(2011/03) Mar 2011

Limlim: handheld blender is good enough.. They prob eat purees for a few months then will progress to porridge and chopped food..

Rach: I have 3 baby cubes lor.. One solely for fruits..

Then u know hor my mum tot it is those disposable containers so she threw one pc away.. End up me one tray short of 1 pc

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5462879.jpg]

Braun MR4000 MultiQuick Hand Blender

this is what i have...

I think Philips also have similar ones...

so its up to individual preference to the brands...

but this is good enough...save space and time and easy to clean...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks> lol....THROW AWAY!! i'll scream at my mum lo.. ahhahaha...she see me buy.... as in...being delivered to my house in cartons...so she knows its not disposable ones loh.. lol.....

kekeke... ;P

yah.. i only used 2.. i wanted to get more but think they will outgrow it very soon.... so just live with 2 sets...

16cubes.. i also make the purees once a week..or when its finished....

hehee..come to think of it... its all gonna be so fun again...... but i only puree for like 2mos maybe.... then move to porridge liaoz....

but i know some mummies still puree till 12mos...

can faint loh....

i anyhow mix leh... anyway its fruits and vege ma....

but those with carrots... all turn yellowish liaoz....

Rach: ya lo, I'm checking w her, still waiting fr her reply.. But nvm la, I think I go ahead w tango cos still gt alot of designs. Keke...

Yes, near 50 bucks when reach PP ok! Imagine I went straight home, I think at least 60 bucks!!!! Both me n eve were saying, regretted, shud haf jus taken e mrt, wld haf reached long long ago.. U waited till 6.30?!!! Super long la.. Our jam was horrendous, not moving at all!! Thus e sum of $$ .. I told uncle v cold, reduce the aircon, he did la but still v v cold.. N it was raining. Plus maybe cos I alrdy had contact w germs frm Jav, maybe tts y I caught e cold so easily,. But thank God, my fever subsided Liao this morn.. Left abit of sore throat..

Angelina: ya lo.. The cold taxi plus crazy weather ... Ok la, nw at least I gt no fever I don feel achy, I can still look aft both of them., jus trying my best to separate both of them.. =P

2Ks: ya I agree! It's e mad weather.. Everyone's falling sick.. I jus keep drinking lotsa water.. Hopefully e throat feels all better.. N u 2, take care ya!

Thanks milktea! =D

Fel: welcome to e iPhone gang! Hurhur..

I wan bb cubes! But so fast buy meh? =Ppp

Limlim: I haf e avent blender cum steamer.. It's v convenient as in u can jus throw in e cut things, steam turn over n blend.. All within one machine.. BUT! I don really like e design of the steaming part, made up lotsa small holes, will clean until v v jialat. Mine v dirty alrdy I gonna buy new parts fr nw.. Cos since I haf machine, I don wanna waste it lo. If u ask me, I feel nOrmal hand blender can do the job well enuf alrdy.. =)

I also hv something similar like what rach posted.. Just diff brands.. But if those with friends working in philips can get la.. Cos 40% now for staff..

Rach: why u know.. I separate one for fruits.. Cos all purees look the same to me la.. So I make one tray just put fruits so I remember.. Aiya I bird brain one lor...

Actually 2 trays enough la..

My mother never see before mah... Alot of bb things she dunno one, but after seeing how I do it.. She can go tell others le...

2Ks> i bought my Braun from WTS last time.. not 1st hand... but that person claimed she never used it cuz mother prefer to do it old way by using fork and press... lol....

so i got it cheap cheap also... $30-$40 i think....

so i used it more than the wean machine....

if anyone wants the wean machine..i can sell mine...buy liaoz tot can bring out and use etc....

boh ah ni gut lat leh.....

hahaha....

oh yesh.... so i will make all different color puree lo...

esp carrot n sweet potatoes man.. hahahha....

but carrots brighter la...sweet potatoes a bit duller.... lol.... wah... cant wait!!!!

hehehe.. :p

lilprecious> dun say now so early..... now already 2mos++... after 2 weeks maybe then finish collating orders.....

as usual...some mummies take forever to decide..(no offence but its the trend...ALL THE TIME!)

then finally place orders... wait 2 weeks to deliver.... thats 1 month liaoz... if some delay like OOS... then 6 weeks.. by then... babies 4 mos liaoz.... then reach liaoz... collected...mummies post and say wah very good... then 2nd batch of mummies will say... "can i still order?" then another round... by the time everyone happily gets hold of it.... babies 6mos liaoz... wahahhaahhahha......

