(2011/03) Mar 2011

Ladies-

I down w flu n sore throat. Now then I have slight fever, can I check w anyone what medicine did doc normally give for fever medicine during pregnant??

2ks, no choice, I only have one breast pump, very expensive to buy extra breast pump. So I guess I will just need to bring the bag to and fro home/office. Maybe I must change my own personal bag to smaller one. Chanel is good! but NO MONEY to buy, hahahaha....!

babybride, you see, that's why I always urge ppl to buy and prepare things in advance, now you getting so busy, tired and kan chiong! Many of us already almost prepare finish le, you better be fast coz CNY is coming and after CNY soon will be anytime for us.

caecilia: check with you, what recommendation for hi tea? convenient, take mrt can reach place...

and roughly price?

thanks for your help...

jialat lah..i already tried to start since dec last year..then every weekend seems so short...sigh..

last weekend nearly had an accident when car steering wheel suddenly spoil and went out of control. Sent to workshop and its manufacturer fault..sigh..see lah.so many things all happening at the same period..

Jaster, the mothercare one looks expensive hor..somemore not convertible kind right?

any other mummies got their cots from other places and recommend me?

hey ladies, im from feb mtb..just to tap on the conversation because i saw you ladies talking abt medela pump..

i am going to sterlise them soon using boiling water..can i check if u all sterlise the tubing too ?

den after sterlise when its wet can i leave it there to dry or dry it with cloth?

annie: piangz...chanel...i cant afford la...and also never think of it lor..keke

can la..u be used to the carrying to & fro soon...

all for the benefits of our dearest...

babybride: i bought mine from palmax...someone posted the link here before..

2Ks, I always think but no money to buy. can only dream at the moment. haha..

Ya ya, for the sake of our precious must endure the hassle to carry breast pump around! haha...

babybride, you still have about 5-6 weekend to buy and prepare your stuff, jia you!

amazing_miracle> no u dun need to sterilize the tubing... its too filmsy.. in fact.. i dun even wash it..cuz it doesnt come into contact with the BM.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babybride,

U can chk out a few places for bbcot. eg; kiddy palace, ubi-baby hyperstore or baby kingdom. compare the colour, size n make b4 u decide.

babybride - alternatively, you can check if the WTS forum got any pre-loved.. sometimes there tend to have worth to buy stuff.. got my car seat @ $70 and condition is brand new! RED colour somemore!

dun worry and kan cheong unnecessarily, most of the things can buy at 1 location.. alternatively, you go kaki bukit bb hypermart / bb kingdom .. they also got sell cots, car seat, prams and all bb stuff.. it's like 1-stop shopping for all bb needs.. not sure about price though..

I think the manual book got says sterilizing of the tubing is not necessary because it doesn't come in contact with the BM.

Braun Thermometer ordered! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i only ordered 1 extra... if anyone wants.. hurry! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda,

fever - my GP gave me normal paracetemol (hopefully i spell it correctly..) but hor.. i took only 1 time to lower down the temp and that's it.. dun dare to take more...

babybride,

they dun have the promotion already? i bought my non convertible cot at $250...

I will just use the cooler bag that comes with my Avent pump =) Hope I will get use to the carrying to and fro...

Babybride - I bought my bb convertible cot from kiddy palace TPY...

Palmax - Shears Baby Cot

http://www.palmax.biz/catalog/index.php?cPath=27&osCsid=25f71d6ec8a1fa87dc6995b9046770cc

Babybride.. here u go. Mine is a shears cot too.. but bought from Baby Boutique @ Tampines. But the supply also from Palmax [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mothercare got some on sale end last yr. Abt $200+ range. Now dunno still got the discounts or not. U can chk out Robinsons too.. though limited designs.

Mothercare had the additional 10% if paying with AMEX card. But the promo ended on 31st Dec. Since the Taka and Robinson sales starting tomorrow, maybe you can pop by for a look.

LaiLAI/XIAOFEIZHU-- nt tat ex means..tin beta to do loh..

BELINDA- guess Rach already say the diff.. aiyo...so long I din go into the mumcentre those sites to see what has been happening..oops!

ANNIE--you give mi chance to buy clothings again..LOL..saw one i like bt have to KIV after birth..

starfruit, haha, if you like then just buy it. I also bought some clothes meant for after give birth wear one. Anyway, soon we will be able to wear back our pre-preggy clothes again, so can buy and keep if the design is classic and won't go out dated ones. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

true wont go outdated de[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..so far, oso didnt buy any maternity dresses..tin still lok like "opera singer" if buy..mainly from blogshops niah

Annie: ooh. TE! But I tot most online shops the dress v small n tight leh. =( even I went out to find dress also gt prob.. =((

Linda: get well soon! =) tk care ya!

Rach n cae: I also gt prob wearing undies leh.. I now practially hate wearing bottoms.. Tts y go out jus lup dress n go.. But my dresses all cannot wear alrdy.. =( I think I'm growing too big.. Boohoo.

lilprecious, that's why I say only can buy those flare, stretchable material loose dress/maxi dress, sure can wear coz can expand ma. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, I read another interesting birth story in the Jan forum and I'm eager to paste it here to share with you gals again:

//

After my fast and furious delivery, I oso "chop chop" discharged from TMC today. Its only 3rd day and Im already feeling tired..

