(2011/05) May 2011

Angie: oh.. Me using my #1 CDA haha, if 1st time mum must wait till bb born. U can also use it to c doc for ur child or for jabs also can. When ur child go to childcare ctr also can use.

Kayay: for buying things I only Noe Kkh can leh. Got to Noe it recently when stumbled onto a thread regarding it. Not many Ppl Noe also.

Auroa: hmm I only interested at the Medela counter so didn't pay attention to the other things they r selling. Pai seh.. Hehe.

Dolly: u also delivering at mt a? I jus saw that the single deluxe and single room only abt $100 difference...I tot it is a lot of difference. Btw if we are using our own diapers, then no additional charges from the hosp? Can we bathe after giving birth? haa super scary...1st time...hope dun have a lot of hiccups. We haven even gone for the hospital tour.

Doc found no reason for the bleeding. Placenta is all right, and I had no pain either. But they're still gonna observe me in the delivery ward for a while. Full bed rest for now, with stockings on all the time. Bb is about 900 g at 30 weeks, really hoping she grows quickly, especially if they deliver her early.

Viman

Rest well and take care yeah! Jia You!!!!

Eat more meantime, ice cream & cakes if you can?

Angie

Oh ok, I know the lunch crowd can be quite rowdy at times too. Heeheee. We went around 11 plus. By the time we left around 12 plus, the place looks full liao. Maybe u go earlier next time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah la, will try not to stress. Ate a very full lunch just now, too full I guess. What did u eat for lunch?

Lin

Whats the name of the Pham @ KKH and what does it sell?

Vv:- kkh pham sells all those common vit safe for mtb comsume, breastpumps, & those healthy bites/biscult loh. Ard the pham gt a lot stores selling baby products.. Gift shops. Ahh got 1 shop is for if u want to keep memories of ur NB, the foot & palms de thingy.. Another one is using ur NB hair to make brush de..

wow didn't know the CDA account can use for so many things, maybe i may use for the cord blood banking for #2. still have not decided.

Angie, hospital will give u a pack, its alrady included in the charges, u can't pick and choose what u want to use and not use. so no need to bring diapers to the hospital. same for wetwipes, will give u too as well as mat pads, if u need more, bring your own, cos any extra u consume, they will charge.

Viman: yup try to eat more, ask your hubby to smuggle more food for u.

Vv: ya lo maybe next time I go earlier..I haven eaten still super full..think bb hiccuping now too...he also very full...haa....

Lin: thanks for the info. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa - where is peace centre? How come the sand art so cute @ $0.50 each? My gal is fans of sand art..always do it @ shopping mall which cost from $6.50 to $10.90 depends on design! I bought the art & craft set for her classmates cost $3.90 each I tot it is cheap..ops!

starfruit - I fully bf my gal for >1yr and I got hard time wean her with bottles..so I tried all brands. I got avent, pigeon, nuk, chicco, tollyjoy..etc end up my fren intro me Bfree and Dr Brown and the last 2 seeks work for about 6 months. After which, we switch her to sippy cup and straw.

So this round, my hb insisted that I have to bottle feed since young..and I also no longer sahm, cannot direct latch most of the time. I'm thinking of buying back Bfree/Dr Brown..sort of used to it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv - aiyoo..brew chix soup is so simple! pls show her how to do it for 1 time la. Buy chix drum get her deskin for u then add 3 red dates + a scoop of gou qi and fill water in the bowl. Easiest way is prepare a steam pot, just use the double boil bowl with chix & ingrediants in and get her to steam with low fire for 3hrs. Then u consume at nite 1hr before u go to bed.

Viman - hmm..the answer doesn't seem convincing ler..pls check with gynae why there was bleeding. It is important to know the root cause, am sure they are specialist they know the cause better than us. Pls don't neglect as any mishap will resulted in regret. At the mean time, catch more rest, indulge more hi-calories food and get your hb to supply u milk. Btw, I read Anmum helps to pump some fats. U may wanna try maternal FM.

Starfruit: aiyo I alrdy opened the newborn diapers and pack inside the bag. That is why I was thinking so strange, that I have to pass the diapers to the nurse to use for my boy. But a lot of hospital list includes diapers, mislead me. Is there a need to buy the swaddle wrap? Or just blanket ok? In that case there is nothing much to pack except clothes for myself and baby?

