(2011/03) Mar 2011

bb rabbit, thanks!! i think i will buy both n try.

hee hee i also using Purren bottle wash, cheap n good! Pigeon one too diluted, need to pump alot then can see the bubble.

Pupsik Pouch is good, i also got one! v convenient to bring bb out but if they get heavier it will be abit tiring to carry using the pouch.

Butter> rem get PUPSIK frm me..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

No hurry to get it now also..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Come December we do all the spree together.. By then we collect all the orders again..

U want pigeon bottles?? I have 3x200ml n 1x 300ml all BN.. sell u cheap cheap...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i got BN TEATS also... Last time stock up everything buy refill and spares end up Nv use at all..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Redlets> thanks...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] just sharing what I think I know...

Not all correct also.. I may spout rubbish too... Ahhahah..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My detailed scan is 4.15pm today..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think the sonographer won't say much... I rem the last time only.. Mmmm okie let's look at the brain... Ok good... Let's look at the heart... Good... Let's look at the bones... Good..

So... Got say like no say... Think depends on who do for u....

Oh I think we went in first thing she said... U know we dun chck gender today hor...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Wa Lao.....

Yeah yeah u go there and see see look look... Fri I think the lady boss wont be there.. Will be her parents... But if u lucky may see her... A lady in her late 30s... Very nice and detailed explanation...

from Zhou kitchen at level 1 SQUARE 2. walk towards the toilet and Ull see it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it'll be on Ur left..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]- Baby Carriers and Sling

I'm a fan of their FB too.. Always got updates de..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Blurjen> I'm using earth mama body butter..

Not oily... U can check with the rest of mummies using it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Teresa> apparently the one for NB is with a pouch to put hot cold compress.. But I dun intend to get the compress so I will just get the couture.. Cheaper one..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilprecious> Manduca baby carrier official website...

I own the mellow fellow limited edition.. Think no more le..

Limited edition is limited to 2500 pcs in the world and every piece comes with own serial number..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Limited edition has it's logo embroidered on...

Whereas those solid colors have the logo sewn on...

Of coz limited edition is more exp... Think they increased price recently....

Once u purchase the carrier they will give u a 10% card for next purchase within 6 mos... What we did the last time was 1 person buy then pass the card ard... Cuz the card is one time use only... And each time u buy 1 even with the card, they will still give u a new card... So we pass pass pass until nobody want to buy then return the card to the first person...

Good thing is... The 6mos have been sort of extended by the last person who buys it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach

Yeah, I also thot of just latching during the first few days but dun know if baby is able to latch or not. Even baby can latch also won't drink so much. Cos I dun want to end up like last time, stay in hospital for one week, pump like a cow and den my supply is like so fast, end up sometime the engorgement is sooo painful cos I din express out in time. Remember it's like every 3 hours will be full liao.

Bringing the PIS also very bulky leh and pumping also means got to sterilise the equipment leh, no one helping me in the middle of the nite, I also headache. Can just pass to the nurses to sterilise hor?

Anyone have feeling of shortness of breath and very difficult to breath?

I've been experiencing it for the past two days... Can't sleep, can't work and can't even sit in peace... Esp after eating (not a heavy meal)...

Tummy feels like its gonna explode... sigh

Tigg3r> Heee u are assuming u will have lots of milk first few days... Dun mislead the first timers..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Not everyone will have leaking milk first few days.. Pixie n u are one lucky mummy...

My supply was barely enough first few days or rather.. Maybe just enough for baby... No enforcement at all...

I only had enforcement I think end of 1st week or was it 2nd week? Wanted to cry Lo.. Hard like mad.. But no matter how I pump with Pigeon Silent electric breast pump, not a single drop come out!!!! In the end I hand express faster Lo...

Almost wanted to kill myself.. So hard n painful... U know plenty milk inside buy cannot come out!!!! I think that's when I decided I had enough of the pigeon pump n I quickly got a Medela freestyle... Someone had a set ready stocks and I paid higher price for it cuz she said ready stocks that price..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

But no choice want fast is like that... Lol....

