(2011/05) May 2011

hannah, yes, Y? dont wan the maternity leave?

me kanna force to b SAHM... now fighting for my maternity leave pay ...

yesterday jus send email to Minister for Manpower ... and went to see my area MP ...

they ask me to wait for MOM reply ... felt tat chances r no good again ... after gether some much info ...

now can only pray hard that the gangster coy will pay me back ....

Hi Hannah,

wa u can b SAHM, haha so good.. can rest n do things at ur own time...

btw can u help me to update some details in the table, i jus cant seem to get it posted.. thanks alot n sorry for the trouble! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

No.: 39

Nick: Happy

Doc: Dr Jocelyn Wong

EDD: 16 May 2011

BB Name: Joses

Ling,

how come ur co. so bad force u to resign n b SAHM? tot there's this law that protects pregnant woman tat co cant dismiss them or something rite..

happy, me was given the termination letter 2 weeks ago, coy jus say dont need my service ... ask me to go tat moment ...

so now i am SAHM ...

so went to MOM, ask me to write appeal letter to Minister for Manpower Mr Gan Kim Yong.

think alot pple dont know tat we r not cover under Employment Acts if ur post is executive and abvove and pay more than $2k....

all those under this category, we are not cover under the Employment Acts, so we need to appeal wz the Minister .... after the letter, then MOM will see if they wan to come in or not ...

event last nite i went to meet the pple session, the staff there helping out also seem to dont know tat even preggy above the category will not b covered ... ask me to wait for MOM reply before they action on their side ...

Ling,

oh really? is only for those less than 2k?? wa less than 2k very hard to survive lo..

but then they terminate u on grounds that u r preggie?? but this is a perm job for u rite? even if terminate also must give notice wat, how can immediate de.. if not they shld pay u for the notice period cos like tat is kinda unfair dismissal leh...

den u lodge complain with MOM.. hopefully it ll b successful.. the co is so bad lo...

happy, Employment acts will help hose under $2k one immediately ...

so those above one hv to write in and appeal ..

now me waiting for MOM reply ....also crossing fingers that i will success ....

will b a tough fight ...

Wayne's mummy, apple, Kay Kay, Ling, Happy: Well, it was a difficult decision but i was having problems with future childcare and also how we're going to include my #1 when #2 is here, esp during my confinement. So, it's going to be tough on our finances and I also have to re-adjust to life without many other adult people to talk to... But me and hb feel that it's the right thing to do for now...

RE: Maternity leave

Other than the fact that I want to settle my girl down to a routine at our own home and also to help our new maid adjust, I want to leave my present company without feeling bad abt it. I know many people have told me that ML is my entitlement but it really doesn't sit well with me. I don't want my current company to keep my position open for 4 months and then have to start the process of employing someone else to take over my position after that. Plus, it is tough to get people of my experience in my line so i want to give them more time to find the right person. I know i probably sound silly but I can't help but feel that it't the right thing to do... bsides, i already got my bonus. Haha...

hannah, wow, must be big big fat fat bonuses ... hehe

since u n hb had decided on it, jus go for it ... most impt is hb great support ... dont look back ..

me also looking forwards to the precious time i will spend wz bb in the early stage ...

i will fight on ... next step is write in to papers if no reply from MOM within 3days as stated in their auto reply ...

then follow to pester the MP during meet the pple session ...

if all these 3 steps fail, then i dont know wat's next liao ...

crossing fingers and figh on ...

Hannah, congrats u r starting a new chapter in your life. I was a SAHM until my ger was 13mths then went back to the workforce i never regretted the time i spent with her in the 1st yr. Feel quite bad cos for this no.2 i dun have such plans.

Serene, think should be ok to take a bit cooked pineapples n moreover we r in our 2nd trimester already so much more stable. Just stay clear of sting ray. I also suspect ur mil cook wat she wants to eat maybe u should get hb to make a list for her so she wont forget.

Ling,

think find MP shld help normally... u jia you!! hope that ur appeal ll b successful... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hannah,

wa you are very good worker to ur co leh.. still think so much for them hehe.. but think is good for u to spend more time with ur kids, esp since ur hubby is also very supportive of it too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Afternoon mummies & MTBs!

