(2011/03) Mar 2011

hey girls, can experience mummies advise me isit worth to spend on baby bjorn?

Or just buy the normal cloth carrier can liao?

And already have stroller why still need to buy carrier?

Thks!

Jazz- me. I was just telling my coll, i wonder if the haze give me headaches..onli after i go out during lunch time today that i got headaches. And yest evening, after i got hme...All after outdoor activiy..

Hi Milktea, for me, i have Moms-in-mind sarong sling and a stroller.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The sling i used it when i bring my son out to shopping centres when he was still a bb.. as i do not know how to push the stroller down the escalator even till to date as it is quite dangerous..

When my son is older and heavier then i started using the stroller.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I personally feel the MIM sarong sling is good to use..

ya manz.. baby bjorn carrier is so ex loh.. some prams even cheaper than that!

me not getting that.. getting those cloth one from kiddy palace .. personally see my sis using, i think it is good enuf.. selling at <$40.. moreover, for carrier, not good for bb to hang in there for too long a time.. max is 30-45 mins each time.. and when they grow older, too heavy also cannot carry them in also..

think carrier is complement stroller lah.. if you lazy and going out for a while, carrier ok.. if out for long, than better bring stroller.

milktea: i am using beco carrier...

a sling is good if bring baby out alone, short trips, market, etc..

i sling my boy to market when he not walking yet...

but i stop slinging him when he learn to walk, i use pram more often...i no issue up down escalator...

i dunno how to use mim sling...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

how much is bjorn carrier? my beco cost me $220 leh...

but it help to support the weight of baby...i can sling him a few hours

Bad day.. Woke up had a big fight with HB...

Just had my brunch.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sterilizer>

Yes!! Pigeon rapid steam sterilizer..

Bottles I have many BN one.. I can sell to whoever wants... My girl dun take Pigeon..

I'm using tommee tipee now n it's very good!!!!

2Ks, i have no problems gg up the escalator with stroller but got problems gg down.. haha think it's my balancing skill ba.. cos my son is quite heavy and i cant balance with one hand when i go down the escalator cos the other hand i must hold onto the escalator hahaha..

rach, wat happen?? chill chill k?

Allets,

I use Ameda for my #1, i pump for 1 year and the adapter spoilt once .. I have no complain, as i think it's very good, good suction and can clear my breast very well .. & it's only takes me 20mins to empty the full breast. Most important, i NVR had pain engorgement. Not sure if the pump working well to empty my breast. Compare to Medela, i think it's milder to my nipple. I use Medela Swing b4, it's painful for me leh .. I nvr use the freestyle/PIS lar .. maybe it's better. But cannot compare lar, that cost almost double the price.

Also, i think the service centre for Ameda is very good. Before my pump expire, i bring down for checking & said my motor/pump not as strong as before, then he change the motor inside for me ..

Sling,

I have a Brand New MIM Sling (Opened, but nvr use, coz i dunno how to use and give up liao). But i see many people using it even for quite a big baby to me.

Anyone interested, just let me know .. I sell cheap cheap ..

Want to buy a beco this time .. Hope i dun waste ..

Hazel,

I just push the stroller on the escalator, hold the stroller handle, lift the front wheels slightly up, with just 2 back wheels stays on the platform that is lower than where u stand ..but you might bend a little bit down la to hold ur stroller. initially i also have problem using, saw others do & copy .. now i very good liao .. next time we meet up i show u ..

CHEN, yes, you jus have to be alert and careful..but if you going in the winter I tink it will be beta cos you will be wearing long trenche coats mah..cos I go in summer, always mus have a money belt tug inside clothings..but cold abit though..beware of the gypsies and the illegal immgrants from the neighbouring ctries

PIXEL, your list is veri good!

LILPRECIOUS- so DR Brown and NUK is good huh ..can get from kiddypalace rite..seems like got alot of brands..blur..

FEL, can I have the website that you send for the Cinch again..? havnt have a chance to lok at it yet..

MUMMIES - can i check for those having flu, what tablets from the doctor are you taking now? wanna see which one most effective?kekekek

no time to read all the posts.. will read when i have the time maybe tonite when Rayanne is latching to sleep....

sigh.. bad mood... anyway...

