(2011/03) Mar 2011

lilprecious: my boy is 25 months not 23 months..

hubby is very irritated and he wanted to change school. but i am in a tough position.

cos i need convenient ones, if he cant pick up my son, i will have to be the one picking up the children.

if 1 is here another is there, i dunno how i pick...then hor, its very hard to find a vacancy in sbw...all fullhouse, even cc also full house..only left those further away, not convenient ones..

actually my boy can speak 3 syllabus words u know, he just sometimes cant express himself and he used pointing instead...otherwise he will throw tantrums by sitting/lying on the floor. but i tot its normal? kids should be like that isnt it..,.

i also headache la...

govt ask to give birth, but they never think of the care, the expenses...

u know sbw a new sparkletots even before open already full house u know...

and u need to pay a non refundable deposit of $50 for balloting for space in..terrible or not..

2Ks - Thanks so much for sharing... at least the IFC is ok then I feel more fang xin... many people tell me IFC bb easily fall sick so I'm so called mentally prepared already... thats why I'm saving 2 weeks of my ML for later use in case bb fall sick at IFC... and also becos of this I tell myslf must be very hardworking to BF bb at least give her a gd immunity headstart before she goes to the IFC... convenience is also my concern cos I can forsee I will be the one picking bb up after work and we do not own a car...

Sparkletots already full house?? I still thinking of calling to check on it... sh*t man I'm too slow... shld I still call to enqire?? Anther new IFC/CC is Cherie Hearts near the Fortune God Temple, looks good from the outside but not convenient leh so I still comtemplating whether to check it out...

xiaofeizhu: the IFC teachers are ok, but dont expect facilities there lor, its super small and cramp. but its cheap la..

bb sure will fall sick at ifc one..even though i bf #1 for 14 months, he still fall sick often. runny nose and cough visits him regularly.

at one point, i feel so upset that my bm is not helping him at all...

yes, sparkletots already full house..

cherie hearts very ex leh...$1450 - 600 subsidy..$850 cash every month...

Pixie: ya, normally boys start slower de.. my boy till nw, no proper words hor.. apple- ah per.. taxi - teh teh .. bus - bahbah.. daddy- deh deh..practically everything to him is call baba.. but he knows alot of things.. wadever we tell him to do, he can do.. wad instructions we gif, he will carry out..jus dono hw to voice yet.. so its pretty normal.. im nt rushing him too, so wadever he points to n say baba, we tell him the correct word so he listens to it everytime.. i believe one day he'll pick them up! =) ya, at least yr sch gt positive remarks! =DD

2Ks: oopsy. sorry.. oohhh, ok.. sigh, mayb cos of location tts y u cant get a better sch..hmmm, ya i und convenience v impt to us esp when we gotta pick both next time by ourselves..

actually, he throw tantrums mayb cos he wanna tell u sth but he cant express like wad u said.. he cant tell u exactly wad he wans so hes frustrated.. but its perfectly normal like u mentioned..=) actually, yr boy can speak 3 syllabus words alrdy gd enuf! he will pick up more n more as he grows.. hes still young! =D

ya lo, agree.. govt shud pay $$$ for mummies who wanna b SAHM oso.. Javs godma whos is in Aus, also says the govt gifs SAHM $$ every mth one.. n the CC is damn cheap there!! all subsidised! SG, subsidise abit but keep increasing the fees.. wads the point of saying its subsidised den?!.. sigh! hw to plan for more kids.. no wonder the birth rate forever so low..tsktsk. =P

lilprecious: exactly lor...they give u what subsidy, but prices keep increasing. then expect ppl to give birth.

ask govt to pay for our hospital bill mah...

what cda account...6k alot meh..

very fast finish ok..

i dont see any problem with my boy lor..but its the principal that is stressing us...

make me feel that my boy is slow in everything..

come on la..he is only 2 yrs old, shouldnt he learn in his own pace or what...

i emphasize more on play now...touch and feel...not really sit down read books, flip books...

very sian la..dunno what to do...

