(2011/03) Mar 2011

Angelina,

can update us if their food is nice later?

babybride,

no la.. thrifty is a gd virtue!!! but i cant confirm i orderin yet... cos fil's health recently not gd.... my guess is goin chemo soon... pendin nxt doc visit to confirm treatment.... so i worried that mil not able to cook for me n take care of fil.... but hubby say 1 mth v short.. shld b ok.... but then,,, i dun trust his opinion lor... he everythin say ok ok... then everything cannot de!!! u confirm gettin?

pinkypink - i hv a friend who is like you...She was practically sick every mth when she was pregnant. she drinks water melon juice to keep her fever @ bay...she noes is cooling but that's the only thing that works for her. not sure if it will work for you....

also try avoiding rice for the time being if you can...that's old ppl saying lah....whenever we hv fever, avoid rice.

PrestoRabb - no, rem seeing from the pamphlet SCBB got a contact no. for TMC de.. anyway already called the lady from SCBB.. thanks!

angelina, babybride,

but hor,, i feel v wasted to order confinement food... cos alot of suppose to b "gd stuffs".. i cant take.... herbs la, pig liver la, etc..... some is bcos i personally dun take... but mostly to avoid high jaundice to bb if i goin for TBM... my #1 juandice was BM related... thus i didnt really bu during that time... till now.. my mom stil naggin at me to bu this time.... but if bb blood different from me again... how to bu??

Yes Angelina, pls update us if nice k...

Poky, i might wan to order for 10days 1st loh..caz since she just had her op last week, i dont suppose she can recover so fast and stil be able to focus on baby leh..so i tot of ordering food to lighten her load abit..

Poky, i tot u can tell the caterer what u dont wan..eg like no chicken for 10 days etc? or no pig liver etc?

2Ks, I'm so sorry. Realized I need to login fr my lappy to see e group invitation. Was on my iPhone all these wholes n thot y I'm not in. Oops...

babybride,

i'm staying with my parents and my mom is helping me with the confinement... hopefully will be able to cope... since he'll be away only for 2 whole days...

Poky - I had the same issue. I have AB blood and my #1 was B blood, so she was slight jaundice. This time round my MIL doesn't have much time to cook for me so I decide just to play it safe I'll order for a week, once a day and I told them no liver, intestines etc. but will only start after the second week, my MIL will cook a lil for me, then she'll put less ginger as well.

allets / presto,

scbb is public bank rite?

if we wana donate to them, we gota make arrangement now?

i always thot if we dun do private cordblood banking, its auto donated to scbb after we give birth.

Poky, so possible to tell the caterer what u dont want i guess...since M also do the same thing..

M, which caterer u ordered from? how much?

Pinkypink,

Oh ya, I also had shivers when I sponge myself. That time it worked for me coz hb insisted on sponging me despite me making tonnes of noise about the pain felt (too much difference in temp of us and the towel). Think I even say he was torturing me that time.. hehe..

Since your hb is not around, maybe can get another female relative to help u sponge instead?

Hope u get well soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jaime

not tedious at all

you just call up scbb, then a nurse coordinator will come to meet u for a short while. mine took 15mins, sign form, she said thanks...

then i inform gynae i will be donating

during check in to hosp, pass the envelope (that the scbb nurse gave me) to admission/nurse, they will do the rest

we dont have to do anything

oh but they will collect 3 vials of blood when you are in hosp. easy peasy leh!

spyria: no..the cord blood if u dont bank with private or to donate out, it will be dispose away.

u need to sign alot of documents prior to donation to scbb...cos they need u to declare on items and also u need to draw 3 tubes of blood for testing prior to acceptance of yr bb cord blood

Afternoon Mummies!!

Busy busy day at work...

Congrats to tigg3r and Cae!! Happy for the both of you!

starfruit - My bb gal's name also starting with C haha...

