(2011/03) Mar 2011

wow, 2Ks that nice, imagine the bak kue teh, chicken rice balls, durian chendol, satay celup, hack lah, stay 1 night in Malacca for the food! hahah!

smiggleprincess - a/c will get suspended? i didnt know that. how did it happen?

allets - does he like beach, etc? maybe a short trip to bali, batam, port dickson, cameron highland? at least ur leave not wasted.

smiggleprincess: email the moderator.

bkk clothes for kids not very cheap nowadays leh...

but i still managed to get some cheap ones like 140baht one set kind.

allets: i am paying for the farm leh, poor life...my hub lagi power. he asked me to sell seafood to earn the farm tour.

Won- with #1, we stayed with my in-laws. CIO, I come out of the room and see my MILs face so black, ahahaha. So I stayed in the room at the side of the bed where the baby cannot see and use torchlight to read book till she falls asleep ahahahaha. These days if we have to work late or on a date night and my MIL comes over... she'll spoil the kids and stay in the room and sometimes cuddle #1 to sleep. My #2 has no interest, she's damn steady, she likes to be left alone to sleep :p.

Oh and both rejected the pacifier, heng ah, I saw my SIL, at 3 years old she's till begging her son to give up the tutu. At 5 years old he's still on the bottle at night (he picks up the phone and orders a bottle of milk from the maid at 2am EVERY NIGHT, yes they are rich got intercom)! But he's trying to hide it cos my #1 dropped the bottle at 18 mths. Soon #2 will drop the bottle too and he'll still be on it! paisay leh.

M: omg...my target is to stop pacifier before he turns 18 months. i drag till now, cos of the bkk trip, and i think a pacifier will be easier for the person. so i drag till now.

talking about bottle, i am trying to get kyler to quit also...but he is not very capable of holding cups, he tend to spill still, otherwise is the brother come and disturb u.

how does and often does yr #1 drink milk? she doesnt take milk before bed?

2k - cos ur hb know u r power in earning extra income!..haha..do another spree n u shd be able to earn it soon.....lol

M - steady lar!! CIO method when u w ur in-laws. i think i will b kanna scold left, right, upside down. hahaha. even if i close e door n my gal cry, 1st thing e grandparents do is, open n carry her away, then start to carry, shake, pat, sing song n walk around the house. lol. no way i can train her to b independent.

just curious...what activities do you do with your kids on weekends?

last sunday my hb n i were damn bored! dont know where to go, dont know wat to do with our gal. wanna bring her out since she always stay home on wkday. end up, always landed in heartland malls, aimless window shopping.

any 'cheap' suggestions?

won_mummy: maybe i will do another BP before hubby resigns. he wanna change job already.

i got sell still, but in fb. earn extra income lor. lucky my work flexi can do some during office hours.

changi airport T3? its free roaming..

sometimes morning go there coffee club for breakfast then let the kids roam and run about. carpetted and clean..

won mummuy - i was just thinking of the same question what to do with ger on weekend. you can go T3 and let her roam, go safra (less crowded) for a swim, visit the farms at Selatar, Lim Chu Kang, goat farm, fish farm or the farm at pasir ris there if you want a long leisure ride from west to east. at times i will ask hubby to bring us go far far so that we can sit on the car to "dou feng".

am bringing janelle to the Selatar farm this sat..

my acc suspended cos i post on other threads and they see it as spam lor..

email moderator also no use..

been more than 3 weeks liao..

i went shibuya and there is a shop which sells kids stuff very cheap and like mothercare quality...

Won mummy

I bring #1 go library every other week to borrow books and dvd..

Swimming at my inlaws place every weekend

sometimes we also go sentosa cos very near..

most of the times im running between my parents and my inlaws..

i deposit them so that i can have more time...

otherwise, we got to botanic garden and jacob ballas garden..

During June/Dec hols, we go road trip to Msia.. visit our dog whom we gave away..

Bottle feeding

erm, i read somewhere that sucking motion is comforting for them.. so i still let my #1 use bottle..

i have no issue with bottle if they feel comforted by it.. and seriously, it doesnt do any great damage rite??

smiggleprincess: so u managed to find the wanton stall opp of shibuya?

i went shibuya, but i doesnt like the clothes..

eh...use bottle too much think it somehow affect the teeth or something. then i know if the milk remains in the mouth when they drink to sleep also not so good.

woo. congratz to all who r expecting again. =)

sinmey,

i tried with water liao. but buay tahan the strange taste.... must use milk to mask tat taste!! in the end, i join the membership le... instead of searchin n searchin n hassle of meetin up... =p

2ks,

feedback when u back from the trip? i also interested.. but most likely gona b july ba? jun got sch hol.. sure packed de!

wkends usually trips to the grands' place.. sat morn - piano lesson, afternoo-night at my parents place. Sun morn grocery. then afternoo - night at inlaw place.... we focus quite strictly tat they must go spend some time with their grandparents n family members.... occassionally we bring them to the hokey pokey, zoo, swimmin pool, east coast, marina barrage for pinic, or juz downstair playground, etc.. recently i been bringin them to library every 2-3wks....

allets,

the farm can juz go without bookin? lots of animal interaction for the kids??? hv not try that b4 leh.... mayb shld try that b4 tryin the ukfarms??

hey poky - good question, i have no idea if i need to book in advance anot.. if cant i just go other farm loh..

