(2011/05) May 2011

Dolly

Yaya... Hahahaa... Uhmm, Im craving for Ba Cho Mee @ Simpang. Where u gonna pack Laksa?

Bubble

Yeah lo, why ah. My boi will eat rice la, but only with gravy. Then he will drink soup.... Issit because our cooking dun fit their taste?

sh,

wa so nice to be on leave.

Recently my boy’s appetite is not very good. He keep holding food in his mouth, dun swallow then take a long time to feed, then he also dun take a lot. Any of u experience this? He is at 20mths now. I noticed he is salivating more recently, suspect his teeth is popping that’s why his appetite decreased.

Wah... now very full.

Suddenly our big boss wants to give us a treat at T2 crystal jade. Just finished a full lunchie come back liao, now feel very sleepy.

bbPooh

U try to demo and show him to chew his food and swallow. Did u allow him to watch tv while having his meals? Try not to; so that he can concentrate to eat.

vv, no lah..i think they not used to the texture? For mine, he is quite smart as he only take siewmai..and he will eat 2-3 at one go but minced meat he dun like. Anyway i bochap, just make sure he take soup with nutrious lor.

Back from lunch, we went to chinatown for fish head, oyster egg omelette and veg..yummy

sh, thhks. i decide to book another Massage Lady who is highly rated in my 1st birth thread.

BBPooh, if its really teething, then its just a phase, his appetite will soon bounce back after it. how old is it? which tooth? if molar, its usually very painful.

Dolly, my side still sunny leh. I had indian food for lunch but dunno why dun feel well aftr i came back, so end up threw everything out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bubble

Texture arh??? Actually I thought he also dun like to chew the meat cos to me, its as if like the meat not nice to chew or not soft enough. Weird is, he likes tofu & "spicy" stuffs.. Hahahaaa.. Weird hoh. When I cook Jap Curry, he will stand beside me and watch me stir the curry and keep asking me, "OK aleady??" He will have a bowl of curry by himself with another bowl of rice. He will use one spoon to scoop the curry and pour over the other spoonful of rice lor... So enjoy like that... But no meat no veggie... :-(

Dolly

At 1st I wanted to eat BA-CHO MEE de... Haz. But nvm la. Just now the lunchie not bad. We kept laughing non stop. Hahahaaa...

**We didnt sit with our big boss on the other table** Lucky!

Ops, raining?

vv,

Daytime he is at nanny's place where nanny did mention that at times he is like that too. At night when we bring him home, he already had his dinner, so we will still let him take a bit of our dinner but in front of tv lo. Hee, bad habit of parents.

These 2 days i tried to put him at his table and chair but he veri busy climbing up and down. Think I will put him in his high chair at the dining table so he will be confined.

Starfruit

Issit becos a bit "heap" outside... and after that u come back to aircon office, feel unwell.

Put a bit ointment near your nose there and sip warm water yeah.. Take care.

vv : how old is your boy? he started to eat curry le?

Went to run errand just now.. buy ingredients for making of tira.. will be making tira again on this thurs for friday lunchie @ co... then packet laksa back & had a quick nap... so tired just now...

bbpooh

Haz... I can understand la. Actually if you can confined him to the table then ok. For my boi, he cannot. He likes to stand on the chair. I dun understand leh. They all like that de... Cannot sit on the chair for too long, very impatient guys..

So what I do now is, I will sit on the floor with NO obstacles, NO distractions, NO maid. I will ask him to come sit on my lap and I will get him to self feed him, while he sits on my lap. Then I will talk to him awhile. This is to "distract" him from running away or even go another place...

Maybe u can try this. But MUST really no distractions de hoh from the 'outside world' la, including yr hubby (means hubby must make himself scarce).

After which, he finished his dinner then I will eat mine. Unless Im busy, no choice. Then I will ask maid, which actually no good cos he will bully the maid.. :-(

Dolly

My boy 3.5 years old liao. Strange part is during preg, I didnt take much chilli at all. But he seems to have a good craving for spicy stuffs. When I eat ba cho mee, he will sometimes want to eat the spicy noodles. And funny is, he eat one mouth, drink one mouth water, and repeat the process...I did told him not to take liao since spicy, he said he wants.. until maybe 10 mouths, he will stop. I think hoh... maybe he is one that likes exciting things.. Hahahahaaa...

vv, yup, my boi also like tofu, only egg tofu and he like curry too..haha..give him a bit only. how old is yours? Mine cming 25mths. you want try if he like siewmui?