Did u do cord blood banking for your #1? I still thinking if should do.

kaykay,

u use the breastpads to hold the leaks of bm so yes, stick on the inner part of the clothes.

dolly,

hahaha. u make it sounds like A1 ward no privacy le. Anyway, so long as u n ur hb likes can le =)

vv,

i know wat u mean coz i am also the same. hahaha. on mc but i will still wk and clear my work aft i get back frm the doc.

i think meimei helps me to eat healthy le..coz i didnt crave for fast food n unhealthy food as much as i did for my #1. only recently i started going for fast food and drink ice lemon tea, snacking =P

angie,

during my time, no purple lo. hehehe. i got lime green, neutral color for both genders =P

i bathed on the 2nd day in hosp le =)

i didnt use swaddle wrap coz i feel receiving cloth/towel or even those tradditional white nappy cloth can do the job as well =)

viman,

do try to eat more durian and hope can pump more weight to ur baby. jia you! =)

auroa,

ask u ah, does the shop at peace ctr opens on weekends or only weekdays office hr?

apple,

my boy likes do to sand arts too and running out of stock at hm...so nw need to stock up to keep him entertained during my confinement too.

Kay

Oh ok. Thanks for the info. If can use CDA Acct to deduct hor, makes a world of difference lo.

Angie

Ahh, better go eat sth okie. Nowadays I find it hard to distinguish if Im hungry. Maybe cos tum is bigger, so hard to feel it?

Apple

Aiya, she knows how to cook. Problem is, the handling part of the black chix. She scared mah ciam the black chicken will turn around to talk to her like that. Ask her chop away the chic head, she also dun dare. Then washing part, I feel like not clean lor when she did it for the 1st time. So nvm la. I rather cook myself since I will be on mc at least once a week now as scheduled for gynae appt.

Eh the bfree bottles now changed to bfree Plus leh... Anyway, u prefer bfree or dr brown ah? Which one better reduce colic?

Val

Aiyo, bb now low @ my pelvis hoh. Then I think she hiccup leh. Can feel regular tuk-tuk sounds like that. Hahahaaa... so cute.

Yeah la, now Im trying not to stress so much. Right now, seems like I have lotsa things to prepare before the partimer come. Honestly, I dunno where I should start to train her. She has no experience in this trade. Haz. How u gonna train yours?

Me also la, this #2, didnt eat alot alot.

Last time #1, I ate like a piggy man!

I think our meimei this time very yiu-xiu and kwai lo.

Angie

U dun need to bring your swaddle wrap to hospital de. Hospital will provide and change for you. U only need to buy 1 recieving blanket to wrap bb upon discharge nia. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Second-time mummies using Medela PIS Advance,

Do you know if NUK glass/plastic milk bottles fit directly with the breast pump connector? If not, which other brands fit besides Medela? Intend to stock up from Taka fair if it does. Thanks in advance.

Mudpie:

I am currently attending the Mt A parentcraft lessons too. The baby bathing class is Lesson 6 if your mom wants to attend. For my second lesson which was supposed to be physio, I did not know to go to the rehab centre and went seminar room, so attended lesson 6 instead. They managed to slot my replacement for lesson 2 physio to coming saturday instead. So guess you can try to reschedule if you want. I was quite disappointed from lesson 1 too, but found the rest that I attended so far useful (especially lesson 3 on breathing ex on labour, when to go hospital etc) since I am a first time mom.

Starfruit:

My gynae clinic also booked Mt A for me. They told me to send in the pre-registration form so that when we go to hospital during labour, there is no need to fill in more forms. I just pass it to the admin office when I go for my parentcraft lesson.

Angie, no need to specially buy a swaddle cloth, normal blanket will do or like val mentioned, the normal white diaper cloth will do. nurse will teach u how to swaddle. i got jersey material bb blanket, so easier to wrap cos have a bit of elastic.

