(2011/03) Mar 2011

pull- up pants - i thought these are meant for easy changing ma.. so when we are outside, anywhere also can change diapers . i think for Janelle, is cutting too big.. cos she is so skinny !

Smiggleprince - ya loh.. food expo so crowded.. we walked around once than just bought 2 packet of potato chips and a crepe. want to try other food but the queues are super long. in the end, went popular fair.

XFZ,

Thanks for the tips, We tried ipad/iphone/laptop/books...all don't work, sigh. He cried so badly like Sinmey's Shay. We tried to hold him down and carried him to cut his hair, but his flying kicks made us gave up after 10 minutes. Oo, there was this stupid guy that actually filmed the whole process from outside the shop~ he must have been thinking that we were torturing him. We have decided to buy those scissors and cut it ourselves..ugly but priceless haha.

Poky,

Oo thanks, I will go get them after work today. Guess I should have come here earlier to seek advice from the experienced mummies. We gave him ice cream and cold bean curd cos he refused fluid and porridge. It's Day 5 now, so thank goodness that he's starting to take plain porridge though it just a few spoonfuls. Btw did you get HFMD from your kids? We have been doing lots of sterilising and cleaning these few days cos if we get it too, then there's no one to look after him. Any tips on how to give a good clean to the house and toys, beds etc? Did you see a doc to certify that your gals are ok before allowing them to mix with other kids? I'm intending to do that to prevent the same thing from happening to others. Sorry for my many qns.

2Ks,

I gave ice cream cos he refused yoghurt..sob. It's his first time on ice cream. I hope to keep him away from these "snacks" till he's a little older. What other type of food have you started on Kiefer? My boy is still pretty much on home-cooked porridge, rice, mee sua, egg and soup, biscuits, fruits, little bread. Btw when are you going to the animal farm in JB? I read the blog entry actually before it was posted here. We were already planning to make a trip until this HFMD struck. Btw jia you on your BF! You lasted so long *pat pat*

Sinmey,

Thanks for the encouragement..the worst will be over soon. I wish someone can invent a vaccine soon. I've already used up 4 days of cc leave..now really cannot anyhow take leave for me-time :p

SmigglePrince

Yeah he's always crying or screaming with piercing voice. I stay on the 7th floor and everyone on the ground floor can hear us haha. It gets esp worse after he wakes up and in the night. The episode will last an hour before he settles down. I have never downloaded so many YouTube videos before to entertain him. It's quite funny though cos since he can't talk, he will scream and cry if we show the video that he does not like. It was a good test of our patience. Btw what were you selling at Expo?

2Ks - Wah... C already cut hair 3x after shaving botak at 4th months... her hair grow quite fast and she is so afraid of the heat and keep pulling her hair...

I haven tried the pull up pants on C... now trying to quit her pacifier at night... big project...cos now she is growing 2 new teeth which just sprouted so she is quite happy with the pacifier dot dot dot...

hi hi....i read but lazy to post..nothing much initeresting to post really..so tired of running after the 15 month old hahaahha!!!

on hair cut...i rmemebr my elder boy scream n shout everythign time he cut his hair coz he hates the hair falling to his body...n manage to finally do a proper hair cut at the salon at 3 year old!!!!!

my girl on the other hand..my mum help her hair..no make much noise...not even scream...

really different different temperament...most interesting

n congrats to all preggy mummies!!so fertile the year of the dragon!

mimimo

perhaps give him more toys?

my booth at robinsons..under safra...

Allets

i spent abt $300 at the food fair lor..

stuck at my booth and so bored, end up shoppin and spend money lor..

But some booth stuff are quite worth buying..

so much free gifts... haha.. i so auntie liao...

here's what i bought

-2 jars of jam , free choc bar

-3 pack noodles, free chilli

-carton of soya bean

-bak kua and pork floss at 50% off

-meatballs (nice and cheap 3pack for $5)

-susbcribe 8 days, free slow cooker and electric grill

-munchys' biscuits (6 for $10)

-oyster and chilli sauce ($1 each)

-taiwan instant beef noodles (same price as BP)

-organic baby animal pasta (3 for $10 only)

-tuna at $2 each(free juice)

smiggle,

wah ... very fruitful trip for u .. so much of food ..