Dolly/VV: thanks for the concern, i think gastric juice build up in my tummy and maybe it was too spicy too. I didn;t finish my food.

Very sian leh, coming 5mths alredy and i am still puking

I am sipping cold coke now.. hahah cos the coldness and the gas takes away the bitter taste in my mouth.

Dolly: wha i am drooling as i read your post, wanna try your tira.. hope we have the opportunity soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my ger's diet is terrible too, she only wants rice and meat, and she dun take veggie, i resign to the fact already and hope she grows out of it soon!!

vv : wow.. what a tender age and starts eating spicy... will be it bad to their stomach? you know i gave a small portion of mango to my girl then she start diarrhoea the next day.. so the GP was saying that it could be the sweetness of the mango has trapped all the sugar/salt content from her body... so she's keep purging out...

so we dare not let her take anything which is slightly acidic le...

starfruit : must be too spicy... i'm also do not dare to take too spicy... coz i'll have gastric attack then follow by diarrhoea too..

heeheee... now tira is one of my expertise... :p sure will have chance one...

bubble, sorry, haven take the pics... latest by this fri, ok? took my girl to the cookies workshop in the morning and after lunch went to simei and she saw all the rides, bunny, car, etc and wants to sit in it... hubby only gave her 1 ride and after going to the pets animal world, we took a cab back... wow, during the cab ride, she cried all the way back bcos she din get to ride in the barney ride... arrugh... now she doesn't want to take her nap & kept on thinking of her ride.... sigh... her cc will be closed from 27 to 29 Dec... so will be looking after her full day... might MIA for this few days..

Bubble/Dolly

I think its becos the taste is new to them so they like. Somemore, spicy will come together with some saltiness.. So maybe thats why open up their appetite. But I will dilute a bit la for him of cos..

Actually my boy stomach is also very sensitive. But maybe cos both my hubby & I are chilli lovers and he followsd our genes? Now am only worried cos he dun take meat & veg.

Bubble

My boy already 3.5 years old liao. That means yr boi abt 2 years old ah. He dun like siew mai leh. He just dun seem to like meat lo.. dunno why leh.

Starfruit

Yeah,... try to cut down spicy foods yeah for now. Maybe later stage when u crave for spicy foods again, then eat a little bit but not too much.

Dolly

I think mango no la. Mango sour de leh. I didnt let my boy try. So far, I only let him eat apple, orange, papaya, rock melon & watermelon. The latest newest fruit he eats is DRAGON FRUIT which he enjoys quite a lot. Maybe u let your girl try... its not too sweet and also not too spicy...

now my girl is watching SCV cartoons... hubby said that let her watch and dooze off... now sitting in the living rm and watching her half closed eyes watching TV... sigh...

spicy food: my girl can't take spicy food.. if she happens to eat it, she will "tear" and needs to drink lots of water and will refuse food for the entire meal... she will not eat the jap curry that i cook but will eat if it's cooked by the cc... strange... she only likes the soup that i cooked only... she also dislikes vegs... so in order to make her eat vegs, i chopped the broccoli/spinch and mix with the eggs and steamed it... she will take lots of it and mix in her rice but if vegs alone, she will use spoon to scoop it out...

vv : she has ventured durian, apple, orange, dragon fruit, plum, prune, nectarine, peach, papaya except mango... so we only let her tried alittle.. so didn't know "accident" happened!

re: food

my boy oso don know why 2 wks backs tart rejecting pork.

previously we gave him wat he eat wat....still can say he wan "bak bak" (pork).

now got to cut the meat till so thin till his tougue cant feel the bak.....then he wont reject.

auroa, np, take your time. Let your gal watch tv and doze off lor, they are like tat now

vv, how about fishball? My boi like fishball but not fishcake..weirdo..all kinds of fruits my boi dun like. For example, for apple, he will eat and chew chew chew and puke out the flesh..faint.

supplements: i am starting my boi with Vit C supplement, after seeing he so picky and gog to school soon.