Kids Amaze @ Jurong Safra having promotion - only $4 for member and $8 for non member to use the facilities. for this weekend nia.. so if any of you interestd, can bring your kids there to exhaust their energy!

More mummies pregnant.. so happy for all of you!

wow...few more mummies having no. 2? congrats!!

for weekend, thanks mummies for your replies. i shall go airport this weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think our little ones are at the age of understanding what fun is.. and esp now most of them able to walk independently, we parents are cracking our heads where to bring them to over the precious weekends. for me, am always excited about weekends and thinking where i can bring her to.

so if any one got more interesting places, rem to share ya.

Tres: sometimes when I got nothing to do in office I read other threads... Try very hard not to go spree or Bp lor..

That's how I c ma...

Don't worry too much, happy mummy happy baby..

Keep us uorated on the gender ya! So excited!

I can't hv number 3 despite I really wants.. Budget doesn't allow..that's why I very envy those got people help take care la!!

Congratz Tres & L3X ... haha ...

2Ks, i also KPO go other thread ... coz this thread too quiet le .. but no preg means can't joining new thread how ? .. haha

Finally have agar known the new baby routine. Am now planning for a short getaway trip next month to HO (3 days) to get some sanity! Got recommendations for hotel accomodations on HK island? Thanks!

Hello Airmez,

How's life coping with 2 bb now ? Not bad leh still can afford to steal away for a 3-Day HK Shopping/makan trip .. haha

it's monday again.. another 5 more days to weekend..

anyway, i brought Janelle to Selatar farm "The animal Resort" last sat. would say is not really worth going lah.. firstly, it was drizzling when we got there. so need to walk around with umbrella and fed alot of mosquitoes (free flow of blood for them ). secondly, the place is not well-maintained..very run-down type. thirdly, not alot of animals. only have 1 horse, 1 goat, 1 big bird (looks like ostrich but bigger), some goose, some rabbits in a run-down shed, some chicken / ducks and some crane / storks. that is all! Considering the distance we travelled, not worth going (my distance from lakeside is longer than my farm visit liao) .. cos at most 20 mins is all you need for the place. So rather diappointing!

Decided to go to Expo where we spent the next 2plus hours in food expo, popular sale (bought another 3 books at S$17.90 in total for Janelle) while hubby headed for the Car show.. Didnt managed to go to John Little sale and the mini-IT sale.. cos by the time we are done with Popular , time for dinner at 8pm. Wanted to go to the mall next to expo, car park full and the queue to the carpark was super long. so in the ended, went to East point and had another disappointing dinner @ Hanis.

Looking forward to Motherhood fair this sat!

hi hi Airmez, so how are you coping with 2 bb at all! the tough part (AKA confinement) should be over liao!

HK stay along Nathan road TST area kowloon area, where you just pop down and shop / eat away! hahahah! not too sure abt HK island leh.. I always stay at kowloon!

I'm back after the busy period at work! My boy just contracted HFMD - he's not in cc. Should be from the playgrounds, shopping centres. Though there are reported cases in his cousins' cc - he plays with his elder cousins every evening. Really bad luck haha. We have been advocating washing of hands before meals, after play since young. Terrible time cos he can't talk so we don't know what he wants.

I rem sinmey said to avoid playgrounds, yeah man. Now we will be more careful, no playgrounds indoor or outdoors. Minimize going out when HFMD hits the peak.

mimimo,

OOh, yea, i avoid those kiddy ride at shopping centre too ..

Now is HFMD peak so i try avoid the kids place .. i only bring my 2 kids down to cycle, running on the field .. every time we passed by the playground, their eyes are 'locked' at the target. I just pretend cannot see & go further away from there .. haha ...

My girl's cc got cases again .. so i shower her once we reach home. The last time Shay got it, we only practice wash hand after reach home.. Now upgrade to shower after reach home .. Trying to minimize the touches lo .. Can't avoid de, just try to minimize the risk as we can ..

Get well soon to ur boy ... Plenty of fluid for him .. it's ok if he dun feel like eating anything for these few days .. His mouth/throat might not be comfortable ...

mimomo: oh dear...

got ulcers in his mouth or not? u can give him some yogurt.

relieve his pain...

u go get "JIN YIN HUA" from medical halls, boil barley put some in for him, will expel the "poison" faster.

sinmey: oh no...nowadays kiefer come down from the lift, he straight away dash to playground...i got to dash after him lor..

2Ks,

haha ... i have the slide at home .. hopefully they not too 'gian' to 'slide' .. haaa.