Mimimo,

i limited the toy.. Only let him play that few toys which is easily wash in the Dettol before his sis back from school (sekali spread to his sis i can die with 2 hfmd bb at home) .. Usually after 1 wk the dr confirm hfmd, i gotta go back to the same clinic, to get the letter to certify she is ok to go back to school ... So, 2 more days confine for u.. But some kids take longer to heal though. It's good that he starts taking some food ..

Hi Jaime,

join us talk nonsense & gossip lo .. haha. Else i no where to rant without the mummies here .. haaa

Hmm, C got so much hair, lucky she is ok to cut hair, else another nitemare .. My girl/boy hate the big cloth which cover their neck though ... maybe they feel like tie them down ?

mimimo

erm, i always read 8 days so i just subscribe, not really for the gift.. just lazy to buy

but the slow cooker not bad..good for cookin porridge

the eletric grill abit big.. tot of giving away cos i already got happycall

sinmey

my colleagues drop their jaws..

this weekend i be there again, will chiong the baby fair and JL sale got additional discount on the last weekend..

XFZ: both Ks hair grow damn slow..save money.

but usually me & hub will cut hair then bring kyler along, then he get to cut free by my stylist.

sometimes his fringe i just anyhow trim for him lor...his hair quite easy to manage

quitting pacifier is a big project..LOL.

will lead to few nights of not sleeping ok..

sinmey: cos i eat supper at night..wahahaha...

all the desserts..

smiggle: wow! seems like a good buy man...u not auntie la.i also like that, too bad i dont have time to go down...bring both monkeys..no way..

my 2 Ks also no hair.. u saw my fb rite..

think lesser than your 2 K..

Kasper literally look like a balding uncle.. haiz..

I have never brought any of my kids to expo..

i once heard about this accident where this baby in expo and cant breathe, call for ambulance and the baby died in the ambulance cos the expo full of cars and ambulance cant get out!

*big wave* I was very busy and have not posted for a long tIme. Hope everyone and your lil ones are keeping well.

My #2 took the MMRV jab and had fever for 4 days already. How long does the fever last? Called the PD and the staff told me it's low grade fever, so they are not worried even though fever usually last 2-3 days. Anyone has fever for so long? Haiz, #1 had the MMRV booster jab too and just started fever 9 days after. Very delayed effect.

We are heading to HKG, work cum leisure trip. We are not too familiar with hkg. Can you pls advise where to go to get children stuff? Toys, clothes etc. and also for adults?

HFMD, my 2 boys had it last month. We became very paranoid with them mixing with other children and going to crowded places, esp playgrounds and the live shows they have during the school hols. Very common places to get hfmd. Food-wise, try giving oats, yogurt, melted ice cream.

wow smiggleprincess, you very on leh!

I will usually skip all these expo fair unless it is a really really good deal!

Hhahah, training CHloe to sleep in her own room is also not easy, have not beeb sleep enough for the past few days! I have tried Project Pacifier yet but now I will pull it out once she sleeps! hahah!

ask you all ar, any idea if Nuk will be having their promotion during the motherhood fair ?

Ever since i bought the first 3 packets of NUK wipes, i loved them !! i think they are comparative to Mamy Poko old version, thick and wet.. even much better than pigeon wipes cos pigeon tends to be quite dry after opening..and pigeon v thin..

if you are looking at trying the Nuk wipes, highly recommended! 3 packets for $9.90 (even cheaper than pigeon 3 packets).

anyone try Beautex baby wipes ? now i very into wipes cos Janelle used alot of different wipes on weekends .. pigeon hand& mouth for her to clean hand, dettol to clean bb chair, nuk/pigeon for diaper changing or clean her when eating porridge..and i saw from Carrefour, Drypers have their own wipes (bought 2 packets to try)..

So let me know if you got other brands to recommend k cos i always like to try diff brands and compare.. i tried kodomo, too thin but it is really cheap..

BabyG

The fever for MMRV usually kicks in after 5 days.. and also depends on immune system.. so maybe that's why longer to recover..

just drink plenty of fluids and observe for the so-called side effect (autism)

tres

my inlaws stay near expo..

i like to leave my kids with them and get some breather, so always end up at expo lor..

Allets

i have tried kodomo and carlsons.. value for money..