Just woke up from nap (enjoying my 2nd trimester as much as I can as a SAHM), hehe~

Hannah, it must be a tough decision for u to switch to a SAHM, esp u are concern with both ur co. and ur children part. I think its more like a kind of compromise thing some MTBs gotta make, for ur time in future with ur kiddo(s) (giving them a memorable & enjoyable childhood) & their safety, development and education wise.

In return, u have to compromise ur position at ur co. and financially have to give in abit here and there.

I think its really up to personal decision, weighing what u might want in future, for opting to be a SAHM. =)

More importantly, HB SUPPORT is the crucial thing!

Hannah, you r lucky cos u have it. =)

Be a happy mummy is the key! Hehe~ enjoy~

Ling:- jiayou going-to-be SAHM~ ^_^

Starfruit,

I think fr this incident, my hubby will b more careful in e things i eat..

My gynae say mayb its intestine infection..gave mi

Medicine to eat..

My hubby ask issit due to e pineapple fried rice..my gynae say diff ppl has diff results..some ok..some has reaction..better avoid pineapple..

If tml not better,got to see him again..

Serene, then I think maybe you avoid eating pineapple and all those toxic and raw stuff.

Hannah, yes, most impt is hubby support and financial ok..I also SAHM for a year for my #1. But now I dun think I can afford to do the same for my #2.

Have your all thot of your baby names liao..finally decided to call my boy Zane.

hi MTBs, I have Jan 2011 issue of Mother & Baby mag + Motherhood mag to sell.

M&B - $3 mailed

Motherhood - $2.50 mailed

pls PM me if u r keen =)

Hi all, Imma back after 'lunch', while browsing here and there on my berry(cos nothing to do at home ahh~)

Imma almost 24hrs online thru my berry, sounds kinda sian as a SAHM, what I do is wake up, eat, eat medi, slp, eat again....while looking forward for the arrival of my babyboy..

Wayne's mummy:- yah, thot heaven bout it when we first knew the gender. My hb and I had alrd have a rough idea of what to name our boy, yet to be confirm thou. But Wayne's mummy, is Zane a unisex name?? I have gf by the name of Zane too. ><

Hannah:- Np Hannah. Stay happy!

Dolly:- Take care & watch ur diet in that case. Baby's health & yours, both important..hmms..

Wayne's mummy: yep! My girl will be named Jewel! My husband was the one who thought about the name and i really liked it. =) I told my mum and even said that if she can't pronounce it properly, just call her 珠儿... Haha....

KayKay, I think is a boy's name..online says so..last time my ex male colleague also call this name. But my cousin told me her girl friend also call this name..maybe lately it become unisex??

But I have a hard time finding a 1 syllabus name to be the same as #1. My elder is Wayne so it is going to rythme with Zane..

Hannah..Jewel is a nice name..I used to think if mine is a girl, I will name her either Sarah or Jade.

Wayne's mummy:- Indeed its hard to find a 1 syllabus name which rhythm as ur #1. But I find it harder to find a chinese name that rhythms with the english name and vice-visa.

E.G. Like what hannah did, jewel - 珠儿。

Lolx, I can't think for mine yet, its pretty hard.

Even thou, naming babies can be really fun. My hb family and I had a great laughing time when it comes to naming our boy, despite we(my hb and I) alrd fix my boy english name as Ayden.

As my hb surname is 沈(shen), we started cracking jokes & funny names with the surname.

E.G. 沈水(save water)

沈钱(save money)

沈电侠(hongkong actress name)

沈起来(save it)

沈么名(what's ur name)

Etc..etc.. So many so funny.. Can't settle down to naming chinese name yet cos its crucial for the elderly thinks that chinese names actually define the fate/life of a person.

Haha, just for laugh..=P

KayKay, your hubby's surname not as funny as mine. Ppl always joke about my hubby surname matching with baby name.