MEDELA FREESTYLE is the palm size motor...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mornin mummies!! bb is 19wks tdy =)

looking fwd to detail scan on 01nov..

rach:

- whn is d next taka baby fair?

- i oso wan earth mama body butter.. thank u

- will go Sq 2 to take a look 1st, den order PUPSIK from u =)

Hi rach

am i right to say medela freestyle, so far not much prob encountered? ie. regarding the motor, pump, parts etc? they are durable anot? heehee.. cos if we buy the US ones, no warranty.. than if need to repair much costlier than local set.. so my concern is the durability of the pump and motor..

regards

tres / 2KS, medela pumps can be used direct with avent bottles if u get the adaptor. no need to pump into medela bottles, then transfer. end up having to wash more bottles.

you can get the breatpump wide/standard neck adaptors. one end fit to pump one end to the avent bottle. perfect fit. mums fairy sells it. http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=16&Itemid=31&pageno=1&cat=6 or you can get original philips avent brand too.

if u want to express direct to avent via cups. they have the adaptors too.

generally bottles come in 2 sizes. wide neck and narrow (some call it standard) neck. avent comes in wide neck. pigeon has wide neck and narrow neck. wide neck teats are interchangeable.

Redlets> so far I didn't hear many.... To get it repair locally I heard we need to pay $100.

Even if I take cost of pump $500 plus $100 still only $600...

Still cheaper than $988... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My own personal opinion...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So far mine ok la... Gotta take it out and try soon..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Han> okie pm me for the butter okie! I may forget here..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby carriers n slings dun sell PUPSIK... They sell other brands like hotslings... Etc...

PUPSIK can be found at kiddy palace n mothercare... But not all kiddy palace has it though...

Mothercare usually have...

PUPSIK website here.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ALL!!

Going to rain heavily at my workplace soon.. hope the rain can reduce the haze...

Rach, I wanna ask, the previous time you were recommending to buy the Lasinoh BM storage bag from one of the fellow mummy, is this brand good? Cos this is my #1 and I have no idea which is good for what...btw can you also recommend any good breastpad if you know of?

Got to really thank Pixel for the list yday!!

Finally it's Friday!! Can't wait to knock off and go to the baby expo!!

wah so many posts...

milktea

i use MIM sling. i bought stroller, used 3 times, and sell off hurhur

even till today, sometimes i sling my almost 3yo boy neh....when i wan to rush to some place

tigg3r

it depends on when ur milk kick in lor. my milk kicked in on day 2.5....so i started latching and trying to express it coz engorged liao....the day before i discharged oredi engorged, with fever n all

rach

yah ^5 the pureen orange is super good. even till today im still using it. my sis is a fan of their mint flavour...anyway, pureen is the best. pigeon is so watery until PEK CHEK

and abt leaking milk, yes i have lots of milk lah, but my boobs are very lazy boobs. if i skip just 1 round, the output drops drastically. so i had to be very siao onz to express like crazy....god is FAIR ;-)

Lansinoh milk bag --- PIXIE!!!!! she does BP on them I think..

Pixel, got discount for us??? Lol...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I still have a pack BN in cupboard.. Dunno need to use this time or not..

Oh yah... Medela FREESTYLE comes with 4 milk storage bottles... So u can pump into the 2... And still have another 2 for next pump..

Initially won't have so much milk... So after I chill the milk in the fridge and they get to the same temperature, I'll pour one bottle into the other and wash up 1 bottle... So I have 3 spares all the time....

Subsequently when supply increases, it really doesn't matter what bottle u wanna buy n what pump u buy... Cuz after pumping, I'll pour the milk frm the Medela bottles into the Lansinoh milk bags immediately... Then seal n label and wash up the pumps n bottles..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Benefits of milk bags:

Saves space!!!

