(2011/05) May 2011

xuanmin, u can try MT A...

my frens who went ter..had gd reviews abt Mt A...& a fren told me...MT A & TMC & KK charges are abt ter...not very much diff....u can consider lor... =)

mudpie

Thansk for the recommendation! I'm seriously considering switching option to Mt A, only that I've not been to the maternity tours yet. Are you planning to go Mt A too? Heard some of the nursery nurses there are sisters, so more caring and loving towards babies. TMC ones, I've heard stories of how the nurses just leave babies to cry on their own, or even feeding them FM when the mummies did not approve. Some don't even clean the vomit for babies until the parents saw them at the nursery. sounds horrible...

Hi Ling,

Pigeon wipe no special sale - 3 packs 10.50 or 6 packs -$19.50 (this is so call sale price but can get almost everywhere including NTUC)

Hi Xuanmin,

Yes, i use medela swing for #1 and bf for more than 1 year. Reason why not confident 'cos i think a lot depends on the baby... my cousin's #2 does not drink a lot and end up her supply also low... she stopped after ML ends. Heard if girl girl, then supply lower 'cos they not so "aggressive" in drinking milk.

Heaven

So if you managed to bf for more than a year, then the swing should be sufficient to get by. I hope the 2-phase tech from PIS is able to imitate the sucking of the baby and stimulate more milk this time.

xuanmin, yea, im gg mt A...tmc i went for tour..they r very into marketing their best room for u...which i feel we dun nid..at most we will choose single or single deluxe..& i dun quite like tmc hos layout..i feel alot of turning here & ter...like very complicated...

hb oso prefer mt A..& is whole building compliementary wireless...haaha..so hb say this tmc stil nid pw to login etc..& i cun remb issit 2 bedded & abv then u get wireless...& all my frens who went MT A oso told me MT A is gd...so i choose lor...ter is also a pool who went tmc & said is gd...is personal preference...

Angie/Heaven

Tks for sharing..Now I am only short of bringing hubby to Mt A and booking the package [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So will you be taking one/two-bedded? This time hubby says he want to stay with me in hosp cos midnite have to wake up and feed too, can save time shuttling between hm and hosp cos we stay at bt panjang. My mum stays amk and can drop by more conveniently. So I think I can only book single bed room.

Angie,

ya...if they ask us if we wan we cfm say dun wan de mah, right? hehehe.

for me, so long as I am tired enuff, i can take nap =)

anyway, tats the only time i can nap la..hehehe.

actually, i do go out during confinement for short period la. sometimes also need to bring baby for checkup etc. 1 or 2hrs i think is ok la.

dolly,

yup. the staff was telling me the duluxe room is more for other packages for the gynae' patients but nt for delivery. ya, do double chk in case this staff told me the wrong thing! hahaha. anyway, they just revamped their A1 ward last yr so sldnt be tat bad la. hehehe.

hmm, i didnt pay the full package in cash. only certain amt then the rest claim medisave de le. for my #1, upfront i paid $1.7k only.

hahaha. ya la, i think my hb knows my pattern, if he ask me, i sure tell him dun waste $$. hahaha. btw, nb will follow the same kind of ward as mummy ho. if mummy stay A1, baby also A1 ward...service and pd all the same as B1 but we are paying more! hehehe.

Xuanmin: that is nice of your hb! I will be taking single cos I also wan my hb stay with me. But I read there will be additional charges for partner. Dun need to specially go down to book, you can book thru your gynae and mt a will send you the form.

xuanmin, ur hb is nice and yes if he wants to stay with u, u will need single room. but u dun have to worry about midnight feed and hb helping u cos the nurses will help u a lot. u just need to feed bb and pass back to them

I will be delivering at Mt A too.. i like the hospital a lot even though its not as convenient as TMC.

mudppie, the playtex bags, if u can get at $10 a box at BP, can buy, i think ours is about 80bags?? maybe Apple can confirm. i paid about $10 at the robinsons sale too. very good price. playtex bags quality is very good, a few yrs ago, they were not avilable in SG, i had to buy overseas, now in sg and ready available, its much easier to buy.

Angie, when i booked mtA for my #1, i also book w/o going for the hospital tour.. hahah yes the nurses are very nice and patient.

Ling, i have not heard abt the breast bags u mentioned, anyway i only use 2 brands, avent bags (discountinued already) and playtex ones. both are good. recent yrs a lot of diff brands of milk bags came up, so u have more choices now. for me, i look at price cos i used up a lot so cant afford to buy to expensive if not very heart pain.. hehe

my colleague treated me to a lollipop cake fro starhub, its soo cute!! hahah

Val: really? I think my mum won't like...say will 'jing feng' cos she doing my confinement for me...hai I think me & my hubby can take nb ps for him ourselves...now I m seriously thinking of Dslr...since save on ps le...