I'm using Manduca Carrier.. its very good..esp for medium to large size mummies..

there's a shop at Novena Square 2.. near to Zhou Kitchen side.... Baby Carriers & Slings

they have all kinds of slings and carriers.. u can try and ask for advice before purchasing....

if anyone interested in Pupsik Pouch, i can get it too... cheap cheap...

www.pupsikstudio.com

Its good for people who duno how to use MIM...

cuz this one no need to adjust.. just dump baby in and wala... done...

I've used both before.. i can manage MIM but i like Pupsik better.. i own 2 pupsik.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i bought 1 and got another free....

they should be selling at babyfair.. not sure they have a booth this year or not..

but i can get it at cheaper price than fair.. confirmed gurantee chop! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I a big fan of Bjorn carrier. It's ez n convenient to use. I bot the bjorn air at $180 2 yrs back. Love it to bits.. I brought my gal out when she's 2 mths old on my own.. Super ez so it's a worthy investment. Used till she turned 8 mths.

Beco seems gd too but it's more exp. I've been to the novena bb carrier shop.. Seems like they sell more upmkt carriers..

my Manduca is $240++...

ehhh...there're some reviews abt bjorn..

and the shop doesnt sell bjorn cuz of the certain bad quality i think..

no offence... but i think the back support for babies not so good...

xuelyn> u bjorn ur baby at 2mos old?

i only pupsik my baby out at 40days... and from then till i got a carrier at 3mos old, i swear by my pupsik....

it was only until pupsik was a little straining on the shoulder when the baby was 5-6kg then i use manduca more... hehehe. :p

Bjorn : I'm a big fans of born. Started very early n still using it till now. My son is 13 months now. Bjorn can carry till the baby is 11 kg

Stroller : only use them when my son is sleeping

Say my baby girl measurement on the left kidney abit above the threshold .. Need to monitor but sometimes if scan later could be normal reading .. So need to do a detail scan at week 30 ... says most time it's a non issue at second reading but still worried .. It's call soft marker to highlight potential anomaly ... But still worried lar .. Hope by 30 weeks the measurement will be below the threshold then it's all ok .. Sigh .. Just hope for the best

I used Nuk and Bfree bottles for my girl. i also bought pigeon and avent. but she didn't like either.

i also heard that ameda is good but have not used it before.

As for Bjorn, a colleague and a fren are using it and they are pretty happy with it. so i'm probably going to get 1 too.

i also used the pigeon steriliser wh i think is pretty good.

Avent Vs Medela breast pump

My personal opinion...

Avent manual is well known for it's effectiveness to clear engorged breasts....

Unless u have that problem else manual will kill Ur hand...

But u never used before... So dunno...

Medela is well know for it's PIS... which was later developed into handsfree pump... FREESTYLE....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alot of ppl using freestyle now n nor buying PIS anymore...

But some still buy locally cuz it's abt $200 cheaper...

But US SETS are half price so no harm buying freestyle..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ameda pumps have it's own prob with it's valves which break easily I heard... But some mummies prefer it to Ameda...

Actually different pumps works differently on individuals...

But most popular electric dual ones are Medela n Ameda...

For manual, avent is well known for it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Medela Swing has a slightly higher power than freestyle n hence some mummies might find it more painful...

Freestyle has 1-9 or 10 ( can't rem, too long Nv use Liao..) levels to select.. I was using only 3-5max... For those who think not strong enough can Always increase to level 6-9...

So far haven't heard of people using 9 la... Think breast blister liaoz... Lol....

Btw, I'm just sharing my opinion..

I'm not their spokesperson hor...

But i strongly believes in the products I'm using cuz I usually will research before buying...:p

fruits n vege bottle cleanser

yes yes!!! PUREEN!!! Smells nice and good to use!!!

I happily bought PUREEN bottle n then got Pigeon REFILL PACK.. hate the smell!! Like bubble gum...

And need to wash many time over...

Pixie, think we have quite similar taste huh... Lol..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sterilizer

won mummy> boiling water is hassle la...

I love my pigeon sterilizer n it didn't break down leh...

As for the rust on the metal Plate below...on the sterilizer with half a lemon squeeze into it..

When it's done, wala!!! Use a sponge and it's all rust free as shiny as new!!!

Got 2 kinds of Pigeon sterilizer at least...

Get the newer one Which is more exp..

Rapid steam sterilizer..