2Ks - When we donate to SCBB, if the cord blood after checking is not suitable for donation, will SCBB tell us?

spyria - Cord blood are not automatically donated, if you did not choose to store or donate prior to birth, they will be discard as medical waste...

Rach - I have replied your email and tt you the payment for bravado yday, did you rec'd?

jaime: yes...i donating my bb cord blood...

no tedious at all la..

1. call the officer in charge for appointment

2. meet up with her, signed documents, ask questions, explain points

3. envelope given and pass to delivery suite upon check in hospital

4. nurse will draw 3 tubes of blood prior to delivery

5. gynae will collect the cord blood after delivery.

6. scbb representatives will collect the cord blood

that's all...after that scbb will follow up with some calls whether cord blood accepted/used or what..

2ks,

one more qn.

so if we chose to donate to scbb, there will not be any yearly cost involved rite.

if so i really need to contact them le...totally clueless lor me.

chen

its a DONATION, well, no benefits but its for helping others.....

but if ever you need cord blood for your child, you can try to see if the one you have donated matches (if still available). but only for siblings. not applicable for your nieces/nephews.

no fees involved

pixie, i see. Thought there'll be some appreciation for donation. haha. I dun mind donating, but hor, 2k mentioned need to draw blood! tat's phobia to me. haha. okok, i shall think abt donating too...

chen: no benefits la...but your baby cord blood might save others lifes..

there is very minimum usage of cordblood in sg..

u can check with the officer, she can explain better.

xiaofeizhu: shit i forget about this question u asked..

i only know if u can agree/disagree on whether u wanna use the cordblood for research or not... if the cord blood is found not suitable for donation

chen

its always good karma to help others!

btw, i understand from the coordinator that the chances of our cord blood is being bank successfully is less than 50% because so many stages to pass...during their process of retrieving the cord blood lah

so really, maybe 10ppl only ard less than 5 banked successfully. imagine the number of babies in singapore needing cord blood....so....really...they need all the donations possible

draw blood i also phobia but i always look away or sing to myself. very fast over. its just a jab. draw blood time no pain one rite

copy and paste, thou I think most of us here has gotten those that we need already. Heehee..

1. Takashimaya Baby Fair 2011

Dates: 9 to 28 March 2011

Time: unavailable (last year’s fair: 10a.m. to 9.30p.m.)

Venue: Takashimaya Singapore

Takashimaya Baby Fair is probably the most popular baby fair in Singapore, situated right in town and stretches over more than 2 weeks! Even though it lasts so long, attend it during the first week to grab your favourite sizes, colours and designs. And be prepared for huge weekend crowds.

2. Baby Care Festival 2011

Dates: 18 to 20 March 2011

Time: 11a.m. to 8p.m.

Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6B

Organiser: Mother & Baby Singapore

3. Baby Expo

Dates: 22 to 24 Apr 2011

Time: (Fri & Sat) 11a.m. to 9p.m., (Sun) 11a.m. to 8p.m.

Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6A

Organiser: Vivacious Media Pte Ltd

http://www.mummysreviews.com/2011/02/14/takashimaya-singapore-malaysia-baby-fair-2011/

oh i got ask...

if my c.blood not suitable, they will junk away. no tell us.

they will ONLY call us if banked successfully coz they will check how is your bb etc to ensure your bb is healthy. at 3mths, 6mths, 1yo i think?

coz healthy baby = good cord blood!

milktea

agreed totally

pixel, Hi5^

I also try to looked away when need to draw blood for test or whatsoever.

A co of mine signed up to bank baby's cordblood in a private bank.

But in the end they couldn't because was told that cord blood not enough, so I think same for the donation, there will be situation when our baby cord blood is not suitable or not enough.

poky : can tell them ur spesific order, no organ etc etc

babybride : will updste on the food taste later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi all mummies,

Went for my 37th 6days check, gynae finally managed to feel the hardening of my tummy, last week checkup, say cervice is soft might deliver this week, but now he say not ready yet. So ask us to wait few days.

Next check up is this sat, so he suggest to induce next week, which is wk38d5.

