(2011/03) Mar 2011

Fel n 2ks, salute u 2 lah...how to cope?? Mummies with a bb & a toddler, really kudos to you!

I can't imagine what will happen once my mil & her sis left (which will be until end April)...oh no...I'm still having my good night sleep except that I need to wake up n pump...that's all...

Fel- sounds like ur bb is getting day night mixed up..

Finally got # 2 to bed, no choice had to sway a bit while sitting down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but she finally slept THEN #1 wAils, sigh, her two bottom side teeth are cutting her gums [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Suppose to drop both girls at my Mom's place so I can go for facial but I think I might just stay home and zzzz , I forsee a loooong night ahead.

2Ks - i say again I don't know how you do it cos at least I have a helper!

2ks, fel,

Thanks so much for sharing! This sounds a little bad but I kinda of feel more relieved now that I'm not alone in dealing with these challenges. Let's jia you together [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fel, I only look after my boy from 2/3am to 5pm I already buay tahan, everyday not enough sleep coz my boy same as your Bb, night time can wake up almost every hr, sometime heng heng 2 hrs, once in blue moon super heng then 3hrs (this one like tio toto). So I at night is no time to sleep until 8am near time to bathe then after bathe, feed him n put him to sleep, I need to rush my breakfast, wash his laundry, change my dog food/newspaper n do some house chores then soon is my boy next feeding Liao. Then after feed need to prepare my lunch, eat lunch then soon must stand by another feeding then after everything finish maybe can nap with my boy abt 1 hr or lesser coz he sure eh during his sleep (most of the time). Then soon my mum will be back n take over me in the evening. Then I have dinner, bathe n accompany hb when he's back. After that will try to catch for 2 hrs sleep b4 my whole routine starts again..

Like that I already bth, I can't imagine 24hrs by the clock! Faint!!

PS. Sorry for my naggy post...

Annie, your boy slp sarong still lidat, slo alittle then wakeup?

My boy is lidat so am buying him a sarong to try in hoping that he will slp better in it leh.

So heartpain seeing him cry and cry until breathless.

Hubby said first 2mths cannot let him cry lidat wor, he goggle that they are new to the world, dun feel secure and we cannot let them feel abandon. Haha.. yes I noe it's funny but maybe first time parent, reli kindle diff to leave him crying in the cot leh =P

I remember someone ask about alternatives to hot compress? Initially I used donut but it cools down too fast. I am using hot stone for hot compress. Just use a stone and boil it. The hot temperature will stay but you must be able to tahan it.

Milktea, yah it is true. At first I thought it is okay for babies to cry but after reading up, I realised I have to sayang my boy more 'cause they are just infants, new to the world. Sigh.

Yean - No la... My baby doesn't feed every 4 hours... I'd be SO GLAD if he does... I latch him on one lei... How to feed every 4 hrs??

Wow your baby can latch for 40mins? Mine can't.... 10mins or so he can KO already... haha... Strong sleeping pill effect..

M- Yeah... Think my baby sort of have mix up day and night, so trying to push the timing here and there to "fit" properly also...

Mimimo - Sounds bad, sometimes i just wish i got some help also... Sigh...

Annie - Wow... you also got equally lots of things to do.. You do laundry every day???

Sometimes my boy can wake up every hour from 2.30-6.30am ( happened like 2-3 x) and it drove me nuts...

Sometimes it starts from 4.30/5.30am...

But hor, yesterday baby slept with me on my bed, turn on air con, put him inside a sleeping bag, baby slept from 830pm - 1230am, wake up feed, KO till 430am... Feed again, KO till 630am ++ then start to eh eh eh and fully awake...

Hope tonight and every night also like that sia..

Lailai - The way u say have to sayang them cos their are infants and NEW TO THE WORLD...

Sounds so funny... lol... laughing my ass off...

I'm new to motherhood... WHO SAYANG us??? lol..

Fel, alamak...don't like that leh...at first I set standard for my bb one leh...was mad at my mil for spoiling him..but the guidebook said it is OK to saying the bb...aiya...makes me so guilty for being strict...+ mil kept brainwashing me that my boy loves ppl to sayang him...