sorry ah... but this is the pattern i receive for almost ALL my sprees lo.... always like that..

so sometimes i also relak la.... slowly order... or if i got spare cash then i order extras... sure got people want de.......

but but but.... now me very leong... so only can order with payment... lol... :p

2Ks> ya lo.. my mum also.. last time stay with her...she every few weeks see new things coming.. then she will take and see..and wwow... last time also dun have these things...

then she will tell me..

last time no such gadgets u also grow up like that... hahahaha...

alyssa> yes.. its very exciting de...esp when u feed ur baby ur own creations... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

satisfaction.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alyssa: it will be fun initially... Then later will be sian.. Lol

Like porridge got to prepare early then another set of things to bring out..

I Prefer when 2 years old, just bring diaper and scissors then can go out le..

Haha i agree with 2k... Now my #1 is abt 3... Go out super easy... Water bottle, diaper and scissor... Small small bag can Liao...

Now the thot of dong purée, cooking porridge.. Super sian... Plus the bag must be very big to put in all the barang barang...

Rach I wan the baby cubes too... If I prepare on weekly basis is 2 trays enough?? Coz I intend to prepare for the nanny and bring ovEr for her to feed bb with cereal so she dun need to prepare and I know what my boy is eating..

Rach by then maybe u can try bulk purchase for cereals liao haha

Just want to ask , how u all goig to prepare for ur bb ar? N by how many mths we start feeding puree? Is it blend fruits n veg using blender until puree form than put into this cube n freezer them? Than when need to eat just take out e cube m microwave ar? Any other way to warm it cos mil sure say bb dun tSke too much microwave food (she looking after bb when return to work).. must learn now on wat to feed my ger cos mil dunno anything de..

Is it bb normally eat puree Liao than how many months start porridge? My mum started my nephew porridge at 4mths plus n I think he skipped e puree stage leh..

Allets- U ask all the questions i wann to ask. My mum was saying next mth can steam n blend for my ger to eat liao, think she wann to do it daily

For me I only start plain rice cereal when my #1 is 5 months plus then slowly add in purée to the rice cereal as the weeks goes by..: only started on porridge when he is abt 7 or 8 mths ...

Dun Noe if the other mommies does it differently?

Jeraldin> i've been spreeing Happy Bellies Cereal since last year.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

allets> warm with ur warmer! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thats why its called bottle and food warmer...

just take out a cube and dump into the Pigeon warmer and tada!

bb> very leceh to do daily..esp we are talkin abt 1oz portions initially....

I started at 5.5mos with 1teaspoon of cereal..just to get her used to semi solids... then slowly increase to about 9-10teaspoon over 1 month... then replace 1 milk feed.... then after that i introduce puree... then mix puree into cereals.... then porridge... then rice.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Beaba babycook is ex la but useful. I had one last time n steam n purée per meal. Didn't freeze cuz freezer still full w bm. I guess avent is same.. But beaba can use to warm up too n cook rice/porridge etc too.

Rach: it's ok le, my friend can sell to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thx!!

Wow nw talk abt puree Liao. Wat I do last time is use those 3 tier steamer n steam fruits n vege then using handheld blender to blend for one wk supply then put into baby cube n put into freezer.

2Ks> hahha..yes.. me lazy..thats why after 2 mos i stop puree..and give porridge.. after 1-2 mos i give rice liaoz..and another 2 mos eat adult food liaoz.. wahahahhaha... :p

Scissors! Yes...

www.tinybites.com

i have ready stocks now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have the 2 in 1 blender and I use it for no.1 till now... Heh. Cos it's easy, just steam the baby spinach, blend a little so when I make cheese omelete for her, I add spinach, add to her porridge as well. Or carrots to add to her pasta and peas cos she won't eat them otherwise. Good buy if you're gonna have two or more kids lah.

hey rach

haha yeah, it's manual but i find it ok coz easy to use - i used it to prepare steamed sweet potato etc. mash it up n grate it.

Rach- I got wean machine Liao... This was the first thing I bought for my baby lo.. HAha.. I want bb cubes too.. Will pm u later

Fel - 23 days! Whoa, I waited the 6 weeks but scared to get preggers again so I need to get the pill that's safe to take while breastfeeding from my gyne. So the hubba got lucky once and he's taking half day to send me to my gyne next week ahahaha

Yean, I dun knw if d Julique barrier cream can use for other

use or not, I can't find mine, dun knw where I put.