Imagine having 50bottles in the freezer compared to 50packs of milk bags lying flat and stacked up nicely... U can definitely store more milk using milk bags than bottles..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lansinoh milk bags - one of the best ard.. May not be the cheapest.. I rem it's abt $17.50 for 50bags via sprees.. Still cheaper than any brand u can find in kiddy palace... It has double zip and can lay the most flat... Other brands may not be able to lay flat and hence can't really stack up as well as Lansinoh..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

WHO IS CALLING FOR LANSINOH MILKBAGS?? heehee

i have ready stock hor, dont forget to take from me...the best ive used so far......

foc postage for mar2011 mummies. prices vary due to exchange rate lah...

like rach says, you can lay flat. but lay flat, you cannot store to the brim. so i scrimp n save by storing it to the brim, then let them stand in BIG lock and lock boxes. meaning 1 bag of milk can have ard 330ml

Presto> strollers depend on Ur usage.. Think it was discussed last week.. I have a Capella s707.. Bought at $429.. Damn heavy at 8kg but I think it actually weighs more than that....

But very good in servin my needs...

I lug it to do mass meet ups with plenty of things hanging all over... Down side is HEAVY!!! but I'm of a large built so I have no problem maneuvering it...

Combi is lighter weight.. Some say will topple off.. Capella surely won't...

Baby cot I got hand me down...

I would say not very necessary leh... Cuz my girl didn't sleep in it much... Heee..

Any one u can get cheap is good.. But ard $299-399 range Lo...

haha.. think Rach has become Ms Wikipedia/ Ms know-how for know-your-baby-products ABC..from A - Z of baby products, you name it, she can answer it.. haha.

thanks Rach and the rest of the mummies for all your valuable comments!

everyday log into SMF is like attending lesson.. never fails to learn new things of what to expect.. haha..

regards

pixie, i've a question. I store milk to the amt my gal drinks, which is abt 180ml. If store to 330ml, once thawed, have to consume the rest within an hour right? If not, gotta throw. Not sure if we can refrigerate for later though.

I wana maximise the storage, yet don't wana waste milk... how ah?

this time round, i will not buy stroller

i will sling my bb around...even if i sit down n eat...lol

coz last time never used the stroller leh...

should i or should i not get stroller? i dun like bringing stroller around to shop or meet friends. very cumbersome

allets: totally agree w you, on rach! hahaaha. Not guru but lobang queen as well. Thanks Rach in advance, hee!

i think i won't buy stroller first lah, the first few months, sure will carry mah. Got other things to buy 1st.. stress! But TGIF!!

chen

through my experimentation and research on the web *ahem* hheeheehhe...

any bm thawed can keep up to 5-8 days....

if any of the mummies here say no way, i can tell u, i kept my milk that long. let me explain why books and ppl say 3 days

if you have a fridge of food, raw/cooked, the longer your thawed milk is inside the fridge, you may risk the chance of the food smell being carried into the milkbag, or contamination.

so what i did was

1. after thawing milk and pouring out what i need, resealed the bag

2. use a food clip (those you used to clip those bags of bread, spaghetti etc) and clip the bag BELOW the ziplock. you will get a triple lock.

3. i store the milk standing up in a mug....not touching anything else

4. if possible, dedicate your chiller (those that is a pull out tray with a door flap) in your fridge exclusively for milk

5. wash the "spout" flap of the milkbags with running water everytime you finish pouring milk out of the bag. you do not want to have dried crusty milk at the spout...

if you do above 1-5, you get longer shelf life.

if you dont do that, drink within 72hrs (typical response from many ppl)...coz many of them dun dare to commit more than 72hrs

once milk is thawed, the enzymes becomes active. as long as the milk is in fridge, these enzymes wont die....

these are the "special stuff" that you cant get from fm lor...

milk frozen in freezer compartment up to 3mths...

but remember, once milk is being frozen, abit of enzymes (not all) will die off.

my boy takes the already thawed, already in fridge milk eg 5 days later also can. no diarrhea, fever, vomiting etc

pixie, wow, after thawed can still keep for so many days. I already find thawed milk rancid, don't dare to keep many days. But hmm, since u've tried it... it seems do-able.

chen

cfm doable

u know frozen ebm got the metallic smell?

the trick is that your new output (which is a lil hot since it comes from your boobs) must be left to stand till it reaches room temperature, before adding them to the milkbag for freezing or for in the fridge...

it will reduce somewhat of the metallic, fishy smell lah

coz some bb reject frozen ebm due to this smell

Lolx. I just continue reading and reading without looking at who is the one who does the postng but thanks to all the experienced Mums who gave advice.

