(2011/03) Mar 2011

How to pump and store EBM & Warm EBM:

hahahaa....bhb... just for those who missed this...

U cannot mix the ebm from 6pm to 3pm cuz at 6pm, the 3pm milk is cOld, the 6pm ebm is warm... DIFFERENT TEMPERATURE CANNOT MIX!!

What I'll do is...

3pm pump out into medela bottle, using freestyle so both bottles are used... Pour one bottle's content into the other.. put into fridge.

Still left 3 medela bottles... Wash the one just used...

6pm use another 2 bottles to pump... Then pour one bottle into the other and put into fridge...

So now 2 bottles in fridge, 2 bottles can wash and be used for 9pm pump.

At 9pm, pump into last 2 bOttles, pour 1 into the other, left 1 bottle...

But the 3pm & 6pm bottles are now same temperature liaoz..

So I'll mixed the 3pm & 6pm bottles together..

Wash 1 bottle.. And earlier still got 1 bottle left..

So still have 2 for 12am pump... By 12am, can still pour 9pm bottle into the 3,6pm bottle OR no more space liaoz, then I'll pour the 3,6pm & 9pm bottles into 1 milkbag and label the date...

Then wash all bottles... U have another 4 bottles to use and the whole thing repeat again...

So at any one time, I'll always have 2 bottles to use...

This is for initial stage when milk supply not so much then need to pour so many times...

Once I can get at least 50ml frm each breast, I'll pour both bottles into 1 milk bag after EACH PUMP... Then keep in fridge... Next pump I'll move the milk bag up to freezer le...

Some ppl says better to put in fridge let it cool down first before putting in freezer... Cuz straight frm

Pump to freezer the cooling down too fast

Might loose nutrients.. Never research how true... But sounds logical... So I'll put in fridge... Then shift to freezer...

To have spare for storage is when u Have more than enough la... Else before u can shift to freezer, u probably use it to bottle feed liaoz....

To thaw, ill bring down frm freezer to fridge The nite before...

By morning, it's liquid liaoz... Open pour into bottle the amount I need, then put bottle into bottle warmer... The milkbag seal back and keep back into fridge for next feed...

I dun like to open close too many times so max I'll keep 2 feeds in one bag... After 2nd opening still got balance, I'll discard... Since got ample supply, no worries and no heartpain... If u heartpain, keep for 3rd feed.. Else dun keep so much in 1 bag so u fun need to open close so many times...

Else defeat the purpose of having a sterile milkbag leh... Hehe...

End of Lo Soh ness... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kaori> both are ard $2.5 - $3k... i cant rem exact...

I paid my Rainbow with 24months interest free installments... already had it for 3yr plus liaoz... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BTW, i've just SCRAPED the gels off my fingernails...save $40, $50, whatever $$$...

FREE...i just peel the gel off pieces by pieces!!!

now my nails are back to nude... hehehe... :p

i trimmed them off last nite.... this morning i noticed some ends like coming off..and i start peeling...think peel also less damaging than scrap and buff and soak and watever la... lol..... :p

bb> 50ml from each breast.....think is maybe 3rd week or 4th week for me??? my supply didnt come in that fast also... but i just latch and latch and pump..

after every latch, i pump another 5-10min.. if pain i stop..else i pump out like 10ml???

then accumulate to 30-40ml for one feed....

i think ard 3-4th week then see more....

my highest yield was 100ml each breast..then i stopped increasing the supply liaoz... cuz its more than enough for each feed....so i dun bother to continue to be so diligent...cuz i know got milk liaoz...and i had bottles and bags in the fridge and freezer... which i never fed Rayanne with.... cuz i prefer FRESH supply....

so she end up still latch and latch.....

i threw away 3 rounds of FBM (Frozen BM) and then decided to stop pumping by 3rd month.....