Puree is to eat on its own or mux into cereal? Ok to intro cereal to bb at 6mths? BB cubes, 2oz is for how much food? Is it too much or too little for 6mths bb?

Lim n all

No time to read so many - just digest on food maker n others stuff!

I use the bruan brand blender too

Is very handy ESP making purée n minced meat or beef or veggies ;)

4 mths- I starting bit of cereal n purée for Clara

I bought some organic bb food stuffs cereal n onli when 6 mths then I will mix w eu yan seng si sen powder[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good for them but not too much just. To mix w porridge

Porridge - many receipes to make- like ox tail stock, meat stock, fish stock etc.... N not forget beef stock

Lailai - Clara watch the Mickey mouse clubhse for 5 mins n I stopped her Liao

Cos. Watching too much - they will have lesser attention span

alyssa

up to u, you can pump abit to get let down, then quickly switch sides to collect the let down coz a letdown always drips bm very fast. after that ok liao i will empty my breast one side until 70% empty, then change side, then come back to the original side, pump again should have 2nd let down, then empty fully liao then go to the next side

fyi, i use 2 pumps every session but sometimes i use 1 pump at any single time - coz 1 hand pump another hand squeeze my boobs so that it empty faster.

i kancheong for it to be over

i used U-blender for makin puree, n grinding rice to smaller size b4 cookin.

i used 1 tray for 1oz, n 2 trays for 2oz. stil hv 1 or 2box of 2oz tray in storage!

last time i order online for healthy times cereals. cos got free deliver n cheaper. but share with another mommy who live nearby. =p

alyssa

i dunno? i pump half hr for both boobs, wont know how many mins i spend on one side coz my goal is to empty my breasts, i mean eg left side i need more time coz left side got more ducts

2k - How much milk is kiefer drinking now and how many hourly interval?

I think i asked you before, but i forgot liao... =)

Joc> beginning only 1oz Lo.... Then as ur baby's appetite increase then u give more Lo...

6mos prob only 1oz.. Then slowly 1.5oz then 2oz...

By 10-12mos prob 3-4oz liaoz...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Limlim> mmmmmm... Happy bellies also can eat 4mos onwards.... I've never given nestle organic cereal leh...

Didn't know there's organic one...lol...

But tbf babies try to be tbf for 6mos Lo...

No hurry to intro semi solids... Best to tbf 6mos then start semi solids... But 5-6mos very hard to pass and than dun give semi solids cuz can't wait To see their reaction.. Hehe..

Wa, posts so long already!! Read until last n now forgot what n who I wanna reply to.

Cae, beaba is a good machine I heard but it's not cheap. U can use that since u have it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I heard it traps n collects the condense juice, so it's good coz Cayli can get all the nutrients from the fruit/vege that u cook in beaba.

Rach, I want that Braun handheld blender (looks slim!) n babycubes (what size to buy? I no idea leh). Btw, I very fast one hor, I not those take long time to reply/pay u unless it's really ex stuff then I will spend a little longer to consider... I also dun mind to buy it early n keep. Be well prepared is good!

Lunch and some shopping at Jurong Point on coming Monday (16 May) at 12 noon.

1) Annie

2) Shirley

3) Blurjen (spell this way?)

4) Milktea

5) Allets

6) Yean

Suggestions of lunch venue :

1) fish & Co

2) Lai lai

3.)Iciban?

Btw, i got F&C membership card...hehe...pls vote...

lilprecious : good that ur getting better today. really leh, the weather recently like very horrible. few days super hot, n yesterday when i need to do laundry no sun at all

annie : think i can join u all for lunch n shopping. but i don't need to buy anything actually, maybe just walk around

wah i hate it when it puree stage. i always ask my hb to be the one who do this. too lazy to do anything in the kitchen, except cleaning up

fel, I think my hubby will settle on his own...lol...wah your eden very good...so fast can finish drinking! My Gareth like slow poke...needs at least 20min to finish 100ml...

Rach, I collected my loots from u today. Really very heavy n I think total 33 pieces of clothings for Jeannie. My hubby was shock n speechless. Haha. N I still tell him

More to come. Hee

I want the baby cube also. PM u Liao. didn't know make puree so much work one. I think I want to start at 4th mth Coz she going Infant care so can replace 1 milk feed.

Pauline, I think my hubby also monk Liao lo. We stop doing since I preggy Coz he outstation in shanghai lo.

Annie, Blurjen , I taking cab on Monday leh. My hubby strongly object to me taking bus/ mrt. U all still want to share cab?? I put the cab bill on my hubby's tab.

