(2011/03) Mar 2011

Glad to pop by SMH forum...

Feeling very sian... My CL wants to leave early. I really no fate for confinement... My #1, I fired e CL after 5 days, this one oso can't complete. Dunno shld b happy or sad. This CL keeps bottle-feeding my bb, I dunno how to handle when she left. I tried latching my gal but she dozed off after 15min & cried after 30min. She like not satisfied through latching... Like that CL left I all alone can die. Dunno how to dong e nite oso... Sigh... I hope I dun sink into another depression.

Rach's CL really v gd. The food seems so nice! Mine... I feel so shortchange! My mum said my milk ss low cos I din eat well..??!!

Babybride: din see u during my nite pump last nite. U hand squeeze oso more ss than me.

Bsbybride: Pisa comes with a manual pump too... Mayb can ask ur friend if she has it so u can try? I used Pisa before n sometimes when no milk while pumping I would use the manual piston first fr 5min then use the electricity. Less siong fr u than squeezing ba.

Or u can buy the manual piston from mothercare... It's called medela base.

Now I use freestyle but still use the manual piston fr says when too engorged to pump..

Sunesis .. U can try use the bottle then slowly led baby to breast

Can b done .. My first one started with bottle .. Took me one month plus to turn him to full time latch at month 3

It's was gd while it lasted .. ESP if u have 2 .. Latching will save some time so I was adamant to latch this time rd n also avoid the bottle til I am confident of the latching

jaime> yesh... latching SAVES so much time and energy... at nit esp.. no need to wake up and make FM... though i still need to wake up now to do it.. cuz RY needs milk.. but last few nites she only wake up at 6am.. ho ho ho... at least i'm sleeping more...

but last nite i paranoid... scared the lump dun go away... so i wake bb up to latch..ahahahha.....

Annie

the mount A's toilet tap lah. Most extreme left is hot water n got steam one ok...i use got steam like that de hot water for towel hot compress

pinkypink

6weeks? I now dun carry my boy he is 15kg liao but if he insist, I will piggy back him or put him on my shoulders...

Btw mummies, I have been taking care of bb alone at night since birth...my hb no help during sleeping time one de...too tired then I latch to stretch her feeding times lor. Every night frm day 1 I wakie to pump n feed or latch... Morning super stoned but bb sleeps well during early morning so I crash to sleep at that time. Then afternoon I try to sleep frm 12-3 if my mom is free...

Also going out with bb is very ez...even for pumping mummies like me. I pump before I go out, at least got 3hrs of "free" time mah. Then feed bb full full, bring out a bottle of ebm..outside borrow hot water to warm up ebm if bb cries for milk before the 3hrs. That's what I did today. Sling bb n took train to JP to go walk walk abit with my mom...and we ate durians even lol

dun worry abt not coping, sling or stroller ur bb, usually they sleep thru out if you cover them well from sun or light

Rach,

Saw u ask cynthia abt iud... Does anyone do that?

I cfm close shop Liao but still not yet cfm if wan to insert iud... Or should ask wat other option do I have...

U 'dun' wan #3? try a boy?

pixel : to insert iud must wait 6 mths later? or 6 weeks? my gynae do during the 6th week check up...i think, i remembered her asking me during my last pregnancy....i cfm choose iud...as i asked abt ligation too b4 giving birth...for so many reasons they tell u...sigh....hope not so unlucky with iud that will get preggy...

Jaime: I m using beco, but I only used it upon 4 months onwards leh

Btw u not scared bb attached to yr nipple ah wait u go back to work bb refused bottle then got to use cold turkey method leh..

Rach also hard time weaning rayanne off the breast isn't it

Sunesis, I also got bottle feed baby Now and then.. Think stil possible to get baby to latch. Caz my baby also latch 15 min then dozed off then wake up to ask for milk. Thk it's not to do w bottle or nipple but more on our milk supply. They lazy to suck to get milk according to e kkh lactation. So they teach mi to squeeze breasts while baby sucking to increase thx milk flow to get them interested to suck. U try? It works for mi..

