(2011/05) May 2011

Wow, a few mummies had popped already. Now I am worried I might be early too, cos BB head down already. hm... feel like taking leave and resting at home, but then scared I'll be bored also. hahaha. now i have trouble walking properly as bb head pressing on my pelvic bone. zzz.

Re Maids:

Have to weigh pros and cons if changing one. Cos the new one might be worse off or the same as the current one. Seldom see one that is very zi dong nowadays. But good luck nevertheless.

Re Ward:

When I had my #1, I stay in 4-bedder in KKH. Cos my hubby not staying overnight and I tot it should be ok. But regret the choice cos KK is very busy and I can't rest properly.

Now I chose 1 bed cos I am doing my confinement at my mum's place and won't enjoy so much privacy as compared to being in my own house. So better get 1 bed and rest properly before discharging.

I'm at mount a again doing CTG scan again.. monitoring fetal movement. BH decrease and tummy feel soft. Gynae wants to make sure.

Did check dilation. And not ready yet. Will check next week again... Sigh. Jus now, during scan, can see Bb exercising her diaphragm. Gynae says it's a good sign that she's exercising to 'breathe' expanding her tummy.. I never knew that!

Contraceptive: I initially thought wanna do ligation at TMC but gave up the idea as I prefer mount A..

Val: I salute u! U are plotting to have more! Lol

Hi Split,

Think KKH B1 and A1 pkg price not much diff ba. Difference will come at final bill cos for A1 every little thing they charge. I think you need to pay deposit of 2k. I paid 2080 for A1 deposit for normal birth. Its gonna be more for c-sec.

They've got the credit card interest free installment plan.

penny,

i am still working. intend to wk till the day i deliver =)

i dun wan to take leave to wait at home le...although can spend more time with #1 before #2 arrives la...but on and off i can take leave so dun intend to take ML early.

hope ur baby gal will hit 2.5kg soon. take more durians, it certainly helps for many of us. hehehe.

angie, sunflower,

rec ur PM =)

angie,

wah! 4kids...i cant imagine 5males in my hse -_-'''

i tell u something la...i always wan to have 4! hwhahahhaa. anyway, reality vs wish....reality wins. hahaha. i dun think i can afford to give everyone the best if i really have 4 =)

and since hb only wans 2, so will have 2 only...unless accident, think i be the one smiling away =P

Sh,

great tat u can discharge with ur baby today =)

split,

u going to see Prof Tee this thurs? Mayb u can go to admission conceirge to ask for the price and decide from there? and Kiko is right. 6mths free installment if u use credit card. hahaha.

so far, i only tried their 1bedded ward. I dun recall how many times they cleaned my room back in 2008...but the recent hosp stay for my boy (we warded him at A1 ward), the cleaner will clean the toilet early in the morning and come to clear rubbish 2x a day. inbetween can ask her to come n clean the room too. but i am nt sure if there is a diff in service between the children and maternity ward...i hope nt! =P

kiko,

if can, go for 1 bedded the best. more privacy and i think service sld be better.

cloudpoem,

dun like tat say le...i am nt plotting anything yet! hahahhaa. let nature take its course =P *wink* kekeke.

cloudpoem.. i think my tummy also become softer especially the top part.. maybe because bb engage liao.. i feel tickling feeling at V area recently.. now still working.. hope she dun come out during office hour.. cos my company is all guys.. think they will go choas if my water bag in office...

sh, i also using the extra long sanitary pad.. i feel better also.. and i dun like the thick maternity pad.. keke..

Kids.. i wan to have 4 initially.. but after this tough round of pregnancy.. i give up.. too tiring liao.. hope to stop at 2.. unless accident happened.. keke..

I think i have infection again leh.. sianz this is like the 3rd case during this pregnancy.. hope can clear b4 i deliver...

Val,

my work is rather flexible hence i can take leave from my work to have high tea, go for massage, go for movies, visit gynea but work is still priorty. Coz tat makes me a yummy mummy, can spend my own money.

Hubby n myself love kids and we wanted to have 4 before getting married. But its not cheap to raise up a kid. So we decided to stop at 3. Hope no. 3 will be a boy coz my MIL very poor thing, no grandson, all granddottas. so we will try to fulfill her wish but again if no.3 is a girl, i m sorry, quota hit and quota close.