Pureen is not bad too..

tres: my project pacifier declared success! LOL

pacifier free at home and in ifc already..kekeke

babyG: i think its viral fever already...MMRV leading fever and viral fever. it usually might last up to 5 days.

this is something that i noticed lately, the normal fever is gone...now become viral fever that are attacking the kids

smiggleprincess: how i wish i can drop my kids elsewhere then i can sneak to do my things...

things can be done faster and more efficiently without them around.

but no way lor...my SIL will grumble if i leave my 2 kids at in laws there.

she can but i cant lor..

allets: u got spend min $500 at robinsons for half a year? if yes, u will receive a 25% voucher. use that to stock up on nuk wipes.

it is very worth.

sometimes i buy that also...

otherwise when i go malaysia i get the pureen moist one. pigeon now after my hubby friend resigned to care for her grandchild, i seldom buy le, since no staff price

2ks - no wor.. i dont spend so much in robinson (hardly shop there in fact)..

for the pureen moist one, is it the orange packaging? ok to use on their butt and face?

i saw beautex one.. got chamomile, aloe vera etc.. wonder if it is good.

allets: i c...i usually stock up my wipes when the voucher comes, otherwise its during taka member sale.

yes the orange packaging, but there is a "super moist" wordings at the top left corner.

its personal preference, i use it, but its up to u whether u want or not lor.

btw,

anyone wanna go POLW sentosa together??

im thinkin to take a weekday off and bring both kids there.. prefer outdoors to let them vent off their energy..

Haven been there yet though, not sure if its worth the price

I haven brought my gal for her injections cos she was sick on and off for the past few weeks... Now I super scare of the fever that will come after the injections.. omg!

2Ks,

u still have ur mum/in law .. or ur BFF to help in really necessary. U still get to travel with them with u .. so not too bad ..

At time, i really envy mummies who has someone to sneak out. Me really has no one here, even i gave birth yo #2, i has to lug along my #1, request the 'single' ward, with 2 single bed, so my girl can sleep there while waiting for my delivery... Traveling with 2 kids + a big kid is way way too tiring ... My hb basically dun 'plan'/'think' anything when we travel de .. For him, holiday is really holiday lo, relax physically & mentally .. My hb just told me few days back that Shay is big enough to enjoy the holiday now and let's plan to go somewhere .... I think he means to ask me to go plan something for the family trip .. i'm a bit hesitate, dun feel like taking 3 kids & tiring myself out the whole trip and i think i won't be getting anything (like spa, shopping ...) for myself... Very sian

Any idea where is nice to go, except BKK, HK, Bintan, ??

Smiggleprince,

What is POLW ? sorry ar, i suagu.

I;m thinking maybe jz go to sentosa for 2 nite stay .. at least no need to lug so anything, take flight...save on the flight ticket & stay/eat good food in RWS & Universal Studio ?

sinmey: my mum is working one leh. she cant help much, and she cant handle kiefer. my step dad can only handle kyler, but not kiefer. but i cannot be leaving both with him mah.

as for my MIL, she need to help her daughter la..her daughter depend alot on her

i feel u...my hub keep asking me to plan holiday, road trip or whatsoever. please...it like i am doing all the work, packing la, go enjoy or go suffer...

i rather stay at home

2Ks - crossing my fingers and trying hard to be positive abt it... stress.. why do they have so many injections...

Btw, now, hep B no longer taken in hospital when bb is born right? I heard my frens telling me after 1 mth must bring bb for hep b injection liao not like last time time we can wait till 8 weeks then bring bb for the 6-in-1...

2Ks,

that's the word ... go enjoy or go suffer ... ??

pack/unpack, walao, if i forget to bring anything, it's like my fault lo .. haiz ...

Thanks Smiggleprince,

It looks fun .. with bigger kids maybe .. our 1+ yr todd is too young for most of the fun .. maybe we can plan a 3 years bash there .. haha

I saw the Festive Hotel too .. haha. If you book early & stay on weekday, it's <$200/nite & <$250 for the family King which has a Loft for kids .. If i chk in on weekend, then i gotta ask my member fren to help me book .. i think it is not too expensive

xiaofeizhu - not every baby taking mmrv will have fever..

hey.. i am totally opposite of you all.. my husband is even i plan, he also dont want to go. i was just telling him go the UKfarm at JB 2d1n during my 1 week vacation, he shut me off by say "can dont everytime think of holiday not ? dont waste money lah"! whoa biang.. at that moment, i really feel like slapping him! in the end, i ask him take leave accompany us during that 1 week, he can only take 1 friday off.. so we will be going for 3d2n stay in RWS.. i am clueless what to do there. cos this boring man dont want to go universal studio and totally not keen to take the rides.. i was thinking, farm isnt it better and more things to see ? hmmm..