I threw away 1st time, 2nd time soak feet... 3rd time want to soak forgot abt it... put there overnite... then i look at it and didnt feel like soaking with it liaoz...so throw... hahahah....

so Rayanne technically didnt drink much of FBM...

mainly latch...sometimes EBM in fridge....

somehow feel those not frozen ones fresher than those freeze before de... hahahaa..just a personal preference...so as much as possible... i give breast.... if i'm going out or let CL/mum bottle feed (which i ensure is not more than twice a day) then she drink the EBM from fridge....

i think the amount of FBM she drank like less than 10times.....

but thats cuz i'm with her all the time...so she dun really need to drink FBM...those going to work...yes u need to store and feed... cuz its BO BIAN in ur situation... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

this time... maybe Raylynn will have to drink more FBM...cuz i really wanna go back to work la......

else 2 kids, and 1 helper... can die... need $$$$$$$!!!! :p

kaori> yesh.. not cheap...but the one that 2K is talking abt and have seems cool..can auto clean and avoid dogs.... and less than 1k!!!

but rainbow is good investment... cleans, vacuums, and acts as air purifier also....

can clean pillows, soft toys etc also... :p

boymum> nope... not loud.. got noise... but not that loud....

maybe u can ask those mummies who are using it now to feedback??

Mummies using Medela Freestyle now:

any comments/feedback/reviews? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach: the way u remove your gels... Pro la...

I only buy the solution before and soak at home myself..

Rainbow so ex!!! That one confirm Bo lui buy la..

The samsung novibot only can vacuum on it's own.. It doesn't clean dust mites or purifies leh..

2K> wah.. u at home still can use PC...tot u only use in office.. .lol... :p

yah exp... but not bad leh... lol.... hehehhe...

but vacuum on its own is power la...means it can walk to ur living room and bedroom and vacuum whole house de ah????

Rach: using iPhone at home la... Otherwise i use laptop but seldom la...

Rainbow too ex... Unless hub buy but seems interesting hor...

Yup the navibot can vacuum on it's own from living room to bedrooms.. Then if battery finish, it will go back to it's "home" to recharge, after recharge will continue the area where it last stop. Then got a barred kit for u to place if u dun want it to go..

limlim: I see I see... Mayb I shud call dem up next wk n arrange or sth.. Hehehe..

Rach: I considering Neo garden, mums kitchen or chilli padi... Heeee..

2ks: how much u bought yr Navibot? Sounds v interesting n

cool.. Hehehehe...

Sigh. It's really 一波未平, 一波又起. My dearest Jav had fever frm morn.. Jus woke up n while I was cooking his food I realised he was having fever.. Had 2 rounds of paximol but it seems tt he's nt recovering, but hotter. Getting worried nw.. Sigh!

ya lor exp 2KS

even installment evry mth also ex

tat y i choose engage service better as and when i need. best part is i dun need to do it myself.:p

so far not bad service and i think it cheaper than what rainbow offering..

Rach, I have lumps in my breast all along wor...even before pregnancy but the lumps are more obvious now. I am not sure if they are blocked milk ducts or something else. =/

When I was in my first trimester, I have white flakes on my aerola. Then, a few weeks ago, when I started massaging the lumps, the white flakes came back but not as much as first trimester. Anyway, I will heed all your advice and stop massaging since it will trigger labour.

I just need to be more hardworking after I deliver ya? Wish me luck! Hehe...my gynae said I won't be so early...now only 35th week...long wait...0_0

BTW, I use rainbow at home too. No regrets! I used to have very sensitive nose but ever since we have rainbow at home, I don't have such problem anymore. I've just finished my 1-year instalment payment too!

Wah Lao very sianz... Wanted to discuss maternity leave with HuBbY... Give me one face and say...

Ur job is to take care of the 2 girls and ensure they grow up well... U have no option....

What's that supposed to mean???

Then say u see Rayanne is more bubbly and active and smarter than other kids and not taken care of by maids or anyone else.... ==> is he giving me credit?? With that piece of black face...

Dun even think if going back to work and those bullshit...==> what bullshit????

Why do I have the feeling I'm talking abt A & getting answer for X,Y,Z??????

I jus wanna discuss my ML!!!! cuz once I apply I can't do any sales AT ALL for 16weeks.... And get paid for 8weeks....

Or should I not apply for leave at all and free myself for sales anytime and probably earn more than what the 8 weeks will pay me....

He said even after 4 months Raylynn still too young to throw to helper or mum... I have to be ard... If I'm meeting clients, I have To bring whole clan out with me.... !!!?!!!??

Am I talking to some alien????

