(2011/03) Mar 2011

2ks, yah coz I KS...once he started dry coughing, I gave hzs already...I realized it works well even when symptoms r mild..coz last time I waited till phelgmy cough then give hzs...a bit late...gonna feed him hzs for a week at least...so now...a bit only I give....& it works better I feel...

pauline: hzs is more for stronger cough, dont "spoil" the effects okay.

if mild cough, i will give ba bao san instead.

if u want maintenance, u should feed bao ying dan.

smiggleprince: how premature is kasper?

personally i think for boys, wait till 24 months then see...cos i went to speech therapist before, he said boys generally slower, if 3 years old still not talking then be alert

pauline, I also think like 2Ks leh, if you give so frequently, then when the worst cough, what else to give???

2Ks, where to get ba bao san? ALso from hock hua??? I suspect Chloe is developing cough liao!

Sian lah! go School for 1 week then all the illness come.... & have to come before I leave for AUstralia!!!

2Ks, you were saying you give your 2Ks.. sambucol for supplement? any thing else? Maybe I should start giving to build up their immunity esp now she is going school!

tres: ba bao san i bought from EYS.

but i think other medical halls should have also.

u going holiday again ah! so envy leh!

its normal for kids to get virus for school la..

even stay at home also will fall sick mah..

bo bian one.

yes...i give sambucol only for my 2 kids...

i never give others cos i dont believe in loading them with many things, cos there sure is a certain amount that they can absorb.

thanks 2Ks, I will see if it develops further or not! Sigh.. this is part & parcel of her going school lor!

haha, kinda of holiday, part of my company sales incentive trip. If dun go, I will lugi coz no $$ to compensate back! I alr miss the USA trip in August leh! damn wasted lor! so many things to buy!!!

2Ks and tres, I agree with you all. I will go get ba bao san! From EYS ya? Bao yin dan I have but like not very effective...hmmmm...

ST,

Sorry for the late reply ha ...

was super busy ... regret to take a day off yesterday, and today end up no time to breath or go toilet ... now clearing the email from home at 10pm ... sianz ..

OK, i visited most of the cc around this area 2 yrs back when i want to enrol my girl .. haha

There r 3 at semb mart, Little Campus(like u said, forever FULL), the upstairs one with orange uniform one, i dun like coz most teachers include principle are indians & i find they dun really bother about the kids like that ... like the sparkletot near Blk 31x which Malay management one .. There is 1 more Malay one so i dun think u will even consider.

There is another Little campus at my downstairs .. OK Forever Full too and the minimum age to enrol is 2.5yrs(N1) so out of your option.

MFS near 2Ks, forget about it ba .. forever full de

Emmanuel near SSC, i visited too .. dun like it myself coz it looks quite old/run down. Hmm, end up i chose Star Learners opposite SSC. Like it coz it is BIG ... it is combine of 2 semi-D to become a BIG bungalow. Fee is about $500 after subsidy. Quite a lot of activity, Sport/Aikido is included though Aikido(Taowondo like) is only avail for N2 & above. they have many field trip, outdoor play, water play, and celebration . Downside is, Too many students (think 180) and this lead to more chance for HFMD lo... They have open house at 9/29 morning, not sure if u can visit them ...

Shay is at Cherie Heart Admirax, like it coz it is NEW(1 yr old+) It is manage by a family, with 3 kids. So the wife is very motherly and all kids loves her. Fee is close to $600 after subsidy(not too sure coz from CDA). Total student only 60 for now. I feel that their food is better (ok, at least they got Milo/Horlick for bfast/tea time) sometime for pancake, scramble egg for bfast de leh.

Downside is less outdoor activity lo .. sometime they will bring the kids to play at the open area near the sheltered area there in teh afternoon ... field trip all, i'll update u later, coz Shay only join 1 mth and i know the bigger kids went Zoo last 1-2 wk.

I will keep Shay at CH for PG at least and decide if to move him to star learner with her jie jie. dun wan to go thru another round of crying drama again .. Oh ya, CH admirax so far is HFMD clean in record, except the 1 case from SHAY ... hahaha. My girl didn't get it but pass the virus to Shay ...

morning mummies..

