(2011/03) Mar 2011

sunesis,

Buy pao sheng. Put in around 5 slices & hot water 3/4 cup. Soak it for 15mins and drink.

I always get giddinesss too. Sometime is low blood or low sugar. I also cook some red dates with small pc dried longan & some guo qi zhi to drink. Hope it helps

Sunesis- Sit down and stand up very slowly..

Drink some water

It happen to me too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apply some medicated oil at the chest or neck area if you dun want to inhale

tres- Can try paosheng with pork rib/ black chicken. Or even steam chicken with our bottle essence with red date and wolfberries. At times, my mum brew fresh huanshan chickensoup for me as well.

bee- u can try cater who do confinement dish. Then supplement with normal dish cooked by the maid or mil? Soup-wise, u can pre pack the ingredient on yr own and get maid or mil to help brew?

Linda,

I have been coughing a lot ever since I'm pregnant. I went to see normal GP and they give me cough syrup leh... on off I will take if I cant get to sleep due to the cough... Hmm... how come ur doctor dun give?

Am i taking too much medicine?

all those food ur list down for confinement is making me so hungry!!!

I haf natal essential for my previous confinement.. the food so so lo...

I din really have a good confinement previously so same, this time also want to "bu" back!

bb rabit, yes was think also..

but my hb said get gd one(confinement meals) n cover first 2wks..n then ask my MIL cover next 2 wks..

Tres-

I made soup every day- some are tonic some are normal but nourishing soup

-Lotus,peanut,red date soup with Pork Rib

-Carrot, Potatos onion soup with Pork Rib (ABC soup)

-Black bean with Black Chicken and Wolfberry

-Watercress with Pork Rib and Wolfberry

-Corn, Pumpkin, Red date + Pork Rib

-Sheng Yu with Tofu soup

-Sheng Yu with Sze Chuan Veggies Soup

- Sze Chuan with Pork Rib + Wolfberry Soup

-Old Cucumber with Red Date + pork Rib

-Yong Tau Foo Soup

-Chicken feet Soup with Black Bean

Morning ladies! hope everyone will haf a great day ahead! =)

2Ks: i bought the thermos food jar SK3000 for Jav's food when going out, its v good leh! it can lasts for whole day.. if im only out for a few hrs n i open it.. the food is piping hot like how i put it in..with hot steam coming out..=P but other models of Thermos im nt too sure le..

Confinement Food: wah, looks like quite some mummies r gonna order or cook own confinement food? im having CL cos my hb wont b arnd every 2 days.. n my parents r busy in March till July.. so got no one to help(def wont ask MIL!!) .. hopefully can cope myself aft confinement..

BBRabbit: take care! drink lotsa water..=)

Linda: the last time when i was sick, i went to my gynae n he prescribed me the medicine n lozenges..=D tk care!

Sunesis

I have seen 2 different doctors and they both told me that since I am preggy- better not to take cough syrup

They mentioned abt A,B,C, category

I went into website to search and realized that most of the cough syrup are not realli classified to be safe or not safe... that is why they are very careful not to give me at all[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lil- tat Y I have to bear till my boy exam is over then I can hop over to see my gynae

I dun even dare to eat the lozenges - last prescribed by Raffles Medical

I still suck on MAC lozenges - but it make my throat more than itchy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Chen- dun mentioned

My hub is a food lover. and i have to whip up some nice food and soup everytime to win his heart!

They say Hainanese man love to eat...so me teochew - most of the dishes are quite blant...but after marry him hor, everything is like chef like tat

Imagine- OXTAIL SOUP

i don dare to say that cos I cooked 1 time during my preggy early stage and I have a hard time to digest the image of the oxtail

Linda,

I am teochew too. I eat simple & light dishes. But Hubby is hokkien, guess they like stronger taste! Haha!!! Have to always crack brain what to cook for dinner. Usually I have to cook that suits my 2 young girls too. We eat same dishes from the table.

Linda: Can ba! if dun take cough medicine, your cough will be worse, affecting bb as well. Just make sure your GP / gynae gives you medicine safe for bb. I'm recovered from cough after taking cough meds from GP for 1 week. But I also avoid, oranges, bananas & spicy food (instructions from GP).

Sip hot water helps to prevent continous coughing.. works it tell you! Remedy from one of the mummies here!

Bee & Bb: I like your list of soups, I will start preparing them whilst MIL and mum make tonic soup for me! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]

Cynthia

Teochew and Hokkien dishes quite similar one.. but hor is the hainanese - more flavours..more spices, more meaty too haa[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Til now, I have not master their home recipe for chicken rice ball...no matter how I make, not as fragrant as their.....