Helper took out the bottles all that to wash.... He ask why are the bottles there?? Am I not going to latch Raylynn?? Why am I using bottles??? Latch is fresher....!!!??!!

Am I supposed to be glad I have a VERY SUPPORTIVE HuBbY??

Why do I feel so taken for granted!!!???!!!

Talk until I wanna vomit blood with Raylynn kicking and squirming non stop inside... Wa Lao..... >.<""""

Lailai> oh I think it's a condition.... For a moment I can't recall the name now.. One of my client had the lumps, did a biopsy and had operation To remove the lumps just in case it becomes cancerous... Eeehhh... Maybe can talk to ur gynae next visit and ask what it is.... Cuz dun think ur gynae will know until u tell him/her.... Not scaring u... But sometimes these lumps Better to remove... U check with gynae ba...

Rach ; chill chill... Maybe your hb trying to ask you to have the equal handling of both rayanne and raylynn but he use the wrong way to answer you bahh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wa Lao... Hate the nausea feeling that's been haunting me for dayyysssss at nite... Everytine before I fall asleep, the nausea feeling lingers at the throat... Kaoz....

Rach- cool cool nothing can't b resolved btw couples. Find another chance to talk to him again?

Updates-- @ mt a le. Cos contraction every 10 mins inv le. But gosh!! I m only 1.5cm dilate! Don't know need to wait how long more. Think I still arrive too early. But e contraction pain is indeed painful. Hope I can endure.

Btw, fyi, mummies delivering at mt a, if admit aft 12am then consider next day's charge. E nurse r nice. We arrive 11.30pm, they ask hb to go down aft 12am. Help us save 1 nite charge.

Rach: I have the same nausea feeling too. Has been like that for about 1 week le. It only happens at nite when i'm sleeping. It has a burning sensation at the throat making mi very hard to sleep. I tot i'm the only one having this.

Wah 3 pages of archive in one day lol! Just finished reading everything hehe.

Rach/2ks/pixie, u girls are really our breastfeeding 军师 hee! Very informative and I learnt so much! Thanks rach for the super detailed post on handling breastmilk, I also copied down as notes for future reference hehe. And also thanks 2ks and pixie for dishing out useful nuggets on how to pump and handle EBM in the office, very useful for us working mommies! :)

Tres, think alot of people has answered your question on nursing shawl le. Most of our mommies here considered either mon petite jardin or L'ovedbaby ba. Depends on your preference, MPJ is cheaper and provides more coverage, while LB has prettier fabric but less coverage. I'm quite Chor lor so decided on MPJ in the end hee, cos i dun wanna feel v restricted during BFing cos scared zao geng or what. Am sharing with Prestorabb cos buy 2 @ $70, usual 1 for $38. Too bad rach no more BP rights, otherwise her price even better lo! Anyway don't worry u won't use la, like they say, tell yourself u will have milk (especially after all these investments, more motivation to BF successfully rite hehe!)

Rach : haha! Yah! Maybe those training burn his brain! =X heehee!! Chill k.. Find another time to talk to him again.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Won_mummy : you jiayou k.. Wait for your good news later! Remember try to tahan without epi kk.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Won_mummy> jiayou!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babyhappie> ya man.... Irritant at the throat....

Gyne check up today! Baby at 37 weeks 2.8kg phew no need c sect if i maintain the weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angelia - u jia you ok. i really cut down on alot of rice intake and carbo. i ate more fish than chicken or beef or pork too.

yes the info on BF from the mummies are very good! but i'm tired to read lol i'll catch up tmr.

won mummy about to pop? jia you babe!

Rach: chill chill... Mayb like wad Angelia said, he feels like shortchange Raylynn if u go out n work? Cos u stayed hm fr so long for Rayanne.. Maybe it's jus the way he put it across to u... Take deep breath.. Breathe in n out okay.. Don so upset.. See Raylynn also gt excited inside u tts y kicking here n dere.. Find another chance n talk to him again, xplain to him abt yr ML n y u needa plan in advance?

Think he'll und yr situtation ya.. Slp it off tonight n talk again when all is calm .. =)

Won_mummy: u r next! Jia youuuuu!!! Keep us updated!

Valerie : hais.. I'm having soupy stuffs now lo.. Dare not to touch rice and those carbo stuffs! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lil> no need to talk again.. Its been decided and settled..

