(2011/03) Mar 2011

jaster: i am still using my normal make up leh...everything is fine...

starfruit: i dunno what model leh, mine is brown colour one, then if the clip is loose, it will beep and beep..then the padding can be remove type...

when bb small i use the padding, when bb big i remove the padding

Chen- for my nursing bras, started wearing them on sat.. i even wore them out.. but felt so naked.. cos like the nipples can be seen.. have to keep on asking hb can see anot.. haha.. than wen to get those removable padding and put them on.. after which, felt more comfortable cos not so obvious liao! heehee..

allets: how come your nursing bras u feel naked leh? hmmm...

mine ok leh...usually comes with a thin padding otherwise hor, double clothes leh...

anyway, if u feel naked rite, why not insert the breastpads instead...

2ks..u got list for packing hospital bag??..

last sat an ex colleague gave birth 4 weeks earlier than edd due to low lying placenta n bleeding..i think i better start parking..i keep feeling its going to be early..

2ks - my is those normal nursing bra loh..click on type and got cloth over it lah.. but just that maybe in air con place, the nipples more prominent.. and make too used to wearing padded bras.. so that's why abit uncomfy when suddently like only a cloth between clothes and nipples.. haha.. ya, i inserted those removable padding.. also bought those avent washable breast pads for interchanging.. and i felt so much better! heehee..

jaime: i just agak agak pack my bag leh..

1. 2 sets of button front PJ

2. sanitary pads

3. socks

4. breastpads 4 pcs

5. disposable undies

6. moisturiser cream (optional, to apply on tummy after shrink)

7. 2 x nursing bras

8. my own toiletries

9. documents to be packed later

for baby

1. booties

2. long pants

(TMC do give mittens, baby top and receiving blanket, but i tot the legs nothing to wear so i brought my own).

Wow!

Finally I finish the thread!

Today bz day again as is the start of Sch day again;)

2k- thank for sharing abt tmc- anyway I still pack the wrap towel, 2 sets of mitten n booties, 1 set of long pj to bring her back home ;)

My pack is abit big Liao till my hub say I am like gg to tour!

Fish- abt breastfeeding

There is no stopping so long there is a demand n supply;)

If u have ample supply, just give till u feel is euff la

My son was on breast milk for 5 yrs and he been off the latch when 3 yrsplus but i pumped out in bottle for him;)

Till his bronchitis fully recovered, I switched him to pediasure at 5;)

I dun no abt tmc but MtA is definately very pro n on on total breastfeeding ;)

Hi ladies, took some time to read the thread since I'm otw to wgynae nw. Called in this morn they asked me to go in scared bb affected.. So going in to chk on bb.. Will update ltr...

Rach: the wrap n snap feels comfyyyy!! Hehehe. But no

padding lo.. Nvm , I also insert my own. =P

count me in for the donut packs too.. Hehe. I email u ltr.. Thanks!

Jaster: I still use make up as per normal.. Frm Jav time to nw.. No prob de.. Cos it's on e outside, won't seep into the bloodstream or wad de. Hee. I haf to use, I cannot go out w the dark eye rings.. =S but near places I wil nt put n jus wear specs. Keke

Wow

Fish- dr Adrian nvr say abt your weight ?

Last sat when I went back n he first look at my girl weight

He say; mummy gained Just nice-a total of 9-10 kg Liao and he say he expected another 2-3 from me before deliver.

My girl weight 1.8 kg at 32 weeks

The great thing is we see her face very clearly!

So I'm glad I didn regret not gg for 4 d scan ;)

Lil- do take care n get as much help as possible frm your family members;)

Most importantly- dun tired yourself too much[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I need to check with u all the task that u have compromise with your CL

As some know I already booked 1 and paid her deposit last MTh but when she came, was a bit rush and we couldn't managed to Ask her what is her daily task

Does she sweep the floor everyday?

Does she mop the floor everyday?

Other than taking care of the bb, are they entitle to sleep in the noon time?

Does she wash her ownclothing or mix with ours to wash in machine?

Does she wash our family members clothings? How about. Ironing ??

Does she cook for the whole family?

Linda,

Adrian reli no comment on my weight wor!!! wah... all your BB heavier than my BB at week 32 wor!!!

i shall monitor my BB weight nx check up nx week then if still very light, then i shall do something like wat Annie said try to drink some tonic...