I took durians already but only myself put on weight not her. Haiz.

My baby name:

yesterday, my MIL asked wat name I gave for my baby and I told her, Cassie. Just now, she called and told me to change a name for Cassie coz she worry her frens will mock at her for this name and will affect her self esteem.... blah blah blah.... haiz... been calling her Cassie for so many months, now have to change. Haiz

Re: kids

For mummies who have 2 kids and more, do you notice any middle child syndrome in the 2nd child?

@Penny: my hb was the one who will try tinking of names that can be make fun at, so that we can eliminate from our choice. So far, he cant really tink of any funny names that goes with Kaelyn, hopefully it stays this way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wow, 4 kids! I've got a classmate same age as me, whos got 4! I think I cannot manage 4, 3 will be good. But for me, kids are god's gift. If I am blessed with #3 I will be happy. But hubby intends to just have 2. hahaha. see how things go ba.

Hi Penny,

I think Cassie is ok. We are not like village ppl, I mean dialects are a dying language and if your kids really hate the name then change it when she's older/when she wants to.

I wanna order the bottom spray from http://www.littledreamers.com.sg/. But the courier is $8, a bit not worth it if i wanna get just the spray. Anyone know where else to get this type of spray?

thanks kiko and val..i'll check with prof tee when he gonna schedule me for c-sect first..if he advise me to wait till later date den maybe i might go mt a and stick my my original schedule on 4may..if prof tee advise is not to wait any longer and get the bb out now den will go kkh instead..maybe will use the 0% installment plan if opting for 1bedded..

penny, wow 4 kids...cant imagine what will happen to my world..i now got 2 boys already can make me go crazy and the tots of gonna have another girl soon make me so worried..i so scare i can balance my affection among them..

sunflower what u mean by middle child syndrome?

split - I think KKH is affordable. Go for A1 ward bah to have a better service and more privacy.

CloudPoem - y u must go Mt A to do CTG? I thought can do at gynae's clinic??

My bb breech, so the bottom of my tum is soft and the top is hard. When bb moves and turn, wah seh, I can see my tum gonna tear off..haha

I'm sweating like water tap after toasting in the kitchen teaching my maid how to stir fried ginger pork with kidney prepare for my lunch now. She will have to do this for my b/fast mee sua during confinement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Penny - Luv your job [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I like flexi work environment, but in SG is seriously very very rare now!! Wow 4 kids..I kudo to those who has 3 and more. I doubt I can manage them.

I find Cassie spell as Cassey look nicer on paper. U r great DIL, bcoz of MIL's comment, u gonna change the name of your lil one..

For me, I don't even bother to follow the "jia pu" which somehow my hb generation they still follow..now mine is the 1st boy in his generation, I hack care. I already told my FIL we r not following..he zipped

Afternoon mummies!

Sh:- glad that u can discharge with u baby soon.

Val:- Will send u mine info soon, thanks for consolidating..

Sunflower,

Kaelyn is a very nice name.

My hubby kept telling me if Cassie were to be made fun of, those pple who disturb her r childish. I know he is trying to comfort me but MIL already open her mouth, wat can I say???

Apple, thanks for ur contribution on FB! Haiz, tink have to remove Cassie and Clover in the name list. Haiz. Coz its making me confused!! And I want to start d search all over again!!!

I m quite lucky that there is no jia pu to follow in my hubby's family.

Kiko,

really boh bian, coz i intend to put the name in birth cert and if change is needed when she's older, she needs a lawyer to do that. Unless she can be a lawyer herself.

split,

boys and girls are different. Most Boy's energy level tends to be higher n most girls are more mild. But it doesnt apply to all. hee...

@split: i dun really know how to explain.. i'm a middle child and i do feel quite "left out" at times.

See this - http://www.essortment.com/middle-child-syndrome-62872.html and

http://hubpages.com/hub/Middle-Child-Syndrome

Hb plans to have 3 kids, but i worried bout the middle child syndrome thingy (since i myself somewhat experience it, i wouldnt wan my kids to have it too?) So i told him, 4 kids den.. i tink he almost fainted tinking of all the $$ involved. lol~ so now, we more or less agreed on 2 kids (at least 2 kids wont be tat lonely). [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Penny: do you have a 2nd best choice for ya gal's name? For me, hb and i shortlisted bout 5 names. We do our own elimination to 3 names and then ask parents for opinion.