I got my Manduca today n still trying to adjust it. U all put the Bb in then adjust the shoulder strap ar??

Posted on Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 10:28 pm:       

Lunch and some shopping at Jurong Point on coming Monday (16 May) at 12 noon.

1) Annie

2) Shirley

3) Blurjen (spell this way?)

4) Milktea

5) Allets

6) Yean

7) Angelina

Suggestions of lunch venue :

1) fish & Co - dun advise cos not v stroller friendly n

afternoon old jp 3rd level super hot ESP fish n co is directly under e glass roof..

2) Lai lai

3.)Iciban?

4) Carls Junior

5) Thai express

Allets' vote: lai lai or thai exPress

For me, I strictly start introducing purees when bb turns 6 months old. Cos I believe that first 6 months milk is the most important for the bb.. They hv their whole lifes to eat solids la.. And best at least no need to bring more stuff out for at least 6 months..

Rach: I never give kyler outside food till he 20 months and very selective till he turns 2 years old...

But I can't deny it's easier now la.. He eats what we eat now, tempura, curry, crab etc lol..

But one thing, he doesn't drink cold drink yet and not interested as now..

Fel: kiefer drinking 140ml 4 times now, plus latch in between when he eh eh..

I think abit little... Prob will adjust again when I going back work..

Why??

Wahh!!! Gathering again arr!!! I feel like going leh.. But i think my hb very scare of me liao leh... Take cab lah, buy things lah.. Blah blah.. Lol !!! Hmmm.. But if go hor.. You all just have lunch nia ar? Staying there long mah?

shirley, i'm ok with sharing cab hee hee. wow u also got ur carrier liao gd lor dunno when then i will buy mine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] just told my hubby i wan to buy carrier then he said waste $ again.

pauline: think its better if u remove him frm the TV asap.. there r research tt shows tt bbs who r introduced to tv at a v v young age are more prone to b autistic n hyperactive.. think its cos of the many movements n lightings in the shows.. i only introduced Jav to Tv when he was 8 mths or so.. n tt is only bb einstein.. one day 1/2 disc n as he grows older i make it till 1 disc.. but he nvr likes it la.. so all the way till 2 mths ago, he started to show interest in sesame st when my hb showed him on youtube.. n so till nw, he nvr likes any tv programmes except sesame st. but sometimes he does look at our shows a lil while, den he'll jus do his own things liao..=.=

i started purees only at 6 mths.. for the 1st 6 mths i put Jav on total BM.. he was on puree all the way till 10 mths i tink.. as in only those harder type of fruits..other than tt i stop other purees at 8 mths, tried cereal but only less den a mth cos he hates them, with/without purees added..n so i jus jumped straight into porridge n he loves them.. so my blender cum steamer only used for a short while bah.. den i slowly introduced macaroni,pasta,noodles,kway teow den rice.. =Ppp

2Ks: totally agree w u! haha, i love it when Jav had all his teeth n started taking adult food n i jus needa bring his spoon, scissors n water out! keke.. but nw, spoon also no need liao la, sometimes scissors also no need liao..haha, he teethy monster.

Angelina: thanks! ya, weather is really jus too terrible.. hope it clears up soon so everyone including the bbs can b of gd health again! =D

i also think v mafan for all the preps n cleaning n washing up..but when u see them eating the food U prep.. its like...... so proud of yrself cos hes eating the food U prep..ahaha.

Rach: i know.. its me.. =((...hahahahahah! i always mus think some time b4 i decide on buying things.. esp clothes! i can look n order, but b4 i email u i actually chk thru n del for 3-4 times.. b4 sending u the right copy..n w the kiddos.. i actually take more den 4-5 days to collate my own order. WAKAKAKAKA.. sorrrrryyyyyy~

i also wan bb cubes! =Ppp ok la, i email u now..hehehehe.. cos v nan de my both boys KO a 10.40 today..=Pp

Jeraldin: me... I m doing the same.. I intro plain RICE cereal first...then other purees. Fruit puree i intro last..

I also intro porridge when about 8/9 months..

I not rushing into weaning la so I do it slowly..

And also see bb is allergic to any food or not

Allets: u might conside getting this book "first foods" to read.. It's good info

2Ks Ur boy drink so much now ar? My gal drink every 3 hrs n when I give bottle she drink 70-100ml. But if I latch I think she can drink more.

Btw, can share the BP link to buy the labels for bottles?? I need to put Jeannie in IFC next mth but havent order the labels