Think taka baby fair will have good deals..

I think $99 or $109 with free milk bottles also...

Original price is $129 I think...

dr brown milk bottle

not necessary baby will take..

My Fren got it and she changed many bottles too..

She got Dr Brown cuz ppl raved abt it...

But her daughter Hates it... She bought so many kinds and ed up selling away the dr. Brown..

I always Tot Pigeon Wide neck is good...n I heard NUK also good.. But Rayanne dun really use Pigeon.. Recently I let her try NUK again.. She drinks frm it BUT I can hear her releasing the teat and the bubbles sound every 2-3seconds...

Tommee tipee no such problem and I find it's very very soft and close to breasts as well...

I got it after my Fren used it for her BF girl and she said it's closest.. I try Lo.. Since already try so Manu no harm another one.. And Rayanne likes it....

I just bought another 2 smaller ones pink tinted with flower prints.. So cute... 260ml..

I got the 320ml thinking that's how much she will eventually drink.. But.. She's only drinking max 120ml per feed now...

Wa Lao... Waste air space... Lol....

The 260ml seems better now...

There's a smaller one at 150ml..

I would suggest if mummies wanna try, buy 1-2 bottles will do.. Whichever brand u swear by...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When u are sure Ur babies like it or use it, then buy some more la..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm having diahorrea again! Poo twice already...morning super soft stool and watery diahorrea-like stool at night. Think I've been eating too much spicy food + drinking milk. Sigh. Getting worried. I must really control!

Mummies who are not first time mothers.

CAn you remember if you started expressing your BM during your few days stay in hospital or started only after you get home?

As for me I got no choice but to express like a moo moo for my 2 gals who are in the Special care unit. Was wondering this time being a singleton, can I be more relax a bit and do the demand and supply method rather den the factory method to increase excessive volume.

Tigger> for me I only expressed after 4-5days I think..

I didn't even bring my pump to hospital...

After come back home think 4-5th days then start to pump...

Cuz in hospital latch every 2-3 hrs... Reach home a bit new to the pump... Later on then muster courage to use it to up supply..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks: haha.. I mus learn frm u.. Hehe.. I've gt the vacuum but I seldom use it .. As for rice cooker, I think it's e best helper for me to cook food fr my boy... Other dan dat I don use any philips le.. Ok, Dan I go get one normal hand blender.. Hehe..

Starfruit: I personally prefer Dr Browns n NUK la.. NUK quite popular amg mummies.. Hehe.. But like wad Rach mentioned, it depends on whether yr bb accepts anot.. Jav was able to transit frm diff bottle as long as they r all wide necked.. Mayb u can jus get 1or 2 to try first Dan if bb is ok w it Dan u get more.. Hehe..

Xuelyn: realllyyy!!!! I'm gonna hunt fr it.. Haha.. But so far din see any NUK w Disney designs leh... =P

Jazz2:me! But nt as often as the past 2 mths.. So I don really tk it to heart.. Jus try to nap whenever my hb's arnd n wen Jav is slping.. =)

Bjourn: I am getting one this time round cos I really see the goodness of it when everyone arnd me is using.. N I plan to bring my. #2 to work w me so think it's better compared to pouch..

I haf both mim sling n pupsik pouch.. I gave up on mim cos v hard to adjust.. For those who wanna get mim sling, get the silk one.. It's easier to adjust compared to the cloth one.. I regretted getting the cloth material.. I saw my frens using e silk one n tried, it's really much easier to adjust.. Pupsik pouch is no need adjust, v easy.. Jus put bb in n go.. But I feel as bb get bigger, it gets tougher to go in. Rach, do u encounter this?

Rach: chill chill.. Hope u feel better tmr!

Tigg3r, my fren pumped while in hospital.. Fr me I latch on in hospital.. But this time I'm gonna pump..

Starfruit - Rach already put the direct link there liao.. So no need for me to re do it.. hee hee =)

Lilprecious> ehhhh... My frens call me the PUPSIK queen... Lol...

I taught many of the mummies in using it in my previous thread... Lol.... Even now at 14mos I can still put in my girl and sling her ard... If not the fact I'm preggy and can't really use it....

So... Not really difficult for different positions as the baby gets bigger Lo...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Its one of the easiest pouches to use...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Heee... I would suggest for mummies to go Novena Sq 2 to try out the different carriers and ask them why they specifically dun carry baby bjorn...

