(2011/05) May 2011

For those of you considering tandem nursing, read "Adventures in Tandem Nursing" by Hilary Flower.

I was reading my blog - which I stopped 2 years ago and started finding info on the tandem nursing etc I did while I was preg previously. Hope you guys had as much fun as I did with the book.

2vv - I have not booked my massage lady; which I really should get down to it too. But I remember previously (abt 5 yrs back- LOL) I paid $50-60 per session.

split - your gynae's stories sound scary and not encouraging ler..so what is the solution he is giving u?? deliver early or wait??

Val - U buying fr which stall, there are 3 there..I suppose u get from the front square rite? They label $20/kg on Sun I was there..only Tue they mark down to $18. $15/kg is the "jiu wang" instead. If got chance I take pic show u the oblong shape mao shan wang. So next time u know they won't cheat u..hehe

But jiu wang is also nice la..$50 for 5kg worth buying too.

My uncle had durian plantation in Msia, so I sort of knowing the species since young..that's y the guy dare not lie to me. I think this round I got no chance to eat "ice cream" ler..the durian very smooth & silky like ice cream and only comes in June..sob sob

bubble pearl - my fren said engorgement must use cold cabbage. Warm towel will not help. I was lucky enuff that I did not encounter difficulty & engorgement during my moo moo career for close to 2 yrs..haha hope this time round I can do better.

starfruit - we can take coconut now meh?? I tot 36wks onwards?

split: so scary~ womb raptured....*breathe breathe*

Val/bubble: yea I went for prenatal class and was told that if i feel engorgement to do cold compress and slight massage with my fingers. if leaking to use warm towel to cover. it seems to be the opposite...the LC says that it can be avoided but I think not that possible. =P Like I told my friend, BF is good but if you can't than don't be too hard on yourself also.

apple: yeap, it washes out water from the body. I also didn't know until my TCM told me. he says if barley works than alternate with chrysanthemum. ie: 1 dose barley and 2 dose chrysanthemum and repeat. coz my body itself before pregnancy is very heaty so by drinking barley when i was pregnant made it a lil worse.

2ww: I had the durian pancake after dinner last night and than i had a lil problem sleeping..no prob ingesting though. haha. I booked Maya for 7 days I think 560 or 650 can't rem.

actually the LC also said BM is good enough and no need water as the BM has got thick and thin throughout 1 BF session but due to SG weather i think i will still feed plain water now and than. too hot alr...

starfruit: long queue sometimes hor..get hubby to queue...now got buy 5 get 1 free!~hehe...your coconut is big or small one?heheh...i also wanna start..once a week! TCM told me to BBQ the coconut so not so liang..ahahaha..than he say tough in sg so ask me to take half first..must eat the meat ma? or drink can alr?

hi there.. i havent log in since months ago.. the thread really moves so fast. not sure if some of the mummies still remember me.. hahah..

anyway, to update, i am currently on my 32 weeks and is on hospitalization leave rite now (into 3rd week) due to early contractions....and, on medication everyday.. tomorrow is going to c doc, not sure whether can go back to work next week or not. got hospitalized one night and tot going to deliver at 31 weeks.. so scary!! that is y now guai guai stay at home and dont touch work anymore..

anyone here having early contractions?? how is the conditions now? any medication been given? i hav been given medicine 4 times 4 capsules everyday.. even pharmacist also said the dosage very high.. it made me giddy and sleepy though..

hi split.. saw ur post on early contractions.. can share your experience?? ur gynae's stories really scary... i wonder how come the second case, the mummy can drag the delivery??

re:breastfeeding

i fully breastfed my no.1 till she was one year old. it was very tiring and really need determination esp the first few weeks. coz my gal didnt like to latch on so i had to pump out everytime.. every 2-3 hrs.. sleepless nights!! and after go back to work, i have to bring along my medela freestyle and pump in toilet..

for me, i store ebm in glass bottles.. so i am not sure how to use milk bags..

mummies.. how to warm ebm in milk bags? coz last time i used glass bottles, wat i did was to put glass bottle in warmer.. but how abt milk bag?? puzzled...

re:durian

can we eat durians during pregnancy?? tot some ppl said the smell not good for baby??

starfruit..

can i know why do we need to eat coconut??

re:engorgement

normally i will use pump during this period..coz my mum practice traditional type of confinement, no water n bath at all.. so forget it abt cold cabbage leave...

hi Jane! ebm in milk bag is for freezing purposes. after that thaw in the lower compartment of fridge, once thaw can pour into bottles to warm up before feeding =) Rest well yea~

V - ok got it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for the info. I shall take chrysanthemum as alternative. I actually drank barley once a week..sometimes 1 mug sometimes 2.