2Ks - I haven got a chance to view the IFC, cos the lady told me they will only invite the parents for site visit if there are slots available, they only ask me to send them an email then they will put me on the waiting list...

Spakletots thou further from my hse, at least its nearer to PIL place so in the evening can get their help to pick bb up first, since will be gg bk their place for dinner then I won't need to rush like mad... now the hope is gone...

Ya lor Cherie Heart is really exp thats why I haven go to them yet...

Anymore govt budget coming up?? Hoping and hoping for more ML and subsidies for IFC/CC... but I gues only in my dream...

Annie: Take care!

i think can eat mango, carrots in moderation lah, my gyane says the jaudice happens when bb liver can't break down bilirubin 'something', eating those stuff will not cause jaundice!

2K, until you find an alternative cc, if not the teachers singled out you son then he will kena even worse!!! meanwhile, tahan and complain to us 1st ;-)

Xiaofeizhu: I also hope for more subsidies for IFC / CC for the coming Feb budget, since our birthrate is all time low again! The govt should sweeten some deals for parents and parents to be.... *fingers crossed*

lilprecious

your jav how young only ah....not bad liao wor!

my son only started 2 syllabus words like "apple", "sleeping"....and saying 2 words sentences like "drink milk", "eat rice" when he was between 2-2.5yo

then from 2.5yo - almost 3yo, he can only say 3 words sentences like "bear eat honey"....and this is like once in a blue moon one ok

then....only 1 mth ago he started speaking in sentences eg "did you ask? you must ask, ok?", "i dont want to go school, i want to go nainai house"....

super relieved

coz from 2-3yo, his 2 or 3 words sentences very sparingly one...usually use word (but cannot construct sentences) to tell us what he wants...

but like u said, complex instruction frm adults he can take it well lor. i can say "xandall, can you please take off your pants and throw them into the laundry basket" or vague ones like "go wash your hands" he oso know what i want him to do exactly.

aiyah boys will be slower one de....2ks. u dun bother what the rubbish principal says lah. mine is classic example of slowwwwwww

i think there will be a Feb budget always right?? or at least something before elections ba!!! ;-)

Not 100% sure but likelyhood ba!

tres - hopefully there is really some sweet deals for us...being parents is really not an easy job...

Now yawning away in the office... feeling tired... tick-tock tick-tock another hr to knocking off... how I wish tml is friday...

Wow. now the topic back to child care.

2k- I am sure the teachers have their way to handle each child differently. But for the principal to comment, u have to ensure that this is not the 1st time or it may affect your boy feeling if he belong to the sensitive type

My boy was in full day centre since 18 months. Like all parents who worry abt falling sick, feeling guilty- sure have one. More over, my boy alway fall sick due to his bronchitis relapse.

But he become to the hyperactive type and is upset sometime to see him separated from the rest while they enjoyed cartoon show at 5 pm while he had to be in the classroom drawing and playing toys etc..

I come to time that I have to understand the situation which will benefit my boy n me;) like u;) I can't replace the centre since I was the one fetching n the centre was the nearest at my house.

I tried to talk to teachers -and principal. They are more than willingly to teach him and we all have a common understanding to ensur he won't skip lesson nor disturb or distract others

I guess all boiled down to communicating with the ppl who are taking care of your boy and if things can't work and they are rash on their decision, you will have to report to mcys or talk to their head office if there is 1?

tomorrow and friday i on leave lor.....yippee...can sleep..

linda: that is provided that the principals positive attitude lor, but dont seems to be leh.

perhaps i should speak to the principal again...

Btw- I have to agree that boys are slower in speech but they are definatley fast in their motor skill! ESP when they are in primary Sch- u wont be surprise that they are actually very strong in maths n science too cos they think using critical skills!