How is induced huh? Pain? Is the waterbag going to break manually? Heard manually is very pain!

Btw, someone mentioned that we need to bring saving passbook along to hospital. Why huh? Is the shared account of both parents?

Chen - I think private cord banking also need to draw tubes of blood.. to see if suitable or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But I think epidural more painful than draw blood rite? For private cord banking, if suay suay the cord blood not suitable for storing, a paid amount about $800 i think is non-refundable [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Spyria - From the scbb website, it says best to contact them before week 32... now we're beyond that.. so must be quick quick to do the paper work and consultation with them if we wanna donate.

yup milktea

so many stages to go thru

many c.blood failed different stages so the % of successful c.b retrieved is really very little

with that in mind, the more we should donate if not banking it privately :)

ladies, can add me in fb group ?

my name Nur Bates [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][email protected]

silently following thread.

Btw, congrats to all who've popped...mine will be this Fri..third time but still scary !!!

milktea, good deed in baby's and mummy's name la... give mummy some credit also. hee.

pixie, less than 50% chance ah, quite a low %.

Pixiepixel - I also feel its good karma to donate... especially in the name of the little one =)

2Ks - I shall ask when I contact them eventually... cos my hubby has G6PD so I'm not sure if the cord blood will meet the criteria for donation or not... heard that SCBB has very strict criterias for donation...

Like to share with you an incident that happened on the day I went down KKH to sign the cord blood donation paper.

I was waiting for a friend, also a march 2011 mummy and we were supposed to sign the donation papers together. But she was late. While waiting for her, I shop around KKH.

There was a fair/ seminar going on, a lady invited me in.

There were booth selling baby wipes, baby carrier, breastpump.. and as usual, cord blood banking.

I forgot whether it was Stemcord or the other company but one of the guy approached me, trying to share with me the benefit of banking baby's cord blood.

But since I've did enough reading before I made the trip to donate, I told him am not interested because I've decided to donate it.

He gave me a shocked look. And I can tell you, his expression was really..

And he said: You mean you wana donate your baby's cord blood???!!!?

WHY????

He was still looking very shocked and surprised.

I knew what he was trying to tell me, my Hubby is in SALES LINE. -_-

So i replied him: Because I don't believe in your selling idea and I walked off.

I wasn't pissed, I was just.. shakehead and laughing at him with the method he is trying to use to get "sales".

No offends to mummies who believed in private cord blood banking alright. Coz I do know there are more professional sales person in the same trade.

milktea: haha...taka fair starts on 9 mar, just nice i got gynae appt...

think i can still make it to go...LOL

milkshake: my waterbag was burst too...

i can feel a hook like thingy insert down there and burst it...then flows of warm water flows out...

Pixel,

Really? Cause I remember someone in another month forum, saying the breaking waterbag by gynae is damn painful.

Now I dunno whether should induced or not.

Sorry, 1 meal a day for 7 days only, Chili Padi says actually cannot, blah. I called Jen at ConfinementFood.com and she says she can do it for $210

poky,

Not to worry on the confinement food. If last min any problem still able to order.

For Info, recently my friend order chilipadi for confinement food commenting not very nice, BUT very oily & the taste all the same for all dishes... salty too.

Don't worry on your FIL to the chemo treatment too, My MIL is undergoing chemo now too. WIll be fine okie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks, you can still go ah? Sure boh??

Previously I was telling you all how I plan to only get my push gift during third trim, coz I think chances of getting what I wanted could be higher.

Now hor, totally no chance LOH!!

My MISCALCULATION! Hahaa..

Coz I get very tired after a 30mins of window shopping, and I feel breathless too.

Then Hubby don't let me go crowded place anymore.

Evry weekend when I try to suggest some shopping, he will be like: ok we will go when it's less crowded. But by the time he wakesup, 12noon, which shopping mall not crowded?

Unless I can shop for push gift at Mustafa shopping centre. Hahaa..