JASTER- can still use light makup lah-- powder and light lip gloss those kind..

if not face yellow yellow, peo see le tin preggy all" huang lian bo " la lata...kekekek...if got events..put more loh..

2Ks--thks.ok..will go check it out...

hosp bag

mummies, remember to pack your gynae receipts for the medisave claims....

and perhaps you would like to pack a set of clothes to wear when discharged....by then your belly is smaller (but still got tummy) so maybe something that u wore when u 4-5mths preggy kind? and ez slip on bottoms...

pixie: my gynae nurse will print the receipts again and pass me in envelope together with admit form...

boymum: braxton hicks?

Fish- doc Adrian say is acceptable weight from 1.7-2 kg la

So dun worry cos I m aso concern abt my girl

Weight since my nausea visited me again;)

He say is at average percentile so u dun worry too

Much, just eat healthy n bu your health ;)

Boymums- I aso experienced tightness and pain pulling at my lower celvic, I check w my gynae last sat n he mentioned that is my bb head pressure pushing down the celvic muscle and I will feel pain n feel like gg to pass out urine aso

As for tightness- is Braxton hicks or some time he say is due to little space for our little one to move, they tend to stretch here n there abit but we can feel is tightness

So long no discharge- we are safe;)

Your Pregnant Body This Week

Week 33 of Pregnancy: Insomnia

Third-trimester insomnia strikes more than 75 percent of pregnant women — very tired pregnant women.

How unfair — that when you need it the most, you can't get it. You keep on telling yourself it's the last opportunity for a long, long time (at least until your baby's sleeping through the night). But you still can't get any. No, not sex, woman — sleep! Third-trimester insomnia strikes more than 75 percent of expectant moms — very tired expectant moms. At 33 weeks pregnant, all the hormonal changes, the midnight treks to the bathroom, the leg cramps, the heartburn that won't quit, the fact that you can't get comfortable when you're in bed with a watermelon where your tummy used to be, and the anxiety you're likely feeling about the impending birth of your baby (and the fact that you still haven't decided on a name for your baby) all contribute to your inability to catch some satisfying z's. 

Looking for ways to summon the sandman? Worrying about it won't help, and neither will staring at the clock watching the minutes tick by. Instead try a warm bath and perhaps a warm cup of milk before turning in, avoid exercising, eating, or drinking too close to bedtime, and solicit your partner for a massage (you deserve it!). If sleep still eludes you, read a book or listen to soothing music until drowsiness sets in. If nothing works, at least you can be comforted knowing that this may just be Mother Nature's way of getting you ready for the sleepless nights ahead.

2Ks,

i also dun know leh.. today only feel the tight tight feeling..

Linda,

i always like to pass urine, esp at night. My little one move a lot these few days.. sometimes feel a bit pain and uncomfortable also.. you same too?

Ya, i also think that.. guess as long as no discharge .. shd be ok lah .. i only in my wk 31.. pray dun be so fast!!! hahaha..

i very kiasu .. this is what i will roughly pack in the hosp bag:

 1-2 packs of Maternity / normal night Pads (tell hosp will use own de)

 2 packs of Disposable Panties

 Few pieces of cotton panties (~3pcs)

 2 Nursing bra

 Anti-Stretch mark cream

 Breast pump (put in hb car)

o Box for sterilizing equipment and Sterilizing tablets

 Breast pads (8-10pcs)

 2 front-opening Pyjamas(For Breastfeeding)

 1 set of mittens, booties and long pants for bb (during her stay)

 Jackets (1 each for daddy and mummy)

 2 pairs of sock

 1 face towel for cleaning body

 1 CD/VCD for relaxation

 Toiletries, makeup, hairclips etc

o Toiletries for daddy

 Plastic bags to store your soiled clothes etc

 Going Home Outfit (e.g maternity babydoll dress); & 1 Bra and Underwear

 A pair of slipper or flat shoes

 1 pair of slippers / bedroom slippers

 HP + Hp Charger

 Camera /Videocam with batteries /charger/ extra SD card

 NRIC and Admission Letter; and your gynae receipts for claims

 Marriage cert if you are registering the baby’s name in hospital

 1 Baby Receiving Blanket with hood (TMC provides)

 1 New Outfit for bb to go home

 1 set of New Booties, Mittens

Linda - I did have a talk with my CL regarding her duties before I hand her the deposit... As for your qn, see my answer below:

Does she sweep the floor everyday?