My mil & the book make me so confused..& now my boy like so difficult to coax...mil carry him, he ok. I carry him, he wanna cry. &@)#]^*>_!,...just hope I can do some damage control after they've left...

mommies, you all are great! having to take care of ur bb alone! n i meant really alone... these few days my mom already let me take care of my bb ALONE and i already buay tahan... n bb only wakes up 2x a nite for feeding... peifu u all lor...

lai lailai,

same here! i dun wan my bb to form a habit of having to be carried ard always... just 2 days @ MIL's place and come back to my mom's place got that pattern liao... first nite come back eh eh eh eh... never slp unless being carried! faint faint faint.. though book says won't spoil them but i feel that bb will still form a habit lor...

ehhh... pupsik pouch.. how come i put bb inside he feel so uncomfortable ah??? like too small for him like that...

OMG OMG....

My right breast got lumps tt refused to go away despite two rounds of hot compress n pumping n massage...

Latch my boy on he also like cannot suckle much... maybe nth comes out?

Put him on another breast... suck till soft sia...

siao liao la....

ST, yes I tried ridwind but initially I didn't give much. Ttfn colic hits my boy back again. Have been giving him few times a day since ytd till now and dunno is it taking effect or I lucky, tonight he is sleeping well after feeding. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Milktea, yes I give him sarong coz he only can sleep better w/o much fuss in sarong, so I can have more rest too. If not initial days I have to keep getting up from bed, bend down to carry him up from playpen n put him back n back to my bed, this repeating cycle during a night can really break my back loh! At least sarong I can sleep on mattress and shake him with a strap I hook on sarong. Hehe.. He fuss last night n refused to sleep even in sarong was because he has wind in stomach n stomach is very bloated, that's why uncomfortable n cannot sleep loh.. But tonight is ok liao, maybe is ridwind taking effect.. I heard him farting after taking ridwind, which is good.

Fel, yes I will soak/wash (dump into wm)/dry my boy laundry myself. Then I also help my mum to take fold n keep all dried clothes. These are the little house chores I will do everyday beside taking care of Bb and bathe him, and taking care of my doggie.

Tonight I try to bottle feed ebm to Bb n I find it can make my Bb sleeps longer wor coz when I latch him he also KO after 10 mins then 1-1.5th will wake up crying for milk again. So bottle feed him can confirm last him at least 2 hrs to max 3 hrs. Just now I try to increase the amount of ebm to him n he actually finished it. Will see if he will sleep slightly longer with increased feed. I try to latch in day time now coz he is less impatience during the day. Night time he too cranky n fuss easily if he can't latch well or my milk flow too slow for him. So now i try day latch, night time bottle feed but the xin ku part is I have to wash n sterilize bottle n pump!! Sian but at least he wun cry n disturb my family members. More peace at night!

Fel, that time my right breast got lumps, my boy also hate to latch that side coz he can't really draw out the milk well ba.. He prefers my left boob coz the flow is better n easier to suckle. I tried to use hot compress n massage myself but to no avail. I think the best way is to hire ML to massage n clear the lumps for u. They can do a better n faster job for u. It's really hard to massage urself coz naturally u wun use too much strength to really massage off the lumps since it's super painful. So if ur lumps dun go away after a few tries to massage on your own, u better call ML better. I pumped on the affected boob also cannot pump much milk out but when my ML massage the lumps for me, I can see alot of milk shoot out! Like fountain like that! Lol..

v hard to catch up w e posts, onli managed to read a few pages of archives... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] realli peifu those mummies who haf to take care of baby and #1 all by themselves!