I did cord blood banking for #1, now thinking if i should do for #2.. hehe

Angie, yeah, to add on, just bring clothes and stuff for yourself, and all the stuff u need for yourself like toiletries, camera, charger, computer etc. For baby, you just bring mittens, booties, cap (cos can be quite cold) and a set of new clothes for bb's discharge. then its ok already.

Vv: hee ok....dunno why ppl buy swaddle wrap for ar....so just one blanklet and one top for him to go home? I alrdy washed all his small cute clothes, super kiasu me...for me ok le...if I m hungry my stomach will start growling but my tummy not that big too, maybe cos it is my #1 that is why. Haa the chicken will talk to her? Super funny was lol when seeing this, but indeed the black chicken is more 'intimidating' than the white one. Your area no wet market? They will chop nicely for you le,,,I haven start taking herbal soups...can cook using normal pot?

Val: i tot of buying brown but if 2nd one is meimei then purple seems better. Such a relief to hear that can bathe, I was thinking bathe asap cos I hope to go by normal delivery, can't imagine the feeling of not being able to bathe after that.

vv,

hahaha. quite cute to feel their hiccups rite? but i wonder if its xin ku to them or nt. hehehe.

hmm..i will start with introducing the environment, my scope n wat i do daily then i will start off with the easy ones first so dun scare the new person off. hehehe.

ya. same here. my #1, in 2nd trimester i already eat alot le. hehehe.

Lately, I have been craving for desserts lo. i think my weight gain sld be quite significant frm now on as i started eating fast food, drink milkshake and eating desserts =P Now, i feel like having waffles with ice cream le...hehehe.

pixie, yeah i guess this is the form i faxed in.

Mt A quite efficient leh, i fax in my pre-admission form this am and in 2 hrs, i received the confirmation SMS already.

angie,

i saw the purple, its nice =) buy neutral color lo, easiest. =)

Actually it depends on individual le...some ppl dun bathe some ppl bathe. for me, i also bathed even during my confinement back at hm coz i dun believe in nt bathing. =P

Angie, i bought a swaddle cloth too cos i could not handle the swaddling technique for my 1st one. its really up to u, if u have spare budget, can get one, if not, normal blankies will do.

Val, when i was at doc to check up on sat, my mei mei has hiccups, then we could see and doc say she seems quite uncomfortable with the hiccup, my poor baby.

Angie

Yeah. For me, I will buy a new set la, for 1st time wear and discharge to go home ma. So will buy a set new clothes + new recieving blanket. Heeheee. 1st time Mommy is like that de, small tum tum. Good ma. I like that kind of feeling.

No la, not kS liao. I just started my nesting instincts nia last week cos I tot I dun have much time liao. But a chest of plastic drawers liao. Next will be washing of bb clothes.

My place no wet market, only NTUC. Haz. The last my mom bot from her own place wet market, the black chix so big and sweet lo, the soup.

Yeah la, my maid is like xiao mei mei like that.

Errm, talk about bathing hoh. 1st time I still green. So I only bathed a week later. Wah kaoz, cannot tahan lo. Too warm liao. This time round, I dun care liao. In hospital dun bathe but reach home must bathe - BUT use heater and also will be buying those confinement bath packs from Chinese Medicine Hall.

So its up to you. You may want to check out this confinement bath packs. Each time use 1 Pack. U go ask the Chinese Medicine Hall. They will explain to you.

Val

Xin ku? No la. I think maybe normal for them?

Yeah will do sth like that to the newcomer too. Eh now hoh, I also started to crave for desserts leh, particularly RED BEEN SOUP & BOR BOR CHA CHA... dunno why leh. Waffles Ice Cream! I still missed A&W's.

EH EH, RootBEER Float!

i just heard from one of my colleagues that our Head of Depart is leaving while having on saabatical leave. my partner knows about this & kept it to herself while both of us are under HOD.

what will you do if you were me?

Starfruit: thanks...so useful your info. I was going to pack so many clothes for bb...luckily...nut for giving birth we can choose to wear hospital wear? Saw some list which ask us to bring old night wear for giving birth, but I dun have. I wonder when will I be getting the pre-admission form...will it be so packed till no rooms of your choice? I hope they will upgrade me to suite if there is no single...haa....