Hello mummies...

Are there any buangkok or sengkang mummies around where can intro any good playgroup that you are intending to send your little ones to when they turn 18mths?

I am searching high and low but can't get any feedback....or comments...any mummies can share?

Appreciate.....much.....

wow so long nv log in n all talking abt holiday!

I also v hesitated to bring my 2 monkeys to holiday leh. cos i havent go already v tired becos of the packing... but.... i actually gg to melaka with em on this coming june.... gg to try out a short trip first then plan somewhere further next yr

sinmey, u can consider phuket or krabi? near n relax ha haa i bringing nicole to krabi on oct but not vernice ha ha

I hope i can dump both with my mil leh cos i want a 2nd honeymoon with my hb... ha ha i wan to go hokkiado!!

Sinmey

im bringing both kids there to check it out for the first time..

Allets

ur hubby same like mine..

except he rather go casino..

but we enjoyed the beach so still not so bad..

we also went underwater world and played the luge cos of #1..

#2 is still young but he like to play water so bringin him to POLW

Blurjen,

Yea, we went Phuket few months back .. Aiyoo, Moiie scare of the power sun so we mostly hide in the room or shopping centre during day time then back to the pool by evening .. haha ...

Hmm, Krabi.. i love there too ... i wan to go rafting but who can take care my bb ..

Allets,

If my hb told me that, i'll go myself or with my sis ... even better .. haha ... I'm actually thinking maybe bring my girl to somewhere with my sis and leave Shay with my hb ... very evil .. But he like to tag along for holiday leh .. sian .. some more he picky on food, go with my sis confirm a better companion to shop & eat .. haha

Smiggleprince,

i love beach too .. But after he Phuket trip, i think no need go so far, just sentosa is good enough coz both my kids love hotel's carpeted room & pool the most i guess .. haha

Allets,

so u going for rws during the 1 wk holiday ?

2Ks and Sinmey:

I think we are in the same boat. I don't have anyone else to take care of my boy, so everywhere we go, he goes. I wish I can catch a movie soon with my hb, haven't seen one since Feb 2011. I'm more of a planner and packer, compared to my hb who is very free-spirited and likes to take things at a time. He told me that he wanna bring our boy to NZ, the 10 hours flight there is enough to turn me off @_@

Sinmey, what about bringing your kids to Msia and get your family to help? Then you can go somewhere to distress for a few hours?

Allets:

I am using Pureen and Pigeon. Pureen is super moist though it's a little soapy. My mum gave me the Johnson's wipes recently...super soapy and moist, good for general cleaning I guess.

SmigglePrince:

Do let us know if POLW is fun. I think I better avoid these crowded places for the time being, esp during this sch holidays. I think this HFMD episode has made me very paranoid.

XFZ:

An an...maybe your baby will turn out fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My turn soon next month. Are you taking the chicken pox vaccine?

On holis, I think I will choose to go Bintan..just a 45min ferry ride, good and clean beach, lots of cheap hotels, lots of simple things to do there (water sports, firefly watch, go cart, adv ride, or just eat and pp watch), best is no need to pack a lot of things.

mimimo

during the last epi of HFMD, only me was certified to be. #1 fever on Sun, I took care of her till Mon. Tues i start fever liao. but only Fri then certified as HFMD after the spots appear. During the whole period. We checked the gals regularly , especially since i am still the main care giver at home. I asked the doc if #1 was havin as well. but he say as long no ulcer, spots, it not...... even the regular checks at her cc, also cleared her.

but it was only after i recovered, n the blisters start breakin then we realise that #2 had it as well... but the spots didnt show at all?!! sigh.. so we also cannot 100% say she kena....

during the previous round of HFMD of the gals. #1 & #2 were grounded at home with me til certified by doc again that she has recovered. then can go back to cc.

actually cold does help in swallowin. definitely not warm... even lukewarm i find pain liao.. at most is room temp for those slippery food stuffs... at least tat wat i feel.... after add the jelly powder to the milk to slightly solidifyin it, it easier to "slide" down the throat without really swallowin n risk "clammin" the ulcers n thus the pain....

As for sterilising... hahah i did planned to.. but then,, end up no time at all.... only wipe wipe their usual toys, n that it.... =( so i cant advise much on this..