Ya I give up I hand squeeze.. More than u? U try hand squeeze see if got milk anot.. But muz b abit hard on urself caz I really use strength to squeeze leh so breasts wil get abit pain after each express.

Yesterday I too tired.. Even baby latching on sore nipple very pain I can stil dozed off while in cradle patching position haha. Horrible mummy lah.. So tats y didn't come in.. Tonight? Let's keep each other company here tonight then

babybride,

u mean with hand squeezed u're still able to get ur 100ml? lucky u!!! =) i'm still stuck at half of what i produced last time leh...

then perhaps like what pinkypink u may want to use manual pump.

i think u should call up TMC parentcraft to make an appt if not later full house u made a wasted trip? =) then also ask them what u should bring down yah... then after that come back n share with me leh! =P hahaa... u see.. lazy mom is like that de...

yeah lor.. @ kk ah, the lactation nurse helped me squeeze got more than 100ml... come back home is 10 times lesser!? i was like huh??? hahaa... maybe it's due to the engorgement bah.

Pixie: same.. I also bring my ebm out.. But when my supply stable down I can miss one pump that means i can stay outside 6 hours..

Guess after confinement if need to go out, will bring ebm out using FTg loh.. Abit ma fan but no choice lah.. guess will only go far with hb around..'else only most likely west mall or jp that are nearer to home..told hb min bf for 4 months so hopefully can endure until 4 months Lo..

Babybride,

I went to TMC parentcraft today. Do call to make appt before going down. As for what to bring, just bring along a bottle to store your bm.

My prob areas are

- my bra is too loose, hence the milk ducts were blocked (due to gravity). Have to tighten my bra straps and ensure no space in between. Wearing bra is a MUST hor!

- must rem to clear milk ducts that are directly under the armpits

- use wet wipes to gently rub and clean nipples before latch/express..this is to open closed ducts

mimimo24,

=) wah! u very onz also... jia you on ur moo moo career yeah.. by the way, did they say must wear the bra like 24/7? @ nite slping can remove or not?

Can someone advise me how to warm up milk? I'm using avent warmer, shld I bring out my ebm earlier and let it cool dwn 1st then heat up? How early shld I bring out from the fridge? N to set heat level to 1 or 2?

Mimimo

Thanks for the tip! Didn't know bra must b tight!

I hv not been wearing bra till some mummy said must wear.

Mine is also pretty loose, no wonder i keep getting blocked ducts even tho I hv been pumping every 2 hrs!

Sorry for the late update, I gave birth to my girl on 16 mar. Things have been so hectic with the new baby, haven't had time to read the forum for the past week.

Audrey: remember last week you were saying you liked the date 16/3 and I said I hope I won't give birth on that day cos didn't want same birth date as my cousin's girl. Well guess I didn't have a choice... My contractions came suddenly at 4.30am then reached hospital at 7am, baby was out at 11.20am.

Removed my name from waiting list. Jiayou to the rest of the waiting Mommies. Enjoy the rest of your pregnancy and feeling the baby's movements in you.

Mummies on waiting list.

============================

1) Angelina

2) Spyria

3) Lx3

4) Butter8

5) starfruit12

6) Leon

7) Cindy

8) vivienpg

9) fatbonbon

10) Audrey

Those who monitor contractions on ctg b4 how much is normal vs high contractions? Just curious or do diff machine give diff type of reading?

Jaster, where got 100ml??? I never hav this kindof output loh.. My max output is only 50-60ml loh.. Otherwise normally only 20-40ml..

Mimimo- thanks for e precious tips on breast matters.. Didn't known bra must wear tight and must open e nipple ducts before pumping with wet tissue.. Shall try it on my next pump hopefully can get better yield..