And I need to submit the letter to company tmr..

I need to start ML early so I can end the 16weeks early and start sales early.... So ML will start officially 28feb to 19jun...

That's the earliest I can start liaoz...

Had I known, I would have started 2 weeks ago Lo.... Then my sales can start 2 weeks earlier!!!!

pixiepixel, wah... u so fierce de!! i juz accidenly missed out the advise and ask again for my knowledge... and 1st time repeating asking the question... u scold me like this...

Annie, BB head still dont wana engage wor.. he still 'looking at the sky', refuse to look down wor.. then gynae said he too comfortable staying inside, then i feel since already full terms le, might well juz let him out.. dont wana wait le... somemore now already start ML le..if we continue wait, he 42 weeks still refuse to come out, like that i waste almost my ML almost a month... bohua wor!!! anyway, u still start taking your ML on 28th Feb???? when is your nx check up???

Rach, i read your guideline of the BM le.. thanks.... and sorry that i missed out your previous guideline that u posted here coz i'm home since Monday, seldom on PC to check forum, juz use phone to scroll up n down, then anything i suddenly remember wana ask, i juz post here n ask u mummies...coz i reli totally no experience on BF topic... so sorry..

Anyway, talk abt the full mth catering... i saw u said Neo Garden, any idea if their food okie? coz yest i received their advertisement and seems the buffet food quite okie.. but nv reli try b4....

Using my freestyle

Am pumping at this hr... but sometimes I lazy, also nv pump every 3 hrs le... so tired.

I heart using it man! I think I'll prob die of exhaustion I without it. I pump 30mins both breasts n normally collects abt 160ml fr each pump. But my strategy now is to pump into glass bottles, label n store right in the freezer. I nt sure my Medela bottles become a lil distorted after going through hot water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so now it seems to be like glass bottles r more reliable?

Fish> hahaa the fact why we scold u hor... Is caused I just posted those guidelines yest afternoon!!! U somehow miss it... And yet u saw annies reply and reply her... So makes all of us puzzled...

Using phone is not excuse leh...I typed everything via iPhone yest!! I was attending course in office and I read thru all 300 posts via my iPhone !!!!! Hehehe...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway I receive email notifications whenever someone posted something... So I basically read off my emails and then reply in this tiny box... Kekeke... U can go change ur notifications settings and read thru email also... It's easier...

Just that if anyone amends their posts, u may miss it...

Cuz emails only sends the very 1st post that each person posted.. Edits dun reflect in the email de...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zenia> I use sterilizer to sterilize my pump parts and bottles... No warping or distortion even after 3 mos usage leh..

Wonderig issit the quality of the bottles and shields dropped or what... Ppl been telling me their shields distorted liaoz... Bottles turn cloudy liaoz... But so fast!!!?!!!

Last 2 sets of FREESTYLE + spare parts on it's way...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone else needs let me know so I can place order for u asap!!!!

Please PM me if u need more info/clarification...

If need spare parts I can order also...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wa, Rach I'm surprised u still awake at this hr... rest more... ya, I dare not use them aft seeing it distorted... my shields still in good condition now... wonder if I need to buy the spare parts first jus in case... hmmm

Fish - I'm like you... 39th week liao baby still dont want to come out... Sigh... next appt is tomorrow (fri)... Hope will be dilated or maybe have at least some signs.... so so so tired already...

Bernice's birth journey on D day

7am - spotting

9am - gynae did ve, only 1.5cm dilated. Asked to wait at home to monitor. Go hospital when there is contraction pain every 10 min interval.

4.30pm - starting to have contraction pain. But still bearable.

11.30pm - arrive hospital, contraction every 10mins now. But only 1cm dilated. Starting to feel e real pain. 

2.00am - Started inhaling laughing gas as pain gets unbearable. Int every 1-2mins.

4.00am - given thigh injection. Cos 4cm dilated. Put on drip & collected blood sample for cord blood donation

4.55am - feeling to pass motion. Dilated 8-9cm. Awaiting arrival of dr tho

5.20am - dr tho arrived

5.45am - nurse asked to start pushing

6.00am - singing national anthem. Still pushing hard

6.02am - baby Bernice arrived. Wt:3130g, head 34cm, length 50cm