(2011/05) May 2011

VV

I've been seeing KK docs for about a month now, but admitted since last week cos they want to monitor baby's heartbeat, blood flow and growth frequently. As long as they see progress, they won't deliver. Hope the situation remains stable. Just now nurse woke me up and suddenly took my blood pressure and said it's very high! Not sure if it's because she woke me up suddenly or what, my blood pressure had always been normal. Hope no new problems...

Split

I think the cord is ok. They scan me every 2-3 days so they would have noticed something odd with the cord. As of now, they really don't know why she's so small. Which week did you deliver in, and how did you get the weight up from 800 g to 1.8? That is very good and I really hope I can do that too. I heard baby must be at least 2 kg before they can be discharged from NICU?

auroa, for body pillow, no need to wait till baby fair, u can go to robinsons, JL or OG under their matress pillow dept u can find.

I had one during my 1st pregnancy, but dump it subsequently and not using this time.

i am having my cup of starbucks cuppacino now and a cheese bagel, yummy.. hahah have not had starbucks for a long long time!!! hahaha..

Hi Morning mummies!!

Oh dear Dolly, how come gastric attack, you din eat enough or din eat on time?? Or you took something not clean..these 2 days better rest well.

Spilt..I also thot has to be 2kg before baby can be discharged. But if doc says can discharge at 1.8kg, shows your baby is really healthy and good.

Btw, anyone knows when is Isetan Private Sale?? Yty I asking my boy what gift he wants didi to buy for him..he give me 3 items..a lugguage bag cause he keep wanting to go disneyland, chungginton train and track set..

Starfruit..cheese bagel sounds yummy..as usual, I only can have wholemeal bread with egg and a cup of milk.

This morning I start to prick myself and took reading..and I very blur, did not wait for alcohol to dry and squeeze my blood, reader keep giving me error..ended up I prick at least 3 times to get it right..thinking today I will have to at least prick 10 times..ouch!!

Morning Mommies!

Dolly

Hope you are fine, during this last trimester our system will slow down and slightly weak. U take good care yeah. Sips warm water on & Off.

Hannah

I think I can undstd how u feel. During my #1, I went to resign after my ML and stayed at home for a few weeks. Felt rather good though @ home but somehow, sth is missing somewhat.

Viman

How u feeling today? Maybe cos u got some "shocked" after u kena woke up by the nurse. Try to relax yeah. I can understand how u must have went thru. But am sure all this will be over and fall into places. Important is, u must be positive and also, talk to bb more often [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wayne

Dun give up yeah. Very soon, all these will be over. Your breakfast ok ma.

Split

Yeah I agree with Wayne. It showed that your bb is healthy and can be discharged. But it must have been hard on you to look after your bb at then. U are brave! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv..my breakfast going to be the same everyday for the next 10 weeks..alternative is only replace egg with cheese..think first week still will find it ok..but the next 10 weeks wor!

Wayne

I know la... But for the sake of bb, REN REN REN! Okie.

Kaykay

All will be well for you; update us yeah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE: MAIDS

Somehow I just feel that maids are mostly the same. Once they tell u they wanna go, means basically they have not much mood to carry on and very easily influenced by exterior factors.

Remembered I was telling u mommies that my maid decides to stay.

Last night, she called her mom, wanting to inform her that she will stay. But her mom insisted that she is not up to it la, cant take care baby la. Even suggested to her say, tell her to come back to SIN again when my #2 baby grows bigger like my #1 like that. Sometimes I dunno what these pple are thinking. I told my hubby. Hubby said, these Indo tends to listen to their mothers de, esp so since my maid is those young type. Very early 20s.

This morning, I give it to her very straight; that I would love her to stay & Im confident to train her to be good in looking after babies, I remind her that NOW IMPT its -- if she wants to stay. Told her, if she stays, I will train her. If she wants to leave, I wont stop her. She cant decide in the morning just now before I left the house.

I really hope that problems dun come after another. Now is bb XS, then maid issue. Haz. STRESSED!!!!

Jus had my gynae checkup ytd, baby weighing 1.6kg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] growing very fast now. But my tummy seems quite small for 30weeks, many tot I only 5months pregnant.

Went for dental too ytd, haven been there for years, didnt know unhealthy teeth can cause preterm baby. Super painful my cleaning...after so many years....

