(2011/05) May 2011

Dolly

Yeah, I can understand. Since he can claim kids medical expenses, then the more he should not bother abt the bb bonus liao. Think he also getting pek chek. So ended up nagging at you.

Dun QI le, no good for your lil one in your tum.

Yeah la, they all men dun understd the real condition becos they are not the one looking after the kids. They only see surface and everytime, my hubby asks me to take leave bring him doc. Actually I always 'lan-de-li-ta' (lazy to bother abt him). I will always answer him, see how 1st. Then he will start all his DA-DAO-LI lah, wat la, tis la, tat la. I just turn deaf ear. For now, u cool down & dun bother abt him 1st. Now impt is to monitor yr gal condition.

Wayne

Oh dear, okok. Then u better go back to the sinseh again and ask them why tui liao, still pain. U have to be careful leh. Whenever u walk down stairs, must always hold on to railings. Very dangerous de especially now we getting 'heavier'. Walk lesser for now, okie.

Auroa and Starfruit..thanks, I will be more careful..I got see the steps but dunno why still fall..mostly lucky is I hold on to the railing and never hit my tummy.

Now I need to wear support belt to support my tummy as it is causing my pelvic area to be pain when I walk or stand too long.

Also bought a pair of comfy shoes to wear.

Dolly, for me, I will use the CDC to pay for CC bill as it is easier, just monthly giro deduction till it finish and can use it for quite sometime before it deplete.

Btw, I think baby bonus is going to be review again..I always suay not to hit the review..same goes for my boy who do not have CDC account for 1st born.

vv/dolly, for my case, it will be my hubby nagging at me not to get gan cheong if my girl is sick and he can tells me to bring her to see GP and not PD.. bcos medical fees, he can claim fr his medical a/c for GP consultation but not PD... for mild cough/flu, he will said tat no need to see doc and let her immune system fight it... he's not very supportive in letting my girl to be absent fr school and said tat i will spoil her for letting her to be excused fr school and she will make it a habit... in the end, we discussed and agreed tat only certain sickenss like fever, diahorrea and vomit will need to be excuse fr school for at least a day and monitor if need to... i guess for my side, i more gan cheong than my hubby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wayne

Same here. I also calculated for this 2nd child CDC. By the time I put in 6K, total 12K just enough to cover 1st boy cc nia. 2nd child de, I gotta start all over again on the savings. My 1st one didnt have CDC also.

wayne, ya, i think our tummy getting bigger liao and abit clumsy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] same here, when they review the bb bonus, i also not in the "category mth"... if really review, think it will be effective by july or aug, most likely not applicable for us unless for taxes...

auroa, u cna supplement with child fibre pills. i am doing that now. cos if my ger dun poo for 2 days, very jialat one.

Your fall sounds painful leh.

morning ladies.

auroa,

thanks! i will check out the mail later =)

dolly,

great tat u called up the cc. at least feel so much better ya. hehehe.

hope ur gal will be fine soon.

wayne_mummy,

oh dear. mayb aft tui na bcame more painful as they may "help" to disperse the bruise and also coz of the force they use when massaging. mayb go see gp to take mc and rest at hm ba.

hehehe. me too la, my boy also didnt manage to get the CDC acc too alth same yr as the rest of the babies who got it. anyway, if have bonus dun have nvm.

Auroa

Your hubby is the more calm type. For my hubby, he is the old fashioned type. He always think that all toddlers must see doc once sick. I told him it depends de lor. Last time I still green, kena influenced by him. In the end, I got bottles & bottles of medicine at home. When my boy about 2 yrs plus old, I switched from PD to GP, I realised till now coming to 4 yrs old, as long as the condition is under control, no need GP unless super high fever like 39Degrees. Even at times at 39, I just use the bullet (spare at home) to insert in his anus by myself. 5mins later, fever will subside. I feel myself more like doc like tat... Haz. I can claim my boy's medical fees, but I dun wan him to be too dependent on doc visits unless necessary. Like last time, he fell with lotsa blood and broke one front tooth, I brought him to dentist.

Gong Xi Fa Cai everyone! keke, manage to login today!

wah, looks like lots of mummies are feeling a bit discomfort, i am not alone!