- She nv specify is it everyday but she will do it, she will also help out in washing of toilet...

Does she mop the floor everyday?

- As above

Other than taking care of the bb, are they entitle to sleep in the noon time?

- She nv ask me abt this, but I'm ok for her to nap if BB is also sleeping in the afternoon and if her chores are already done... cos CL also human, at night she also have to wake up and take care of bb...

Does she wash her ownclothing or mix with ours to wash in machine?

- I think she will mix hers and mine to wash... only hubby ones wash seperately... I got tell her its ok to use the washing machine becos for my hse no sun at the service yard so if she dun use machine I think the clothes also hard to dry fast enough for the turn over...

Does she wash our family members clothings? How about. Ironing ??

- Yes, she will help with hubby's clothing but no ironing...

Does she cook for the whole family?

- As only hubby and me in the house so she will cook dinner for hubby... i.e. hubby will just eat what she cook for me but maybe she add another 1-2 dishes that not so heaty during dinner...

Then again, diff CL has diff expectations and way of working so still better you talk to your CL and confirm on the abt qns... like mine she got specify she require 2 angbao for

'lai xi'... 1 on the day she arrive and 1 on the day she leave...

Allets- u share the same packing w me!!

Me see your list n that is what I have aso packed too;)

Except my marriage cert which I dun wan to lose it so my hub will bring down the next day when he fetch my eldest son to visit me n my girl;)

We aso filled in the mcys form Liao plus ocbc form ;)

Aso aside the PJ, I aso packed 2 sets of day clothings + gg back home clothing!

Boymum- yes! Me woke up at least more than 5 times to pass urine and aso my girl is very active from 2am too!

So not to worry la

addlet..hp charger...very important..thanks for reminding..esp iphone....

the sterilizing i think dont need ...at hosiptal can borrow they super duper hospital grade breast pump to pump..

\

i suppose if need to sterilise can pass to nurse..if not pay them so much for wat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xiaofeizhu- thank for sharing this info

Mine told me abt the Ang Pow also la so that is ok

I just worried she is not those clean type cos me n my son have bad sinus that y I dun no if she will do all the necessary housework ;(

And I dun wan to Employ someone that come here for holiday like that

Anyway that day when she came, I told her I will be sleeping w her in the study room With my girl n no aircon is allow as I be doing confinement, she like huh?? No aircon ??

I was like still have to tell her cos of my

Sinus- I can't take the risk of squeezing my nose in aircon place and when if I squeeze n I get pain in my wound n next day I will get headache ??

zenia> Ginger cream for massage or appt to rid wind after birth..

Esnow> LLL got XL... I'm wearing L..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda- cos i cant rem who i got the list from one of the mummies here.. haha..

wat mcys and ocbc form is that? need to fill de ar?

Allets- u have baby bonus rite?

For me, I dun have for my 1st boy born in yr 2000. So I nid to fill in for baby bonus n aso the mcys is cash incentive given by the government to us lor.

I filled in the form bb from mcys so that upon registration at tmc service centre, I won forget la

I filled another one which is ocbc for children development account - know as cda. This is the 1-1 matching dollars that government will match if you put $ into this account,

I intend to place 6k at 1 shot like wat my Sis do

Starfruit- no

Is a cap Amt that maximum 6k that gov will top up the account and this 6k can be top up as and when you have euff cash,

Example if tdy you got 6k, then u put in the account n government will top up 6 k into your account,

Note that this is a cda account! Not to be use for personal lor

Or example each year you top up 1k, by the time your child reach 7 yrs old, there will be a total of 12k

Fish- see the link www.babybonus.gov.sg

Baby bonus

Cash Gift

You will get a cash gift of up to $4,000 each for your 1st and 2nd child and $6,000 each for your 3rd and 4th child. All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will also enjoy Government contributions in the form of a dollar-for-dollar matching for the amount of savings you contribute to your child’s Children Development Account (CDA). If your child is born before 17 August 2008, he or she will enjoy the Government matching contributions in the CDA if he or she is your second to fourth child.

Matching Government Contribution in Children Development Account (CDA)

The CDA is a special savings account that you open at any OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered Bank branch for your child who is eligible for CDA. You can save in the CDA any time until 31 December in the year your child turns 6 years of age. The savings will be matched up to the cap of $6,000 each for the first and second child, $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. The Government will match your savings in the following month.