My hubby surname is Jian3. My PC no chinese else I can type all the funny name ppl think of.

serene, think shd be ok to eat pineapple.. just not eat too much will do... previously i ate pineapple fried rice (abt half bowl lah)

Dolly, hope u r ok now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Came back fr my detailed scan and everything is ok and bb weights abt 300g ++ and gender is boy.. my girl quite happy abt it... she was busy telling me to lie down, not to be scared and let doc see me.. Dr Chang commented that no one is listening to him.. can't heard much what's he saying during the scan as my girl's voice is louder and chatty during the scan. Btw, i also saw my gynae this afternoon and told him that i hve cramps on my left and right hand and feet starts to hve slight swollen too... he said that it's due to water retention and prescribed cream for me to apply and also suggest to exercise (swimming is best.. if dun know how to swim, suggest me to walk in water).. oh ya, another good news is that the detailed scan also shows that the placenta moves up (i din expect it will) and it's normal now so my gynae said to expect normal delivery for now (yippeee) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dear all mummies,

Nve log in for so long catching up with all the post!

Me busy preparing my boy for his sch, preparing so cny cookies n been coughing badly.

Do anyone know can we eat 'pi pa gao 枇杷膏'?

Really envy SAHM mummies, I wish I can be one too.

Dolly: take care n rest

Ling: jia you

Wayne's mummy:- how come PC don't have chinese derhx?? o_O

Anw, elderly still say Chinese name need go check the 'shen chen ba zhi'(birthdates of my HB & mine), see good name anot.. So troublesome lo..

Auroa:- can weigh babies in womb during detailed scan huh?? I didn't know oo =( But u must be happy its a boy as ur #1 was a girl yea~ =) Another great thing was normal placenta right?? Gratez! Hope it would be a smooth delivery for you, and of cos all mummies & MTBs~hehe~

I always thot that scans are fun & pleasing as you get to see ur baby in the womb and know that they are healthy.

As for mine I got abit worried when my gynae say placenta still low but shld be going up soon, *cross my fingers*

kaykay, ya, Dr Chang mentioned the weight of the bb... actually slightly disappointed it's a boy as wants another girl to doll up but hubby very happy as he said he also have a "hao" liao (bcos sil and my sister all hve "hao")... ya, i din expected the placenta to go up as mine was previously very low that the bb was lying on it and results spotting and cramps as and when... dun worry abt yr placenta ... mummies here previously advised me that as pregnancy progress, it will slowly move up.. hope yrs will too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa:- I didn't get to weigh my baby during my detailed scan, sad =(

hope my placenta really slowly move up..

I have been thinking, does walking more helps cos I hardly excerise or go out for a stroll even thou imma working towards my 22weeks alrd.

Its becos throughout my pregnancy till now, I keep having 'FAINT FAINT' feeling and difficulties in breathing & settling down after a short walk.

Walk 100m also pant & feel like vomiting.. thou now getting better-no vomit alrd.

I wonder when will this last cos I really want to go out to have fresh air and excerise but I can't.

One side my mother, MIL & aunties all ask me 'walk more! Excerise more!' but my HB who are more aware actually asked me not to step out of door or go out(cos he scare I faint halfway). ~_~

Imma partially forced to be a SAHM actually~ but for baby, imma enjoying it now~ =)

No matter how hard, I must endure my pregnancy discomforts..

Congrats Auroa..

I was at Dr TC Chang's clinic yesterday too!

Good to hear that your placenta has moved up..yes, swimming is the best exercise during preg. I complaint about butt & upper thigh pain, gynae also ask me go swimming if can.

Seems like quite a numbers of "hao" in May thread.

PS double post:-

Auroa:- thot u want a boyboy cos most families hope to have at least a boy mahx, esp the in-laws.. Hehe..

Now its good, ur HB gets a 'hao', hahas~

Hey, did u ladies have a 'feeling' a rough idea of ur baby's gender in ur womb before ur detailed scan??

I somewhat know that it was a boyboy and got what I expected..=) my hb also wanted a boyboy.

Whereas it was my mother, MIL, FIL all wanted a girl instead. Weird~ Hahas =)

Hi mummies, wow the thread has been moving fast. I Hv been having Back pain at right lower side n breathless night sleep, so busy catching as much rest. The back v pain ah.. At night Also can't zz.. Lie left side which I heard is gd for circulation but heart beat v fast, cannot sleep.

