(2011/03) Mar 2011

2k> dun say that!! Appreciate Ur efforts!!!! Thanks for compiling the table... Just post as n when u want to!! I din own the thread!!

This time round...siong man.

Tonics:~$900 (paid by hb)

Maid remainding fees: ~$XXX (in Nov)

gynea packages:~$500-600(in Nov)

NT scan:~$300(in Nov)

Confinement meals: $780

breastpumps:~$420

Mummy Misc items:~100

really have to save up man...phew.!

bee: so wasted for using 3 weeks...other medela brand think good one that rach highly recommended is the freestyle lor...is it within yr budget? or ameda? ameda is around $300+ i think

no milk, is it cos you cant pump on time??

bee: i saw yr list i also wanna faint...

u havent include the hospital deposit and amount of cash need to pay for yourself and baby...

i v blur as first time doing BF on bb.

im nt sure if i lai buay hu..my milk just gradually stop.. my hb wans me to get a gd one..but i scared again 3wks-then i will faint.

any link to the freestyle? any link??

2Ks..haha..i knw, dun want to include that as i will faint..haha!

becos some of the amt will be by medisave so i dun want to inclu them first..

bee- u can negotiate for a 2wk or 10 days trial for Natal 1st. Can try to get the maid to cook, based on the cooking book? "cos i find the red date tea not nice, soup also so so..not worth the money. Maybe standard change now..my SIL gave birth Late Jul 09.

bee: my bf journey also quite tough, cos i started with a lousy single avent pump...

imagine 1st few days sitting 1/2 hr to 1 hr, pumping nothing...then rest awhile nia need to start the routine again cos suppose every 3 hours pump ma...

this process repeat and repeat till i see my 1st drop of milk...

then leh, one fine day, i pump until i see pink milk, apparently, my nipple bleeds...

then leh, one fine day, my pump spoilt (for a reason, i am unable to latch my baby well)...

then repair le, 2 weeks later, my pump spoilt again...

then engorged and pump spoilt, drive to the nearest KP and grab the medela mini which is available and within budget...and i used that pump until my SIL sold me her PIS leh...

bf is a not easy journey, i believe #2 you will do better...

to be frank, i can see the benefits of bm now, my boy seldom fall sick and if he does, he recover very fast...

so hang on there ya...

Im targetting at 14 days, 2meals per day.

hmm..tea i can dun drink since i will be having my own tea at home..I love soup..but if they soup is soso only then i hv to consider liao..

haiz.

I wana enjoy a real confinement meal this time round, as did not really enjoy whats confinement meal during my first time of delivery..haha!

Need to 'booh' back.

mummies, any one slept laying on your stomach. i have been doing that recently, so scared tt bb will be squash.

guilty

bb rabit: my sis hor bought those prepacked herbs from the confinement agency, all cannot make it one...all the herbs low quality and skinny skinny one...

the caterer should be using lower grade herbs too...perhaps cos of that so the soup dont taste nice?

BB Rabbit,

Hope you are feeling ok now. Drink lotsa H2O okie. Now haze alot better hope it won't come back again.

I have a GF she is now doing her confinement. She order Chili Padi but felt its too oily and unable to finish it. Make her feel more sick. Worse is her Hubby order 28days!

She is C-Sect. They already start giving chicken since day 2 or 3. Usually we are not suppose to take chicken after 10-14days for natural or csect. Not good for wound.

But ordering confinement food is a no choice situation to chose. So maybe some mummies may not want to order so many days. During the weekend if Hubby is around or mother coming over for visiting/short help out, eat some homecook will be better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cynthia, my mum also suggested me to be on home cooked food, cos she doesn't really knw confinement recipes. It's ok hor? Actually, some confinement food are very yummy, so thought got chance to try again...

Bee> we are spreeing in Medela freestyle in dec.. Abt $450-480..

Being a handsfree n more portable set, u can consider..

Local selling $988..

Try Neo garden confinement food...

Morning mummies!!

So exciting to see many BP and sprees coming up for our little ones...

Seems to have caught the flu bug from my hubby... sianz... been having headaches for the past 2 days, keep telling myself to ren from taking painkiller... hopefully it will go away today soon....

Anyone has experience with the Philips warehouse sale if they do put their breastpump up for sale or only the sterilizer? Thinking of getting the Avent Manual Pump if they are on discount this weekend....

Looking forward to my detailed scan this Friday... hope I can meet a good sonographer and my princess will co-operate!!