Kaykay: yeah u will be seeing your baby tml too, everything will be great!

Starfruit: your breakfast sounds so yummy. I jus had bak gua with bread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly: U alright? Get well soon!

Viman: I really feel for you. But u must really stay strong for yourself and the baby. Hope everything turns out well for you.

Vv: aiyo u must really be very fan now. But if your maid really leave, you will have other help? If not very hard to cope also.

Angie

Ya lo. If maid really leaves, have to get new maid le. This time round, I will get old maid. Haz, less problems. But somehow, alot depends on luck. Si bey sian now.

Good morning!! Am back to work, but gonna drown with lots of emails [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

New colleague on-board, need to spare some times explaining the process too! gosh

starfruit - your b/fast very yummy ler..Love starbucks b/fast.

vv - If I were u, I'll not renew the maid. I find that their frickle mind will affect their performance. What if when the contract end in Sep and she decided to play u out by telling u she doesn't want to continue..u will be very lost! coz by then u need to return to workforce after ML..not much time to train the maid.

Dolly

What did u eat yesterday for lunch & dinner?

Any supper?

Apple

Actually I share the exact sentiments as you. But I can see my hubby quite like this maid as she is rather innocent & kuai. I do agree with him la. But nobody is perfect. She has a nice character but she is fickle-minded. There tells me dun wan stay cos thought I dun wan her anymore. Then decides to stay cos I asked her again. Now, tells me mother dun allow her stay somehow and she is stucked. Haz.

Now I super sian!

Oh yr new colleague, issit the one from HK to do your job de?

Starfruit

Oh I didnt realised u had starbucks for bfast, must hv missed your post! Must be nice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning ladies.

hannah,

hahaha. u mean FTWM has more freedom than SAHM isit? at least at wk n commuting to n forth wk we have some own time rite? nw SAHM 24x7, v hard to rest unless the kid rest and when they rest, it seems u have things to clear. hehehe.

nw is 1 kid fuss n cry...next time will be 2kids fuss n cry! =P

vv,

ya..thomas collection can be quite pricey. mayb u can consider to get the individual train with 4 or 2 tracks at $29.90 during Metro Sales. Normally will have 20% off.

Initially i started off with buying those big sets, $40++, $50++, $60++ then once he has enuff tracks, i switched to those smaller one at $29.90 coz he dun really need the tracks le, just the trains.

Ya, as long as its something he likes n will enjoy, price doesnt matter la =) most impt, he will be happy with the gifts =)

Hahaha, mayb he thot meimei will take his bed so he pre-emp u tat meimei will slp where his soft toys slp =P

i am tired too and sometimes i wake up in the middle of the nite to do milk for my boy then i cant get back to slp le..=(

auroa,

think there is another baby fair at expo but i think its nthing much lo.

dolly,

take care n recover soon. today, my voice is hoarse -_-'''

wayne_mummy,

*hug* nw u know le, next time rem to wait till alcohol dries up =)

Val

Yeap. So thats why need to wait got sales then buy will be more worthwhile. But come to think of it, it has been a long time since I buy toys for him. The last I bot were 2 books for him.

Maybe u try to let your boy drink milk before he sleeps. Better this way so that he wont wake up for milk again? Make slightly more than his usual feed maybe.

vv,

then can splurge alittle on him la =)

I did let him drink milk before he slps, most of the time i make extra and sometimes he can finish sometimes nt. Whether he finishes or nt, he will still wakes up for milk at nite lo. I am ok with getting up to make him milk la just tat sometimes cant go back to slp. hehehe.

vv - no, this new colleague was a replacement of my other colleague. We r on different role, but same dept. So gotta brief her some process on my end coz I think she might need to help out some of my work when I'm not around ba..

We actually short handed coz 2 analyst left..boss only managed to get 1 replacement coz market is like hot cake for SCM expertise now.

For Indon, they tend to listen to their family rather than think their own future. My old maid, eventhough the hb is not showing any good to her, she still believe his word! Imagine her world collapse when she gone home realised that the hb betrayed her and remarried! She txt me said heart broken..I told her she has to thank me for not sending anymore $$ to him to enjoy in another woman!

Val

Yeah for now.. Heehee...