Jane - U better take care ya! We have 1 mummy by the nick Viman delivered @ KKH, and I think Julbee gonna deliver tmr @ KKH too. Both of never report to forum this week. Hope they are well too.

V - thanks for the info. i am still holding on to my glass bottles and may treat milk bags as substitute .. oh so u mean, we must thaw milk bag at the lower compartment.. for how long? one or two hours before? how long can the milk bag thaw / stay in the lower compartment?

a bit concern, dunno for no.2 will have milk or not.. will we be too busy taking care of no.1 tat we are too tired, and the supply reduce?

apple - wow.. so fast deliver?? how many weeks they are in? a bit worried now.. coz i am still on medication, not sure if without medication, wills till experience the contractions or not... i have scheduled c-section on 28 apr while EDD is 12 May.asked doc if can delay one more week, doc said the scheduled date is only tentative.. hope i can 'dong' till that day..

Val, i move my shoot early (suppose to be end april) cos have this sudden fear that i will deliver early!!!

anyway my tummy exploded in size these few weeks, i think now will look perfect in PS.. hahaha so didn;t want to delay the shoot.

to prevent engorgement, massage your breast before and after each feed. recommend the marmet technique, go google for this massage technique, it relly helpful.

V: i think drink can alraeady.. maybe take in moderation now cos still considered liang. I want to eat coconut jelly leh!!!

ya i always see a long queue at the 4seasons!

jane, pls take care. to warm the ebm in the milk bags directly, just put it in warm water, the entire bag, exactly like how u warm your glass bottles. just prop it upright.

the coconut suppose to make bb cleaner when they come out during delivery.

Dolly another mummy here also have early contraction and is now home rest.

Jane, I think the milk bags thaw faster and save more space that's why most mummies use it. yeap, frozen milk have to store in the lower cooler compartment till thaw before you can warm it up for feeding.

Per Ling's earlier post:

read from MeadJohnson Nutrition on Breastfeeding Tips for moms,

~ store breast milk in fridge for up to 48hr b4 feeding to baby

~ if dont use within 24hr, good idea to freeze it

~ milk shd b go in the back of the freezer or in deep freezer

~ Breast milk will keep for up to 6mth in freezer

~ in deep freezer, it will keep as long as 2yrs

oh! i'm not signing up with studio loft! my wedding photographer (who has become out friend) has offered to do it for us pro-bono and the new born shots too..i'm so excited~ it's really god sent! hehe!!!!

hi Jane,

drink coconut juice is to cleanse the bb. so that when bb is born, he/she will come out cleaner, without much red spots on face etc (coconut is a bit cooling so drinking that helps to reduce the heatiness in bb that causes the red spots / patches. this is wat i heard

got this from the internet.

The following are some of the reasons why coconut water for a pregnant lady is advised:

•Coconut water is a natural isotonic beverage. It helps in replenishing fluid and natural salt loss that has occurred in the body. Coconut water, thus, can greatly prevent dehydration and exhaustion.

•It is essentially fat free and is known as a zero cholesterol beverage. Coconut water is also supposed to have a positive effect for raising the level of HDL, the good cholesterol level present in the body. This can together help to keep high cholesterol levels under check.

•Coconut water is greatly known for strengthening the immune system. As coconut water is rich in lauric acid, it can have anti-bacterial, anti-viral and anti-fungal properties. Such properties can greatly help to strengthen the immune system of the mother and the growing fetus, and greatly prevent infections of flu, HIV, herpes, etc.

•Another great health benefit of coconut water is that it helps to prevent and treat heartburn. Coconut water effectively helps in cleaning intestinal worms and the digestive tract. This can alleviate pregnant women from heartburn and constipation.

•Mostly women suffer from urinary tract infection (UTI). Being a natural diuretic, coconut water can help to increase the flow and frequency of the urine. Thus, coconut water benefits in flushing out toxins out of the body easily, thus preventing urinary tract infection.

•Coconut water is a natural and safe source to hydrate the body, and allows easy digestion, and it's free of chemicals and contains high amount of electrolytes.

•Coconut water is light and can even help in weight loss. One cup of coconut water contains 46 calories only, as coconut water is 95% water.

Coconut water in general has many health benefits, and is a great source to be replenish the body's electrolytic value, which is why it is recommended for the old and sick. However, apart from using coconut water as a cure for dehydration and problems like heartburn and low immunity, it can be used to prevent many health problems. Coconut water during pregnancy can be used to prevent all the health problems which occur during pregnancy like UTI and heartburn, and also replenish the body electrolytic level and boost immunity which will help to keep the baby and the mother healthy.

V thanks for the detailed info.

starfruit

can we put milk bag in electronic warmer directly with the rubber band tie to it??

melody, so we can eat the coconut jelly as well rite?

Jane - why there is a need for you to schedule c-sec? Due to early contractions or your #1 was under c-sec as well?