My boy also same as my hub

so I have to cater to their need and liking too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for me, very simple one, I can eat rice with soup!

hee[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chen: i think u can get some recipe book from popular on confinement food..

basically i think sesame oil, those confinement wine (can ask market auntie, some can make, if nt wrong outside selling $15 per bottle), ginger most frequent used in confinement food..

that time my SIL CL back out during the last week, i also anyhow cook confinement food for her, i cook kidney meat (yao rou with ginger and wine), then eggs with ginger then soup...

pixie: ngor hee is threadfin...

after confinement hor...i many months dont wanna eat that fish...so sian lor

Tres-

I don no lei

maybe this fri - after my boy exam then I rush down to see him liao...

normally he in onlu at 11am... but the time if I see him since is wo appointment, I probably will end up more stress and worry if my boy is alone at home lor

Although he's 10 yrs old liao[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But whose mummy dun worry for their kids one lor

for cough mummies, try natural remedies

-mix honey with lemon & water

-eat persimmon

-mix lotus root powder into wolfberries, dates. add brown sugar

-gargle salt water

-brew 川贝,梨,冰糖 for 30mins

and lots more

WOW!~

Fish - Your BB is very big size!

U still remember the link table that I have cut and paste for the approciated fetal weight?

Mine is 20 weeks at 310gm..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Maybe is a girl girl ba..tat is Y peitie weight

But I am glad everything is fine! Happy liao[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can go shopping more!!!

Pixie- 川贝 can take?

I tik I go buy china Pear later

Can i just brew without 川贝?

Eat Persimmon - Okay - I will go and buy also.....

Honey with lemon - I got phelgm- can take?

2ks

yes agreed totally....after confinement, i so scared of fish

but yest, my mom cooked codfish, steam. shioks...and i ate birdnest

mummy is the best. my mil cant be bothered one. still cook prawns n what not bleah

fish

congratssss!!

Linda,

Buy Manuka Honey. They help to expel phlegm. Build up immunity too. I bought from EYS Manuka Honey 15+. Good enough for adults and children min age 18mths can take too.

Children only once a day with 1 teaspoon & add half cup water.

Adult up to 2X a day.

Fish- Congrat!!! Me looking forward to my scan this thur.....

Linda- Can bring yr boy along?

Pixiel- THKS. The last one is good, my mum always make tt for me.

linda

what i listed are very basic remedies for cough, but cough got many kinds hor? dry cough, wet cough, night cough, day cough

i dunno what cough you having...but generally lemon + honey in water will soothe your throat if you have itchy/scratchy throat...

i think 川贝 can take but if you scared, when u go medicinal hall to buy, then can ask shop owner if suitable for preggy mummies or not. i took 川贝枇杷 thick syrup when i was preggy with #1 leh...i just love their syrup...i bo liao drink that when i feel like it LOL

oh, you can try this:

get some mint leaves, and brew in water for 20mins. simmer n drink...soothe your throat lor

u can check with neighbours who have mint plants if they can spare you some leaves

pixie

Mine is itchy cough la. and nite time attack. so is a "RE" ke.. the doctors told me

Cynthia- Later I will go and check with EYS to buy the honey too

Later must remember to buy pear, persimmon and honey,,,if not, i have been more than forgetful these days...

i gg to log off now to prepare lunch for my boy and bring my doggie down for pee pee before he do it on my furniture again

We talk again....

I hope can catch up the thread later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Cyn, Pixie for your advice!

linda

cynthia is right, you can try active manuka honey. its really very good for you and your boy...try +15 or +20...those +30 is very ex neh...

these honey can also apply on wounds etc...coz of their anti-bacterial properties; treat acne blah blah

keep 1 bottle at home very useful

got this manuka honey stall all over SG. i remember they have a kiosk in all giant hypermarts...they sell the honey stix too...yummy!

bb rabit

agreed!! mummy is best hor...i feel that i dont get to see my parents as much as i want too sighs...

ur maid STEALS honey? heehee...i actually dont like honey...but for the sake of my boy, i take it (become role model) lor...

u buy 1 big bottle cheap cheap one for her lah. then she wont steal your "good" honey

ya linda..just buy +15 can liao..the EYS lady told me dont need buy so high caz body will not absorb too high also and waste money..

just taken my kunch..haha..jin sian. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda,

Note down what you need to buy. I also getting more forgettful lately especially after been pregnant haha. SO I make sure list down what I wanna buy from market or NTUC so I don't make extra trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] See you later soon.