Btw, if you ladies need the receipe for the Red date tea drink for confinement, you can actually get the receipe from Fu Hwa... my MIL got one from their AMK branch...

Bee- U got me counting my outflow for the next few mths. FAINT. I still got to cater for furniture for my mum's room as well as window grill for my place.Plus my mum gave up her bonus in March, quit her job earlier to help me with my confinement, i need to give her abit more.

Cythnia- Ya, thks, feeeling better today. Ya, my mum also dun really know how to cook confinement food. She even got a receipe book for that purpose last wkend and start to explore.

2K- Agree tt those cannot make it, they need to earn mah.

babybride

i think some suggestions made by mummies really very good

aircon: take MC for a day, schedule aircon guys to service ur aircon. ur hb save 1 day leave...

bb necesities: buy them and store them in cupboards/wardrobe, hidden away from prying eyes

chairs: junk them away. if ur mom asks, then you say "oh, they gave way one by one and we couldnt fix it, since im preggy, not allowed to hold hammer etc...and hb find it not repairable, so we donate them to garang guni (technically you are not throwing things away but "donating" mah)".....then, sit on the couch to have your dinner, or act pathetic that you've got no chairs to sit n eat....see who give in first lor

"ma, will you bear to take it that your expecting daughter have no seat to eat her meals???"

sit on the floor if you can to prove that you have no chairs!!

Rach, cant find confinement meals from Neo Graden website..they dun do liao.?

i saw the freestyle. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb rabits...phews...tats a woo...

chen

my mom oso dunno confinement food but she tries to incorporate lots of chinese wine, sesame oil, ginger into normal dishes...

i told her no vinegar coz i absolutely HATE it

as long as the normal ingredients (vinegar, sesame oil, wine, ginger etc) can be incorporated then any food can also be confinement food

lots of vege, fish, toufu....like any typical meal...settled liao

Chen,

Actually confinement food can be very easy. Unless you want plenty of variety.

Usually Natural birth, I just strictly eat pig kidney, pig lean meat, pig "yao ruo", french beans, kai lan, snow peas....

My mum will slice the ginger till thin & stir fry plenty with sesame oil and let it cool before putting in container. Whenever I wanna eat I just add into my soup, my stir fry. I do not have nanny for my last 2 birth. So I cook myself after 14days. Beforethat is my mum & mil cook.

During Confinement, stand by more sesame oil, olive oil. This is the only oil I been using. Ginger I didnt put too much cos BF. Buy those low salt soy sauce. NO GARLIC as they say will cause bad breath.

Sometime after stir fry will add bit DOM into it. Since stir frying, e alcohol content will disperse but make e food some sweetness without adding sugar.

As for soup, I drank more fish papaya soup.

SOmetime is the pork kidney which we stir fry and add some water in & boil it a while.

ALot of confinement receips can be easy to follow. Just agar agar. I am ok with the same food not so fussy as long fill up my stomach, enough calories, fine with me.

Linda... I'm waiting my turn for the detail scan.. Now at TMC... hope everything my BB well... Haha.. Shall update u after done....

Annie... I didn't see your post.. How was your detail scan yest??? Gal gal or boy boy ya???

bee- thik Neo Garden still do it, u can call them and ask. I did ask for SIL before. Ya, can imagine my expense outflow is at least 4-5k more[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

But DH is right, rather than let my mum continue working and get a confinment nanny / confinement meal, he rather pay my mum her bonus. And also to ensure tt my mum live comfortably, we need to get her proper furniture [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Breast Pump

---------------

I m using avent manual.

IMHO, some people may suits or preferred certain brands or budget. Some breast size maybe ok for avent or medela or other brands. Perhaps if the pump $$$$ is too much, get something more comfortable. Wait doesn't suits end up also wasted. For myself, I will wait after 3-4days after birth. If milk comes in, latching to stimulate & a need for a pump, can get Hubby to get it. THough no special price BUT for myself I will worry what if BM don't come in or slow or not neceesaary to pump. Will I be wasting my $$ & end up have to sell it away at low price too lo.

Maybe should look around shopping centre at the physcial pumps and feel if its what you really want but not because of the brand or because others using it ok but may not apply to you.