Angelia: r u buying the Sacred Tea? mi interested too... if u got lobang to buy let mi noe ya... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies: need ur advice again... how to increase milk supply?

mi milk supply is still a miserable 30 to 40ml per pump at day 30 now... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] mi oledi taking domperidone (given by gynae), fenugreek, milkmaid tea, and latch on demand... pump i do for 25mins each time... the sad thing is i always cannot manage to pump on time coz gonna take care of bb all by miself without CL or mil help (tats y peifu mummies who haf to take care of bb themselves and can still handle soo much! ) ... when bb cry will attend to her first n sometimes will delay mi pumping for 1 or 2 hrs... or if i pump halfway i will also stop n attend to her... called e lactation cousltants few times, they said no point going for consultation coz i just haf to continue to latch n pump to try to increase the supply... is there anything else i can do?

mi gal now prefers the bottle n sometimes hard to latch her, she will cry n refuse mi breast, then haf to coax her... soo sad... but when she's in a good mood, she will still latch lah...

Mummies... Peifunpeifu.... My time w bb will come next week when CL leaves.....already I'm dreading it so much....

Well, I just we have to than n Jiayou together... This is our duties to the lil one!!!

Milk tea, my bb also kena Colic alr.... what I usually do it that I will feed her dentinox colic drop, around 5pm plus..... Then feed her full full, with breast / bottle, coz the stay milk ss is rather low in the evening, then pat pat her to sleep, hopefully after sleeping till 8pm plus... Then she seems to be less cranky.

Fel : trying to follow the Gina ford routine, not easy leh.. Sometimes bb refuses to co operate with the timings.....

Hihi pumpin n catching up on post

Gathering at rach will b huge n fun!! Too bad I've 2 more weeks of confinement .

Is it possible if we latch frequently we won't get blocked ducts n lumps?

Recently my Bb latch one side n ko. If he can sleep 2-3 Hr can I assume he got enuf from 1 side?

For pumping is it ok to pump about 10-15 mins a side n not empty out breast cuz I'm scared Bb will wake up in 1/2 Hr for next feed? I'm just pumping to relieve myself so breasts not bursting .

Hubby snoring away so lucky I have this forum for company .

Do ubal also pump in the dark of bedroom?

straylamb,

How about pumping after latching every time? I read that you should pump/latch 10-12 times every 24 hours ideally to increase supply. But I also understand that it can be difficult when you have to take care of bb all by yourself.

Tres - yeah... No easy.. I know... and i also trying to incorporate it into my baby... Everyday re-start lor... haha...

Used to be very determined abt it. but bb cannot cooperate so i become more flexible lor.. here n there la...

Butter 8 - I pump indark bedroom.. cos don't wanna disturb bb or hubby by oning the light..

Butter8,

If the breasta are drained frequently, shouldn't get blocked ducts.

If BB puts on weight & has at least 3 soiled / 6 wet diapers a day, should be enough.

Pumping to relieve engorgement is ok. No need to pump very long if you're not trying to increase supply.

I used to pump in my dark bedroom for #1. Now I pump in study room in front of PC. :p

MUMMIES - I NEED HELP

MY RIGHT BREAST GOT LUMP AND DESPITE FEW ROUNDS OF HOT COMPRESS AND MASSAGE AND LATCHING, IT DOESN'T GO AWAY, SO I NEED a massage lady...

Can your just flood me with all your MLs contact? (good one hor)

So i will call and see who can make it today or tomorrow.. Wanna faster get it over and done with...

If just clear the lumps n ducts don't need use oil right?

I dread the OIL on my body... omg...

Pooh bear, you recommended Fauziah 90210533, and you mentioned NOT CHEAP....

NOT CHEAP = how much huh? Can share???

fel,

I think about 70-80 per session. Includes the whole body. Not sure if just the breasts can don't use oil. My lactation consultant actually told me that the Jamu oil contains tumeric which is antiseptic & can be used for mastitis.

Tired tired.. Bb wakes up middle of nite dono how many times Liao.. Now wake up change diaper wan milk! Arghhh I miss my sleep!

Mummies-- but ml 1 session can clear e block duct Liao meh. Or need a few session?

Btw, any idea where I can get replacement cover for pigeon sterilizer? Clumsy me Drop e cover on e floor n now got a big crack occupying half e cover.. Does content in e sterilizer remain sterilize If cover got crack ? Damn angry with me loh cos uses e sterilizer for Onky a month ..

