(2011/05) May 2011

morning mummies... hope everyone have a good rest over the weekend. welcome new mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

didn't vomit as much over the weekend, hopefully MS is subsiding, since i'm 13 weeks already. appetite still not as good, hope it will pick up soon.

auroa and bbpooh, hope your little ones are getting better.

Seem like no one ready to share Where...... To get beautiful & modern maternity wear yet??

Let's jia you in whatever shape we are in now!!!

hi miko, i have no intention of getting any maternity wear yet, since i'm not putting on any weight, and i have quite a number of dresses which are baggy enough to last me another few months. i do know my colleagues rent their maternity clothes, so that they won't spend too much $, maternity exchange i think. maybe the other mummies will have suggestions [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

miko: Maternity clothes are usually very expensive. u can try spring maternity, i find their prices slight better cos sometimes they have offers for regular tops. Other places u can try include dorothy perkin, fox etc which has maternity range. otherwise, i will just got to places like Topshop etc and get clothes in a bigger size. u can also consider ordering online from GAP or Old Navy or mumsinmind for nursing wear, they have nice and resonably priced items too. for other places, maybe other mummies here can recommend. hope this helps.

blur: yeah... it's a wet monday... but thanks god that we've a clearer & better sky...

vv: same old thing; fried beehoon... i'm at 13 weeks now...

auroa: my girl too had so much phlegm... my mum will bring her to yu guo this noon...

starfruit: yeah... kiddy/tom are selling the wet tissue "Pureen" for SGD4.20 per packet... while the fair is selling at SGD5.20 for 2 packet... that's the only good buy item...

Starfruit, I tot of getting 28 days. Maybe 14 days each from the 2 caterers?

Starflower, my gynae gave me the fish oil, Neurogain when I visited her during my 11th week. I'm taking it every morning. She told me we can start eating fish oil from 2nd trimester.

miko, if u like to shop online, u can try asos.com. I always buy their clothes. As for the maternity wear, nv bought before but they look pretty nice.

apple, ur maid is Indon or philli ?

u guys kept talking abput chwee kuay. went to have chwee kuay at Bedok interchange on Sat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mummies to be.

Last nite was another battle as my boy keep crying for almost an hour. Then 3am feed him some milk & fever medicine, he puked a bit of milk out and din wan the rest. Lucky this morning, he managed to finish 90% of his milk.

After the long tiring weekend, need to rest today. Sent my boy to nanny, now going to take a nap then visit gynae later to review my Oscar results.

Maternity wear,

I can't wear my norm clothes already, esp bottoms. This round, tummy & buttocks seems to grow faster, omg. Got a few new pieces from Spring Maternity. My old maternity clothes a bit big to wear now, save for later.

bubble - I have been hiring maid for quite some times..nearly 5yrs. I really dunno how much we set aside. Maybe $800 a month? Some mummies here also having maid, maybe they can share..coz it depends on nationality and things/food you provided.

vv - she came on Sat. So far so good. I told u she worked in UAE for 5yrs under same employer, that's the reason I took her. If she can stayed there for 5yrs, can't be that bad. But I just keep my fingers cross. At least she uses her brain to work, this is the different fr my previous Indon that gave me prob. Like my hb said seems like she is OK coz he haven't hear me "sing song" to this maid..haha

good morning mummies...

hope you all had a gd rest over the weekend.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

miko...i use to get maternity wear from spring maternity and modern mum...or you can try gap/ON online... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Joyce...i'm 9wks nw and MS still as bad...vomitted lots over the weekend still hope it really goes away soon...nw i'm so afraid of eating, everytime eat liow the next 3hrs will be suffering....until vomit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] was never like this for my 1st preggy....haiz...

bubble...

i've got a maid whom i left in my mum's plc...nw indo maid is abt $350/mth + $170/mth for govt levy...personally i prefer phil maid if the main objective is to look after baby but i dun like it when they have day off....so i got a indo maid instead but they are not as clean...thk when my maid's contract is up i'll get a myanmar's maid...my aunt got 1 and she is quite good so i'll try, px wise is abt the same.

miko: i agree with joyce Phua, u dun really need materinty clothes now, just look for those tops that are a bit babydoll cutting or baggy, it should be able to get you thru the 1st 2 trimester. u will be surprised to find that these clothes can fit u well and is so much cheaper than maternity clothes.

i dun think i plan to buy lots of maternity clothing, need to dig out my old mat clothes. just bought 2 pairs of mat pants, hope it can last me thruout the preg.. hahaha.

bubble pearl: i did not know cotton on has maternity range, which outlet did u see it at?

dolly: yes that is so much cheaper, did u lug back a lot? must be very heavy.

jerejoy: why such a special arrangement? 14 days each side? hahaha.. but its a good idea too.

my 1st gynae started me on DHA fish oil in my 1st trimester already.. i am still puking like mad, so it think i am not ready to start if not sure waste the fish oil lah. even obimin i have stopped for 2 weeks, cannot stand the taste and smell. need to activitely start when i hit my 2nd trimester.

luann, i've been through the same since i was 8 weeks. start to feel slightly better for 2 days. just have to endure. like all the mummies here shared, try to take small meals, so you won't feel too bloated until want to vomit. or ask your gynae for anti-nausea pills, it will help a bit.