Auroa

Wow, yr girl still at least willing to eat the veg. My boi will use his eyes to scan thru his rice 1st. No trace of cabbage, bean sprouts, green thingy ever appear in his bowl of rice. :-(Last time he used to love beansprout, french beans and cabbage, I suspect he learnt from his frens in cc, refusal to take certain foods esp veg). Haz....Now really plain rice with gravy + soup. He will even ask, "what soup are u cooking today, Mommy?"

Dolly

Wah...at least she had tried durian leh!! I wanted my boi to try durian lo. But I think must do secretly without my hubby knowledge. He is anti-durian de lo.

Bubble

Oh yeah yeah, he loves fish cake. And one more thing, he loves to eat fried foods. Like fried nuggets... Haz...

auroa, if you are concern of their fibre/veggie intake, can try giving fibre gummies, i started my girl on it.. so far so good.

bubble, thanks... i really pei fu how kids can endure the "sleep bug".. she shakes her head and try to shake off the sleep bug and "force" herself to continue watching the cartoon.. haiz...

vv, i really chop the vegs till so fine that like minced garlic... my girl sometimes will refuse to eat the vegs (even minced) in her bowl so i will tell her if dun eat, no TV, no toys, no books, no outing, etc (all her fav stuff all dun hve including mummy) then she will guai guai eat lor... my sisters said that i very good at "threatening" my girl... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my girl also last time like yr boy, can eat anything including raw salads but after going to cc (they got sauce and more varieties), she starts to "reject" home cooked liao... so previously what i do is that cook brewed soups so that all the "jin hua" will go inside the soup and mixed w eggs (her fav) and rice for her to eat... so that she still got her nutrients lor but after sometimes, she can eat anything and will go back to being "picky" once in a blue moon loh..

starfruit, got kids fibre gummies? where got sell? thanks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv : no choice... coz our family's a durian lovers... so automatically when she found out we're having fruits... she'll wants to join in.. if she don't have her share.. she'll whine, throw temper till everyone gives in... hahaha...

Bubble

I havent try Bak Kwa leh. Wah I tell u, I think he will tell me that whole container of bak kwa is HIS lor..!!! Everytime he likes some food hor, he will tell me the whole container is HIS... Haz.

heehee, my girl lying down now.. hope will be dozing off in less than 10 mins... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa

Yeah lo. Last time our babies so good de hoh. After go CC, like changed persons leh. Like wat u say lo, let them drink soups. No choice de. Now, I can only make sure I have his fav gravy (brown sauce) ready for every dinner lo.

Dolly

I dun really fancy fruits cos Hoh, I very lazy to cut fruits and my maid is not v good at cutting fruits.. So for me, my own fruits, I will cut myself.. Hee, maybe me too fussy liao.

vv : we've fruits every day after each meals.. so that's how we cultivate her to take natural source of vitamins... initially my maid also doesn't know how to cut orange.. we teach her how to do it.. even at my IL's place, they eat fruits after each meals too.. now my girl's a fruit-lover...

vv, can understand how u feel... u know sometimes i feel like packing home cooked food for her lunch... really cannot stand it when they eat in school and comment that cc food better (bcos got different taste of sauces)... sometimes took the trouble to cook liao and she refuses... there was a few times that she pushed the bowl and it fell to the floor... i chased her out of the dinning rm.. no dinner for her.. so upset as spent so much effort to prepare the meals... arrugh..

My girl, even though not in child care, has now been exposed to outside food. I think she's starting to realise that food can taste stronger than what we've been feeding her, so nowadays, there are times when she will reject home cooked porridge. Not until i add some soy sauce will she continue to take the food. But i guess it's kinda normal ba.... But must make sure she takes more liquids so that her kidneys can process the extra salt/sugar/etc better. I still haven't introduced her to sweets tho... Keeping her to those Happy Melts. =)

vv/dolly, we eat lots of fruits too at home, but my ger just plain refused. not even peer pressure can get her to eat fruits, the only fruit she take is watermelon and must depend on her mood one. Its easier to get her to take the watermelon juice than the fruit itself. so unhealty, thats why i was so pleased when i saw the fibre gummies, if not, her diet damn unbalance.