Pooh Bear: yes mi usualli try to pump after latch... but still v little leh... i noe non-regular pumpin does affect supply [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] does the pumpin duration matters? i pump for 25 mins usualli, however most of the milk are collected in the first few mins, after tat very little or none...

Fel- I also have lump at e top far right corner.. Tried hot compress but stil can't.. U tried jaster method? After pump use cold compress instead? Dunno leh, yest was out at my ah Ma house n when pump nv use any hot compress, e lump like better.. Than come Back use donut hot compress n I stil got lump.. Maybe massage n massage more effective?

Hello mummies... Busy since yest afternoon no time to come in and read...

Jaime> no RL sleeps on her back at nite..

She only sleeps on her front on the bouncer in the day...

I dun put her on tummy on bed at nite la...

Cannot whole day on tummy la... Lol...

So at nite is on sides or back with beansprout pillow on her chest..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She Ko last nite 11plus till just now 6plus.... Woke with full breasts again but managed to feed one side and then she fuss andi offer another side.. At least not so hard now.. Lol....

Cloud B Sleep Sheep on the go

Est abt $20plus.. Should be ard $30 max...

I found anther seller at US$17++.. plus shipping ard $8-10 since it's smaller...

Once mummies confirm I can place orders Lo..

Once I place orders abt 2weeks should arrive..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How many keen??

PM me okie.. So I can track... Thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies- when will bb start losing their tai Mao ? Ie their hair? Noticed that when i sayang bb head, alot of fine hairs start coming off... Going to ti her botak today !

Allets - Yah... My lumps still there sia... sigh... so gek sim sia...

pumping now..

Bb sleeping,

Not sure if u swaddle ur bb to sleep. They will sleep better / feeling more secure with the hand swaddled.

They might feel unhappy at 1st but one they fall asleep they shld b ok...

fel,

y not u try hand compress after pumping?

u know sometimes the pump really cant reach certain area of the breast.

after pumping, massage the lumpy area again and hand express out.

straylamb,

I think 25 minutes is ok. If after latching can pump 30-40 ml, seems ok leh. Your BB on TBF already or still need supplement? You pumping to store?

allets,

My #1 started losing his tai mao around 2-3 weeks, all came off by 1st month.

How we know bb growth spurt ar? My ger still satisfied with'her 90ml .. Or is it because bottle feeding we know how much to give her thats why I dun see growth spurt ? Tried increasing to 100ml yest but can't finish..'will try again today..

Really peifu mummy who really handle alone. I m alone too. But occasionally hb still help if he not wkin. But nightfeed cfm is my shift.

Annie - ur boy on sarong still don't sleep well? Can imagine how tired u r. Nowadays I also seldom have nap in e day le. Arms r aching cos need to carry her almost whole day. So tired.

Panda hut - ur situation sounds like mine! I really worry she overweight leh. If don't increase she don't sleep. This morning I tried 140ml, she burp w lil coming out from nose. Really don't know wat to do. Is she hungry? Is she too warm n can't sleep? Or is she just spoilt n love to b carried. Haiz

Allets - isn't it gd that ur gal not drinking a lot? So long as she got poo n pee shd b ok ba. It is more worrying like mine, doesn't seem to get full n doesn't know how to stop.

Was counting the diapers used daily by my girl and realized she uses up to 10 diapers in a day cos she poo so often like once every 3 hours. Am on total breastfeeding latch on. Haven't started pumping much unless I miss a fed due to the massage or baby drinks only one side at nite. Any babies here poo as much too?