As for chinese name, we will finalize that after consultation with shifu upon bb's birth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Penny, no choice then gotta speed up your search for a nice name [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The "jia pu" thingy make parents has very limited choice especially chinese name. I told my FIL, he himself can't speak and read chinese, y he bothered about "jia pu". He said he was told if using naming convention according to "jia pu", the same surname ppl out in the world will recognise the generation of that person. My hb asked him, so, what's the benefits of knowing the generation? He just zipped haha..so we carry on what we wanna do..evil me :p

bluelemon,

same here, my gal has head down and last chkup gynae says she partially engaged le so sometimes its v painful at V area when something seems to be poking.

penny,

gd tat ur wk is flexible =) i agree working is gd coz can be financial independent. i dun really like the idea of having to "seek" approval from hubby to buy things tat i wan if i am nt wking...but then again...i hope to be ard to witness my kids' milestones...best is i can find hm based job or part time job. then will have best of both world altho personally spending will have to cut. hehehe.

u are v nice lo, willing to change the christian name coz of ur mil's comments.

apple,

ur fried ginger pork with kidney mee sua is making me drool. =P

u arent evil la...but really, wats the point of blindly following just so tat the same surname will know which generation...

sunflower, i see..but i guess most likely wunt apply for my no2..im actually more worried abt my no1 cuz my hubby is very bias he like no2 more and alway scold and lose his patience on no1..no2 said what ever he also listen.i need at least an hr to get my hubby wake up in the weekend but no2 just go into the room tell his dad he wanna go out, bring his dad the specs and hold his dad hand to go brush teeth less than 10mins my hubby will be ready to go out le..if no1 and i do the same thing hubby will throw temper cuz no1 disturb his slp..

hubby alway wanted a girl so i think if got another girl my hubby might have even lesser patient for no1..

SH,

congrats! do take good care of yourself during confinement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val

$$ is definitely a concern for me now, cos gng to c-sect and also taking 1-bedded. Feel like I m wasting money but only 1bed rm can allow spouse to stay. Plus the bills these few days since Sunday, sure hit 10k [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] wonder if TMC has credit card 0% instalment plan..

Re: having 3 or more kids

My fern told me smthg quite practical. Usually if we hv more than 2 kids, they will spread illness to each other very fast..like mini Child care centre...the way she describe quite scary, each child take turns to fall sick and go PD, GP.. All the efforts, $$...v v tiring... Really wonder how they manage...

Sunflower

Which names have u shorlisted? My gal chose her meimei's name, she call her Reanne.. Her fren's name at childcare centre is also called Rianne, we tot the name is quite nice cs she's Rachael, so both with "r".. Hubby also love this name...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

really long time din login, still busy with teaching my temp, colleague who will back up me and also finish updating my data. I really dun know if my temp is up to it or not, a young girl just graduate from poly, within a month, took 5 days of mc and 1 day of leave..dainty type whereby my job require me to move and tag asset...

Val, I have just pm you my nick, email and FB name.

Hi Sh, congrats on your arrival of your baby..gotta rest more whenever you can cause after you discharge today, is going to be super busy.

spilt, so gynae advise when you will be delivering..should be these few days right.

Penny, I think cassie is a nice name, it ever cross my mind when I am looking for name before I know the gender of my baby..but then if you need to change, have to do it fast liao.

Luckily I also do not have any jia pu to follow. Hubby count the stroke himself for #1 and he has also finished counting for #2, we decided to name him 简愷學. Will be difference middle from #1.

Last sunday MIL still ask me if we have chosen a name for baby, i only reply yes, dun even bother to tell her..very bad of me...heehee

Kiko, if you are delivering at TMC, they got give the bottom spray, no need to buy, not sure if KKH or Mt A provide or not.

cloudpoem, I think if we are too young, gynae will not allow ligation, this is wat i heard from my colleague, but IUD is ok. For me, I think will just ask hb to put conceptrative..but then we cannot really enjoy with the thing..see how..

happymumtobe..my current gynae advise me to go kkh..he pop a qns ytd but both me and hubby dont think we dad to commit..he said he can take the bb out now for me but the cost of nicu at mt a is very high and weather if me and hubby prepared for it..cuz we wunt know how long bb will have to stay there..

