(2011/03) Mar 2011

Jus drank e glucose.. Feel like throwing up.. esp drinking the super sweet drink on an empty tummy.. Boohoo.. I put on 3kg!!! Despite all the cut dwn on food.. N biscuit fr supper I still put on so much.. Sobbb.. Getting too fat!

allets: were u the one asking about the pigeon wipes??

pigeon wipes is really made in thailand de...

so should be original...but then if i didnt remember wrongly, should have printed expiry date or manufacturer date..

rach: u really can...go until there to buy the undies to collect umbrella...

why dont u buy milk powder/diapers instead..

buy 4 tins of milk powder sure exceed $200...

Morning ladies, back on sterilization of bottles question. I heard some of my frens sterilize the bottles first.. then keep them in air tight box.. and when bb needs it then we take them out from the box. Are the bottles still effectively sterilized in this case?

Or do we leave the bottles in the sterilizer until we need it then open up the sterilizer?

Oh yes... finally received the Robinsons flyer yesterday. 22 dec - 24 dec... there will be Robinsons Sale again.. and members can use $5 voucher for each department (i.e. Nursery, Household, Comestics) for every $30 nett spent.

Hi 2Ks - so even if we get the wipes from our local dept stores, the wordings will still be printed in thai?

the one i saw over at chinatown was only manufactured June / Sep this year.. but cos it's selling that cheap and wordings in thai, me dunno whether safe to buy not..

PrestoRabb,

i keep my sterilised btls locked in the steriliser. only when want to use, then take the btls out...

think for pigeon brand, can also keep in the steriliser for certain hrs, so long u dun opened up after it sterilised.

but for me.. feel that "moderate" sterilisation, shld b ok. take out neccessary amt, then close back immediately will do.... =p

allets: i think should be PI stocks...

thats why they can sell cheaper...

no harm trying la...cos the wipes is really made in thailand one..

Poky - thats what I thought too.. but hb says once open the steriliser, means the other unused bottles not sterilised anymore. Hmm.. guess there is no perfect way out.. unless we keep sterilising the bottles.. haha.

Btw,

i received the response from cheers n tears photography on maternity/family shts. discount will be given depending on how many mummies signing up. (5 or 10 mummies)If no one else is interested. i b transferrin deposit for Feb sht later in the afternoo. so if want to consider this photographer, let me know by noon. =)

PrestoRabb,

aiyah... u used tongs to take out the one u using, then tell ur hubby the rest wasnt touch lor.... juz "air" touch, ur hubby also mind?? then bb breathin in the air how?? lol

not possible to jux sterilise 1 set of nursing btls each time, using such a big steriliser rite?? waste electric n space leh.....

mayb it juz me lazi,, so anything also ok de... hhaha

jaime, you've got a mail. You're carters are with me.

Presto, I'm not gonna miss the robinson sale this time. Hee. Btw, I keep my sterillized bottles in the sterilizer till I wana use. If I'm not wrong after 3 or 4 hours after the last sterillization, gotta sterillize again.

mummies..any one use baby monitor before...any good recommended brand /model?

i didnt use for #1, but my ah lao say wanna buy ..dont know for wat reason also..maybe for #1 who wil be kick out from the master bed room..poor boy..hahaha..then in the day for #2 bah..

so more usage..so go buy wor..

PrestoRabb, abt the Robinson sale, is there additional discount on top of the 20%? I wanna get my baby stuff if there is more discount.

For mummies with 2 or children and with car. How will you seat the infant and toddler? 1 infant seat and child seat? Headache leh..with a sedan car, hb, me, helper and my mum, how ah? Even if with one adult at the back, it's also very difficult to squeeze in between the infant and child seat. Solution anyone?

BabyG - i think some brands got 20% discount.. but not sure if there is additional discounts. The flyer didnt say properly. Guess we have to go look see on the day and see how gd are the discounts.

Chen - nvm.. im sure more upcoming.. post xmas sales ah, pre-CNY sales ah.. so many excuses for us to shop again. haha.

Poky - guess u are right.. (",).. thks for ur tips !

babyG: i think my toddler car seat will be shifted to the front...then the infant car seat will be behind with me lor...

so sad leh...cos now i got to migrate to the back seat lor...

i dont have helper, so still ok...

as for parents, i guess they have to settle themselves lor

BabyG

we b changin my gal to booster seat when #2 start using the infant car seat. like u, another car seat, the back row how to sit another adult?? squeeze in between the 2 large car seats, jiatlat....

so using booster seat. much smaller n compact than car seat.. but my gal stil not that tall yet... b following wat my hubby's colleague do.. put a pillow below the booster seat to make adjustment for the lack of height.. only concern is duno if stable enuf.... =(

Or any mummies with other solutions??