And of course they also excel in sports;)

2k- if you worry that your boy is slow in his speech- try to talk to him more and let him express in his own manners!

Whatever manners so long he know how to express.... Soon he will catch up w words and speak in sentence!

My boy onli started to use proper sentence at 3!

We even got a video clip of him saying : that that the fish fish is what ?? See( broken sentence one!)

His childcare learning vision had in house speech n drama and also da carpo( is a music lesson). We paid extra so that he can catch up and was glad that when he was 5,he got his lead performance to act infront of stage

Now at 11, primary 5, he is more than talkative that I wish he give me a break;)

our child in their hand so we alway have to eat the humble pie and listen to what they say

But if this principal is very ignorant n not understanding, we may have to take lead based on mother instincts n work on something else,

I m sure your boy very close to u. U can Try to talk to him n let him express what he want too;)

Trust me- boys are boys- they are still good at expressing regardless of age so long we are open and keep

Quiet to listen or see ;)

linda: thanks for yr advice...

my boy is closer with the daddy...cos mummy is forever busy with house chores all that..

only when i have time like take leave or what, i spend my precious time on him only..

but now didi is on the way...so i dunno how to allocate my time to focus on him more...

haiz...not easy...

mummies !!

Check with you all arr.. Anyone tries before Mamy Poko baby wipe arr ? Is it good ?

2k : tomorrow on leave arr ? want short meet up ? I'm meeting Pixie tomorrow worr.. LOL !! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can join us if you want to... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hahahah ! Linda's boy is not just talkative.. But another cute little one... If you all heard what Linda's boy said, you all also will laugh de lo ~ =X

2ks , if the parents dont feel there is anything wrong...should nt let other ppl tell you wat is correct or wrong etc...

parents esp mum should know best...

for me i just chnage my boy CC to other place...from a cc wiht 8-10 kids in class to now..only 3 kids...

i sense that he is not entirely happy there

recently he cry everything he goes to school..then this morning the best..cry until vomit...

only started this violent reaction this week..

the pass 2 weeks..its quite normal except that he refuse to drink milk only...

sigh..i sort of blame myself why i wanna shift him when there is nothing wrong with the old centre..the only 2 reason..location and the emphasis on chinese in the new school..

fee all the same etc...sigh..i am thinking if it continue i will pull him out after i finish confinement..prob end of march..then put him at home first...(dont know whether can handle or not)

then maybe bring his for some weekday class during my ML...then only enrol him back to school after my ML..then can save a few months of fees as well...while i figure what i wanna do..

angelia: i going to salon to cut my curl to the max hair...

then after that going plant shopping...

what time and where u both meeting???

i also haven figure out what i wanna do for #2....my mum wil help me as long as i want so just ask my mum to help until i figure out wat i wanna do lor..my previous IFC teachers love my boy..keep asking me to let her take care of my #2..but the location is NO GOOD for me..that time no choice then put

but like #1...after 10 months i put in IFC liao..

didnt regret it per say...we cherish our family time as a family of 3 as my mum wouldnt need to stay with me when the boy is in IFC

prob..i wil wait out similarly till 10-12 months n see how lor...

but my boy cc currently dont have IFC>..so if put in IFC..means have to run 2 different places...die man...if not wait out till 18 months..n put in same school as #1 lor...then can save a bit more lor

chen, when did ur #1 enter IFC?

jaime

i oso wanted to pull my boy out during ML, and maybe put him back after ML, but dunno got space left or not le??

no worries, my boy still crying today. u r not alone....everyday he's been crying except for the 1st week of jan. so now is 2nd week he's been crying liao

jaime: really ah...J look so happy and can adapt leh...dont look like that..

this is a point i should consider too...

cos he is so used to the place since he was there since 4 months old..

i really dunno...perhaps i really should think only when i give birth to didi..

angelia: super out of the way...my stylist is at jalan kayu...

never mind, arrange again...

i believe during ML sure alot of meet up lor!

crying for 2 wks still ok ba ...

heard from the principle that usually they will stop/adapt from 3-4th wks onwards .. so hang on there, they are almost there liao .. after that they will enjoy the play time more at cc de.