Val: ya!! Ytd my boy hiccup like 3 times...sooo cute but I also dunno they will feel xin ku or not cos so small only...but v,fun to feel the 'pop pop' feeling. Me too...my mum will be doing confinement for me and she ok with me bathing cos last time she also bathed but now she very healthy too. But she said must must blow dry the hair, if not really will 'Jin feng'

starfruit,

aiyo. then i hope our babies dun get hiccups then.

Hahaha. I have v sweet tooth for my #1 right from the start lo. #2 only recently. I think mayb also coz last trimester le and we need more energy so my cravings for sweet stuffs now. In fact, i crave for prata, waffles with ice cream, durians, long john silver chicken, mcd choc milkshake, mudpie. aiyo...all soo fattening...

vv,

hahaha. i crave for ang mo style desserts instead. hehehe. yes, i miss A&E waffles too. Yest had banana pancakes and i feel sooooo shiok aft tt. hahaha.

angie,

i didnt blow dry the hair la...and at hm i on fan n aircon...coz i was having rashes then and i feel the itch whenever i perspire...and may/june period is just too hot to tahan la =X

dolly, this partner is same level as u? did u ask her why she never share the info with u? and are u close to her?

Angie, yes Mt A dun provide night wear for u, need to bring ur own. try and bring button down dresses, easy to BF and for doc to check your stitches.

During birthing, u will be in the hospital gown, thats all, no need to bring your own.

starfruit : nope, i'm one rank higher than her. i've yet to ask her. I'm wondering is it coz P&C so she don't reveal coz she's liaise most of the time with HOD while i'm don't.

Vv: I do bath in hospital wen I had my #1 cos was sweating so much during the delivery. Can't stand not to bath la. This time round I ordered the confinement shampoo n shower gel frm bp so I'll be bathing everyday n it's hassle free. Dun need to boil those herb thingy.. Btw my mum brought those herb for me to bath wen I had my #1 but I never use it at all. Still bath everyday with heater on. Haha.

dolly, sometimes HOD departure, the company may keeps it quite secretive cos may affect the moral of the other staff. how would this HOD departure affect your work/role? maybe the HOD ask her to keep quiet??

Val

Yeah lo. I super shacked now. Looking forward to my 3 days rest from work man! So sian now.

If I can lie on my bed to have a power nap, how nice! Hey, the small hiccups come back again. So CUTE!

Lin

Aiya, my hubby nagged @ me like hell last night when I told him I will be bathing @ home after discharge. He expects me not to bathe like last time for a week. I shut him off by telling him I'll be on my herb bath. So dun care la, a week liao then can be on normal bath liao. Impt is dun kena wind.

Dolly

Yeah Could be like what Starfruit said. Will there be a replacement? There should be, but mean time, maybe u all have to report to someone interim first?

starfruit,

hehehe. so tempting right those ang mo desserts. if only i dun nd to wk and can go for ang mo hi tea nw. hahaha.

dolly,

i second wat starfruit says, sometimes the co or the HOD will request nt to let the rest know till a later date...

For me, whenever someone is leaving in my team, I will always be the first to know coz i am the most snr here liao and he or the person leaving will ask me to keep it from the rest of the ppl in the same office unless they need to know...so i think u dun think too much of it ba. When time is right for u to know, I am sure u will be informed.

vv / val : heard say that there will be replacement coming in during May.. val, the whole teams are already awared about his departing the company... so since everyone's aware about it but no one informed me about this.

dolly,

mayb they dun wan to stress u or affect ur morale ba. Or mayb like u say, coz u dun aliase with the person ba. Dun think too much abt it =)

vv,

hahaha. me also v tired today...in gear 1 for wk mode nw. hehehe.

i dun wanna slp, i just wanna rest, read book and have some desserts =P

i think we mummies deserve a gd quiet aftnn before the nb arrives lo.

Dolly

Suan le lah. Sometimes our antenna may not be that long mah. Got replacement can liao, at least someone you guys can report to. Else, more problems.

Val

Yeah lo. Nowadays I try to be more relax liao. Me @ Gear 0 lo.