Bunny mum: seems so comfy ya? I saw some sg website also selling but really exp. Heard a lot of celebrities using too...u saw the Miranda Model pic bf her son on their website? So nice la the picture...bf also can take nice pic....no wonder she is a supermodel.

Mudpie: hee ook! I also heard tmc service drop a lot that is why. Wow did u take pic? Wat flavor?

I mean starfruit haa: Mudpie: hee ook! I also heard tmc service drop a lot that is why. Wow did u take pic? Wat flavor? Btw bb can stay with us in the single room throughout ya?

val : the other time, my gynae also didn't asked to book the room. so on that day, i was admitted to delivery ward. the nurse asked my hb to arrange for admission. they asked him whether he wants classic or premier package? since i didn't know anything, he just signed for the classic package, and A1 bedded. but thats were the time that they run out of A1 bedded and upgraded me to deluxe room but charge me A1 bedded price... hence, this round wanna find out what's the price for the deluxe room.

Starfuit

That time when I was at TMC, the beeping on the machine can beep for really long then the nurse come in to help. Even when the nurses come in to help during bf, they were not really friendly. At first I brushed it off, thinking that they might have a lot of patients to attend to, but when I told my hubby, he was not very happy with tt. Maybe cos we are staying in 4-bedded? Different treatment bah I guess...Hope this time if going to Mt A, will be a better experience

Angie, i got the chocolate one, its soo cute, like a real lollipop, i think its meant for children, taste wise not fantastic lah.. hahah u can get better cakes outside.

xuanmin, so far i have no problem with Mt A, when i press the bell, the nurses come. the midwives team at the labour ward was fantastic too.. high prasie for them. i am totally satisfied.

I'm from Dec thread.

I still hv sample pkt of anmum materna, similac mum, friso mum, enfamama. In total abt 14 pkts.. Gotta self collect cos to bulky to send by post. Anyone interested, pm me?

angie,

no choice le...sometimes need to bring baby for checkup...unless u dun follow lo, let ur hb n mum go tog. for me, i go la..hahaha. then aft tt soon bian go do grocery shopping before i head hm. hahaha!

hahaha. i have dslr but i still go ps so my hb also shake head at me. kekeke.

dolly,

oh. okok. if u dun book inadvance then troublesome part is on the day of delivery ur hb got to do admission lo. for me, since already booked, just go straight to delivery ward the staff will settle everything le, hb also dun nd to do anything also.

wat if A1 ward no more then u LL have to take b1 le...altho i think chances nt high coz A1 ward arent tt high in demand.

aiya, coz the staff told me cant book deluxe for delivery package so i didnt ask the price, else can update u.

Ok. Classic vs premier. i took the premier package for both my #1 and #2. diff between classic n premier is, for classic, gynae only come when u abt to deliver. premier is gynae on n off will come to chk on u. diff in price: $60 so i just take premier =P

starfruit - my fren recommend kelly for NB shooting. I have not decided yet..

Angie - they will come to our home for NB shooting, I think gotta pay extra $50 to cover their transportation. They bring in props and other equipment [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val - if u got lots of supply, maybe can try those cheaper milkbag with tie. More economical [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] U just need to invest 1 lock n lock container to make sure the EBM is air tight while in the freezer.

xuanmin - if I have a choice I'll choose Mt A too. The nurses & sisters are caring compared to other hospital I would say. And they serve good confinement food if not mistaken. For me, I can only landed at GlenE coz gynae doesn't go to other hospital to deliver..I find the charges very high and no confinement meal! sux big time..

That's y after discharge, I switch PD to Mt A instead of GlenE.

Val - hi5! I also go out during confinement..hmm..I don't really confine myself for 30 days :p and this round I intend to pop over to hair salon to wash my hair instead of washing at home..hehe

Angie - BF is actually determination + mindset. Demand = supply..so don't worry so much now. Once u get the kick of BF, ur BF journey will be there with u as long as your bb suckle + pump. Initial weeks, u no nid to pump unless your milk is still full after feeding. And remember don't keep looking at the amount of milk dripping on the bottle when u pump..it will make u stress and depress if the amount is lil. Eventually if u regular your feeding and pumping time, the supply sure building up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple,

can PM me kelly's link? i am interested to see =)

ya, i used up alot of milk bags for #1's time...but i still stick to ziplock coz more convenient le...so tat time i really stock up alot on pigeon milk bags whenever its on sales. hw much is 1 bag of the cheaper milk bag? coz i am worried when i am tired or nt concentrating, i will drop the bag while tying it...even with pigeon ziplock milk bag, sometimes i slippery hand coz i am tired then i just drop the whole bag on the table...see liao so heartpain 1st few times i ended up crying over spilled milk. hahaha.