My girl, every nite also must concert before sleep .. must be follow mummy, who loves to Karaoke all these while .. haha

2k : hahah ! Alright den.. Just casually asking.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ya, i believe when ML, alot of mummies will be free.. Than we shall bring out bb out together... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Omg, can't wait for the time to come , when you can see alot of mummies and bb gathering.. hahaha !! Sure got alot of passerby look "Stunning" ! Hahahhaha ! =X

2Ks: Dinno there is hair salon at Jln Kayu, though i live nearby... me really mountain tortise... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks, as a primary school educator's point of view, that principal is too much! I have worked in both childcare centres and primary school so I know the diff. Please tell that P to go and read up more!

It is normal for kids to be active at a young age. I think that P is just making excuses due to the lack of manpower. And as an educator, she should NEVER use the word 'expel' on a young kid! It is very detrimental for the growth of the child to arrange it in such a way.

I seriously suggest that you talk to the P again or change another centre for the future of your boy.

Lilprecious, I also angry lor. This kind of pre-school principal!!!

tres, i think the baby sweet deals are usually annouced during National day rally lei. I recalled the 4mths maternity was annouced in 2008's national day rally. Yes yes, hoping for more help from gov.

Linda, ya lor, I also think i'm at the mercy of the school teachers, sometimes dare not complain too much, in case they get too personal, vent anger on my child. Hee. Although i always believe they are professional enough to handle la. So Christmas or CNY, i'll usually buy goodies for the teachers to makan.

pixie, jaime, I also thought or pulling my girl out, let her, bb and myself spend more time after confinement, but I'm so afraid if she has adapted, and i pull her out and in, she's gona start the whole unfamiliar process again. Btw, I sounded out about pulling my daughter from sch for 2 mths, they wanted me to continue paying the fees, reason being a space is being kept for her. Then after some talk, the accounts gal say can waive off. So i guess it some negotiation here and there ba.

Jaime, my gal went IFC when she was 7mths, to date, she has moved to 2 different classes liao. So some crying here and there when she sees diff place, teachers and some classmates are new to her also.

2ks, plant shopping? u mean those CNY live plants? Nice hobby...

2k- Hope you can resolve and come with a win and win situation that work for both you and your son.

is not easy esp when the age gap is so near too but try to get help and most importantly, i believe is communication communication with our kids that make magic work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Do update us tomorrow and i hope the principal can give good positive feedback [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angelia - u very cartoon...

cos my boy infact is realli cartoon too...

haa...

imagine now he is primary 5, i have to find him tutor to tutor at home instead of fetching him up n down from centre. Mummy worries is alway endless even when ppl tell me that aiyo: P5 is already 11 yrs old, can go out himself ma..

but call me the sticky mum - not tat I don let go but who know anything can happen and I will onli have myself to blame rite?

So the joke come when i printed out the photos of the tutors from this website- star tutor.

He used a pen and commented some pro-star tutors and say: Mummy- this man look very ci-gor pek...

I say: Huh? He is just 18 yrs old and gg to University and he is great in his maths.

He say: Later he come to our house, you nvr know, the wooden door close, and he molest my mei mei how????

I was like???? I am at home wat... he tik soo much liao !!

waahhhhh

chen - u same as me also

every year such as teacher day, children day, moon cake festival day, xmas and CNY day

_me and my hub will volunteer to do things in the centre such as paint-facing for kids or making goodies for them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Building relationship lor...Bo piang

Even now my boy in primary school, I will bake cookies for the teachers since his school do not allow the teacher to accept presents or gifts ...

so if i bake, they cannnot reject[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda : haha.. you told me before this le... :p

really cute lo him... anyway , you looking for home tutor hor ? where you staying arr ? i can command my cousin-inlaw if you want... she is a tutor too.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] which subject you want ?

