(2011/05) May 2011

The haze is really really bad..sickening!!

My throat getting itchy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I drown myself with a lot of warm water..haha..I cannot fall sick, my new maid coming this Sat. Gotta stay home to train her. I noticed new maid tends to fall sick easily for the 1st 1 to 2 months. If I'm sick, definately she will get it too.

I've done some google on whether can take sashimi... and got these info:

"Women who are pregnant, need to take extra measures to avoid three fairly widespread substances: listeria, mercury, and toxoplasma. Lack of evidence of some bad effects of certain chemicals like sweeteners makes it hard to classify what foods to avoid during pregnancy. When in question, it is better to avoid the particular food and choose a healthier alternate. Of course, consult your gynaecologist if you have any question during pregnancy.

1. Raw Meats: Raw meats such as sushi, seafood (especially shellfish), rare or uncooked beef or poultry foods should be avoided during pregnancy due to the risk of coliform bacteria, toxoplasmosis and salmonella.

2. Deli meats including hot dogs: These deli meats might be contaminated with listeria bacteria which may result in miscarriage. It's safe to eat deli meats if you reheat them until steaming hot or avoid altogether.

3. Raw eggs: Raw eggs may contain salmonella. Some Caesar salad dressings, mayonnaise, homemade ice cream and custards may be made with raw eggs. In addition, unpasteurized eggnog should be avoided during pregnancy. Definitely one of the top foods to avoid during pregnancy.

4. Fish high in mercury: Another important food you can't eat when pregnant. When you consume large amounts of mercury, your baby may suffer brain damage resulting in developmental delays (for example, delays in learning to walk or talk). Consumption of fish containing high levels of PCBs in their fatty tissues is linked to decreased attention, memory, and IQ in babies.

Fish that contain higher levels of mercury include: Shark, Ray, fresh tuna, Mackerel, Grouper, sea bass Moderate mercury: Eastern oysters. Low mercury: Anchovies, king crab, sanddabs, scallops, Pacific salmon; farmed catfish, clams, striped bass."

dolly,

The prenatal course in Shichida covers the basic theory of brain development, practical techniques and home practices. It's different from the prenatal course from hospital which teach mostly how to take care of newborn baby. My boy is in Shichida and I hv seen great improvement and decided to go for this one since I hv attended the prenatal course for my boy previously in States.

Hannah, thanks! I really hope the ms will end soon. Though I'm happy that I'm not gaining weight and losing weight during my 1st trimester but the ms feeling really sucks. It seems to be worse than my 1st pregnancy.

Auroa, vv, I'm also into tvb drama. Subscribe to starhub to watch the serials. Like chasing the 9pm show and I actually bought from the VOD channel to chase the whole serial.

rach - haha... i know what u mean. i feel paranoid. cos everyday, my weight fluctuates so greatly, can be a difference of up to 2kg! so my concern is that i do not eat too much, need to watch the weight, so that i do not put on too much, too soon.

cheerful

just be sure u will not go hunger is the priority. don't let the lil one inside be hungry. set aside the weight gained, lets jiayou together to lost the weight after we pop!

Stupid haze. Seem getting worst. I suddenly wake up from my dreamland cos smell strong burning smell in my room. I got sensitive nose. Now running like tap. And itch throat and eyes. Haiz.

jerejoy, i normally go tudou.com to watch. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my sis also rent from the video shop so i gets to watch but i copy and save it for later to view.. shhh....

Cheerful, dun worry abt the weight. Do u know that morning before we poo/pee and weight ourselves, there's a differences of 500g to 1kg (hehehe, i did weight myself previously but after sometimes.. forget it)... after we ate, the weight will be heavier... personally view is tat as long as we ate healthy and benefit the little ones, weight gain is not the main concern... besides, after delivery, can either BF or go for massages... sometimes i will show my "big tummmy" (before preg) to my girl and told her that bcos of her that i got a "big tummy" but mummy got no regrets .. she simply come over and kiss my tummy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. of course, there are times, she will give me a werid look and said "Mummy, shame shame" and come over and pull down my t-shirt... hehehhee...

2nite can't sleep as my girl fever is back since yesterday afternoon... althought it's from 37.4 to 38.5, i still worried that it might go higher.... so bought her to yu guo in the later afternoon to massage and also to buy ling yan ingredients to stand-by. Also at the same time, i visited the chinese sensei for my sore throat and running nose. not sure issit bcos of the haze, my forehead and ear area hurts. Looking back, i seems to be taking lots of meds after i got preg.... took meds for diahorre, rashes and now flu...not sure what's the impact for my bb but hope bb's ok... when i took the chinese syrup, i feel a pull at the uterus area... maybe bb dun like the taste... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

When my girl is sick, she tends to cling to me and wants to sleep with me. Hearing her wheezing cough and tying to breathe at nite, makes me unable to sleep. She also try to "hug" me to sleep but i try to push her away as dun want to rise up her temp... in the end, whole nite her hands and legs kept "searching" for mummy on the bed and "kicking" me sometimes on the legs/tummy/hands/body, etc... quite disturbing and unable to sleep... arrugh...