Wayne/Auroa, u got a fall? be careful! my last preg, i got a twist at my waist while jumping to get clothings..end up last 2 weeks before delivery, i was on MC cos it too painful to move ard.

btw, anyone getting breastpump now? thinking to PISA but 1st or 2nd hand leh? price different more than 60%

Val, how I wish I can rest at home but I took leave from 27/1 afternoon till 8/2. Just started work yty, very paisay to be on mc again. Then my deadline to complete my asset checking is end feb, I doubt I can complete on time..yty I still have to push all the laptop to my IT dept, so tiring...luckily the guys there is kind enough to help me tag the asset.

vv..same here...the 12K only enough to cover my boy till end of K2..and we can save the cash that we paid monthly now to pay #2 CC when it is time to go in..but hor my hubby say dun want..continue to pay cash for #1, then save the 12K for #2, isn't it the same?

please proceed to PD or GP immediately if your child has fever beyond 39deg C and it persists even after medication, cooling pads.. might be a viral infection .. please bring her to PD immediately ...

sounds like my boy.... and he had influenza A... they will put her/him on tamiflu if she/he tests positive for it...

please dun let the fever go beyong 39eg C... very dangerous and can lead to brain damage plus loss of hearing and/or sight...

get the anal suppositories from PD on standby and learn to insert from nurse. you will need KY jelly as well to minimise discomfort... hope this helps.

BTW, after a viral infection, the child is very suceptible to a secondary infection, usually a bacterial one, you'll see runny nose with cloudy phlgm. might require a round of antibiotics...

you might add some Vit C to their diet... but not mandarin oranges!!

starfruit, my girl very picky... even gel or the fish cod oil, she also refuses to take.. i think it will be hard for her to take the fiber pills leh..

dolly, dun mention it... i also smsed my friend (actually she's my hubby's close friend...esp the period when my girl attended infant care and frequently sick) for advice whenever my hubby and i can't reach an agreement.. i will tell him tat yr friend practise this method and maybe we can try it out 1st.. more or less he will listen lor ... previously when i wanted to buy the bumper playmat, my hubby was against it and after i smsed this friend and got her support and the purchases went thru..(shit, dun listen to me but to his friend)..haiz....

vv, my hubby more practical and the type tat thinking is "square" (well, he's a engineer and he only thinks abt the prob and solve it step by step type)... nowadays, mild cough/flu, i dun bring my girl to see PD but use leftover meds for her and so far ok...

Oh another thing, parents will be the next ones affected by this viral fever and bacterial infection so protect yourself...

take care... its going around and its not helping that folks are not taking care of themselves and keeping themselves home to recover completely ... cant blame them too... we all hv to work.

vv,

my hb also the calm type. till the extend when my boy 1st had high fever i wanted to bring him to A&E in the middle of the nite but he asked me to wait till morning. in the end i told him i will take cab to the hosp on my own then he willing to get up n send us to hosp -_-'''

wayne_mummy,

true also. quite paisay and some ppl may talk. possible for u to wk frm hm mah? if nt try to request to wk frm hm to minimise travelling??

Auroa

Yeah lo. I also used the leftover medicine cos really alot left. Only when left little bit, then coincidentally, he not feeling well; I will bring to GP to 'stock up' the medicine. Hee, Im adopting my Mom's way last time lor. Should be ok de la. Unless really sth fishy, I believe in maternal instincts. Sometimes I just dun feel right, I will just bring him to GP. So far, only once cos that time I suspect hfmd. So but now OK la, touch wood.

Val

Hahahaaa, you very cute leh. I also always use CAB to 'scare' my hubby. Until he L L, drive us lo when my boy v young that time.

bubble_pearl, why u jump to get clothings? me not getting breastpump as i got it for no1 in 2008 and using it for no2

pravina, how's yr boy? is he in hospital now?

auroa,

same here. we tried to give my boy cod fish oil but he refused and i didnt enforce him to take as personally i also dun like! hahahaa.

the only time i give him supplements in vit c liquid form was when we travel aboard and to cold countries then every morning will add the needed amt to his juice. other than tat, i actually dun like to rely on supplements as i always feel its nt gd to rely on supplement at such young age as once they stop, they will tend to fall sick easily.

anyway, nw i also use the leftover med first. if still nt well or for too long then i will bring to see GP first then PD.

hahaha! sometimes guys are like tat la! they dun wnana listen to us but listen to other ppl and when things happen i will tell him it proves i am right. hahaha!

vv,

hahaha. i dun mean to scare him la but to tell him if he dun wanna send us its ok, i will find my own way out =P

Auroa, i should recommend u my fibre gummy, its like candy.. hahaha anyway u should try and get a sample and let her try, dun buy whole bottle if not waste of money lah.

vv: we all expereience now lah, in taking care of our kids.. hahaha.. i also feel like a doc sometimes.. haha cos i too will monitor a day or 2 cos even if i bring to doc, they will give fever med and ask me to monitor. but if fever shoots too high., i will just bring to A&E in the middle of the nite.. cos there will be increase med dosage to bring it down.