Mimimoo/jaster, ok I wil make appt w parentcraft.. I not patient of tmc leh.. U think it's ok? Ya jaster, if I learn anything wil share w u..

How much does it cost? Shucks lah another round of super duper pain again loh sure kena squeezed like mad

Pupsik baby pouch & Nursing Cover

mummies anyone else keen??

I wanna place order by Thursday latest...

Should be delivered to me by Saturday...

PM me okie... Thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach,

Yes close shop. 3 is e max. I only wanted 1-2 but really give in. Don't wish to go through same process anymore lO. Likely IUD as our age don't suits ligate. Will check with my gynae..

Finally start moooing! Bb latching ok. Colostrum in too.

Tomorrow going dIscharge. Home e best!

I

Butter> weirdly... When my contractions reached 101 very early on when I admit.. I dun feel anything at all...

Later on when I was tahaning a bit, it was only 40-50... And it was more painful then when it was 101...I asked the midwife what is the max contraction before I'll dilate fully and they said there's no max.. It's the frequency... ??!?

Pixie, how to prepare the papaya fish soup? Can share?

Can we already Bjorn our baby from the 2nd month? Think their neck is firm enough?

Tks tks and jia you to all mummies!

I check my photo .. After ful month I oredi

Bjorn .. I oredi check instruction on bjorn ..the baby neck

Is supported by the bjorn padding .. U go read the instruction on the bjorn box before buying

Coz confirm before my ml finish I oredi bjorn all rd sg oredi

2ks I wil start the bottle by 6th week or so

Should b ok coz I want to latch after I come bk from

Work etc

My boy didn't wanna latch much unless he is super sleepy ie in the middle of the night

Babybride: use hand express v tiring, still muz hold e milk bottle... Then keep leaking out... Sigh... Ya bb suck 15min dozed off then wake up 15-30min later for feed another 10-15min then dozed off again... I'm not giving up... Nx wk when CL left, I can b v ruthless dun give ebm... Haha

I pumping now then going to sleep le. Cya at 1am hor!

I used bjorn too. If facing inwards can use. I used for shopping malls, travel to Perth n Bali. Very handy. Until my boy got too heavy ;p

Angelia n rach

My average today during my check up was abt 70-80+ a few time kena 110-120+. Actually been having them since Fridays check. So lucky my cold is more or less cleared n I'm given go ahead to give birth anytime. I've got enough of ve n cervical check.. Blah better give birth soon.

Ya. A good nursing bra with support is better else our breasts will sag also. The tmc lactation consultant told me my bra too loose when I hv engorgement during my hospital stay. That's why must invest in good nursing bras.

Sunesis, same loh. My boy suck 10-15min dozed off then put him down awhile later cry for milk Liao. Sigh tats y I don't hav time to even sit down nuai n stone awhile.

Juz latch him now he in dreamland. I go hand express out remaining milk first. See u later here then.. Hopefully I can wake up on time.. Super duper tired

Jaime, my baby is suffering from breastmilk jaundice and was undergoing phototherapy yesterday. Jaundice level went down from 17.8 to 12 immediately after they gave him FM + phototheraphy. So the nurses there told me to give him FM as supplement. Really hate it. I've to go down to Raffles hospital again on Thur. Argh!

Thanks mimimo and Babylove for the precious information about wearing tight bras to prevent engorgement! But I'm always sweating when wearing bras..and finds it hard to zzz...Eeeeks...guess I don't have a choice since I'm easily engorged.

Cynthia: congrats!!! 0000 sounds reallll nice!!!