ST - for cherie hearts, the menu for all outlets same cos this will be determined by the HQ. as for field trips, i did asked the outlet i sending J to, typically lesser times compared to the higher levels. cos younger kids not toilet train yet so can only go to places where easy to change diapers etc and also, abit more ma fan and need more manpower to bring younger toddlers out. the zoo trip they went last month is a combined field outings for all outlets. cos i think they were learning about animals during that period.

i think for cc, most important is you must be comfortable with the teachers n principles , as in can click with them. like the one i went to, the prinicple not gian entertain us despite the centre was not busy (only left 3 kids). so hb n i not comfortable to put J there even though is like near my place. Went to another one @ Chervon, principal n branch director i spoke to separately at my 2 different visits, with centre at the evening peak of children boarding school bus, parents picking up, they were able to handle very well and still forever enthu to entertain and share with us loh. so decided to put J there because more an xin. Can see the teachers are passionate about their job, low staff turnover (i saw the photos taken from 2008 to 2011, most staffing personnel all still there. haha..

I decided to send J in Feb after CNY cos hb just changed job, let him settle into his work before we make a transition of sending J to cc.

ST,

i think there is Apple Tree near blk 500+ there.

My friends sent her girl to Apple Tree but Admiralty branch & seems not bad. There is one at HDB branch there too, but i think minimum age is 2.5Yrs. Some branch dun like to take in PG coz they are younger to take care, need to feed them & change pampers. Star learners bring PG student out too ... Last year, i went to Sentosa/Zoo with my girls ... sometime the field trip does invite parent to tag along .. haha. though i think better dun join them .. they can enjoy better without seeing their parent

Mummies, can recommend me good toddler music and dance class which is near to North area? Planning to send my gal for such course since she love music and dance.

XFZ,

need meh ? u can dance & sing with her la .. haha.

I teach my girl Call me Maybe ... & Shay love Gangnam Style ... lol

sinmey - haha ya la we do sing and dance togeher now... all along wanna send her just waiting for a suitable age and class (including px) lol... not so immediate that I wanna send her but wanna start checking up... probably send her after she hit 2 years old where her concentration time span is longer...my gal loves ribena commercial now... wa piang I download from youtube and she can repeat and repeat the commercial =)

Sinmey - ^5! My gal loves gangham style too... Lol. N everyday I m shuffling....

If ur kids love to dance, try d/l app call sing sing together. My girl love it too. All kids songs w simple dance moves [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Won mummy,

both my kids dun like sing sing together leh ... Youtube still better

Shay loves 1 spanish song or dunno wat song .. wa piang

Sinmey: star learners only 180 students??hmmm

Mfs already got 90kids lor... But one thing they are separated la,

Only morning 7-8am all take attendance at same bay

2Ks, I also give hzs when I heard Jav cough abit now, coz I dunno abt the ba bao san. Hiyo, gonna go buy the ba bao san to standby at hm.... I also find bao ying dan no use leh. It was BYD that makes me lose confident in chinese med initially.

Btw, Jav stopped crying when he goes child care since Monday le... Now after teacher puts on his shoes for him, he will automatic walks over to child care himself and when he sees IFC teacher walks back to IFC he also won't cry le. Good job! :D

Bao Ying Dan is not meant to cure the cough lor... It's more for maintenance that is eat for long term just like any vitamins..

It won't cure cough la just prevent just like any other supplements..

Good job jav! Now the IFC will bring kiefer over to have his meals too...

But he is so bao bei and his nap time still anyhow one.. Dunno he can cope or not lor...