Morning, everyone..

@apple: my gf took Phil n seemed ok so far.. My previous indon gave me headache too..

Now on the way to gynae cos of spotting.. Stress stress

Starfruit

Personal trip loh... on 10nov.. Looking forward to it. Haz. cos very sian of work in Office. Hope to become more energetic after this holiday (hopefully) U? When and where?

Dolly

Yeah loh. Actually breakfast nothing special hoh since its breakfast @ work. If breakfast outside, then different la... Hows yr work today?

Apple

Yeap. Understand what u mean. If she stayed put there for 5 years, seems not bad le leh. Slowly loh, maids are like that de. The other day, my hubby just told me not to be too fussy with current maid, otherwise, she will run away. But sometimes I find my maid quite "toot". Then hubby said, if they smart, they no need to come here work as maids liao.. Haz.

Bubble Pearl

Cotton On got ah, which branch ah?

BBPooh

I am quite skeptical about fish oil. Can we take now and is it good? 2nd trimester take means from 13 weeks onwards? Take together with Multivits?

bbpooh: u can try the marina sq outlet. also for dorothy perkin, the bugis junction outlet use to carry, not sure if there still have. yeah think i can only start after MS subside. i realised i cannot drink too much water, i fnot, will puke too.

vv: i am heading to HK on 17th.. heheh planned way before i knew i was preggy.. shoul dbe just passing 1st tri by then, hope all will be good. if not, sayang cannot eat all the nice food there. how many days will u be in taiwan?

Petpet

Dun stress, relax and sayang yr tummy and tell bb - tat bb & u must be strong; and remember to have at least a week of bedrest after gynae visit. I had the same last Monday and rested @ home for a week.

Starfruit

Yeah loh, mine also. I planned very early this week de. Thought of a very adventurous trip actually and planned visiting outskirts of Taipei. But in the end, realised cant walk too long so amended my whole itinerary to a more kid-friendly plus preggy-friendly de loh.. sobz sobz..

Me also same like you, hope by then can eat all good food. I missed HK dim Sum eh! Can de la, must rem to eat abit of every type of food yeah, thats what I planned to. I will be at Taipei for 6D5N.. Should have planned longer.. Hee. U leh, how manys at HK this time?

RE: Dim Sum

Any one know where to eat nice dim sum in Singapore? Medium range price.. has this craving for prawn dumpling, har gow... egg tarts!!

vv: so sianz with my work... had nitemare; coz of this colleague... agree with you... sometimes find my maid never use brain one... always tell her... "please use your brain"... hubby also said.. if she know how to use her brain, will she be working here?

Vv, I also had some cravings for dim sum. Went twice last 2 sats to lei garden at chijmes. They serve quality dim sum over there.

Starfruit, my frd gave me the suggestion. In case we get sick n tired of one caterer. I tot it's a gd idea too.

Petpet,

dun worry too much, think everything is gonna be fine.. keep us updated ya?

vv,

the cathay restaurant dim sum @ The Cathay is not bad, price wise is ok also.. Pearl River @ Suntec also not bad.. my fren says Cherry Garden @ Oriental also nice but think that one is buffet and quite ex..

for Dim Sum, read from forum that Red Star is one of the best though standards seem to have dropped.

http://www.ladyironchef.com/2010/01/11/best-dim-sum-singapore/

My personally favorite : Geylang Lor 17

Wan Dou Shiek (pronounced in Cantonese)

affordable & good. though parking may be a prob..

luv their char siew pau, har kar.

if u walk down the lane. so many good food. also have you tiao and soya bean curd/milk. of coz, lots of fruit stalls selling durians

since i preggie, crave for dim sum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy: Hi5 for The Cathay Restaurant. i had wanted to recommend this place as well.. heheh just had dim sum there a week ago, love the har gao and siew mai.

VV: yes price range wise for The Cathay still ok. but better to book and make a reservations, if not,long wait for a table.

Dolly

Yaya,,,, my hubby also tells me not to get fed up with maids cos theirs minds very straight de loh. Aiya, very sian de la. Oh wat happened? Yr colleague "gives" u bad dream? Share share..

Yum Cha - bo buffet on weekends, call liao last week.

Bubble

Oh ok ok. Fox I know they have but very limited de eh. Tung Lok Chinese food is pretty good leh. I know they have buffet but dunno which branch. Which branch ah?

Mudpie

Morning!!! Wat u have for breakfast?

Jerejoy

I love Lei Garden food. I prefer the Orchard branch but last went was years ago.

Happy

Hey, Cherry is good I know but ex- hoh. Cathay ah...!!! Their chinese food very ex- but very good - been there once cos bil got some citibank points to offset. I randomly saw they have some dim sum buffet.. Ahh! I will go google.

Hi, I'm new here. Right now about 12weeks pregnant. My EDD is 9may. Have been reading thru some of the recent posts.

VV: for nice dim sum, u can try Peach Garden. They got 2 outlets at Orchid Country Club n Thomson Plaza.