6K cash from parents is the max, then gov will also credit 6k into our bb accounts.

6k is the max.

How much you put in, the gov will follow and credit in.

Jus fin gynae appt.. Bb's well.. Phew!

Currently in 30wk 1day.. Jayien weighs 1.7kg.. Gynae say tts fast.. Cos he's only 1.1 last round.. I only put on 0.3 or sth..think cos all came out on sat n dese 2 days din eat. Haha. Gd way to diet.. =X

Anw, my tummy pain n crampy.. Gynae says it's v tight.. Mus watch out make sure no contractions. =)

Questions:-

1) the $4000 cash gift.. they will give real cash to the parent?? or governement will put into the edusave account??

2) the CDA saving account, parent has to put in $6000 one lumpsum and governemnt also give $6000?? or we can put in this $6000 seperately???

The cash gift is 4k but staggered by 18 month meaning to say

Upon delivery, we will recd 1k frm government in our own account, Amt will be debited 3 weeks upon delivery ;)

Note that this is our personal account!

So good news is 'we can take it as our push gift lor

Every 6 months if i not wrong , they debit 1k till 18 mths

Fish

1- yes. Is cash incentive in your own account,

For Parents

Overview

How does the Baby Bonus Scheme work for children born on or after 17 August 2008?

Your child will enjoy benefits under the Baby Bonus Scheme from birth till his sixth birthday. The total Baby Bonus benefits are shown in Table 1.

Table 1: Total Baby Bonus Benefits by Birth Order

Birth Order

Cash Gift

from Government

Maximum Matching

Government Contribution

Total

First and Second

$4,000

$6,000

Up to $10,000

Third

$6,000

$12,000

Up to $18,000

Fourth

$6,000

$12,000

Up to $18,000

Fifth and beyond

-

$18,000

Up to $18,000 for each child

Cash Gift

The cash gift is given out in 4 equal instalments over 18 months from the birth of your child so that you can use the cash for new expenses arising from your newborn. The first cash gift is given within 3 weeks after MCYS receives your properly completed forms. The subsequent cash gifts are given when your child is approximately 6, 12 and 18 months of age. The actual date of credit is usually within 2 weeks before or after your child turns 6, 12 or 18 months old. You will be notified by post after the money has been credited into your account. See Table 2 for the cash gift schedule.

The cash gift will be deposited directly into the nominated bank account of the parent or another person (the Account Holder). The Account Holder must be at least 21 years of age and is not a bankrupt. Where the child is also eligible for the Children Development Account (CDA), the Account Holder must be the same person as the trustee who is managing the CDA. Please note that the amount of cash gift may be pro-rated if the child is not a citizen by birth.

Table 2: Cash Gift Schedule

Birth Order

Within 3 weeks after MCYS receives your completed forms

Approximate Age of Child

6 months

12 months

18 months

Total

First and Second

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000

$1,000

$4,000

Third and Fourth

$1,500

$1,500

$1,500

$1,500

$6,000

Savings in the Children Development Account

Children Development Account (CDA)

This is a special savings account. MCYS will provide you with information about the opening of the CDA when your child joins the Scheme. All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will be eligible to open a CDA. You may choose to open your child's CDA with Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited (OCBC Bank) or Standard Chartered Bank (Standard Chartered). A CDA can only be open with one of these banks. The person who manages the CDA on behalf of the child is called the trustee. As a parent, you can nominate yourself, your spouse or another person to be the trustee. The trustee must be at least 21 years of age and is not a bankrupt.

Saving for Your Child's Future

You can save any time in the CDA until 31 December in the year your child turns 6 years of age either in one lump sum or by instalments. Deposits can be made in any of the following ways:

- Cash, cheque or via Standing Order;and

- Funds transfer through the ATMs of OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered (depending on your chosen CDA bank), phone banking or internet banking.

Matching Government Contribution

The savings you contribute to your child's CDA will be matched dollar-for-dollar up to the cap of $6,000 each for a first and second child, $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. Please note that the amount of matching Government contribution may be pro-rated if the child is not a citizen by birth.

