shd be good.

I was appointed to see Srn Consultant LC Lee during company check-up. Find her not qualified to be Srn Consultant at all..rushing all her appt, bcoz of her not so attentive attitude, I suffered infection with high fever under 1 simple procedure..angry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

val, i think u r more braver than me... i can't take the labour pain.. maybe i already endured more than 12hrs liao but still at 3cm diluated and BP very unstable tat i gave in liao.

btw, i ordered trial confinement meal tomorrow to try. Will see how's the portion and decide to order 14 or 28 days.. NE ok to deliver 2 locations in the event if i decides to come home early (i'm doing confinment over at my mum's place).. just need to let them know the change of address one day advance will do.

sunflower, ya, the older tat they gets, the harder to put them in infant/childcare. Is yr mum able to look after the bb? Otherwise, can consider half day infant care for bb and yr mum can look after her for the rest of the day before u pick her up. U must also be mentally prepared tat bb in infant care tends to get sick easily and often need to take leave to care for her.. me too soft liao and can't endure my child being sick (even my PD asked me whether i need to work than to leave her in the infant care.. my girl got weak lungs after constant sick in infant care tat i decides to take NPL.. actually my boss doesn't likes it but got no choice as i dun want my girl to be taken care by inlaws).. take one step at a time 1st.. stay w yr mum and see whether both of u likes/adapt to it and decides further... meanwhile, can source for infant care ard 1st and go down to check it out (if got friends/neigbours bbs inside even better, can fish out some information).

dolly, congrats!!! Can go home together with yr boy liao.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yr girl must be very excited to see her little bro. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@split: yes, the house has been like this since MIL not ard (been 5yrs le). i told hb, it is impossible to continue having the hse like this with bb coming in a mths time. He unds wad i mean n tried talking to his dad, but FIL didnt bother. So hb ask me to adapt to the "messy place" and not expect magic from FIL which i wasnt happy with wad he said lor. Yes, we are lookg for our own plc but might not be soon as i still cant convince hb to get resale (he prefers dbssu/ bto).

dolly, congratz ... glad to hear baby can go back with u ... hv great bonding time ...

mummies, anyone taking Nifedipine? my gynae said my blood pressure high 156/90, ask me to take 2 weeks of the medicine ...

hope that it will not effect baby n me for life ...

mummies, jiayou ... not much time for baby to stay inside us liao ... me start to feel like missing the kicks very soon ...

@apple: yar, hb project has started therefore more late working nites to come. sigh. Ya man, called up a few and realise how popular infant care centres are now. Re part time helper, hb did suggest tat, but hor... i told him, the helper will go crazy tidying the house. And you know they are paid per hour kind, they can dilly-dally clean the house and once their 4-hours up, they will say bye bye lor.

Ling, cannot take durian! Your BP really high ler. Mine just 70/110..better watch your diet.

sunflower - U gotta engage those reliable part time helper. Get some recommendations from frens or mummies here. When come to this type of circumstances, no choice but to engage one. Otherwise, U gotta live with the mess with bb?? Hygiene is upmost important during the 1st few months. That's how u minimise sickness..especially u wanna put bb in infant care. Foundation must be real solid.

@auroa: my mum's currently working so not possible for her to take care of bb full time. Hb wanted to put bb with FIL but i was strongly against it - i cant imagine how is he going to take care of bb with the hse already so messy? So, we decided on infant care. Jus feel very sad cos even my mum was not supportive; not very happy that im going to her plc for 4 mths. She tinks marry out le must stay at in laws plc. =/

ling, yr BP is very high.. u need to be careful. I can't remember the BP meds name tat i took when i had high bp for my no1 but mine is not as high as yrs leh (mine highest reading is less than 140/100).. if BP too high, mummy will fall into coma, High BP might also result placenta not able to supply enough oxygen to bb, thus results lack of oxygen for bb, thus normally gynae will suggest hospitalisation to monitor if BP doesn't comes down and need to induce bb early if need to.

U need to relax for now and hve plenty of rest. I suffered post effects fr high BP and need blood transfusion after delivery.. after delivery, gynae will montior yr BP and if BP is still very high, u need to be on meds till gynae gives u the green light to be off meds... most likely will not be able to latch yr bb and they will get u to pump instead as they wants u to rest at nite...so u got to be very careful and try not to be at home alone esp at nite.. do take care.

