(2011/03) Mar 2011

Rach - correct correct...

oxytocin also use to help bring about contaction when labour not progressing lor...

Chen,

about to ask you the same question. yup...playing the waiting game...getting impatient liao... everyday keep asking hubby ...if my bump moving downward already...but no sign leh...

Wahh everyone's talking abt pethidine n all.haha.. I only know epidural..

So excited to see all popping one by one..

Ehh, wanna ask u girls, anyone has like pain feeling in vagina? Ytd night I started having tog w contractions.. =.= sian...

Rach - I don't think so lei... Pethidine is a pain relief medicine... a class below morphine....

Anyway i wont be online whole day... Gotta go to work already... Will catch up tonight...

I can be discharge today

My girl Clara too!

I was worried just now as she has not pass her hearing test but the nurses assure me that is very common as some are due to water as our water bag burst inside

So she is still not pass for the high pitch but after 1 month or less, the water will start to reduce ;)

i dont like u rach. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]...every time see u ..i sure spend money..muahahahhhahaha.

When should I have pethidine?

During the first stage of labour, when your cervix is opening up from being tightly closed to ten centimetres dilated; that is, before you start pushing. You can't have pethidine if your obstetrician thinks you're close to giving birth because it could sedate the baby.

Yah... i was like at 5cm after 2 hours...(was already 3cm when i admit.... after pethidine, i dilated from 5-10cm in 1.5hrs!!

What are the advantages of pethidine?

• Widely available, relatively inexpensive, simple to administer, perceived by mothers to be less invasive and less risk than epidurals.

• Can be administered by a midwife - no need for a doctor

What are its disadvantages?

• It may make you very sleepy - some women don't even know they've given birth!

not in my case...

• It can make you feel sick or vomit even if you have an anti-emetic

not in my case...

• It may make you feel dizzy

maybe..dunno is pethidine or laughing gas that made me high...

• You may be drowsy while contractions are building up, but wake up suddenly when the contractions reach their peak

yah..dunno is pethidine or laughing gas.. i was subconscious and lay motionless till the peak i'll squeeze my HB's hands whenever it peaks..

• It crosses the placenta and may sedate your baby and affect your baby's breathing. This largely depends on the dose and timing of the injection.

no idea...

• Your baby may need to have an antidote injection (narcan) as soon as she is born to reverse the effects of the pethidine in her system

no idea...

• She may be very sleepy for a few days and not interested in feeding

not true....i latched her few hours later and she latched....

• Breastfeeding is less likely to be successful if you have pethidine in labour

CONFIRMED NOT in my case...hahha......

Any useful tips?

• Always ask for a vaginal examination to see how far your cervix has dilated BEFORE having pethidine. If you are farther on than you thought, you might decide that you don't need it after all.

• If you know that medication has a powerful effect on you, ask for a small dose of pethidine. It can be given in 50mg, 100mg and 150mg doses. So 50mg may suit you best if you are small in stature, or if you are the kind of person who takes an aspirin and feels lightheaded!

• Remember that it takes about 20 minutes for the drug to start working. So use your breathing techniques to help you until the drug kicks in.

yes... i suffered like 20 super HIGH contractions before it took effect...

• After the birth, be patient with your baby (and yourself). It will take her four or five days to get all the pethidine out of her system. If you give her time, she will get the hang of breastfeeding! Ask for help from midwife or lactation consultant at your hospital.

not true leh....

jaime> hahahhahhaha.... dun see me lo.....

2K> thats why i think u took the pethidine just before ur contractions went up another peak...

not so much that pethidine speed up contractions..

its about timing... i would think... u would have died(not literally) if u didnt have pethidine then....

cuz u may have felt it coming faster...imagine without pethidine.... siao liaoz.....

so.... it depends on when u took pethidine....

as the contractions come faster and faster.... so it just so happen after u took at that time.. i was about to increase and u blame it on pethidine.....

i'm not a pethidine advocate..... i would rather go without anything...

now that i see the real black and white side effects.... i'll still not want it...unless really bo bian la.... if no dilate..and going to die...i'll take....

else... its still... NATURAL NATURAL!!

No induced please!!! heheeh.. :p

2ks, me really darn kan cheong lei, game shld end soon. Me 38+5 liao. So afraid that I'll go into labour out of home, cos i'm still working till as long as I can.