The savings will be matched in the following month. For example, if you deposit $500 into the CDA in January 2009, the Government will make the matching contribution of $500 around the third week of February 2009. Kindly note the bank's requirements with regard to the cut-off time for deposits made on the last working day of the month.

For the Government to make a matching contribution, it is your total savings (deposits) into the CDA that counts, not how much is left after withdrawals. Do note that interest earned is not considered as a contribution and will not be matched. Savings above $6,000 each for the first and second child, $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and $18,000 each for fifth and subsequent child will not be matched.

The unused balance in your child's CDA will be transferred to his or her Post-Secondary Education Account (PSEA) in the year your child turns 7 years of age. You may continue to contribute to the PSEA until your child turns 18 years of age and receive the Government's matching contributions subject to the combined CDA/PSEA matching contribution cap of up to $6,000 each for the first and second child, up to $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and up to $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. The funds in the PSEA can be used to pay fees for post-secondary education in Singapore for your child and his or her siblings. The PSEA is under the purview of the Ministry of Education (MOE). More information on MOE can be found at MOE's website at http://www.moe.gov.sg.

Uses for the funds in the CDA

The money may be used by all your children to pay for:

1) Fees at Approved Institutions which have registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme:

a) Child care centres;

b) Kindergartens and special education schools registered with the Ministry of Education (MOE);

c) Early intervention programmes registered with the National Council of Social Service (NCSS); and

d) Healthcare institutions licensed under the Private Hospitals and Medical Clinics (PHMC) Act.

2)​MediShield orMedisave-approved private integrated plans.

Click here -> Approved Institutions to search for the Approved Institutions.<font<<<<> Approved Institutions can be identified by an Approval Letter displayed at their premises.

The funds cannot be withdrawn in cash. Withdrawals from the CDA is made via interbank GIRO and NETS at Approved Institutions only. For payments via interbank GIRO, please enquire with your Approved Institution. You will need to fill up an application form to use interbank GIRO and submit it to your Approved Institution. The bank will issue you a Baby Bonus Card. You can use this card to make NETS payments to AIs from your child's CDA. It cannot be used to make payments at other places or to withdraw cash at ATMs.

The funds can also be used for principal-protected Singapore Dollar fixed or time deposit accounts approved by MCYS and offered by OCBC Bank and Standard Chartered. You may enquire directly with your chosen CDA bank on the use of CDA funds for such deposit accounts. The full amount deposited in the fixed or time deposit accounts, together with any interest earned, must be returned to the CDA upon expiry of the term of the accounts, or before the CDA is closed, whichever is earlier. The CDA funds cannot be used to pay for any penalties due to the trustee's premature withdrawal or termination of the fixed or time deposit accounts. The penalty, if any, will be recovered from the trustee directly

Fish

Edusave is for primary schoolers;)

Still a long way

But when your boy reach Pri Sch, gov will open an edusave account for him, whereby he can use his account $$ to use for school outings, computer programs etc;)

If he do well for his study, government will award him

For his hardworking attitude by giving cash !

Hee;)

kekek..LINDA, got what you mean le..

means 4K bb bonus cash gift--to be credited within one wk of DD..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

(on top of hubby's push gift!haha)

6K CDA in ocbc accout, max is 6K, gov top till 6K max $by$)

Starfruit - sa la ..

4k hor- our government aso very stingy one

Give us based on installment!

1k is given only when 3 weeks after delivery

1k is given when bb turn 6 mths

1k is given when bb turn 12 mths

1k is given when bb turn 18 mths

U see?? We pop out too fast, they give us installment somemore;)

No wonder my gf from aust n Taiwan say our Sg very stingy no wonder the birth rate still low .... Lol

Starfruit - sa la ..

4k hor- our government aso very stingy one

Give us based on installment!

1k is given only when 3 weeks after delivery

1k is given when bb turn 6 mths

1k is given when bb turn 12 mths

1k is given when bb turn 18 mths

U see?? We pop out too fast, they give us installment somemore;)

No wonder my gf from aust n Taiwan say our Sg very stingy no wonder the birth rate still low .... Lol

2Ks--hahah....k....noted..

LINDA- true loh..that why i got friends --purposely go oz there to give birth, to let their kid get oz citizenship , then lata they can choose bet oz or sing ciitizen..for now, they got both till 18 or 21..heard from my friend..but oso, OZ is prejudiced against asians..nt sure if it is good ..tsktsk