My birth story which all happened on 10th Jan:

3pm:

After CTG at my gynae's clinic during my regular check up, gynae told me that I shld be feeling contractions soon. (tho I insisted I dun feel anything) Since it is my first birth, he asked me to admit after 10:30pm (coz after 10:30pm is considered another day's charge at TMC)

5pm:

Started to feel the menses-like cramps. It wasn't very painful so Im determined to admit after 10:30pm that day.

7pm:

After dinner, my back starts to ache. Pretty happy coz after waiting for so long (39wks 4 days), the pain is finally here! I told my hubby and he said he needs to clear all his work and OT before taking leave. I told him nvm coz I would only be admitted after 10:30pm.

8+pm:

The pain starts to get closer.. less than 10mins. I have pretty high pain tolerance so my mother forced me to call my gynae to check if I shld go in early. So I called, but my gynae said for my case, it wun be so fast. 10:30pm is safe unless I want to admit early. I told him I trust his words!!

9+pm:

My back feels like ripping apart! Contractions less than 5mins apart! My hubby just reached home. So he took his dinner and we decided to go TMC to wait just in case.

10:05pm:

Reached TMC but was refused admission until after 10:30pm coz the admission lady said its my gynae's instructions! My contractions were already 1 min apart but after she knows that its my first birth, she asked me to sit one side and wait!! So I waited loh.

10:21pm:

I couldn't sit coz it was too painful, so I paced up and down the corridor. Before I know it, I heard a "POP" and there goes my water bag.. burst. Super unglam coz I was leaking through my pants. The admission lady quickly push a wheelchair and wheeled me to one of the 2 bedder room on level 6 to change. On the way I still ask if she would charge me extra day coz it was not 10:30pm yet. She laughed and said my hubby can do registration later.

10:30-11pm

Still in the ward (not labour ward!) The pain intensify.. to 100000000000x after my water bag burst. I started to scream and wail loudly. The pain was so unbearable that I caved in and BEGGED for pain relief. The nurses told me they cannot give me coz my gynae is delivering another lady. His instruction was he had to see me before they can push me to labour ward! I went mad and started to cry, scream and swear!

Then I suddenly felt the baby coming out. I told my hubby and the nurses. Everyone tot I was hysterical and was just seeking attention. SO NOBODY BELIEVED ME! SO I had to endure the pain and HOLD the baby inside.

11pm

Gynae finally came! He did VE and told me its too late for any pain relief. The moment I heard this, I screamed even louder! THe nurses quickly pushed me to the labour ward!

11:06pm:

Once in the labour ward, I asked (screamed at) the gynae if I could push. Thank god he said anytime when I feel the urge. So I muster all my strength, regenerated the pain to energy and pushed with all my might!!

11:12pm

Before I know it, after 5 pushes, snipping and vaccum, the baby was placed on my chest! It only hit me he was out when he started to scream into my ears. My Lucas boy is born!! Instant relieved!

While they were cleaning my up, the nurse who was filling up the details told me it was only 6mins! Then I asked the nurse why they dun want to weigh my baby, she laughed and told me coz I did the reverse - delivery first then register. Then it hit me that we have not registered. Haha..

Everyone, nurses, gynae, hubby including myself were damn glad that it was fast and smooth.

The next morning, my gynae came by and told me that he mistook me for another lady when I called to ask if I shld admit earlier. He said if he knew it was me, he would have asked me to admit *horrified*

I told everyone I am not going to go thru childbirth again unless they can guarantee it fast and "sweet" like this time.

//

annie : Hmmmm... indeed another fast delivery mummy.. Awww ! *Envy* 6min leh.. omg omg... salute !

Anyway, her story is funny and abit kan jiong type to me.. hahaha ! she still can hear the "POP" sound.. than hold back the baby.. I half read half wondering and laughing at the same time..

=X Well.. This mummy is really cute, fast and furious !

hopefully, we can like her too.. Fast fast de.. Lol ! or maybe can like her like that , hear the "POP" sound ~ =)

Annie: Congrats! Nice to read such heartwarming delivery.

I've done some scans today. Cervical length is short. Sigh... Doc only does their round once a day at 7am. Gotta wait till tml to hear e verdict.

Ah so this is the lady that delivered in 6 min! It sounds trumatising when no one believed her. And what a blur gynae!

But thank goodness her delivery was fast and safe. Hope that all mummies here will have a safe delivery too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach: I'm from the April MTB thread. Can I check with you how much are you selling the Braun thermometer? is it the click/ infra red kind to insert into baby's ears? I may be interested to get one from you. Please let me know. Thanks so much!

Rach - you wanna check with your gynae with your sng-ness??? Like very long liao lei... sure it's ok? I pity u also... how to walk like that?