Morning!! I am on the way to TMC for my NT scan! Haha, excited leh.

Haze: v bad now, even indoor, I also hide in aircon room.

Weight: hmm..think this pregnancy I am controlling cos I have yet lost weight from my 1st n still standing at 68kg. Hope to gain at most 5kg.

Ms: I still having it now n no sign of subside. Anyone like tat?

Good Morning everyone!!

Im going to NT Scan shortly; leaving at 1230 for lunchie 1st then 2pm appt... Very excited.

Dolly

I am having egg tarts today for bfast. U?

Oh, ice-cream and mayo contain raw egg?? Means cannot take arh? :-(

Auroa

I think yr bb will be fine, dun worry as GP will know wat to prescribe as long as they know u preggie. Yr girl - did u sponge her everyday? My boy was like that when he was younger, fever never subside. So, I sponge him at least thrice a day. He detests sponge very much but no choice. Sometimes I even sponge him up to 5 times. So after a week later, his temperature managed to subside. U try.

Bubble

I am having MS still but v slight de. Particularly every after meal. Update us after yr NT yeah :)

dolly: "Fish high in mercury: Another important food you can't eat when pregnant. When you consume large amounts of mercury, your baby may suffer brain damage resulting in developmental delays (for example, delays in learning to walk or talk). Consumption of fish containing high levels of PCBs in their fatty tissues is linked to decreased attention, memory, and IQ in babies.

Fish that contain higher levels of mercury include: Shark, Ray, fresh tuna, Mackerel, Grouper, sea bass Moderate mercury: Eastern oysters. /b{Low mercury: Anchovies, king crab, sanddabs, scallops, Pacific salmon; farmed catfish, clams, striped bass}."

WOO HOO!!! King Crab, here i come!!!

Had Fish & Co Seafood Platter for 2 with hb yesterday. SHIOK! Think my cholesterol level sure shoot up this time.

bubble & vv: Hope everything's fine for the NT scan! =)

http://picasaweb.google.com/107435811188765719302/MummyBabyStuffs#

dear mtbs, sorry to disturb again. have added many BB clothings. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] all in gd cond cos only let my gal wear not more than 3times. lol.

i've alr delivered my gal & looking to clear the abv items. hope mtbs can find them of interest to u.

pls refer to abv link for related pics & descriptions. all items are described to the best of my knowledge. items u see in the provided link are all up for grabs (except for those that have been RESERVED), items once SOLD will be removed from the link.

if keen, pls SMS to 96495528 for fast deal. pls do NOT leave PM or postings in the forum as i'm unable to keep track of them. calls from unknown nos. will not be entertained.

here's wishing all mtbs a safe & happy pregnancy!

vv, ya, will sponge once i get the chance... same here, my girl also dun like to be sponge. She will fuss and makes lots of noise but no choice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, i'm supposed to go back to clinic for injection but as i'm sick and i can't bring my girl, have told them i might defer to tomorrow to inject instead. Also told them that i'm on chinese meds and ganna scolding by the nurse. Said that i shd go to family doc instead of taking chinese meds... not sure what to do now.. go and see family doc and get western meds or continue to take chinese meds.. sigh...

Auroa

If u ask me, I would feel that going to your own gynae to take sick med will be the best. But if really no choice, I feel that going to GP Western Doc is safer and stick to one GP. Can u get someone else to help u look after your girl like during the daytime? Yr sickness seems quite bad and u really need ample rest - I see u like that, feel very heartache :-( How about yr Mom? I feel that, better to think of alternative childcare for yr girl, yr girl then can get well and u yourself also get better. I know & understand it is hard to "separate" her from you just like my boy from me. But sometimes u have to let go for this moment, so that everything will turn well for u & yr girl. My 2cents worth advice. Heehee...

Dolly

Yeah outside fog very bad hoh.

Ok, take care yeah. I think the fog is making everyone feeling uncomfy and sick.

Vv, I am done w my scan, bb keep moving cannot take a nice nice full pix.. Haha but the ultrascan lady say bb v guai liao allow her take so many pix. Haha! Vv remember to drink more water n hold ur bladder till the scan hor

good morning mummies..

vv & bubble, hope to see u updating us with ur gd result later. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, drink more water. I think it will help

vv, think later i go and see GP for consultation...think more safer too.. have surf the web and can't any information of taking chinese meds during preg.. my girl can't go back to childcare centre as she's having inconsistent fever... can't get any1 to look after her.. my mum is at woodlands... too far for me.. sigh..