IMHO though....

allets

i tried beautex. find it abit wet, but thick enuf. but v v slightly to the papery type. but cos thick enuf, so nv break la... lol

sinmey

hubby is the mixture of ur n allets... hubby "dedicate" all plannin, researchin, bookin, admin stuffs for me when plannin trips.... i submit "propsal" at a date nearer to trip for him to review n "confirmed".... his idea of trip is beach n massage. n juz laze on the bed or wherever.... shoppin trips provided included his interest r look after (electronics n men clothing)...

speakin of bintan/batam, for the ferry, even baby need to pay the fares, $46 is it??

i also dun hv anyone that we feel confident in leavin our kids with in our abscene.. so where we go, they follow.... =(

poky: some people asked, i go holiday without the kids, i fang xin meh...

well, i need some sanity...

but after we go this BKK, my dear hubby said next round, they be tagging along..

i think i stay in sg better...

he asking me whether wanna go taiwan f&e with the kids...i was like .....

please..i am freaking lazy to plan and also no money la.

2Ks,

Im considering Taiwan too .. Shay loves running in the green grass so i'm just thinking maybe Farm is a good choice, while i still hoping for some shopping moment in Taipei ...

mimimo,

hai, few hours is oklar .. i steal away for few hours to do my hair when i back to in law house though..

The only 'good' point when going back is, there is maid there so i don't have to do laundry & washing .. haha

2ks

actually i think it gd if a couple can get some lone time without the kids to have as wat u say, SANITY!!!

if u r certain that the people u choose r adequate n know how to settle things shld there b hiccups, y not? u go n rest n recharge le, then can take care of them mah...

my inlaws r not confident in takin care of 2kids for 3-4hrs unless both sil r at home with mil... 1 baby - 2 adults lor...

for my family, hubby not even feel safe for my mom n sis to look after 2 for only 2hrs....

who else i can find n trust for 24/7 for even a 2d1n trip????

2ks

tell ur hubby to "xiang qing chu"!! he sure wan the 2kids to tag along mah?? all the carry, changin, feedin, etc??? omg....

2Ks, hope the Taiwan guide/info helps in your planning. I would suggest you bring along some old folks or relatives/siblings? so that they can help you carry and take care of kids. That time I went with only Javier (he @ 12 mths, still can't walk) and is managable for us coz we still get to shop and eat till drop as we have my parents and brother/SIL to take turn carry/entertain Javier. I think if you wanna go with just hb and two kids will be very tiring. Their night markets are not stroller-friendly, very crowded, so you have to carry the kids. I think I would have died if I had no help then. But if you can survive the Korea trip with the 2 kids then you should be fine for Taiwan trip (anyway you are a supermom!) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I would suggest a bali/phuket/Koh Samui if you wanna bring two kids along yet can relax. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I went taiwan without the kids last year..

truly enjoyed it..

im sure i wont be able to eat in peace with them around...

unless its all Farmstay then i think its better..

I brought #1 to phuket..

spend most of the time in hotel..

didnt even use the stroller as he prefer to be carried..

My hubby almost died lor...

My parents and inlaws are most willing to take care of our kids.. Mainly they just play with them cos i leave my maid there too..

I think without maid, they will be too tired...

If not, i will opt for cruise.. Went the royal caribbean cruise and they had activities for #1 free.. so i can slack..

I would recommend cruise for a short break.. its clean and plenty of space to run abt.. i don have to worry they get lost, and still got baby sitting services..

I fully agree. I went Taipei with my boy and elder relatives last month. I spent less than s$100 shopping, can u believe it? Cos it's the relatives first overseas trip, they chiong all the way to buy things, snacks and clothes from day to night. They literally OTOT cos we split up. Not nice to get them to take care of our boy cos they were there for a holi.

sinmey, go batam/bintan lah! seems cheaper than RWS, i think!

cham lah, Chloe have not gone for her MMRV jab, should be going next month ba! waiting for her PD to sms me the date!

ha...i went taiwan before with kyler and kiefer in tummy mah...

but still managable. taiwanese are very nice people..so i think still ok bah.

dunno la...think no need money one mah..LOL

for now, let me try with the 2d/1n trip first.

poky: u dunno my hubby...we went bkk rite, he insisted buying things for the boys...die die must buy. he see the boys things more than his own things..

i still ok la. cos he is hands on, he will help me.

just i hate the packing, always so worried that i will miss out something