i'll be having my kkh appt this thursday will see what another gynae said..now bb only 34weeks+4 if out now chances of staying in nicu is very high

@xuanmin: yes, TMC has cc instalment plan.

we shortlisted 3: glenda, janelle, kaelyn. Parents preferred janelle (cos of the meaning attached to it) but last week, they said kaelyn also quite nice! Plus my hb told them janelle - dunno whether ppl will call her "ah niao". :p

Hb cant tink of funny mock names for Kaelyn, so most likely, that should be our choice le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just a check with u ladies if u all experience very bad backache following bh? i've been having backache that i cannot tahan daily..it will follow with tightening of the tummy..usually the frequency is like evry 5-10mins but they only happen between late afternoon abt 4pm to 11pm..its constant so im thinking it might be contraction but it will evenually stop by itself..i also got no show or water bag leak..no dilution also my gynae check ytd

i agree muz think of the funnie and possible "name" may arise... i mean we dun wan our kids to be laugh at especially during school time..

kaelyn.. do that sound like 可怜。。

split, i got backache.. and it like run from the neck to the lower back.. followed by BH.. once it start.. i have to stop wadever i doing.. and i may last for a min...

blur mine is more to lower back..it comes and goes every 5 to 10 mins even i stop every thing i do and lie on the bed ill stil feel the pain..if will stop by itself at abt 11plus sometimes

Jus back from mount a and gynae.. Tired!! Bb heartbeat decelerate at one point but pick up rather fast, gynae says not to be alarm. 80mins only 1 intense contractions. So much lesser when I check last week. Last week was every 15-20mins one BH.. Weird. Again, tell me no need alarm..

Apple: my gynae don't have the machine, hence have to travel to mount A do.. Cost $60++ only.

Sunflower: wad middle child syndrome u all talking? I scared I can't divide my love properly. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Split: Wah, ur contractions so regular now?

Val - since this week I'm @ home, I start to drill my maid on cooking skill. She really sux & with me around, I think she hates most :p coz I been picking up all her laziness..wahahha

I saw my steam pot with water, I asked her y the pot with water, what she steams just now?? I knew it was left over fr last nite!! I purposely ask her..I tell her - your niteemare coming, things not done and u go sleep, I'll wake u up middle of the nite when I do nite feeding..give it a try!

Now I'm cooking nyonya stew pork ribs..yum! And I'm boiling apple fig soup [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple i at home also cant tahan my maid but i think you maid better she blur at least she don lie even i caugh my maid red handed she still and open eyes wide wide to lie. ↲Ash my no2 is a boy also but he more sainai

split - your contractions quite intense and close by. As lower back pain, u may want to rub some oilment or get a back support cushion while u seated?

I bought the King Koil back support cushion during Isetan sale, find it very useful.

CloudPoem, ic ic..must be quite tiring. Lucky Mt A has a shuttle bus to Bishan. At least not so bad..treat yourself KOI for such a hot weather??

split - I keep her coz she doesn't lie and steal! Otherwise she long ago already out of my sight with this kind of performance yet telling me got 5yrs experience! faintz

spilt, think got to see how KKH gynae advise..then decided. I am also Week 34+5 days, BH getting more and my tummy is rather low already.

Going to see gynae this sat and discuss when to induce..he told me most prob after week 37.

can i check if you guys are experiencing loose stools? i had that on sunday. at first i thought i was having contraction (didnt know what contraction feels like) but thank god! it was LS cramp feeling. silly me. any medication we can get over the counter?

@xuanmin

My fren's first was Rachel and second Rianne.

@kiko

What is the bottom spray for?

@sunflower

you guys can come up with some many funny nick for the names chosen. what about alexander? any funny name? i was thinking of that for my baby..