Starfruit, apple,

Yes, I ordered 28 days 2 meals from NE. As I'm not getting any helper and my parents will not be able to help out. I hv to minimise the cooking done in the kitchen so that I can spend more time with my boy and my newborn. Luckily my hubby is able to take 2 weeks leave to help me out.

apple, actually been experience regular bh lately, been taking the medication since my last discharge but the effect seem to be wearing off and the pain is getting more intense..thats y im quite worried that bb might come out early..plus my current gynae keep telling me abt womb rupture if my contraction persist make me even more worried..my current gynae advise us to go kkh..

plus personally think bb will be at a better hand if she will to come out earlier den 35weeks since many premmies will delivered at kkh..the nurses will be more experience..

apple, auroa, the week b4 check, stil ok, 145/90.. but last sat one was high ... me on obese side, hope the medicine will help .. usually my reading is 140/90 ... think the hot weather also make blood pressure up ...

oops, i stil hv some durians last nite n jus now ... think hv to ask hubby to clear them liao ... hv to drink more water to clear them liao ...

me hv been resting at home since last dec ... do nothing at home ... so boring ...

ling, yr gynae briefed u the effects of high BP? u got to be careful leh. If really no choice, throw away the durian liao... eat food with less salt or no salt... u and bb health matters most now. U also need to cut down on going out esp to crowded places... it will raise up yr bp level.. bed rest at home is good althou boring.. otherwise got any bks to read (borrow fr library) or see relaxing drama shows... dun stress yrself too much leh.

hi mummies.. wow the thread is so long now..

hav been very tiring since last week.. these two days feel exhausted.. not sure what is the reason.. the pelvic pain also increased last two days, but getting better after bedrest. anyone having this?

split, u still on HL rite? ur boss ok with it? sometimes i just feel awkward while on HL coz getting salary without working mah.. feel a bit strange lo

ling, i am taking nifedipine as well since early march. but it is used to control my contractions pain. so what is the dosage that doc prescribe? so u also resting at home? on hospitalization leave as well? me on HL since early march, really bored..

sunflower, guess u dont hav to worry too much first. have a good rest at your mum's place and scouting for a suitable infant care now. as long as you got a place in infant care, it will be easier with your planning. hav you gotten any place in any center?

jane, yeah still on hpl..actually i did feel abit paiseh but for my bb no choice cuz my work quite stressful..my admin girl told me that my boss look very stressed ever since i on hpl..and he did complain abit abt me on hpl..but for myself and bb i told my admin that i doont wanna hear too much lol

@Jane: you so funny.. get salary without working good mah. keke. Mayb cos you on long HL, so somehow feels uneasy :X

sigh, very headache over this cos i dun wan to worry bout this when bb's out. rather have a solution so that theres peace of mind once bb's out. have not placed any deposit for the infant centre yet. we've only shortlisted 2 places, hopefully hb will be able to decide soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

split, so u really hav total rest, not even checking emails, answering calls or working from home? which field are you in? how long hav u been HL? now i didnt even check my mailbox le.. i kept on asking hubby, am i doing right thing? hahah.. i know for the sake of bb, i should rest coz my work also stressful n hectic. everytime i check email at home will end up working half a day.. and strange feeling at pelvic area.

sunflower, do understand your concern that want everything to be planned instead of facing it when it comes. well, guess u just hav to confirm on a centre first lo.. then it is easier for u to juggle ur time bah..

re: HL

yeah really uneasy on not working lo.. coz i hav been on HL for a month, my c-sec is due on 28 apr.. imagine HL for two months (if bb manage to wait till 29 apr) then another 4mths of ML, no wonder my boss keeps hinting me on when am i going to take my ML... very uncomfortable lo.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunflower, that is y feel uneasy lo.. but hubby said i deserved it coz worked like cow for the past few years and even when i was with #1. my #1 also prematured. but that time not so bad, no bedrest. may b younger bah hahahha.

any mummies same conditions as me?

jane yeah total rest as i cant work from home, im in condo management line..so if i work i need to be on the site to manage the place...as for emails and all now was check by my boss..cuz some of the issue need to handle on site too..i've been on almost 2mth of hpl already since my first contraction happened at 24weeks, and was admitted again at 28weeks..im now 32weeks going 33weeks on friday

split, me too, these two weeks on total rest. coz once i check email, will feel stress and strain at lower part of tummy.. did ur gynae mention the reason for your early contractions? do take care, guess we both cant think of work too much liao.. hav to put bb as priority now! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you ya... i m on 34 weeks now.. will hav see doc this friday, c wat she say, the last visit, she mentioned that may b will stop my medications after next visit..

split - since ur gynae advise u to switch to kkh, then take his advise bah. Can get him to write your condition before u heading to another gynae. At least the gynae has a brief medical ground happened to u, it is easier for him to master and provide his best service.