Your EDD is pretty close to mine, and I have scheduled c-sec on 0305. That's the best my gynae allows..sob sob coz I wanna go for 0505 but he said bb is too big by then.

Jane, can put in. the bag n band wont melt but usually i just put in a cup of hot/warm water. I dun use the electric warmer cos no need.

apple - ya coz my #1 was emergency c-section. and this one has high risk of pre mature.. bo bian lo.. i also not dare go thru natural le... coz traumatized with previous experience. my water bag burst at 35 weeks and only dilated till 8cm after 24 hrs of labour. so immediately 'cut' lo.. so scary... so my gynae also said no point going thru all these ( pain, induce + gas + epidural = c section)

starfruit.. thanks for the info.. btw u know where to buy those bendable wires for milk bag instead of using rubber band?? which one u used?

Jane, better dun place the milk bag into the electronic warmer..dunno whether the bag will melt anot?

Last time, another way, my previous thread friends tried to thraw the milk bag by dripping into normal water in room temp. But that is not advisable too. For me what i did, i will thraw the milk bag by thraw the quantity i need the next day in fridge. Normally overnite, the frozen milk will thraw 60%?

bubblepearl - oh is it? hahha.. i never used milk bag before, coz i got abt 20-30 glass bottles.. anyway want to know how to use in case cant use my previous glass bottles.. thanks for the advice. ur nick remind me of my favourite gong cha... feel like drinking.. but at home now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bubble the bags material is quite good n most of the time the warmer heat is not very high. Not enourage to thaw or heat up in very hot water/ warmer cos high heat temp will kill the nutrients in the milk. I dun have problem reheating my playtex n avent milk bags. Like i say i will thaw in the fridhe lower section n heat up in a cup of hot water but not boiling hot.

Jane i buy the twine from daiso a big bag for $2!

Btw we can start on coconut water now like once a week?

I'm also going to deliver at KKH, expecting a girl, my #2 and going to name her Pristie.

Now tummy heavy, looking forward to delivery but also a bit worried on 2hr feed, change, clean. :p

starfruit: hehe, thks! Reason why i thought cannot use milk bag in warmer, cos i scared the plastic will melt..keke.

how ah..i feel a bit hungry now, but eat now later dinner will not feel hungry.

bubble, my milk bags has not melted in my warmer, mine is the piegon bottle warmer.

Also maybe because i dun put frozen ebm in the warmer, i will usually thaw in the fridge for a few hrs or overnight and then reheat using the warmer. which is why after a while, i stopped using the warmer cos a cup of warm water can also do the trick.

yeap, my friend told me to save on the warmer and just get a bowl or cup of warm water to warm up the EBM..

kiko, coconut water u can start 6-8 weeks before your EDD but don't drink so much at one go first. maybe half a coconut (small one) 1 week. slowly increase to 1 per week than 2 bah.

Mummy who is using Pigeon steriliser, may I know where to get the cleaning sachet (something like lemon powder)? I need to clean my used steriliser.

apple, the clean satchet - mothercare use to sell these cleaming ascorbic acid (i think this is what its called) but now no more, and discontinued. Apprently under Avent they have it but u need to go the Philip Showroom at Toa payoh lor 1 to buy, they dun carry it at the retail shops. So what the lady ask me to do is to use lemon juice or vinegar. I forgot the ratio must go back and check the instruction manual.!

Hi MTBs,

I am from the Jan'11 MTB thread.

I have the following Avent items to let go.

Bought them before I gave birth but decided to use NUK bottles instead after I gave birth as advised by my delivery hospital. So these bottles have not been used before even though I have taken some out of their boxes before I gave birth.

1. Avent 260ml/9oz BPA-Free Feeding Bottle Extra Durable (Yellow box) x 3

- Brand new in box (sealed)

- Teat Size 2 : 1m+ Slow

- Retail price: 2 for $36.90

- Would like to let go at $12 each

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5260548.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5260549.jpg]

2. Avent 260ml/9oz BPA-Free Feeding Bottle Extra Durable (Yellow box) x 1

- Brand new without box

- Teat Size 2 : 1m+ Slow

- Would like to let go at $8

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5260550.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5260551.jpg]

3. Avent 125ml/4oz BPA-Free Feeding Bottle (Blue box) x 2

- Brand new without box

- Teat Size 1 : 0m+ Newborn

- Would like to let go at $6 each

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5260552.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5260553.jpg]

4. Avent Orthodontic BPA-Free Soothers x 2 boxes

- Brand new in box (sealed)

- Size : 0-3m

- Retail price: 1 box for $14.90

- Would like to let go at $10 per box

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5260554.jpg]

Interested, pls PM me.

hi mommies, want to complain here about maid.