hahaha. i also dun confine myself for 30days, i will go mad la! anyway, i also dun follow confinement rules strictly. hahaha.

val: oic... haiz.. the other time the staff/gynae didn't advise me on when to book, and this round also.. thanks for your enlightenment, will have to & must check with them again on my next visit liao otherwise my hb will be blur again like the 1st visit...

no wonder, my gynae only appear when my cervix has dilated to 10 cm.. before that i kept asking is my gynae here, my midwife told me she's on the way... so waited from 4am, she then appear after 6am then tell me can get ready to push...

dolly,

oh. okok. i thot quite standard the gynae will tell u all these. coz for both my #1 and #2, gynae get me to book at week32. so his assistant nurse gives me a yellow card with instructions where to go n book.

Mayb the next visit u ask ur gynae see wat she says. Else you just go to concierge, admission counter 9 to get a Q num to make the booking.

no prob, just sharing wat i know since we are in the same hosp =)

yup. tats the diff in classic n premier. so if u wan her to on n off appear to check on u, rem to take the premier one.

val : that's what i thought too, don't know why she didn't advise me... you mean counter 9 @ TPS, reception?

ok, will ask for the premier this round...

dolly,

nope, nt at TPS. its counter 9 at the the Admission/Concierge office at Level 1.

apple,

thanks for the link! u got me tempted to book a nb ps for my gal as well. hahahaha! my hb is so going to nag at me liao =P

hahaha. i just had my lunch and meimei is moving, think her energy reloaded so got strength to kick n move. hahhaa.

apple, hahah curry fishhead, my fav, i think maybe too spicy for your tummy already, can some hot water or hot tea help? maybe diluted hot tea?

I had laksa yong tau fu, so yummy and damn full now.

Starfruit: Haa must be soo cute the cake...still got the stick below one?

Apple: ohh they can come over to your house but the settings how? Ya lo need lots of determination, hopefully I can make it! wow curry fish head is my favourite...so hard to find really nice ones nowadays...stand up and walk around? Sitting down is worse I think...

Val: haa ya if it's my hb...he also will shake head...oh ya still got the checkup...will see how...maybe she's ok with the checkup...

Val - go for it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I find the NB shots give us special feeling and moment ler..

starfruit - I got a small pot of chrysanthemum flower tea and I took cherry tomatoes..hope they help to fasten my digestion!

dolly - yes, I suspect indigestion too!! Maybe due to coconut milk fr the curry fish head.

Angie - they will bring props and equipment along..and NB only can use natural light [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit - another option I'm thinking is from dphotofolio. Their NB shots also very nice.

apple: i also change my hospital from GE to MT A coz I find their charges not transparent at all.

And when i go for the tour at GE, they are so marketing-minded etc. But they do have confinement meal now and the red dates tea.

Luckily my gynae goes to MT A too but she told me she will be a little inconvenience if i goes there as her clinic is at GE. But then, i do not want to get heart attack at the bills later on.

Kristle - good for u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my gynae only deliver at GE..sigh Oh u mean they provide confinement meal now? My fren who delivered in Jan told me they do not serve confinement meal and they are HALAL!

Kristle: i think as long as yours is not a problematic preg should not be too much of a concern. Anyway, think the probability for births is higher at nights.

Dolly: Do u think it is necessary to get medela teats for the bottles or should I just transfer to other bottles that I have after pumping? I realise the medela teats are much more exp than other brands...dunno why....

Ling i have heard about stopping fish oil at week 36, but i cant remember the reason. is this the advise given to you by your gynae?

do you all experience lower abdomen cramp at 30 weeks? I already have it for few days already, i thought it is mayb i eat wrong food that cause my stomach uncomfortable.

I called the clinic and the nurse said this is common and suggested tht i can buy the maternity belt to support my tummy because may due it is getting heavier..

icejelly: me too experience that and it feel like menses day one kind of discomfort.

I checked with my gynae and she said is alright and most prob the braxton hicks. is a pre-contraction that our body is preparing for birth.

hope that helps.oh by the way, I always get that at nights.

bubble pearl - thanks for your feedback [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think we shall proceed with kelly..hehe

Ling - my gynae never say anything about the fish oil ler..anyway mine is DHA plant source microalgae oil.