I have the following items for sale, do PM or SMS me if you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Brand New Pigeon Silent Electric Breast Pump

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5365222.html?1303201789

Safety 1st Deluxe Bath Cradle

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5267655.html?1301149290

Used Medela PISA Faceplate

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5214044.html?1302587212

kaykay,happymumtobe,elyn,

rec ur PM =)

xuanmin,

i am sure medisave can pay quite abit, dun be stress, nt gd for u and the baby.

u can always check with the business center in the hosp to have a rough gauge on ur hosp bill.

split,

sometimes i have v crampy feel and it spread to the back. Chk with Prof Tee and he says normal, nvm. so i just ignore it and it usually does go away.

sometimes it comes when i am on the move then i have to either walk slowly or just stay put for awhile....

i am just keeping my fingers crossed meimei will stay in there till edd or at least till i finish hosting korkor's party.

cloudpoem,

did gynae says why baby's heartbeat slowed down?

apple,

ur maid has better pull up her socks else she going to get it big time liao.

re: isetan

10% off storewide on 20th and 21st for card holders.

happymumtobe,

tumtum low means going to delivery soon or so i heard frm old wives tale la...and lately i have ppl telling me my tumtum is really low -_-'''

i discussed with my gynae, as much as possible, i dun wan to induce unless there is danger to the baby...

LJ,

better dun self medicate babe. can be dangerous. better to see a dr for medication if it doesnt get any better.

bottom spray to relieve the pain dwn there.

re: float for normal delivery

for those delivering in KKH, can loan the float frm them. this is wat i did for my #1's time. i asked them for a float so dun nd to go n buy 1 or bring along.

Hi Mummies, I'm kinda new to this forum.. Just wanted to check with you all.. I'm already 36 + 2 and I went to my gynae yesterday to do an ultrasound and based on my BB's belly measurements, her weight is at 3.2kg.. Is it alot??

I thought usually its only about 2kg plus..She was only 1.9kg @ week 32..

Val, no choice, problem lies with the weight of the baby, gynae worried I cannot deliver big baby if i hold till full term..so gotta induce and my tummy big until I buay tahan liao.

Every night i sit on my bed and look at the mirror, my tummy can rest on the mattress like a big ball..my mum and hubby keep laughing cause is very funny and all my colleague sees me also feel tired for me...BH getting more and V area a bit..last mon check, cervix dilate 1cm liao...

My #1 is induce also..I forsee I need epi with vaccum again.

Val: gynae mention the decreased in heartbeat might be becausevi change position during the reading or Bb was laying on the umbilical cord.. What worries is why my contractions decrease so much.. Maybe I stop working and really rest alot..

Hi Bella: welcome! ;) Wah!! 3.2kg at week 36? That's quite big? Are u opting for natural? How to push? :x I measured mine today, I'm week 37+2 and jus passed 3kg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happymumtobe: Haaaha. Had a good laugh atbur post... When I went to gynae this morning. I think my sight scares him... He ask me 'very tiring, huh' immediately without hesitation answered 'yes!! Lol

Oh mummies, I may wanna induce Bb out.. Cux very tiring and my back and groin area very the pain. Should I? Gynae say can, after next week when Bb is 38th weeks gestational.

apple, wha u r quite a good cook leh.. hahah

your recipes are making me drool...hahah. so what did she steam, left over for herself?

Val, great! thanks for consolidating the list. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]i also confused with nick,FB name and real name and dunno who is giving birth and who is not. what info do u need me to provide?

wha, rarely will ppl want #3.. when #2 still in our tummy! hahah u r very brave!..hehehe

Val - yea, she better buck up or else nitemare will haunt her!

happymumtobe - luv your post! the way u describe your tum tum so funny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] LOL

Hmm..induce birth can be quite tough rite? I also heard quite high chance it was not successful and end up c-sec ler..did your gynae prepared u on this since he is pro-natural.

CloudPoem - your bb has good weight. I also hope my bb hit 3kg mark this Sat when I go for gynae visit.

tummy drop means bb have engage.. yeah this is also a sign of delivery soon/.

belle, ur baby is very big.. did the gynae express any concern for it?

CloudPoem, hee, my mum everytime sees me trying to get up from my bed or from the floor, like very having a lot of difficulties will ask me to faster go get the baby out but I told her at least must wait till week 37.

Even gynae also says my tummy very big.

Just received an email from my manager, so angry, my secretary very busy this period and ask me and my temp to help her put up posters in the lift. Can't she see me with my big tummy, still want me to go to all the lift to put posters, some more I can't reach the top 2 arcylic holder. I not going to reply her and just ask my temp to help me..argh!

apple, I going to ask him this sat. For sure if i wait till full term, I will have a hard time pushing..last time my boy at 2.9kg, I already push 1 hour also cannot come out and need vaccum..this #2 dunno how..