Nowsaday, Shay will squat in the lift or refuse to go in lift if he still dun feel like going back ... walao, i have to run with him for a while before bluffing him to go back .. else, dashing to catch him home lo .. sometime i gotta cook their dinner leh .. running a while mean no more time to cook and he has to eat cereal le. But running/catching him does not help to reduce my weight leh. ..

hye mummies,

can i check if anyone of your babies using Drypers Pull-up pants and experience leakage ?

J is using the pull-up pants when we are out on weekends. and the diaper never fail to wet her pants. i am so frustrated loh.. cos that would means having to bring extra panty or pants for her loh. could it be that she is very small size and so more lobang for leaks ? she is wearing size M .. when she use the normal dryper diapers, no problem with leakage. so pek chek with this pull up pants.

sinmey: i am also putting on weight leh..but temp cant be bothered now cos i am still bf..keke

maybe later than think..

anyway healthy most important esp for us with no help de.

allets: i never like drypers...

i am using mamy poko pull up pants for kiefer, but its very exp so i only use when no space to change him etc.

he is wearing L size for MP.

2ks - ya loh, different butts i think.. i bought a packet of mamy poko, i dont like cos it looks thick on her butt and since i saw that she is comfortable with drypers diapers, i thoughht would be the same as pull-up pants .. haiz..

Thks sinmey and 2ks! Will check out the Jin Yin Hua [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yeap he has ulcers in his mouth and blisters over his butt. Not eating much, gave him ice cream out of desparate and he developed a bad cough now. But now on road to recovery. Very draining exp, hope no one else will have to go thru the same thing - *healthy dust* to the kiddos.

Allets

I used MP pants too - they are good and don't leak easily. Bought them for my holi earlier, they served well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Long time no read and post =)

Been a busy month.. hope June will be a better one..

mimimo - Show cartoon on ipad/iphone, give toys, play with the kiddo... I did this for my gal and luckily was ok thou she will still turn her head here and there... last time, my hub was also cutting hair so they sit side by side and my gal keep turning her head to look at what daddy's is doing...

Went for a half day offsite meeting already feel drain lol... old le lousy stamina....

i also let Chloe wear MP pull up pants, i feel these pull up pants can't hold pee as much as those 'normal' pampers, a few times it leaked but it is like more than 4 hours so.... maybe it is really full ba!

mimimo24,

i gave my gals "san jiao shui" aka three legs water when they kena hfmd. my neighbour of 5kids recommended me...

allets,

is the diaper heavy/wet when it leak? mayb too small le. previously, my gal also leak (using huggies ultra), she was stil wearin M then. look juz right. stil got room to expand, but after we try upgrading the size, no more leaks liao.

mimimo

btw, is he stil refusing to eat? try givin beancurd. the time when i kena hfmd, tested with the foods... i survive mainly on soyabean drink add jelly powder to bcome beancurd..

XFZ: kiefer hair from 1st month shave botak until now...wahahahaha...save my money.

same with kyler, almost 2 years old then haircut

or the liquid from porridge, why u dont give yogurt? should give that instead of ice cream dear...

ice cream contains sugar.

i am kindof strict with their sugar and salt intake until he is 21 months or so..

allets,

Maybe size too small ... Shay has been on L for quite sometimes le.

I thought Drypers is consider the 'ok' one, beside the expensive MP Premium Pants. So i only use 1-2 times for Shay when we r out & NO place to change him .. Else, i prefer the normal diaper lo, better absorbance compare to pants type.

Mimimo,

if he can drink some milk is good enough ... i nvr give any cold yogurt or ice cream to Shay last time leh. Dr told me small kids has better pain tolerance than we think .. jz make sure give enough fluid ... & pump him back after he recover.

Hang in there, the worst is over soon.. just prepare to pump him up ...

Haircut, those kids friendly salon got TV/cartoon to distract them .. My girl hate haircut till now .. Heng her hair grow very slow & usually it's me who trim her fringe. I brought Shay for his 1st haircut yesterday, the big cloth put on his neck already scream till whole salon+customers looking at us ... end up cover with small towel & i hold him through out ... walao, my whole shoulder is full of his hair lo ... i think i better learn to cut his hair myself .. hahaha

2Ks, u r right. We need to ensure we dun fall sick .. No MC for Mummy ... u still bf how come put on weight ? i wish my weight stay as bf time ...

mimimo

poor boy.. is he always cryin??

perhaps drink more milk and add brown rice in it?

its very filling...

Haircut

my boys all got no hair..

first haircut usually happen around 1.5-2yrs old.. before that i just trimmed myself..

i now go to junior league.. so no worries.. just sit there and wait..

Allets

i thought pull up pants is for those in toilet training and hence no as absorbent as the normal ones??

Expo

i went to the food fair too, so smoky and so many kids crying..dunno why so many ppl..

i have a booth at Hall 4 and there were at least 3 announcements of kids found lor...