2Ks,

Yea, 180+ ONLY ? r u kidding me it is not big ? Wah, MFS also not small ho .. Actually MCYS counted the student by the floor area .. so more student in bigger area is still reasonable ? Jz that u expose to more kids lo.. But they separate the K1/K2 at upstairs & younger one at downstairs. Eating also different timing. I think morning assembly is combine in the hall still ... They have 4-5 aunties just to do cleaning few times a day ...

sinmey: haha...cos i expected more...

to me star learners is like a school la..

like primary school like that.

think mfs is about 80-90, but they are separated so i think its fine.

i went to the main bay for orientation last weekend, eh...okay la...all MFS looks the same

2Ks,

haha ... i think they are quite systematic in arranging the kids, for different school bus timing, eat, play ... so i never feel the schol is crowded actually .. even activities or classes are separated ..

The best thing is, all teachers know each kids name and their parents .. amazing right ..

xfz,

The trial class was ok, but my boy dun really understand instruction so kept running around. Fees...hmmm, i forgotten. I left the receipt at my new place. Will go back this weekend and let you know.

any mummies sending their kids to any playschools / playgroups in Pasir ris area? what's your recommendations on that? My son just turned 18 months. Wanted to send him to a playgroup / playschool in this area.

Hi xfz,

The bloom school of music & ars, Totti Tots class (18m to 3yrs), fees is $215 for 10 lessons. The trial is $25 and if you enroll on the day, the trial will be free.

Hmmmm, actually I abit regretted signing not because its not good. Its because now every Sat morning I have to bring him there and sit inside lor, me lazy lah. Jia lat!

Never bring hp out today feels so handicape...

bbkaiser - thx for the px info, sounds reasonable, shall discuss with hub first =)

fel - request sample from mead johnsons? yday at causeway point cold storage, the promoter was giving away free sample sachet, 1 per customer...

XFZ: personally i think their age now, go classes abit wasted...

unless u have the extra money and also time?

meimei coming leh...need hub help, then the school is not somewhere near mah...

Actually agreed with 2Ks, so now the music classes supposed to start in Sept, and I postphone to Oct, now thinking to postphone to next year. hahaha!!!!

In the class, my boy like wild bunny, running around, makes me very tired. Other parents just sit and the kids knows what to do, whereas mine, wat lau!!!! Tired!!!!

Hi mummies, long time since I last check-in over here.

I received a very sad news when I brought my son to his 18 mth assessment last week.

Doc say will have to bring him back for another review in 3 months time as he suspects that my boy might have ADHD. He said he looks very active and he is not talking yet.

I told him it should be quite normal for boys to be very active and have slow speech development. But he say my son seems to be lacking in concentration and active, that's why his learning development is delayed.

Haiz..heart dropped.

jojo: u bring him to which doctor?

how can the doctor said that to a 18 months boy!

how can he be so sure?

tell u kyler story.

i brought him to see a specialist as recommended by my gynae.

cos the principal of his cc said that he might be autistic or adhd cos he is not talking and is very active in school.

i brought him see a specialist

the specialist told me, for boys, do not determine that they are autistic or not talking yet till 3 years old. if 3 years old not talking yet then there is something to be alert of.

as for ahdh, which toddlers is not active now? if they are not active then something is wrong already.

for 18 months is really too early to diagnose lor.

fyi, my kyler is still cannot stand or sit still and he is 3 years 9 months old.

specialist said he is not adhd, just over active in nature.

personally, its too early to judge for a 18 months old.

i brought kyler to

Anson International Paediatric & Child Development Centre #13-07 6836 2802 Dr Low Kah Tzay

at paragon.

affordable price...

but personally, i feel that u should give him some time, till 24 months old.

2Ks: It's polyclinic doc. I dun trust them.

Yes..All the while I thought he is perfectly normal. Apart from the fact his activeness can sometime really drive me mad. I would think he is only very naughty.

Same as kyler, he also cannot stay still. When I brought him to trial class, he will run everywhere and refuse to sit down, especially during circle time. Makes me so paiseh when all the other children can sit down and listen.

Hubby and I decide to give him more time, talk to him more often, bring him around to socialise more often. Now he can say a few words, like star, ball, fish. But he still can't say papa and mama.

Thanks for the recommendation.. Will consider to check the pd if he still dun improve by 2yo.