PrestoRabb,

alternatively, use a microwave steriliser... it smaller than the usual electric ones.. so if juz sterilise 1 set, not that "wastage"??? =p

2Ks, that's another option. But, with the airbag, it's also not so safe for toddler in the front.

Ha..now we mummies will be relegated to the back! My boy will be so happy to sit in front.

prestorabb

no hard and fast rule

i am the mummy who sterilize first, screw them on tight, and put all of them in a big airtight container. you can also sterilized those as and when needed lah....but that means waiting. and if you are in a rush, sianz liao lor...

you cant achieve 100% bacteria free for these bottles; so you see what you prefer lor

babyG

usually the child seat and infant seat goes to the left & right of the back of the car, the caregiver squeeze in between. can go in one leh, my 08 mummies do that

then leaves 1 vacancy - front passenger. meaning you can either bring out ur mom or your helper liao. sedan car hardly can fit in 2 child seats + 2 adults at the back...

unless....you get your mom or helper to sit your #1 on her lap? i do that to my #1 nowadays i.e. alternate between booster n on my lap. but lap time very specific rules. seat belt must be on, sit only at this angle, no touching of door lock blah blah....

car-trained :p

im going to robinson sale too! i got the mailer last sat leh....cfm going; but dunno when?

wanted to go tomorrow, but i wanted to cover more places eg taka, tangs but surely not enough time

24th is half day for me, so can afford more time to shop but that means im squeezing with the last min crowd! and i hate crowds...

2Ks, Baby G,

btw, those with airbag in the front seat, car seats cannot b put infront also rite? so double ck if ur car got airbag in the front passenger seat...

haha, all along, i being sittin at the back with my gal, so no difference to me... DH is the "taxi driver" lor....

Gd mrn ladies.. so much to catch up... Seem like alot of pple busy shopping...

Pixie- the robinson sale mailer come with CC bill or?? Me always dun open my mail box on time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. shall check tonite.

yup car seats cannot be placed in the front with airbags

but cheaper cars dun have front airbags. most cars have front airbags lei...so it means most of the time car seats are meant for the back one leh...

pixiepixel,

some sedan, the inside quite small... v cramp to have an adult sittin in between the 2 big infant car seat.. if one is the child seat (not as bulky as infant seat) stil can tahan.. but stil squeezy... if long journey or stuck in traffic,, then sian liao.... plus,, i thinkin there b many more stuffs to hang ard to cater for an infant n a child... making space even more precious... lol

bb rabit

this time its a A4 size envelope, with a "magazine" of sorts showing you the specials/on offer....then got 1 pc of A4 sized paper which is the voucher...

this $5 off min $30 spent, very common, they have it at least once a year? usually me and my sis go together to hit the min amt to get $5 off lah hahahaha

allets, I also tried to pm the spree organizer for the Braun Thermometer but no response from her too. Same here, cannot post on the thread as it is set as private, only for registered users?

If only rach is spreeing for this thermometer, I'll rather join rach's spree.

Rach, do you wanna spree this Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer?

Carseats - been pondering about this too, blah. As far as I know if you want to move your toddler's car seat to the front you need to disable your airbag or the airbag could kill your child. In general, no child should sit in the front until they are around 8. Blah.

We are actually thinking of getting a MPV or SUV but car prices are crazy so, it's like between a rock and a hard place.

I tried my boy who's almost 3 in the booster seat. It was not very stable and kept shifting about. Maybe he's not heavy enough yet (13kg)??

Poky, with one pillow below, i think it'll be even more unstable. How old and heavy is your daughter?

Pixie, we have been training my boy... cannot touch the door, cannot move here and there but it's still work in progress! :p He's too jian to stay still and the only way is to strap him in the car seat so that his movements are restricted. So, we are still reluctant to upgrade him to booster for the time being.

Anyway, we'll just get an infant seat first and will try to squeeze one adult in the middle. Any recommendations for infant car? Cheap and good?

pixie: tat day i really did call u and sms u about the wipes leh...

hmm....funny...how come u didnt receive both hor?

anyway, just call/sms me when u wanna collect okie..

poky: i been sitting infront and my boy been sitting alone all along at the back....

so its kindof sad if i have to move to the back again...LOL

babyG

your #1 is how old? must see age. my boy is 3yo in jan, so he's quite receptive towards my instructions i.e. can take instructions well. furthermore, he's scared of making me angry, so he's quite guai *touchwood*

he got trained fast. if he ever touches something, prep talk comes. if he touches again, we go sit at the back immediately

cause and effect seems to work well on him lar...

really depends on your child hor?