Now I have a clearer picture of how much I want to spend on the stroller, have decided to want to try the Pupsik with rach recommendation.

I guess will need to buy the milk storage bags from Pixel too.

So nice to have so many different opinion and advisers here. Heehee..

So when should we start buying? All the stuff? Hahhaa..

allets: i totally agree with u as well. been logging in and just read all the advises from all the mothers here. very valuable lessons! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Redlets> haha thanks for compliment... I can only share my own experience la... Alot things haven happen dunno yet also... Lol...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pixie> yah agreed I like to sling and Manduca whenever possible.. But now Bo bian can't do it with a bulge in front Li.. Dun wanna crush #2... lol..

Chen> once thawed should finish in 48 hrs max... But pixie ever store 5 days I think...

I'm Not comfortable with so long storage time..

So I'll stick to still 48hrs... Anywy got enough then can afford to throw...lol...

rach, throw away bm, super heart pain de. My mum always tell my gal formula milk cant finish never mind, breast milk must finish. haha. I said bm like blood, very precious... haha.

rachel

you know so many things and hv good lobangs too. you are really my bible!!!

Im religiously noting down the brands you mentioned for all the neccessary items lor!

anyway, earth mama stretch mark oil/cream the rach recommend is really good. not oily at all and absorbs very fast.

chen, quite similar to wat pixie did..i also very stingy..pack to the brim...so say i bring down 330ml back to the fridge compartmetn to thaw..then only pour the amt that my son cant drink..the rest remain the the milk bag. resealed. but normally i only take down what is required for the next day..so my thaw is only the most 24 hours etc..

say if i need 180x3 = 540...so i bring down 2 bag of 330ml= 660 First in first out concept...make sense?

No Avent/Philips booths.

If mummies looking for stroller/car seat/babycot/Pureen baby shampoos etc, can go and hv a look... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach: thanks for the info! i'll go chk it out... lets see any mummies here wanna get manduca instead of bjorn, dan mayb we cld do the passing of cards... hehe.. since the lifespan seems longer den bjorn.. i discuss w my hb n see hw.. hehehe.. where can we get manduca frm? any shops?

pixie n tigg3r: so envy to see u girls having so much milk first few days!! i only had it abt 3rd day or so.. =S n nt alot to begin with..mine only slowly increased over time..

Chen: im like Rach, will throw aft 48 hrs.. nt comfortable w more dan dat.. =P but normally, my boy can finish up cos he drinks quite alot frm young..

ST: i was thinking of dropping by tmr.. y empty handed? nth to buy ?

lilprecious

my first pump from my engorged breasts amounted to 100ml...thats how engorged they were...

usually you know we start with 20-30ml mah....

lilprecious, u r nt the only one, my supply also only started to come in at 3rd day n also v little... then slowly the supply increase then after a mth then i can breastfeed fully... but breastfeed is tough n need alot of determination n patience. hopefully the breastfeed journey for this time round will be smoother....

Thanks Rach for the explanation...

Congrats allets on a good scan!

ST, no pigeon stuffs available at the fair? Seems like nothing much hor except for furniture... then me comtemplating whether to go or not tonight...

Rac - thanks for your quick tips.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yar, she's really our walking dictionary already.. hee. Just thinking of getting a big cot or small cot (those that can move in and out of the room)... not sure which type more useful.. Yar agree no need to get very exp bb cot.. cos maybe by 2 yrs old the kid will get a bed..? Also not so sure...