I got a qns abt NUk bottles. I just bought some new NUk bottles for baby for he dun wan! I think he find the silicone teats too hard. Is there any other brand of teats compatible with NUK bottles? He's currently drinking from the Medela Storage bottles.

I took pethidine, the nurses pushed it and I was induced in the AM and went to hospital at 9pm and still only 1cm! After pethidine it moved to 3cm onward.

I think the only thing was that i had issues with milk production but that's just me, my body. I hope I wont have issues this time round.

But it looks like I'll have to be induced again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] argh. Will decide next week.

Limlim, try the nuk latex teats? It's the yellow Color one, supposed to b softer.

Anyway nuk narrow neck bottles r compatible w all narrow next teats, eg evenflo, pigeon and medela!

M: my friend told me the rubber teats sterilise too much become very soft very fast. Any other brand compatible with the NUK bottles?

Babybride: My bill haben come yet. They will provide you with maternity pads, night gown, disposable panties. The kotex pads more comfortable than the loop ones TMC give. I stay in one bedder the private suites. The rooms are very nice cos just renovated last year ( got pic on my FB). Like stay chalet like that. My gynae only saw me twice when I was in labour. 7am+ and the moment when baby come out. Everything else was communicated thru the phone with the midwives, gynae will instruct the midwives what to do.

The midwives are nice, I still rem their name Nurse Chiang and Nurse Peiling. I find Nurse Chiang very experienced and both also not rough at all.

congrats to tigg and Caecilia..!

notice a lot of bb gals names start w C..I oso give the little bb name startg w C hehe...concidience..kekek

Lin- Clara

Tigg- Clarissa

Caecili- Cayli

Angelia- Cherelle

LIMLIM- you need to buy the rubber teats de..ask your hubby go buy..silicon is hard

BB BRIDE- added you in FB..

PUAN SRI- how to kw bb got hiccups?..heard my friend say she oso hear her bb hiccups loudly leh..

PINKPINK- thks..now I kw it the 11th week...nice for you, birth during school holidays..

limlim - you're not suppose to sterilise them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif], just wash and then rinse with hot water. And yeah it's latex/ rubber.

One qns abt BF. I pump every 3 hrs but when baby hungry, I still latch him in the day. Will this over stress my breast?

Mummies help...

I read all over internet that it is safe to do brazilian waxing during pregnancy.

And I intend to do this Sun.

I tot so long the person is experienced in handling pregnant woman, the place is clean, equipment is clean, should be ok right??

I just called and the assiatant in my gynae clinic like so shocked that I want to ask my gynae whether I can go ahead.

She screamed: NO!!! Better not!!!

Like so mountain turtle -_-

Then I told her: Ermm.. can you help me check with gynae then let me know?

I've make booking with Strip liao..

Thanks LimLim..can share w me how much the final bill is then i get my hubby to be mentally prepared..hahaha...i b signing up the package and pay deposit today late afternoon when i go for gynae visit...

initially stil thinkg if shld stay in 4 bedded...but i scared later babies all come in different timings then hard for me to rest leh..

oh so the rest of the time is midwives..they not rough right??? ok i pray hard hard the midwife i allocate with is gentle and patient caz i really very scared leh...heard if u dont breathe properly or push properly the midwives will scold..

babybride: but my HB's cousin who delivered in KKH two yrs (emer C sect and single bedder) ago told me her bill same as her colleague who delivered in TMC natural and 4 bedder.

oh i see..thanks milktea...how come starfruit is not in 2Ks list of mamas in march thread? or is there a change in the nick? so many nicks til i am confused kekeke...

i tryin to tag the name in fb to nick on thread..but dono how to do it in fb so can only keep an excel on it..hahaha

Starfruit - i felt the hiccups at my lower abdominal.. Its deep inside but sometimes when she hiccup hard.. My hard can vibrate when i place them at the location.

Its very rythmic that last a few minutes.. 2 -3 times daily..

I know its not her kicking cuz when she kick, my tummy will protude out! Hihihi..

Milktea20,

i'm doing Bwax this evening wor!!! and i done once on my 6th-7th mth pregnant... i think ur gynae said better not is becoz our skin more sensitive than non pregnant lady... ur gynae might worry u get hurt ba!!! but so far.. so many mummies do le.. think should be okie ba!!!

babybride: i never update the names in the FB...

cos i also blur le...LOL...

i go do some updates now..then i invite u to the group ok