2Ks: wonder mummy sounds nice..hahahaa.. u also become wonder mummy.. somemore u more power, working somemore.. u still got time for hsework meh? i v scared i cant handle hsework tt much alrdy.. =S

ok, thanks alot on the info for the freezer, i shall go buy it! hahaha, my CL asked me to get it too.. =Pp

Annie: don put too much stress on yrself ya.. u definately can handle Javier v well.. jus needa get used to routines n all.. somemore hes nt feeling v well nw, thus u more xin ku too.. but once he reaches 3 mths or so, he'll b really easy to handle n plus u will know everything well alrdy ya.. n when time comes tt u haf a #2.. u will feel tt u gt the hang of eveything alrdy, jus gotta make adjustments n time management btw 2.. =)) u r doing a good job alrdy ya!..=D

pacifier can help them to digest abit.. as in pinky's method, drink half, suck pacifier den cont drinking.. it works for her boy's merlion-ing.. =)

Jaster: not good to keep on feeding leh.. cos if u keep feeding, will overfeed.. den he'll b uncomfy,cannot slp well.. if he really cries v badly, no choice, cuddle a lil n put down.. or swaddle n slp..if not pacifier or yao lan if it works.. both Jav n Jay doesnt slp well one.. i can tell u i suffer slpless nights for more den 6 mths w Jav.. it was until his 8th mth or so den he can slp thru more at night..even till nw, hes so big alrdy, but slping is always a prob.. besides me, everyone else has prob making him slp w/o playing afool.. tts y i can forsee the same thing happening to Jayien now..sighhh.. another 6 mths of slpless nights..

Angelina: u jus let Josh slp alone in seperate rm all by himself? or w a maid? im thinking of placing Jay in seperate rm too.. sigh.. but i know its real difficult.. my hbs nt arnd hw am i gonna split myself into 2 to make both slp seperately..=S

Jaime: ya, Simon Ng v pro breastfeeding.. hehe, he jus talks abit slow n tk it easy type.. hahaaha.. hw u find him?

Allets: i tink its nth to worry abt.. the "pimple" Jay had 3 red bumpy red ones on his face the other day n they jus disappeared themselves.. jus make sure u keep bb clean will do..=)

summers mommy: no leh, i don intend to shave Jayien's hair at all.. u can cut abit jus to 'yi si yi si" .. i din even touch Jav hair till hes older den bring him for forst haircut.. cos both of them haf lotsa hair, so wasted to cut leh..=Pp anw, its own beliefs lo.. soooo, see wad u comfy with..hehehe..

Sunesis: jia you! u can handle it well de.

Rach: u wanna do IUD? u don intend to try for #3?

Butter: the max i had in hospitals are like 150 to 160.. real pain.. hurhur.. i heard bjourn will affect boys.. is it true?

Lilprecious: housework will be the least important in my mind lor.. Kindof scary to think about it when I go back to work.. End June seems so near..

The cheers freezer u hv to see your space ok.. For me cos I wanna put at my service balcony so I got to get the smallest one.. Just nice put at kitchen there not so messy.

My gf put hers in her study room, abit odd I find

Pixie, y u dun wanna latch Bb outside? Then no need bring out ebm n hot water to warm Ma, isn't that more convenient? If u bring ebm then u have to use FTG to put the ebm out??

Lilprecious, thank you so much for your assuring words. I'm really looking forward to Bb turning 3 mths old but then by that time I'll need to be back to work also sian... I try to give pacifier after latch but my boy dun want. Cannot feed half then give pacifier coz he will cry like mad! He is very bad temper! Sigh... Want means want... So must let him latch until satisfy then he will release my nipple willingly n happily then KO... Lol...

Puan> dun think jabs can use medisave at all.. But can use baby bonus card if ur PD accepts it...

I just received my OCBC baby bonus card today!!

The card so pretty!! Haha...

Sorry cuz I apPlied SCB BABY BONUS for Rayanne...

So it's a blue Card.. Ocbc is red and so cute and nice...

Hahaha got two cards next time see which one got disc then use which one.. Certain clinic got 10% disc one... And certain Playgym SCB got disc... Like the one at EAST COAST...

sigh.. Pregnancy lose all my brain cells... Can't even recall the Playgym name at east coast now... :S

Lilprecious> not in the near future want #3 ba... Maybe at least 3yrs?? Financially will die... And hubby dun intend to have another kid.. Though I dun mind a boy... Hahaha...