Each are individual [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for mummies who have their own mothers or mils cooking confinement food, i thought it would be useful to list down what my mom cooked for me (typically)

breakfast

milo

2eggs

bread

lunch:

rice

steamed fish with ginger (what do you call then? ngor-hie?? especially to eat for after op kind)

1 kind of vege

egg or toufu

chicken in sesame oil

dinner:

rice

meat - either pig kidney, or liver or chicken in chinese wine & ginger

fish - either the same fish i had for lunch, but pan fried with ginger or steam again....yah, i eat 2 x fish a day

soup - papaya fish soup; or an all rounder soup for the whole family

vege - any kind also ok

daily:

red dates longan tea. i drink eg 1.5ltr of it a day

btw, my mom cooked for 3 pax - me, hb, n herself. they all not heaty from the food coz it was more like 家常便饭

esnow

Thank for the recommendation

My cough will onli attack me at nite and got worse - now already 5 days

but most of the doctors that I have seen do not want to prescribe the cough syrup to me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So I also cant eat anything other than keep drinking water - imagine. I can drink more than 8L!

abt confinement menu

I got a book from Popular- after using my boy student card, I got it at only $13.50

It got all the the menu starting from day1-day30!

From Breakfast, Lunch, teabreak, dinner

All the menu on wat to eat and wat not to eat

Is all very chinese style and I believe it come in handy for those who realli nid them!

FIsh- Good luck!

Annie BB is a boy! She told in FB! heee[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My prediction is correct lor[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach, bb rabit, bee: Thanks for your advice, coz I'm transfering maid and am thinking of doing myself to save on agency fees mah! But i read MOM website,confused lah! Will see how lah!

Bee: wow, your list is the gist of it, haven;t include those bb cots, breast pumps & all... faint. Think both hub & mine bonus will go to our little one liao!

Rach: yes yes, BP for medela breast pumps in Dec sounds good! To start BF, must start with good equipment so at least half the battle is won?! haha, psychoing myself!!!

bb rabit: me too, i also need to install window grill for my apt too. Mine is on 30th floor, so eventually will need to install but plan to install after bb is born and bigger lah, before learning to walk, so still got time.. if not, we will be damn stress to child proof the house!

Jazz: dun think sleeping on tummy will hurt bb, it will only feel uncomfy for us mummy, but if you are all right, it's fine!

Yes..i emailed neo liao..

Its all the hazzle i wana siam..

thus my maid will conc on her housechores and my MIL will conc on looking after my boy and bb.

I dun mind spending abit more and i can get good confinement food..Moreover i hv tried my MIL 'confinement food'.haha..no comments.

Good luck fish!

Bee- Natal Confinement is not good

My cousin just finished her confirnment last mth and she ordered from the agency

less than 2 weeks, she terminated the deals..

food is not like confinment food- she told my mum

mummies, can share w me, those tonic soups made by yourself / mum?

Besides having

1. Black chicken soup w wolfberries and dates

2. Cordyceps with red dates& wolfberries?

What else?

they say 19 - 20 weeks is where bb will start growing hair on their head, what else to drink to promote bb hair growth??

I vain, want my bb to have hair full of hair and it seems that most mummies drink tonic soups usually will have bb with lotsa hair!!!!

Linda- me also nite cough. I am giveb DHAREDYL-90ml bymy GP. I v KS, cleared with my ivf gynae and current gynae before taking. Both said okay. And it helps me so far. So ask from yr GP and see if u can take.

Pixie- thks for the list. Think my mum will mix normal meal with confinement dish. If not, too heaty for the rest of them

Cynthia- THKS for the advice. I shall go look ard, take my cousin one to "try". Mite get my coll to bring back from US in Dec/Jan.

tres- me got to install earlier 'cos nephew who is currently 15mth coming over to stay wif my mum as well. Ya, all our bonuses will go to our little one, esp for 1st time mummies like us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Our last bonus went all to IVF. THKS god that this bonus goes to the "final pdt". Keep my finger cross that all will turn out well

Bee- Not bad liao

you got MIL to help you to do confinment

Tat will save quite a lot

for me. I tik most of my hub bonus will go to BB liao...we have to allocate abt 10K for my delivery (I alway standby more)

+ $2100 (Confinment lady)

+$400 (Part time Maid)

+1000 (Confinement Food)

+ $1000 ( cater to BB -emergency)

I guess my hub will go bomb since he is the sole breadwinner to me, my boy and my little princess coming soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BB- Your cough got better? I hope the haze is not affecting your asthma? My sis asthma got back due to the bad haze last few days.

You better take care

I will note down the name now and I will call Dr Adrian to confirm if can - I probably will make a trip down to see gynae ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I been coughing till my rib bone like crack like tat