Starfruit

Heee... Actually I crave for all kinds of foods.. Heee.

Christine

Yesterday I also went thru LadyIronChef too. She is under my Internet Favorites!! Heee... Yap, I had been to Geylang that one. Dim sum considered good but still there? One thing good is - until night time also have. That was probably 10 years ago I last went.

My crave for dim sum is sudden de cos I recently ate egg tarts and realised egg tarts so nice! SO reminded me of DIm Sum

yoyo,

boring bfast..hehe...cheese pancake & soyabean drink..LOL

but my lunch will be better..home made carrot & yam cake..whahaha

i thinking of ashton steak..but hv to eat well done..abit half hearted....

if u happen to google & had some nice dim sum, pls share..whahaha..i love harkow too...& like u say..wkend dun hv buffet..& i find places usually very crowded....nwadays..all wkend i stay home to nua & nap..gets tired very easily..

wats for lunch everybody?

vv, me and hb used to go for late night movies (12am) b4 i was pregnant. after movie (around 2am), we go there for supper. there is also the beef hor fun and frog leg porridge round the corner. just find parking during peak a bit difficult. also the environment also v "zhar", a lot of china ladies "waiting".

like it there coz the food is always served steaming hot. not pre-cooked.

oh ya...i got a qns..

for bras, i bought 2 from modern maternity. does it come in diff cup size like our normal bra? cos d lady mentioned like sizes r 36 & abv.& seem dun hv cup size de...but i tink i went spring maternity to take a look.seem to hv cup size wor...so which is which ah? anybody can share?

dim sum - ming jiang at goodwood park is really good. Sometimes they got promo, worth a visit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Try their dim sum hi-tea on weekends ba!

vv: i also crave for egg tarts, had some nice ones from tung luk. The Cathay egg tart is nice too.. but my all time fav is the egg tart from Tung Heng CHina town. maybe should pester hb to go get me some.

Mudpie

Uhmm.... Cheese Pancake - very healthy hoh! Wah your lunch sounds delicious leh. How did u home make?

yes yes, I will share.

Aston - I like hoh! My mom's place got 1 branch. I think this weekend, I will go and attack!!!

Jmcloh

Congrats & Welcome!

Peach Garden - I think I had seen before somewhere, rather good! Heeeheeee, they have buffet or just ala Carte?

Apple

Min Jiang is GOOD!!! I brought my mom there, again 2 years ago during her birthday. Their dim sum hi tea, yes!! A little ex- though.

Lunch

I pack from my boring canteen - Fried Rice with 3 side dish - Spring Onion Fried Egg, Chicken Nuggets and Egg Tofu.. Omg, realised like Im eating alot...

yea...i jus realise near my house ter hv 1 ashton outlet..hehe...yest i went check out after dinner cos i heard ppl talking abt it near my area..& i found it...hur hur hur...tdy morning on way to work..still thinking abt it..kekeke

my aunty made d carrot & yam cake for us..so mum brought them home.tats y we hv home made de..LOL

i dun tink u r eating alot lah..3 side dish nia..not as if u eat 3 plate of rice..hehehe...

starfruit...tong heng egg tarts nice!!!! but abit sweet leh...once inawhile shld satisfy ur cravings...LOL

talking about egg tarts - I missed the macau egg tarts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I used to eat them when I'm in HK and Shanghai. Now no more biz trip..gotta endure the craving..haha

vv - Sometimes the hi-tea got promo.

I packed mee siam for my lunch..hehe

I'm ordering tingkat dinner for 10 days. Let the maid settle down then train her how to cook simple dinner.

Ladies, be mindful when you go 126 Dim Sum place at geylang, i went there recently and kenna summon. sian... the dim sum become more expensive by $70. sucks man.

having lunch now. mix veg rice, steamed egg, brocoli and meat with tou fu. not too bad.

VV: i not too sure abt whether they got buffet or not. Maybe u can call up n ask? Sorry, cant help u on this.

Btw, ladies, i read fr previous posts that fish oil oni to be taken fr 3rd trimester?

But i rember my 1st pregnancy gynae gv me fr 2nd trimester onwards. However, for my 2nd pregnancy now, my gynae (this gynae is different fr 1st gynae)oni gv me obimin n calcium. So shld i go buy d fish oil myself??

vv, maybe u want to try the Paradise Dynasty at Ion Orchard, #04-12A. They are serving 8 different kinds of xiao long bao, got the ginseng, cheese, sichuan, furong, crab roe, black song lu and top grade goose liver and for only S$13.80. It's featured in U magazine.. go to www.paradisegroup.com.sg to view... i thinking if tomorrow after my Mount E apppt got time and go and eat with my girl...depending whether she obedient or not.... there also got 18 types of ramen to choose from too..

Mudpie

Heehee, shd try Aston, really good. Cheap n good.

No la cos alrdy fried rice ma. So I tot got kiam Liao ma then I still add somemore.

Apple

Mee Siam, the last I had at bedok camp, the ingredients are v miserable. Only the sauce and egg nia wz beansprouts...