Oh yah ~ Mummies !!! Those that have discharge recently.. Just check with you all arr.. If i have those discharge hor, than sometime is abit greenish greenish de.. is it okayy ar ? Cause i don't have itchyness nor pain when i have those discharge leh.. I just called my gynae, but than he is rushing for a c-sect today, and cannot answer me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyone of you all have experience this ?

starfruit : No leh... It's not itchy at all.. only SOMETIME than have abit greenish greenish discharge nia.. Normally, i get those milky milky one.. but than this 2day , SOMETIME greenish nia... weird lo...

Angelia, I've been having yellowish-green discharge since mid 2nd trimester till now. But it is not itchy or smelly so my gynae said she will leave it. She did a strep B test on me and the result is negative. She said I am probably dehydrated so gonna drink a lot of water.

I really see the improvement in the amount/colour of discharge when I drink more than 2 litres before 12 noon. If I didn't drink at least 2 litres before 12 noon, I will get the discharge in the morning again. However, as I continue to drown myself in the large amount of water, I don't get the discharge at all for the whole day.

Remember to wipe it clean and dry after every toilet visit. I resort to using my BB's pigeon wipes now to wipe my meimei can! LOL. I think I better go stock up more soon.

LaiLai : Hmmmm, ya ya ~ Mine also not itchy nor smelly de.. But i just feel abit uncomfortable to see those discharges in greenish at times... =/ I'm waiting for my nurse to call back once she have check with my gynae whether do i need to go down anot.. hmmm, by drinking alot of water helps ? I've been like drinking alot of water liao wor.. But than still will have discharge wor.. But not as bad as never drink water nah...

Hmmm, whenever i go for my toilet visit, i can wipe my meimei like 3-4times just to ensure myself that it's clean... hahaha ! Erm, can use pigeon bb wipe to wipe our meimei arr ? i didn't know leh !!! Alamak ! >,<'''

All the best to those who are still waiting for their precious parcels to arrive.

I'm a SAHM trying to earn some extras for my family.

Please feel free to visit my blog for clothes for ur precious prince/princess. I'm also selling Diaper bag organizers which are very handy and convenient for all mummies.

Visit http://theflyingmummy.blogspot.com

(Like us on Facebook too!)

I'm having a CHINESE NEW YEAR Sale now with 15% off ALL ITEMS till 20Jan2011.

Wishing everyone a Prosperous New Year!

Oops..I accidentally deleted my previous post.

2Ks, We don't even get the children to be assessed as slow learners till Primary 3. That's why we have LSP (Learning Support Programme) in Primary 1 and 2 to help pupils who do not have the prior knowlege/skills as compared to other kids. Some really catch up after that and those who can't, they will be assessed by an education psychologist in Primary 3.

Children who have to go for such assessment at pre-school level are those with special needs e.g autism BUT DEFINITELY NOT SLOW LEARNERS!

Children @ pre-school level are too early to be diagnosed as slow learners. Different children learn @ different pace. Moreover, your son is a December baby!

Anyway, you take care k...

Angelia, actually I'm not very sure if we can use Pigeon wipes on meimeis..but my logic is if we can use it on BB, why not us? BB products are the safest, isn't it? Hehe.

Lailai : but than use bb wipe on our meimei safe anot ar? So far, you try than okayy mah? Cause i was thinking bb come out from our "V" area than safe to use wipe meh?

2Ks: ya lo.. 6K.. i like nvr see it in my acct for long.wahahaha!! ...

no la, ignore the principal.. ur son is doing ok.. don b so stressful on yrself ok! u r doing a v good job too liao..=)

Linda: hahaa! yr boy is so adorable... he really can think v far.. hahaa! tink hes v observant too.. mayb he read or heard abt those cases in news?