Uhmm, thats the problem if you cant sleep liao after wake up, u will be v tired in the morning when @ work. For me, my boy kept waking up asking me to sleep wz him on his mattress. I felt my backbone getting haywire liao. But still cant possibly reject him. Haz.

vv,

i can tahan la but if he wans milk i will give lo coz he hungry then ask for milk and most of the time he will finish the milk.

apple,

i know but he wldnt ask for milk if he is nt hungry. so wat i do is i let him sip water aft the milk feeds in the nite.

dolly,

Ya, back to drinking lots of water again =( wonder cold drinks help or nt. hahaha.

wayne_mummy, u very brave la..I think I'll freak out if I need to prick my own! ouch..

One time when my girl was admitted, they prick her for blood test..I dare not hold her, get hb to hold her tight..coz I don't have to confident to calm myself when I see the needles & what is she is in pain..very kelian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

your b/fast sounds OK to me, bread with egg or cheese to alternate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] be good la..

Dolly

You cook or buy from outside?

Val

Then u must really have more rest as and when u can @ office and also @ home when your #1 sleeps. But how u feeling today? Am getting more & more sleepy each day. Si beh sian!

apple..the pain is still manageable, is the moment you have to prick the most scary..but i very happy with my 1st 2 reading, is within the range..am going to prick again for lunch.

I think my boy is brave like me also..that time kkh drew 5 tubes of blood from him and he never cry..the nurses still give him stickers and toys.

Vv and Val, i also need to buy toys for my boy..he already told me his list..got to wait for Isetan private sale when there is 30%.

vv,

this week abit bz so trying to finsish my wk as much as possible during office hr so i can go hm on time to rest lo.

Today still having stuffy nose + hoarsed voice =P Quite alert today as had an escalation early this morning that got my entire body system up. ahhaha. mayb later aftnn will be tired liao. hahaha

dolly,

i like cold water on a hoarsed/ sore throat coz the throat freeze v shiok. hehehe. But i try nt to drink cold water as I am worried may have cough =/

val: peifu u still dun mind waking up middle of nite to make milk. i was so desp want to wean off the nite feed once i start work. eventually, he weaned himself off at abt 6 or 8mths. oh no! i forgot exactly when liao!

Ash,

i always believe he only ask for milk when he is hungry. If i can get up, i will wake up to make milk n feed him coz he is still growing. Somemore he dun eat alot of solids and dun snack so if he wans milk, i will give =)

Even when we are overseas, he will also ask for milk at nite so aft so many yrs, its already a habit for me to get up to make milk =)

Viman the cord can't be see from the scan I also do scan weekly but can't see any problem with the cord. It is not coiled around the bb but was coiled like my bb turning many rounds. Actually was very worried before the surgery the bb was only showing a weight of 1.3kg that's y we are quite prepared that bb need to be warded but surprising he came out to be 1.8kg guess the scanning just give an estimation of bb weight but I've been eating alot of durian after I know bb is not growing well since 24weeks and drink milk day and night plus eat alot of eggs not sure if that help. Hope ur bb is growing well

Vv : rgd your maid, my maid also tell me that her mum prefer her to go back and she also quite indecisive.. She told me that she's willing to stay cos her mum & childrens need $$$$. Next, she told me salary is not a issue so I told her that I'm paying sgd370 and she wants to discuss with her mum..

Dear experience Mummies,

I am a first time mum and would like your advise whether to buy a breast pump now or after delivery?

Also, should i buy a auto or manual pump & the brand/model?

Dear experience Mummies,

I am a first time mum and would like your advise whether to buy a breast pump now or after delivery?

Also, should i buy a auto or manual pump & the brand/model?

By the way, any recommendation for Jamu Post Natal Massage?... Thinking of signing up with Origins Jamu... any Comments?

Dolly - u seems like having gastric attack quite often. Have u informed ur gynae on your condition? LS plus gastric attack the feeling very xin ku rite?

Congrats on your new motherhood journey. Sorry to interrupt but I have the following BRAND NEW items for sale. Please PM me if you are keen.