Morning mummies, every am, i feel so sick, i am having both morning and evening sickness.. so sian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Aurora, my gynae advised against me taking chinese med. so for my 1st preg i did not touch any chinese med/herbs at all. The concern is of accidental poisoning, cos he told me, chinese med is mostly herbs and worry is that it may get mixed up/contaminated with some poisonous herbs by accident and usually if non preg, it does not really theaten your body but however when preg, may accidentally cause miscarriage, so i stayed away lor. i even stayed away from braised duck, herbal soup etc. but then again its up to individual. Hope u get well soon.

Morning all mummies, I'm a slient reader. I would like to join the thread. My edd is on the 15th may. This is my #2. Kkh. I got a qns. I see a post saying that we can't take chemicals sweetener. Is this refer to does in diet coke. Thanks.

Paulyn, welcome. yes yes, dun take all the diet drinks.. cos the artificial sweetner is harmful to our bb now. if u need, take regular coke.

Dolly, I never go see gyna. I go TMC for scan only.

Oh ya, forgot to mention heard bb heart bb trumping..so funny as I tot it resemble the water flow sound from water cooler

good morning mummies! yeah is friday again.. hope u all hav a good day today!

auroa,

seems like u din hav enuff rest, saw ur post @ 4am and u r up so early again.. hope u can make some arrangements so that both u and ur girl will get well soon!

bubble pearl,

how come u go for scan dun shun bian see gynae? den no need go twice ma.. hehe oh btw, how come some ppl do oscar test and some ppl do NT test? or depends on ur gynae ask u do which test..

Good morning!!

I met an accident this morning when on the way to work..argh..slow moving traffic, the car behind suddenly bang fr the back. He must be either on the phone or sms or dreaming!

Lucky nothing wrong and nothing major. Ok, the driver is quite young man like early 30s, but the moment I stepped out, he ask me whether I'm preg and I'm ok or not..surprise me!! coz my blouse is not obvious at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway I just drove off after taking his particular. He told me to get my hb to inspect the car, anything give him a call can meet at workshop..haha

Auroa - can your hb taking a day off? I think u need to take care of yourself and rest for the day ler..

Your girl might be having viral fever, it is like roller coaster and stay up and down for 5 days or so..u may want to keep her in the aircon environment and don't expose her to the unhealthy air outside. The haze is irritating and it makes a lot of ppl falling ill.

Don't bring her out with you to the clinic..make barley water for her or rice water.

morning everyone...

i had egg mayo ham sandwich with soya bean...hehe

so fast so many of u gg for NT scan liao..i stil nid to wait another 3 more weeks..

auroa,

take care wor...ur gal will get well soon... =)

Paulyn

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_welcome2.gif]

Auroa

Uhmm, same like my Mom. She is also staying very far from me. She's at Beach Road (Lavender MRT nearest). Ok, then no choice le. Have to bear with it. Just rem to sponge her as much as you can, normal water will do and ensure all doors closed. For yrself, drink more fluids and perhaps warm water is best.

Dolly

Did u go see GP? How is it?

Happy

Think so ba... For me, my gynae's nurse wrote NT on my appt card. Maybe it depends on the gynae and their usual practice?

Rach

When is yr next appt?

Starfruit

OOops! I had some braise duck rice, duck noodle eh some time back & recently leh.. But I didnt drink their soup lah. Cos soup is herbal, I know.

Apple

U alright? Must take care yeah! Nice of the driver, lucky he did ask if u ok, etc. Some very rude de.

Mudpie

No chix mushroom puff today? Heeheee...

Later I will have fish fillet for lunch (quickie) before appt. Yum yum!!

apple,

glad that u r ok.. must b more careful when driving cos some ppl v careless even if u very careful..

vv,

okok.. i think shld b dependant on gynae den thx for the infor.. i m supposed to do the oscar test next appt in nov..

haha according to my gynae seems like herbal is ok leh, jus dun anyhow take n mayb dun take dang gui and ginseng lo.. actually she says idea is everything in MODERATION is fine.. she even said 1 glass of red wine per week is ok leh haha..

yoyo,

hahaha...i better stop OCK liao..ate for 3 days.deep fried stuff adds more calories.lol.rem i was saying..btwn 2.5wks when i visit gynae..good grief i gain 2kg.almost fainted at d clinic when i saw d weighing mach..& i didnt had supper de..so better cut dwn on it..whahaha. i stil hvn go for dbl fish fillet or dbl mac spicy leh.controlling v hard..cos all fried stuff..

oredi bought sushi for lunch..LOL yest tat aunty dun 1 entertain me i tink she bz with bento..told me dun hv handroll.today she make for me on d spot like d day b4..hehe

rach..yea yea..i remb u say ur edd & mine was abt 1 day diff..

so hv ur doc schedule for u d date liao?

oh ya. u oso 1st preg rite? my fren told me to do hospital tour with tmc when doing oscar..mayb u 1 2 consider tat too =)