Starfruit: Ook, I shall stock up more of the night dresses, bought some really comfy ones from chinatown last month, shall buy more. =)

Here is the link for the herbal bath:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4975746.html?1299481077

Val: ya hor...may/june is the hot season...i havent tot of that but me too....i will surely sleep in aircon room...cant stand the heat...

vv: ohh ic, ya maybe can do marketing weekly with your hubby at those wet market. I realise the chicken more tender too from those wet market. Yup I heard about the chinese herb pack for bathing, but I also bought the herbal showel gel for bathing from the bp tog with the ginger cream, hope it works as well. Cos the herb pack seem quite 'lay chey'. Hee ya I also feel happy with the small tummy, just hope baby got space inside.

Lin: Me too, I got the herbal shower gel. But the shampoo I thought it is just normal shampoo? I got the ginger cream too, quite good!

Dolly: Yup I also agree with starfruit that they dun wish to affect others' morale, especially when you are pregnant, all the more they dun wish to affect you?

wow..I just out fr conference call and we hv our monthly tea break @ ofc pantry..having ang mo dessert :p assorted pastries.

Dolly - u mentioned ur HOD is not very good rite? since he is leaving..shd be good news to u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't bother about your partner for not letting u know, sometimes it is confidential. Think positive way.

Val & starfruit - go Shangri-la Rose Veranda for their hi-tea. They have superb selection of desserts. I had it 2wks back..really shiok but but but pls control, don't indulge too much.

apple

Eh I prefer Goodwood English Hi-Tea. My hubby & mine all-time fav!

Angie

Am doing marketing weekly basis from NTUC.

I gotta get my mom to buy the black chix from wet market, nicer hoh. Oh the herbal bath really good arh? Will consider getting!!

vv,

ya la. we need to relax and slow dwn abit while we still have time nw. hehehe.

apple/vv,

mayb we can arrange a hi tea session before we pop...coz i think its going to be hard to have a gd aftnn off once the nb arrives.

val, the $0.50 is the sand art kit leh... the walking pets balloon is abt $3++ which i ordered fr SMH forum BP seller (think called bbterror located at eunos). As for the openning hrs at peace centre, next time when i visit the pasir ris west mall and check it out (but hor, this mth, i not going as hubby this sat flying off for business trip... so need to wait till he's back then can drive me over there)... can wait till 1st week of april?

vv, thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

viman, jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, the sand art kits tat i bought is S$5 for 15 pcs (can refer to my FB pic posted at http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1753321949345&set=a.1693254847705.2094012.1127796546) considered mini sand art kits but super cute design.. i saw it at pasir ris west mall (neighbourhood mall) and bought it... ya, shopping malls majority selling fr $3 per pc onwards.. i thought it was a good lobang to buy.. saw tat the shop got another outlet at peace centre but i din took down the shop's name.. maybe next time i note down and let u know again.. i posted the pics at FB and i think 1 of the mummies asked me where's the branch (ops, pah seh... forgot to reply) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

vv - I pref Goodwood Minjiang tim sum hi-tea than their English hi-tea as their selection is not as much compared to Shangri-la.

Another place for good English hi-tea is Regent hotel.

Val - that's the idea! I been going hi-tea with my buddies & hb coz after giving birth we will have no peace to enjoy :p

Auroa

Where u MIA to? Heeheee...

Val

I just went to eat some cookies cos too sleepy liao.

Apple

Really, I havent tried Shang's yet. Will bring this up to hubby. Hahaaa.

Regent Hotel ~ used to have The Pastry Shop there. Apparently, it shifted to Marriot Hotel, issit arh?

auroa,

ya. the sand art kit $0.50 is cheap lo. the balloons i think i wldnt be shipping in on my own le as I will order bouquet and ask for delivery. easier for me then have to go find a place to pump up then transports them. I v lazy liao. heehe.

dun trouble for the opening hrs, i see weekend when i free i just pop by to check coz i will be in town area. =) if nt, i ask my hb to go pasir ris west mall to chk it out coz he is wking in the east! hahahaha. or weekend can ask him to send me there to see =P

apple,

ya lo. i also used to go for hi tea with my friends coz at least we can enjoy n chit chat in peace w.o having to look aft the kids. so mayb we sld org a hi tea session before we pop =)

vv,

i trying to keep myself awake by organising my boy's party. hahaha.