Auroa

Yeah lo.. so sian. But we spetn few hundreds each month on their childcare. Then if I still gotta cater her foods, I will even be more upset. For a period my boi refused some foods in school. The teacher asks me prepare biscuits and bread. Ended up, he eats all these @ 5.30pm. Kaoz!! So he didnt even have appetite for dinner anymore. Haz.

Re: Gummy Bears / Gummies / Sweet

I didnt expose her to all these @ home BUT the school exposed him to all these. So now, I dun even dare to buy those healthy gummies for him cos he will wobble the whole packet. He loves sweets. When we forbid him on sweets, he will bawl and said he hungry la, why dun let him eat sweets blah blah. Haz.

dolly, my ger also take tons of fruits during weaning cos i started her on fruits, but when she grew older, she just refused

vv: i am lucky, my ger dun take sweets and gummies, she is very suspicious of unfamiliar food and if she never see before, she dun take. e.g. she dun take raisins! be careful if you kids take raisins, cos can cause serious tooth deacy, must really brush. so technically the gummy is the only "candy" she takes.. hahaha, i had to coax her so long to take the 1st one. but i need this, cos i need her to take more fibre.

anyway i control her intake, she takes 1-2 a day only, sometimes, she dun want.

Dolly

Haz, I also dunno. But the thing is, they often got goodie bags from those birthday parties of the kids... So all those have sweets. At times, teachers also give them sweets! Im very unhappy about it but at then, no choice cos cant change school since no other schools nearby. Now I have a choice liao. BUT on waiting list.

Starfruit

Yea, he used to like raisins lah. But now he will reject. Dunno why but he rejected all his favourite foods now. Maybe change of taste & appetites bah.

dolly, just continue if she likes fruits. and good that u expose her to many diff types cos they get more picky as they grow older, i think its a phase all kids go through, just need to see how serious it gets. I have frens kids who reject meat (cos of the texture) but most, just plain reject veggie, dunno if its the taste. For fruits, not too many cases of kids not wanting it, i think my ger is one of the exceptions!!!

starfruit, thanks.. will check it out... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, previously she used to be full day.. now half day, am in school...

vv, my girl also used to whine/bawl even we dun let her eat ice cream/sweets/cakes (all her fav stuff now)... we will not give up and leave her to cry... after she calm down (sometimes might be 20mins later), then will reason w her... now she knows that by crying/screaming/whining, she will not get her way... it's a tough process (hearing her crying and sometimes she said dun want us anymore... arrugh, bcos of sweets/etc... arrugh) but got to endure loh...

the reason why i took her out from her previous school is that i found out that they gave her apple juice, sweets and cakes for snacks... the teachers claim that it's apple juice meant for kids... not too sweet type.. i dun know how sweet but judging how much my girl asked for it everyday made me wonder how much she drank in school... her teachers sometimes will gave out sweets if they behaves well... i dun mind stickers but sweets... i confront the teachers and sometimes they said no but i can smell the sweet in her mouth leh.. if dun want me to find out, at least let her drink lots of water to wash it down bah... last time we catered dinner for her cc (bcos they closed at 8pm and got dinner catered) my girl simply refused dinner on sat/sun partly food taste is different and she dun hve habbits of eating w us.. after a few weeks, she starts to eat w us and can take "bland" home cooked food... there's a few times that i called up the previous school that i picking her up early and wants them to pack her dinner so that i can feed her back home ... sadly to sad, the food can barely see vegs leh and it seems like the porridge got some "salt

taste... maybe soya sauce bah...

vv: good that he rejects raisins lah, cos raisin is a terror to our kids teeth.. cos they dun allow us to brush very well, so tendency of it getting trap is very high, i have 2 cases of fren's kids who need do extensive dental work on their teeth cos of raisins, so i am also very scared. actually this applies to all dry fruits, we really have to becareful.

auroa : wow... sounds scary... i'll be her to school soon.. wonder will the school do the same to the kids too??? for half day, does the school provide meals/snacks to the kids as well?