Pixie- THKS. will check it out. called DH , he said no such envelope when he opened the mailbox yest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

2ks

SOMEONE must have read the message else it wouldnt have shown no new sms lor...must be my SON lah hahaha....

coz, i went to email, copy your hp number, and "add to new contact". then i started to write new message to you, the sms screen came up with past history, then i saw you oredi sent me a message before!!

saturday was a very bz day for me so i didnt really attend much to my hp...sofa n tv console came, i spent the whole night doing up the living room BY MYSELF again coz hb say "headache"....

i am coolie worker really

Most cars come with airbags in the front now. Not safe but i still see a lot of parents strapping the child seat in front.

We were also considering whether to change to MPV since we have extended family members with us at times. Even though i'm personally not keen on MPV but like have not much choice too. Car prices are so high now... too crazy to buy now! So... we'll squeeze for now... haha!!

BabyG

my gal 2.5yrs, abt 12kg? Hvnt try with her on the booster seat yet. Think i b "customizing" the pillow so that it will stick to the carseat undermat, then put the booster seat on top?? hopefully, it b more stable??

I wanted to buy a Toddler carseat for her.. but with her height ( i estimating to be after May), she stil wont b able to hit the height recommended for those toddlers car seat. then her head will b somewhere in bettween the gap of the head rest n side of the car seat... so stil not safe... can only use infant carseat... but hubby dun want 2 infant car seats in the car... =(

pixiepixel,

i not into cars, so duno which models are big or small.. =p

my fren car is a small one, 1 infant car seat, alrdy taken up totally half the backseat. cant remember the name,,, think the brand is with a "cross" type?? swiss something?? haha.. me totally clueless on brand n models....

pixie: hahaha~i was wondering how come u didnt reply huh? could it be u gave me wrong hp number??

so in the end i agak agak ask hubby buy, cos he went with his friend, so sure can carry back..

haiz...u are too independent already...so hubby think u work better than him...

babyG: hubby was looking at MPV before the stupid COE increase lor! irritating..

Pixie, my boy is 3 in Jan, same as yours. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We have been training him and even cancelled outings to discipline him. But it doesn't always work! So it's still work in progress.

poky, do you mean the non-reclinable car seat? Most car seats can seat from 9 mths. I'm using the maxi cosi one and upgraded him at 8+ mths.

The MPV we saw was ard 90+K in June and now it is almost 130K. Siao liao!!

Pixie, you are too independent already lah. Must train your hubby like how u train your boy! :p

eh babyG, you are in jan08 thread too??!!

poky

vios is not a very big car, but i have mummy friends who can fit 2 seats + 1 adult at the back leh

2.5yo can sit booster? coz my #1 sat on booster once he hits 2.5yo leh. booster seat takes up lesser space i think?

2ks

harnor, i too independent liao. thats why hb leaves everything to me....

btw, thanks so much for the wipes; this weekend should go back to my parents' place, then will surely drop by ur blk to collect. i sms u again in advance lar

babyG

my hb is trained liao lor...

from a super duper lazy + everything oso dunno how to do + slacker + many many more, he now can do housework (if im not available), look after my boy on his own, blah blah

last time when we just got married, i got shock leh....his mother really pampered her children until i speechless

that said, work still in progress. still got room for improvement

2Ks,

wow,, ur boy can tahan sit alone in the back seat? He got any "entertainment" at the back??

My gal want to hold hand when in the car. if i sit in the front... then she keep crying n stretching her hand to say hold hand.... -_-"

pixie

speaking of phone... last sat v funny... my gal was using my hubby phone to watch shows or play games in the living room... hubby n i was brushing n preparin for goin out... then i receive a call from my phone... from my hubby phone.... then i saw my gal in the living room holding DH phone sayin "mickey mouse"... later when DH checked, i wasnt the first one she called... she called another fren earlier.... i was laufin mad cos that fren is the type who sleeps til noon time in the wkend. "bad morning temper", cant imagine wat words he b cursing when he took the 12sec call to listen to my gal sayin "mickey mouse" over n over again...!!!

can you believe it, im still wearing high heels!!

muahahaha

i super heart high heels so even till today im still wearing it

jialatz

poky

wahahahha!! winner liao...our kids are very glued to our phones hor....mine too

because we trained him to ask permission for anything before hand so right now the most heard phrases are

"can i have the phone, please"

or

"can i watch the tv, please"

faintz