Seems like there are many maids who come here for holiday. I had the bad experience of having 3 like that and now my new maid who only came to me end Feb says she wants to go home coz miss home. After some counselling, she says ok to stay then a week later say now can find the money want to go home. Am so worried.. with us going to deliver soon, how to find a maid so fast?? This is terrible!!!

My previous maid who was with me for 6 months, told me she has seen enough of SG and wants to go home. Say want to go Canada now. I got fed up and released her so that she can go home. Good that she helped me out while waiting for the new maid to arrive - took close to 3 months for this new maid to arrive and what?? Not even a month into the job, she cannnot take it and miss her home too badly. What are these maids coming to?

They should have known what to expect and learn to deal with it before they come. And now, what? I heard the agent tell me MOM wants to make a law that maid loans cannot be more than 2 months, so the rest of the $ to bring them in will have to fall on the employer. If so, the maids will be even more garang!! How can MOM do this? I have 3 kids I need to feed. No parents to help coz they are working too. High standard of living and now MOM is trying to push us not to rely on maids?

My new maid has barely been here for a month but has called home likie 4 times already. I really dont know what to do now with the bb coming. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re:- coconut water

I alrd started on it last week after eating durians.. I suppose one heaty one liang balance bahs hahas. But don't dare take too much cos of the 'liangness'.. I also dislike the taste so I took 3mouthful only.. Anw, drink small brown coconut, nt big ones..

Jane:- Coconut jelly has no link with coconut water, just like coconut milk.. Coconut water is to be taken during the 8/9mth, once per mth is sufficient, to 'cleanse' our womb & baby so that bb come out face will nt haf spots.

Maybe this will help:- http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/breastfeeding/pumpingexpressing/storingbreastmilkexpert/

Re:- Durians

I suppose we can take everything after 7mths onwards, as long its moderation.. We all feasting on durians le!! Except for those who has Gestational diabetes are to avoid. Some gynae will recommend to take it if ur bb is small to date.. But I tried to limit lurhx cos heaty & high in sugar.

Myth abt durians r baby will be v strong if u take durians & bb will grow oversize & bb will have rougher skin due to the heatyness in ur womb.. Its up to individual I guess.. Moderation is the key! =D

Split:- Must tc loh, gynae wun harm u, maybe he is just afraid history repeat so he told u those.. Anw his welfare for u & ur bb.. U r und good control.

I guess viman is just busy wif her lil princess & recovering.. =D hope everything is good for her.

Same goes for julbee & dolly.. =D

Srsly:- Where did vv go?? Wad happened to her? Anyone knows?? It has been really long since she last posted anything on the forum.. Concern..concern..

BuNnymum:- There u go.. See the avent btls picture, see the different?? One is plastic type another (whiter btl) is the soft rubber btls.. Use the rubber ones for chilling EBM in fridge.. U go check which one u bought..

apple, yes can use lemon juice, i think its 1:3 ration but i am not sure... must check. the pigeon instruction manual do states it. actually the lady tells me using lemon juice is better cos safer. u need to run the cycle like twice with the lemon juice + water combination.

I found some rust stain in my pigeon steraliser, tried to clean but cannot so in the end i bought a new one. cos my family say a bit unsafe to use esp if there is rust stains.

newtoitall, get your agent to talk to the maid..and this is not your prob, y shd u bare the big sum of loan for the maid?? I find maids now getting more garang..that's y even my current maid is not perform up to my standard, but still I close 1 eye and keep her coz she doesn't go out, she has 2 kids back home to raise & I only allow her to call home twice a month max.

dolly - finally see u reporting here today! is everything better at nite? hope your contraction pain gets away soon. r u still on medication?

starfruit/apple, rite now still @ home, still able to bear the pain. seems like having contraction every 3 hours. yeah, still on medication...

apple, last nite my girl was very cranky between 0200 to 0300... she's alrite again after she went over to my mum's room. do you think she's ok? was discussing with my mum this morning that she has been cranky since mon... wonder is it because she's been harrased?

bubble, starfruit

thanks for the lesson on milk storing

one last question, do we tear off the milk bag for warming or warm with the milk bag? the bag cant be reused rite?

dolly - Usually "the thing" will not disturb the children. Hv u check with your geomancer what can u do next to protect the rest of your family members?

hi dolly

heard that you are having early contractions.. so are you on medication? which medicine your doc prescribe?

me too, having early contractions and been admitted to hospital last week and is on hospitalization leave. but i am on very high dosage of medication rite now so the pain has goes away. tomorrow will c my gynae.. not sure how is the condition now.

how is yours? what happen? is it only pain that you experience? i had some discharge of blood strips and some form of bleeding too last week.

dolly,

and, do you find it hard to sit for long hours.. i find the muscles at my cervic area a bit pain and strained.. walking also hard..

any mummy experience the above?