BB Rabbit,

Your maid very smart ah. Know this one is expensive and good so STEAL IT. SOmetime its very hard to monitor or keep track having a maid around. That why till now I don't dare get one though its worthwhile as I have 3 kids and someone to help with my housechores.

Rather I do it myself haha. Except confinement period la. Now I also seldom do, instruct hubby to do it. Its our privilage not to do any strenous & tedious activity [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehehe I just trying to be lazy la

EYS member I think can get 5% or 10% discount for the honey.

i havent taken lunch. my colleagues all discussing serious stuff so i dun dare to ask "lunch, everyone?" if i go off n eat on my own then they will think im traitor :p

HB is taking those adventurous rides that's why I so Eng can steal time check iPhone...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fish during confinement> I took Alot salmon n other fish..

Salmon got omega3 fatty acids good for our milk production...

Cod fish I used to think is good fish but was told by one of my uncle Alot of dunno what not so good n I realize spore cod fish mostly frozen ones.. Not fresh anyway....

Even now I steam salmon with soya sauce, Hua tiao jiu, chopped fine Ginger n lots of wolfberries.. Put above rice in the rice cooker n cook together.. Rice n salmon will be done at same time...

To boost milk supply... I took green papaya soup with fish... I think abt 2 times mill come in liaoz.. Also dunno is qiao or really the green papaya helped...

For my #1, I didn't take any pig kidney, liver, etc.. Hate them.. Pig stomach only once I think..

I'll have fish for lunch n dinner with 1 meat n 1 vege..

My CL will chopped fine Ginger every morning n fry with sesame oil put into air tight container...

After dishes cooked, I add in the Amt I want into my meat n vege... But she make sure I finish the bottle everyday.. Else she will 'scold' me foe not taking enough...it helps la... 去风.. Confinement always fart one.. Long n loud n smelly!!

Lol... ESP after Mona massaged me.. There's once as Mona massaged I really try to tahan but cannot Liao.. Out of control I puuuutttt out... Mona laughed do loud... I also laughed n apologized... Lol...

Linda> ya the soups I cook also similar to urs if I'm cooking...

HB loves ABC soup...

Soup base:

Spare pork ribs

Some red dates

Big onion uncut

Then can add corn, black beans, 珍珠豆, lotus roots,

Whatever I feel like drinking la... Lol..

My MIL is Cantonese so very good with soups...

I always look fwd to her soups on Sundays...

Alot of herbs n stuffs...

She cooks all her soup with chicken...

Confinement:

My CL told me 1st week no chicken stuffs..

Like chicken, eggs etc...

Only after 10-12days then she started to cook kampong chicken.. (more exp but better for us).

She also steam pork ribs, vege with mushrooms n dunno Wat...

And I love her pig trotters vinegar!! Yum yum...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

St> are u drinking enough water?? The more water u drink the less water retention u will have...

Bravado BSS PINK ICE IS OOS

those who ordered pls let me know Ur alternative color asap...

Cynthia- She even finish almost the whole tin of Anmum for me!!! She said she nv drink, My DH tell her got ghost lor...Me took for a wk, less than 5-6time, 3 scoop each time. Maids are horrible, but i need 1 to help me look after my granny when i m at work

rach: steamed salmon not fishy smell? usually i grill it then teriyaki sauce...

cod fish at market is not frozen type...u usually do marketing at ntuc?? u can try wet market...but its not cheap...can be $10/pc..

Pig Kidney:

Plenty of mummies may not dare to eat it due to e smell and taste. ITs very important as when we preg, our kidney is functioning double for our baby. Also after birth, we also exert alot strength from there. If don't dare to eat Pig kidney, can buy " yao rou" also helpful.

How to get rid of pig kidney smell.

Usually will have to soak in salt water and keep changing the water every 30mins-1hr. After that use corn flour to rub on it and soak with water. Rinse it off. Remember to cut slits on the pig kidney. By doing this, e smell wont be so strong. Hope this helps.

Rach- me also nv try steam one before....as in salmon, usually baked or grilled. I scared fishy smell... Cod fish got fresh one, at wet mkt, quite exp, but heard from gynae as well as cousin, v good for milk supply. Me taking tt during IVF itself....KS hor

Cynthia- Pig Kidney with yao rou is my fav....YUMMYYY....

cynthia: i love "yao rou" but vvvvv ex leh!...

its super smooth and soft lor.

now my boy takes it with porridge...

pig kidney: how it taste like? rubber band or not?

my hub loves it leh...tot of cooking it for him...

fry with capsicum and oyster can??