I read cannot eat yam? May I know y huh? My mil still cook for me eat leh

kaykay, i nv rite abt the guessing game.. first one i guess is gal turn out to be boy.. then 2nd one i guess boy turn out to be gal.. haha.. my hubby is the one who go it correct for the 2 time..

yeah its wed.. feel like going see doc tml then have long weekend.. haha

kaykay, i also got the "faint spell" during my no1 preg... took abt 4 weeks for it to go away.. my gynae advised me not to go out on my own and if feel dizzy, is to lean to the erh, left or right side.. ops, can't remember (if possible to lie down).. falling down will not be good for u and baby... meanwhile, if u still hve "dizzy spells", it's better to go out less often and if need to, get some1 to accompany u out... last mth my gynae told me tat i hve extremely low placenta and i need to hve more bed rest, avoid lifting my girl fr ground level (i did lift her but very few occasions and no choice as hubby not ard and she's tired and fall asleep tat i need to carry her home) and less walking (includes shopping too)... most of the time, i'm confined at home except fr fetching my girl fro/to school (but i got neighbour to drive me, so tat saves me lots of walking).... i did by doing what the gynae advised could hve helped tat the placenta shifts up.... u might want to try it out.. it's the best for u and baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] btw, my girl all along said tat i'm hving a bb boy and even told her teacher tat i hve a boy and last scan gynae already told me 50% boy... so i sorted of "accepted" it liao...anyway, i going to close shop after this [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, my appt was 11am yesterday.. din know tat u will be there... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] rest well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bunnymum, i also experience back pain till my back going to break off.. i told my gynae yesterday and he prescribed me a cream... got cooling or heating effects type of cream... i choosed cooling effect and hubby applied for me yesterday and it's so soothing tat i fall asleep..the cream is called Counterpain Cool (bcos i choosed cooling effect)... maybe u can check w yr gynae whether u can use it or need to prescribe u any cream to ease the pain.. btw, lying down on left side helps to gives oxygen to bb.. gynae will advice to sleep on the left side for the benefits of bb... i'm not sure abt yam leh but i took it for a few occasions for breakfast

dolly, u back to work? feeling better?

dolly, oh dear.. must be a terrible feeling.. when can re-test again? dun stress yrself too much..i hear ubi not easy to pass.. my cousin took 3 attempts and passed her test.. she said driving there really very stressful... try to relax [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm new in this thread.

EDD is 19/05/2011

fainting spells,

can be due to low iron so watch your iron intake and take more red meat.

low placenta,

exercise helps to shift it up ... but all in moderation .. read prenatal yoga helps as well as swimming and walks.

Auroa - I was there on 3rd Jan, Mon..not yesterday. 1st time seeing Dr TC Chang, hmm..don't have good impression of him. Kinda regretted taking up the FA scan there. He really man with few words! Maybe he is not my gynae..haha

Hi Pravina, *wave* congrats! Another Apr 09 mummy in this thred [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Auroa : i just done my confirmation evaluation laSt month... so KPI is worst than my evaluation.. already don't have AWS le, think VWS will be gone too..

Pravina, welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, ic... ya, agree, he's a man w few words.. he can scan and talk abt the measurements while my girl and I'm busy discussing the images on the monitor.. not much interaction lor...think later he buay tahan tat he commented tat no one is listening to him.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, did the evaulator mentioned why u failed the KPI?

auroa : understand from the evaluator that my boss took feedback from each of the team leader and their team member whether did i perform good... sigh...

dolly, ic.. previously when i pregnant w no1, my boss already told me beforehand tat can't expect good performance appraisal liao as most of the time i took MCs, leaves and time off for medical reasons and appt.. boss said that if give me very good ratings, on 1 will be happy bcos HR also look at my leave records... althou i think it's not fair as i finished my work (so-called meets expectations) but got no choice.. think after pregnant, i got "switched off" liao as after tat i dun do OTs and seldom took on extra tasks as i feel appraisal does not do justice to me and i hve more priorities (my girl) than work.... try not to take it to heart...

auroa : well, i believe they must have compare between myself & my cover who is a m'sian... works late daily, comes to work even on leave... one thing about her, no family = no commitment.. so she can "spoil" market... told my HB about this.. if she's a s'porean with family and still can commit with her work... i'll just zip my mouth... so one thing for sure, can't stay here for long...