I do agreed that kkh is a better option if u worried about complication & premmies.

Jane - HPL is entitlement. I have to agree with your hb. Pls don stress over comments from bosses or colleagues.

For me, I started working fr home today. Yesterday my boss secretary came to me and ask me to write an official email to my boss copy her regarding working fr home period. I got mad!! Her reason is if anybody asking or HR asking y am I not reporting to work she will show them I'm working fr home! What a joke..

I told her off by telling her that's non of their biz, if they have prob, go to my boss. She doesn't need to answer or show them anything about me working fr home.

Ling, follow what Auroa advised. No durian, cut down salt intake, drink more water. U'll be alright. High BP towards last lap will lead to many complications during delivery..pls take extra caution on that.

apple,

same la. if u ask me, i prefer own brewed soup also. my dad will brew for me during weekends, weekdays can ask my mum to brew.

hehehe. i am under A/Prof John Tee =P

auroa,

we have diff pain tolerance ba. mine was bearable and i didnt feel much contractions pain till the final hr and i already have the mindset tt needle pain more painful than labour pain =P

Ling,

pls take care ya.

re: Mc

i feel like taking mc for my next gynae visit...but i paisay...

apple, yeah agree with u, ur boss secretary should go back to ur boss for any black and white as u n ur boss hav agreed on this arrangement. If HR asked, direct them to your boss. anyway, which field u r in?

val, on MC

if really feel tired, just tell ur gynae, guess he/she will giv you since now we r in third trimester. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jane,

ya. I do feel tired frm the work...i paisay towards my boss la...duno wat reason to give tat i am on mc coz he is bound to ask me why...and only seeing my gynae in the later part of the day....

jane my gynae also dont know the cause for the contraction i guess cuz im too stressed ba..

val, how is dr john tee? i've booked an appointment with him this thursday hopefully he can help me

split,

he is a man of few words but very assuring n experienced. Normally, his apptment also v fast unless u got qns to ask else less than 5mins out of the room liao. kekeke. his stitches v gd. during my 1week stay in hosp, he came to visit me everyday, including sat n sun.

however, i find him quite a funi guy during delivery. he will joke and chitchat slightly more than when seeing him during apptment...mayb coz he is usually v fully packed ba.

Val - My colleagues rav about your gynae coz when I curse & swear re the kkh gynae. They said I shd not just take what our company GP recommendation to go to that gynae. I shd have ask them! kaoz

If you really tired, I suggest u can a few days of MC from your gynae to rest.

Jane - Sometimes it is "jealousy" issue! Ppl eye sore that I get special treatment. To me, very simple I can always get HPL from my gynae and having full rest till I deliver then I start my ML. By not doing that coz I'm rendering my help as we are short handed. My boss will be upside down if I go on HPL. That's y he suggested I work fr hm coz my journey driving to work is stressful and jammed. I appreciated his moves & agreed to work fr hm till I deliver.

val, if tired, better hav a rest bah... health is more important..

split, take care.. hang on, we r almost there!

kaykay, for my #1, when i hav 'show', followed by water bag burst, the labour pain came in the afternoon. and i delivered after 24 hrs (after 'show').

Val/apple, i managed to get hold of NE, they are really very flexi leh. i can confirm and not make a deposit cos mine not entitled to any early birds, so no need deposit. Just call them when i need the food! hehe and they can accomodate my 1ste week 2 meals and 2nd week 1 meal. Should i take lunch or dinner for 2nd meal? maybe i try out and see how.

i also under a lot of stress from work lately maybe thats why the BH more apparent this round. gynae ask if i need MC to rest.. may take closer to my eDD.

Ling, have u been taking a high salt diet? what have u been eating> stress also may play part.