Wayne, some say, no need to save the baby bonus, just use it first.. heheh i have not used mine though, dunno when i can start using cos he kindy dun accept.

vv, my girl simply refuses to take the meds prescribed fr GP.. she only takes the meds given by PD (think it's bcos it's sweet and the nurses sweet-talk her tat orange (running nose) colors are oranges flavor, white (cough) color is banana flavor... *faint*) my girl really "buy" it and will ask for which colors meds for her to take...

val/vv, hehee, i also use the same method too.. told my hubby tat he dun want to drive us to bring my girl to see doc, i will go and take cab on my own... got a few times, he din want to go.. so after seeing doc, i dun update him on my girl's condition and he buay tahan and give in after tat... ;)

auroa,

no matter how much we coax and trick my boy, he simple refuse to take med...everytime he falls sick is a battle for us to feed him med...till the extend i have to wait for him to slp then use syringe and drop by drop feed him...or for those med tat arent so strong smelling, i will add to his milk. if only my boy is willing to take med when sick!

hahaha! dun update him is a gd one! hehehehe.

val, ya, i dun get it when he doesn't listen to me.. really vomit blood.. ya, i also told my hubby tat he dun go, i will settle on my own.. sometimes i think we are lucky to be in spore as transport and getting ard is so easy...

starfruit, fibre gummy? more like sweet type? which brand/sample can get?

auroa,

yes. lucky its easy to get ard in sg and also safe enuff for us to go out with a kid in the nite if there is an emergency.

sometimes rely on hubbies may as well we do on our own rite. hahhaa.

val, at least yr boy can use syringe to fed when during sleep or can add it to his milk.. i tried both methods and failed... my girl immediately jump up fr her sleep (thought she was deep asleep liao) and can immediately puke out her milk and tells me tat it's not her milk... *faint*

ya, my hubby cannot tahan tat he's not informed of his girl's condition and when he asked my girl how is she feeling, my girl just looked at him blankly and tells him "I'm very sick".. think he feel guilty of not sending her.. so now if need to, even after work and w/o eating dinner, he will rush home to send her to nite clinic..

Auroa, lazy to take the clothings off from bamboo pole which is hang in the ceiling..so jump lor..lol

Fibre gummy: i bought a big bottle for my son and he dun want to take leh..headache..sweet sweet one leh

auroa,

my boy will know i feed him med but i white lie to him. hahaha. Told him he imagining things or he sick till he thot i feed him med. hahaha. bluff my way thro lo. 1 feed can take 30mins -_-'''

hahahha! hey, i like it tat ur gal will says she v sick to the dad and make ur hb feel guilty. hehehe. gals always have a way with the dads ya. hehehe. anyway, at least nw ur hb will rush hm gdgd. =)

bubble pearl,

wah! u jump to get the clothes! cant la! u must be careful now with the tum. dun be lazy n jump ho. next time ask someone to get it for u la. hehehe.

Starfruit

Yeah lor. We are Mommy-loctors.. Heehee

So far, there's once I nearly wanna bring him to A & E when he broke his front tooth; already went to dentist. But when sleeping the nite, the gums looked as though still bleeding like that. Scared me until I nearly wanted to bring him to A&E. Then my hubby said, dun 1st and monitor. Thats the only time. I still remembered I cant sleep that night, kept waking up to check on him... saliva la, some blood stains on the bed lor. Guess its the saliva thats making the blood unable to clot faster. Haz...

Val

yeah la, they buay tahan us saying we make our own way cos it makes them look abit 'useless' ma.. Heehee. I always tell my hubby this becos I want him to know, I can independent too de lor. Heeheee. Without him la.

Auroa

Wah, yr gal so cute. Heeheee, even choose colors arh. My boy ok with med and in fact, love medicine lor. Sometimes he even asked, why today eat two types, yesterday eat 1 type. etc.

Yeah, PD med very sweet de. I find PD med quite slow-healing maybe cos they are mild and of cos better becos I also didnt want my boy to take those strong med. Recently, I changed to another GP, giving mild med de. I felt his normal cough & flu are not bad when it comes back. Dunno why...

Wah, u champion leh. U didnt update your hubby?

For me, if I didnt update my hubby, he will TL me de lor...

bubble_pearl, hehehee... next time, dun do it again... take care... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, ya, my girl is very good at sweet talking us... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm going out now to return my girl's library books, later coming back to fetch my girl fr cc and going down to my gynae's clinic for my 25th week checkup.. will log in again 2morrow... have a good day... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv,

yes. sometimes we have to be tough and let the hubbies know we are independent too and we do not need to rely on them =) But cant always try to act strong, sometimes must be abit weak and make them feel that they are still the men in the hse. hahaha. v contridicting rite? hehehe.

for me i feel the gp med nt gd enuff at times as take le still dun recover then when go pd, they give another med and my boy tend to recover faster.

auroa,

gals alway v sweet de. i am waiting to see how my hb will "melt" with the arrival of meimei. hahaha!