See If I'll ever have a son called Raynald!! It means adviser to King.. Really like this name... Haha...

And OMG.. RL been latching on and off since 9plus... Think my nipple dropping off... >.<"""

now so sore... Change left n right n left n right.... o_O"""

And she's finally JUST asleep (as I'm typing this...)

Phew... I can go sleep too... Nites everyone..

Anyone still want GOOD NURSING BRA??

Bravado...??

Just as I tOt RL is asleep, she woke up and latched another 5min... :S

What is this?? 3 weeks growth spurts??now I'm hungry & thirsty and painful.. Nipples stick to bra Liaoz...

Shall go apply nipple cream and find food eat!!!

Wah I tried to zzz but breasts too full & getting engorged so gonna pump now...so tiring..just wondering if pumping at 3 hr interval is sustainable...but if I don't do that, breasts will be engorged...how?

To make matters worse, I gonna give FM at night & day to bring down the jaundice level...coz my boy has breastmilk jaundice. Really hate this! Just when my supply had gone up & this happened! Sigh...I wanna latch him more also cannot...=(

Spongehat, congrats on your lil girl! 16/3 is a nice date!! Nvm same as your cousin la, at least u r out of the waiting list le. Me still waiting and waiting, mucus plug just dislodged on mon night. Feel so behind lo, hope she comes out today, 23/3 I also like hehe, then can finally talk the same talk as u girls.

Rach,

My girl also awake now ... but CL told me to go back sleep n she'll feed baby with EBM...

btw, the BSS super comfy n provide v.gd support...

Butter8,

I ask e nurses this round on e contraction reading. She told me most important is e interveral they wanted to know. Reading not very accurate at times. Some feel intense with 50-80 but some feel more than that. Don't go n see e reading n based on own okie. U having contraction Liao??

Thanks lilprecious. Bb really know how to chose. As long she gd gd I v happy Liao.

Just finish mooooing. Now not bad, alot colostrum n she suckle 15mins non stoP n fell asleep.

Me gg rest now.... But my neighbour really snore like heaven! Lucky goin home later yeah yeah

Okie RL KO again.... And I wonder issit my supply disappeared or what... I'm dying of latching!!!!

Treestar> yah.. BSS is very comfy.. Thats why so many mummies invested in it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All no regrets!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seems like woman just given birth will SNORE .... was in 2 -bedded for #1/ #2 & both occasion I hav super snoring neighbours.. Mayb im also snoring but i dunno..

Jaster

Must wear bra at all times, that's the advice from tmc. I used to sleep braless before pregnancy so now have to get used to it.

Babybride

Tmc parentcraft accepts all mummies regardless of your hospital. My session cost $60+. Expensive but good for #1 mummy like me. I wrote down all my qns before going down.

Sunesis, I finally finished latching.. Then realized I don't hav storage bottles for pump liao. Sigh so now mixed two bottles output in fridge n sterilisin e empty one. Waiting then can hand squeezed again.. Resting my wrists n hands now..

Btw, I hav extra glass bottles. Anyone wants? But self collection n self wash caz I juz collect frm hospital n they are v sticky so need to wash.. Talkin abt glass bottles, how u all handle? Can sterilized again and again?

Btw, I put all my ebm in chill compartmt in fridge. Not freezer. Only can last 48hrs? Or longer caz chill compartmt more cold right? I heard freezer ebm got smell n baby don't like it. So I hav to throw away e excess huh? So heartpain especially mine all hard work squeezed out leh

Zenia, ur baby pd is frm kkh? Good? After discharged frm kkh, when need to bring baby to pd? We staying near each other same area.. R there any good pd near our place?

For baby jaudice test, I brought him to cck polyclinic. Y u go je polyclinic? So far..tot u stay near mi at cck/yew tee??