1) Tollyjoy Rubber Mat

2) Medela PureLan Nipple Cream

3) Tollyjoy cotton wool

4) Different designs of giftset

starfruit, the body pillow, any idea what is the material stuff stuffed inside? I tried the type at Spring Maternity.. very comfy but pricy (costed ard $170++)... still thinking whether to buy or wait till bb fair to buy (whether got sale price) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wayne, 1st week normally will need to prick abt 7 times a day (depending how many meals u r taking).. once established yr meals readings, will prick after meals only (provided yr before meals readings is low)... persist on (dun keep pricking on the same finger, will kenna blue black leh).. jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv, think it's better to let yr current maid go.. now she's so indecisve... wants to stay but mummy dun want her to stay... wait later stay but later wants to go... rather let her go now and train a new maid rather than when in confinement or need to go back to work and train a new one... xin ku now than later.

dolly, u feeling ok now?

today went for my GD test and to realize tat my GD test is for 2morrow.. really sotong.. luckily the lab staff allows me to take, otherwise really a wasted trip there... dun know why find tat the gulcose drink super sweet and feels like puking... luckily finished the whole bottle but can't help burping later on...hope the results come out pass.

any mommies banking cord blood for 2nd child onwards? now i'm thinking if its nec? if any need for cord blood, can use #1's one right? *touch wood*

Auroa, gynae only ask me to prick 2 days this week, then fax him the result. Think after that he will let me know if I need to continue or not. Hubby also say i silly to keep pricking on the same finger..hee

Ash, I did not bank for #1, still thinking if I should bank for #2. My #1 got thalasessima leh, also dunno can use #2's one if really anything happen...

Dolly

Maybe your stomach slightly weak and cos of the porridge which is soft in nature, contribute to LS somehow. U try to eat abit of rice wz soup the next time once u recover. Must be hard on you. Hope u feeling better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haz, your maid & mine seems like same same eh. They all very KNS de loh. How old is your maid now?

Val

Haaa, escalation sure make you wake up.

U got take medication? Must drink more water yeah. Cold water will "irritate" your throat hoh :p

Split

So u ate durians during #1, any major difference in weight?

dolly, isit gastric flu, can trigger loose stools leh, pls take care.

VV: hahah no worries

apple/angie/wayne, yeah it was yummy!!!hahah i think i may have SB brekkie again tomorrow.. hahaha so extravagant!

wayne: i also think you are so brave, jia you!! this ordeal will be over soon.

dolly - just realised u ate porridge..it could be the "wind". My ofc cleaner just told me don't eat porridge, coz just now she help me to tar pao lunch and I ordered porridge. She said "aiyo your stomach so big liow still eat porridge, later got wind no good ler" she mentioned the porridge gotta stir while cooking, so tends to have wind. Unless I eat the fish rice porridge which I don't like. End up I took fish slice beehoon.

Auroa - hope your GD test result turns out fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] relax ya!

Val - don't drink cold water, warm water with lime should be good. I'm drinking liime + oregano mint leave..hehe

Hello all!

Today, hubby's at home coz he's not feeling well...

Va|: well, kind of... At work, your time is your time. Got no one to disturb. Was talking to my cousin last night and she asked me why never sleep. I told her that it's the only time in the day i don't have to monitor anyone or think what to cook/play/clean. =) When #2 comes, i think i sure pengsan....

dolly: you better take care, drink more fluids and rest well....

Auroa: Hope the glucose drink stays down too! You done yet?

June1: You could get a manual one first so as to standby coz you'll never know if you need a pump on a regular basis or not. If you're like me and had to pump out for every feed, investing in a good electric pump is important. The ones i know of are the medela PISA and freestyle, ameda lactaline and avent pump. If not, then a manual one or a not so powerful electric pump will suffice, such as the medela electric mini. So leave buying of the electric pump to after giving birth coz then you'll know what needs you have.

vv: I think the ball is in your maid's court now so it should be her more stressed. If you want, can give her a deadline and that will be her final decision. Then you can just go ahead and make your alternative plans lor. Otherwise it's really mei wan mei liao...

hannah, done.. already back home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the results will be out tomorrow bah.. i seeing my gyane on this thur [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

- Post Natal Massage

I've got origins jamu too. found them to be quite reasonably priced.

- Breastpumps

better to get after birth and if you are intending to express in ofc. or if you have to express due to not able to latch. if bringing to ofc, i will get the medela freestyle. found it to be the easiest to lug ard.

Auroa: Ok, keep us posted! =)

Wayne's mummy: I think it depends on where you do it. Mine also got results after 2 hrs and i did it at TMC lab. I heard that another mummy had her results given to her only via phone coz it was done in a lab in another medical facility...