Linda - The only medication that is very safe during pregnancy is paracetemol (panadol). For pain/fever... Just don't take more than 4g (8tablets) a day can already...

If you still having fever, take 2 tablets of 500mg every 6hours strictly... IF still more than 39 degree, think u should heed your gynae's advise of admitting to hospital...

Mummies, whole week meeting outside, no much chance to visit the thread and read thru everything. Can agar agar only.

2Ks, I bought the Peg Perego P3 too. Heehee.. I wrote it in my phone after you recommend. Hope baby guai guai accept his "car" until 4yrs old =P

Babybride, I will also be getting a cot from PALMAX. Think can get some discount if we refer each other. But I have a preloved passed down from a friend, and the cot I wanted from PALMAX is OOS at the moment. Have you decided on which cot you want?

PrestoRabb, thks for your email. Wanted to reply you but no time, until now haven settle my baby bedding set and beansprout pillow. *bleah*

Ohya, 2Ks, you rem roughly how many bottles of DOM u usedup during ur previous confinement?

I am buying over from a mummy in the forum, 3 bottles (1litre each) and a small bottle at $100.

Hope not too many bottles...

bbrabbit, I experienced my first "hand cramps" an hour ago.

Cannot close my hand into fist.. pain..

Did you chk with your gynae how to manage it?

Rach, I sometimes also feel painpain down ther, but I tot it's pretty common. Backache is getting bad too. Sigh..

Annie, I stop buying from Tracyeinny after a one time experience of bad material of a jumper I paid for more than $30 I think.

But the other dress I got was ok.

Thers so many blogshops ard so became alittle picky and choosy after sometime. Heehee..

Gd mrn!! Up at 5am almost for the last 2 days, cannot tahan.

Milktea- My hand now BOTH "injured", super pain, gg to see a dr ltr. Even wristguard dun help tt much, 'cos maybe i dun wear it to sleep. GYnae told me will go away after popping, i wonder how true.

Tres- Your hand better?

milktea: oh really? the 2010 versions are so pretty...which colour u bought??

u wont regret de!

u know some diaper bags like skip hop...they have those loops to attach the bag to the handle...

quite useful cos initial period, need to bring out so many things...

and confirm hang on the stroller it wont topple..

oh...dom ah...i had 1.5 bottles only..

but i think its very little...i will try to drink 2 bottles or more this time round.

3+1 bottles selling at $100 is very cheap!

cannot finish if expiry far away can keep for 2nd one la...

bb rabit: the hand pain depends...some will go away after popping, some wont. then if one wrist kana will spread to the other too..

i kana during #1 time...

but becos i dont wanna take the injection that will cure the pain almost immediate, i see a sinseh for acupuncture instead.

the jab that ang moh doctors recommend is quick recovery, but apparently one person one life can only take 1/2 this jabs only..cos not very good for the body or something like that...

my previous thread mummy went to ang moh dr and the dr told her that...

and its not cheap either for the jab.

so i went sinseh instead for acupuncture...its a slow recovery period, i took 3 months to recover, cos i was bf, so i didnt take any medication, only went thru acupuncuture and soaking of herbal medicine.

this is apparently a pregnancy-related illness.

hope u get well soon and it will really go away after u pop

oh ya bb rabit: now u try not to eat cooling stuff, it will add on to the pain..

stuff like winter melon, chinese cabbage, sago etc...

no no no ok...

Pandahut, did e doc give u any injection to strengthen bb's lungs?

My cervical length too short so gotta get that injection. They haven give me ventolin leh... Cannot discharge again...

sunesis: dr havent see u today??

the jab for bb lungs one is very pain right? i can feel the medicine seep thru my body...

they didnt give u any oral medication? u dont feel tummy pain is it..

2Ks,

doc seen me just tell me cervical length short gotta take jabs for bb lungs. 2 jabs in 12 hrs interval so cannot go home.

that's all.

KK doc only do their round once a day at 7am.

no oral medicine. I got occasional pain only. Everytime i pain, they put me on CTG lo.

Rach, I think u should chk out with ur gyne y u hav this sng-ness la... else everyday like tt also v sian de...

Milktea20, u try raising ur arms above ur head to let the blood n water retention flow back to ur body... my antenatal class suggested this... say it'll help to improve joint mobility n pain...

Oh btw mummies, I heard some ppl say cannot drink too much herbal liquor during confinement izit? Tonic wine like DOM n those herbal tonic wines made by my FIL... when n how often can we consume it arh?

Morning~

2Ks, I bought the orange colour de, delivery 1st week of march. But I din buy the matching car seat (baby carrier), very expensive leh so I was thinking of using my friend's passed down de then baby one yr old then buy a car seat.

BBrabbit, my pain still ok but I can feel it coming then I faster do stretching.

Cannot close my hand into fist, as in fully close. Hope it wun get worse.

2Ks, you mean the hand cramp might stay on even after delivery? Scary leh..

When I told my friends I have leg cramps, I was told not to take cold drinks as well.

Maybe really should cut down see whether there's improvement.

sunesis, Pandahut, jiayou jiayou!!