2Ks, how you determine can talk or cannot talk? I notice Javier cannot pronounce "bus" well. He is eating the "s" sound. He says bus like "Bup" ? We tried many times to correct him to pronounce the bus with a "s" sound but seems difficult for him. Anything wrong huh?

jojo: polyclinic doc i lagi dont believe lor.

its really too early to diagnose that he has ADHD and not speaking yet

1. generally boys are slower

2. give them till 3 yrs old to diagnose

3. if they can sit still for half hour, they are NOT NORMAL already.

thats why i usually dont recommend kids to go for lessons at such a young age. i personally think 3 yrs old will be good for classes.

but those gym/play class can la, can start young though

all above are my personal opinions hor.

but then do expect the #2 will learn much faster than #1, cos he got a sibling to follow everyday and ya...learn all the bad things only...good things never learn

JAJ: definitely nothing wrong...

its very good already that they can get the word somehow rite lor.

u want jav to speak like what huh...

to me as long they are speaking some words at 20-22 months, its fine de.

JAJ- i think for their age, quite normal to mispronounce cos their speech not developed fully yet. i think for J, he know "Bup" is bus, than you shouldnt be conocern lah. "S", "F" not so fast de.

2Ks - Yup I know thats y now exploring possibilities likely only send her there next year... it has alwasy been in my pipeline to send her to such classes that just matter of time... also have to see how I jaga with 2 first lol... anyway even before #2 comes, hub is already kena called for reservist for next March so I just have to survive only lucky thing is will be on ML so not so stress...

Brought my gal a new mattress gg to transfer her out of her cot, gg to be another challenge... was ironing her school uniform and labels yday, can't help but feel sad that she is growing so fast..

XFZ: dont worry too much 1st! trust your own mother instinct, u can de!

just see how u manage only, sling meimei then ask jiejie to walk.

for food, just cook a simple porridge lor, then both u and C can eat.

yay...i can see charmaine when i go pick kyler already...

after 5pm the toddlers will go to the main bay

okay... thanks 2Ks and allets for assuring me he is normal. I scare his tongue too short, that's why have problem to pronounce "s" or "f". hahaha.. I heard of some parents only find out their toddler tongue has something wrong and had to send their kids to go do a minor ops to cut the line below tongue to let the tod able to speak better. Scary...

JAJ,

Their pronoucation not v accurate now de. Sometimes we have to guess what they are talking.

Yday my maid was asking my boy if he want a didi or meimei and to our surprise, he replied "I want didi", of course not v accurate but it was a surprise to us that he can say 3 words together.

bbkaiser, must be happy to hear him surprise u all with 3 words reply! I also waiting for Jav to speak in 3 words.. Now he can only say banana for 3 words... or jav (vier in fainting sound) kor kor...

2Ks: Thanks for your advice. I feel more assured now.

JAJ: I feel that 'S' and 'F' sound are more difficult to pronouce. I think Javier is doing a very good job. He is so clever.

jojo: i was abit concerned how come the doc so early to judge the 18 months boy lor!

give him some time ok!

u mummies hor...so fast expect the kids to speak in 3 words..

i got lower expectation lor...

Jojo, thank you for your kind words. Not sure if he is really smart but I think to parents no matter how their kids progress they will still be look the smartest and cutest in the parents' eyes, right? I really worried he has got problem with short tongue, coz no experience how the kids speak at their stage. Not kan chiong lah...

2Ks - Thanks, I will jia you!! Maybe next time you hear Kyler telling you there this girl who cannot sit still keep walking ard in class and that's my gal haha...

JAJ: dont worry, until now sometimes kyler still cannnot pronouce words properly.

like octopus he always say is op-potus

dont say the kids hor...there are also adults cannot pronouce properly hor...

like eat = chi(1) become chi(4)

drink he(1) become he(4)

2Ks, u made me laugh at my screen lah! That chi and he is not they cannot pronounce correctly, but more like they have malaysian accent in speaking mandarin! lol..... like red hong(2) se(4) becomes hong(3) se(4)... :D

Op-potus sounds cute!