Morning mummies I'm admitted to hospital ytd night due to regular contraction every 2 mins now under observation hope baby dun come out so fast

split,

oh dear! is the contractions still v regular currently?

hope ur baby will be good and stay for more weeks. try talking to ur baby. do keep us updated ya.

Val

Yap. We have to make them feel superior at times. Else they will be 'sad'. Hehee...

Uhm, I know of some very good PD med very effective de. My boy's PD is a good PD and direct doc, I like him. But his med is on mild side. And he is rather ex-. So once my boy stablise at CC, I switched to GP le. Now on current GP (2nd one), so far so good la. Heeheee... And this GP has a very funny look and my boy didnt cry when see him. So I guess got 'yuan'. (He used to cry when switched to 1st GP).

Split

OOooh, How u feeling now? What did the doc say? Which hospital u in now? Try to bedrest and not walk more.

auroa,

my son recovered in Jan.. but i was on nite duty watching him, taking his temp, sponging him and used up all my annual leave and CCL..plus being a single parent ( hubby away) was tough... then we were away to NZ which made his bacterial infection slow to go away.. now he is fine except for a phlgmy cough, lungs are clear...

best to see PD and standby a few of the medications... and write it down when to administer.

suppositories and KY jelly

paracetamol ( progesic)

zyrtec for babeis and toddlers ( from pharmcy)

polaramine

rhinathiol...

PLEASE SPEAK TO YOUR PD for more advice... i'm not promoting the above meds or am i a doctor.. FYI

Val & Auroa: lesson learnt!! Scare scare now..now dun dare to play play liao..

Split, you take care, hope bb can stay in till week 36..

vv,

sad and scally they go out to find other woman ah! hahaha. j kidding! hehehe.

My boy hates to see doc too =( any doc he also dun like =(

bubble pearl,

ya. nw cant play play, wait till our lit ones are out =) meanwhile, just be gd ok. hehhee.

starfruit,

is it coz the antibiotics has got a strong smell/taste thus she dun like? actually my boy's PD taught us to mix the strong med with melted ice cream and feed him. Let the ice cream melts till like yogurt n nt cold then mix with med and feed.

sorry, i meant 1 hr to feed her the med. not 11 hrs.. hahah

Bubbles thanks for the tips but she needs to take in the full 3ml, if i dip in lollippop can ensure correct intake>

starfruit, after u drip several times..u can try let her drink the med..cos sweet sweet liao..keke, i dunno if this works for u. My GP told me at least the kids take med then dun take at all.

Good afternoon! I've been lurking around all this while, so glad to see all of you!

I'm expecting my no.2 on 29th May, I have a lovely dotter who'll b 4 this year. Realise there are many mummies who'll be expecting no.2 too! Although this is the 2nd time, I feel like I've forgotten a lot of stuff leh! Haha.

I like to check if any1 has the list of items to prepare for confinement? I like to prepare b4hand for my mother (though still early now) who would be doing my confinement this time round. Please share with me your tips as I like to do it well this time.

Hope all the children who are ill will get well soon! There is a bad bug gng ard, my dotter is not spared too =(

Hi thanks for the concern girls was advice to come to kk by my gynae instead as we're afraid the bill might be too high if we insist of going to mt a and stick wif my gynae should the bb come out preterm.. Now contraction seem to stop le but still can't discharge yet guess I'm too stress since ytd is like first day of work after the new yr for me n gotta attend 2 meeting n 1 is night meeting till almost 10 plus.. Was after that meeting den I experience the pain n contraction

Hi spilt,

Hope it is not real contraction and baby will stay in your tummy longer..take care and keep us updated.

Regarding see doc, usually I try to feed with existing med and if doesn't seems to get better, I will bring him to see pd, my company panel specialist is dr Ang Ai Tin from TMC, so I will bring my boy and see her as I only need to pay $15 each time. But hor I feel she is a bit Kan Cheong type, fever or cough, will ask for blood test, xray etc..luckily my boy is those type that does not scared of needle so still ok.

Just to check with mummies delivering in TMC, who will you choose for your baby's pd?? I dunno if I should choose back Dr Ang Ai Tin or request for Dr Ong Eng Keow (need to pay extra).

dolly, I thot your gal is at home today??

Welcome, Elyn!!