I'm staying with my mum for confinement but have to feed and take care of baby myself as mum is busy looking after my 4 year old nephew and have to cook for the whole family. My nephew is jealous of my girl and does not allow my mum to carry her. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Want to check, any mummy here has baby who stayed in the breech position till birth? My baby did not turn and I had a c-sec in the 38th week. Now my baby's head is elongated to the back and the PD said may need to go to the hospital to wear a headgear to mould the head or next time may need operation or the brain will not have space to grow. Haiz. So upset.

hi mummies, like to check with you, today is day 5 since I have given birth. if you expressed milk for baby, and give it through bottle, does your baby still wants to latch? Yest, i expressed 40ml and gave it via cup cos' i scared later she dont want milk and hubby commented that she so kelian, so hungry and yet i gave via cup...I expressed cos baby sometimes can sleep for 4-5 hrs in the daytime and worry that my supply will drop..

Appreciate your advice

JAM,

My baby also poos alot. Sometimes 4 times in 4 hrs alone. Worst nite I had cos aft pooin she's hungry again n need to latch. My diapers also used up lik duno wat. When she fart, sometimes her poo also comes out n need to change again. But poo alot is ok for baby la, esp mine still have jaundice.

fel,

then really have to ask ML to massage and unblock all the milk ducts...

if no ML is available then maybe can try thomson parentcraft, their consultation is $64 for half hour service but im not sure if they will massage for u or just purely consult only.

Spyria - Thanks.. I hope by massaging, pumping n latching, it will eventually clear off sia..

MUMMIES - Got smth to ask your...

What do your usually do with your babies huh?

Besides feeding, changing diapers, coaxing baby to stop crying n to sleep...

Do your do anything to stimulate baby?

MY baby like very bored lei... It's always either his cot, my bed or the play mat area...

anybody display flash cards or etc to entertain baby?

Or share what u do with your baby?

Fel

Parentcraft will massage for you and teach you the correct techniques to clear those lumps. They also highlight problem areas. Mine was bra strap too loose, hence I always have lumps at the top corners of my breasts, near my armpits.

I followed their advice to strap properly, now don't have this problem

yoohooo! finally able to log in a lil while... been so busy, no extra time at all.. =.=

meme! i tk care of 1 NB n 1 toddler as well.. like 2Ks.. but i peifu her more, cos she can cook somemore.. haha! i gif up cooking totally!

mmm, my schedule is roughly like this: ....

5.00am :feed Jayien

6.30am :pump

7.30 : wash/sterilise..last chk for Javier's

bag..change water in flasks..

7.50am :wake Jav up n bathe

8.00am :wake Jay up n bathe

8.30am :feed Jay

8.45am :send Jav to sch w Jay

9.00am :leave Jay on rocker.. bathe n do housewrk

10.00am:rest awhile n Jay slp

11.00am:pump

11.45am:sterilise/pack abit

12.00pm:feed Jay/change

12.15pm:haf quick lunch

12.30pm:pick Jav w Jay

12.45pm:play w Jav

1.30pm :nap w Jav n Jay

3.00pm :feed Jay/change

4.00pm :Jav wakes n play

5.30pm :pump (Jay slps)

6.15pm :wash/sterilise/feed Jay

6.30pm :feed Jav dinner

7.00pm :clean Jay up

7.30pm :haf my dinner

8.00pm :do remaining hsework/puzzles or tv w Jav

9.30pm :make Jav slp

10.00pm:feed Jay/change/make him slp

11.00pm:my last pump

...n the cycle goes on.. but Jay's feeding is always 1/2 hour difference of here n dere.. nvr eneding story man.. everyday is like PACKED.. cant breathe.. n my 2 hrs nap in the noon is my strength.. if i don haf it.. the next day i'll start feeling giddy cos night time i only slp abt 2-3 hrs on n off... sigh! cant wait fr the day Jay can slp thruout the night!!! ... =\

my hb don really help out, cos he stays in n when the next morn he returns hm, hes so dead tired n he'll slp...n Jav only slps properly w me arnd, with the daddy he'll play n play.. so my hb only helps to play w him sometimes when hes hm at night n let me do my own things for awhile.. =S hectic life...

Fel: nb cant do much also.. hahaa.. i'll only sit dwn w Jay n talk to him.. sometimes tog w Jav.. den sing songs.. n he can listen as well, sometimes i will on CDS while i do my stuffs..

i only started flashcards with Javier at 3 mths last time.. =S