Manduca can use up to 20kg..

Bjorn only 11kg...

My Fren got Bjorn initially not hearing of Manduca before and at 8mos her baby already 11kg.. She was having backaches etc frm bjorning her baby...

She then went to buy a Manduca and she has never looked back.. She said had she known earlier, she would just get a Manduca instead of wasting extra money on Bjorn...

Now no more backaches with Manduca even though her 14mos girl is 13kg... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think my previous thread we have at least 10-15mummies owning a Manduca... Frm S Size mummies to a XXXL SIZE mummies... But it's not suitable for XS mummies...

Another of my Fren went to the shop wanted to buy... But when she tried... Even when she adjust to the tightest, still loose... So too bad... In the end she got beck or pikkolo can't rem..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mothers and mothers-to-be,

my sister is passing me her medela freestyle pumps from the states.

May i know if there is any place selling the converter in spore? is it workable and convenient?

anything else i should order from the states that is much cheaper and worth the hassle of bringing them back? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ok read a bit.. See how much I can rem and reply...

2k> I bought PUREEN orange washing liquid!! Nice!!! Citrus smell.. Better than pigeon definitely!!!

Redlets> pouch/slings for short trips.. But I go out 10hrs also sling my girl in the pouch frm the 1-4mos... After I got Manduca carrier, I alternate and depends go where.. Shorter trips like downstairs makan n buy things, I use pouch...

If meet frens town or further frm home, I use Manduca..

Stroller is damn heavy and bulky la... I only really depend on stroller much after I was preggy... That's like when Rayanne is 9mos old... Even though we had the stroller since 2-3mos... And she likes to be carried... My fault.. Carry her ard too much... So she likes my warmth... Stroller always cry...

But nowadays mum mum is my anecdote...

U sit sit mummy give mum mum.... And I feed snacks Lo... Puffs, cereal bars, biscuits, melts etc... Whatever keeps her down...

Only when she's cranky or tired need to latch then Bo bian I carry her a while Lo....

So yah... Pouch/slings, carriers n strollers for different purposes..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Medela breast pump

Forgot who ask abt it's portability.. Very very small... It's the size of yr palm only... Very very portable.. Definitley smaller and portable than PIS... Lightweight too..

U all can check it out at mums n babes store... Or major dept stores...

Medela is retailing at $988 locally...

$400plus should be swing I think..

PIS is $700+++...

earth mama body butter n stretch oil

next batch arriving next week...

It's abt $20 a bottle..

Spore selling $60-70 a bottle... Mad..

1st time using it after certain mummy Here recommended it..

No regrets and love it!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone wants, PM me..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Caecillia> Medela freestyle DO NOT REQUIRE CONVERTER..u only need to get the international plug from those $1 shop... Those we bring to travel...

Like if we travel to foreign countries we need to often bring a plug converter over.... U can get it at less than $2...

Is a small plug with many different kind of holes to suit different plugs use....

U can wait till Ur pump arrive then u go buy the travelers plug or if I can find my plug... I take a pic and show u...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Not so fast... Tmr need to go office and detailed scan.. Maybe next week I rem I will look for my plug and take a pic..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach: ok, thanks alot for the info!

how about any other things from states that i shld get? i'm getting some onesies, swaddle & clothes. they are really cheap there!

Hi morning everyone

Does anyone experience cough with phlegm?

Can you share with me how to get well?

What medicine is advisable ?

Rach

Sorry for not getting back to u for the oldnavy shopping spree since I was down w bad throat n now cough ;(

Very upset n worried again;(

U go ahead w the spree wo me ba. I will get the stuffs when I feel better to shop online again ;)

As for the earth mama- what is the capacity?

Include postage?

Hello there

I feel like I have so many things to get tho this is my second child. I didn't keep cot or bottles or sterilizer or manual pump.

For the medela pump, the one which is light weight n can fitin ur palm - which model is that?

I used to use a borjn n got a mim silk version. I used mim when baby smaller then swop to bjorn later. This time I'm tempted to get a pupsik ;)

My boy used to use agent bottles but always leak. So I prob try another brand this time.

I gave away my pigeon sterilizer, but it's good.. Will see wat my friends pass to me hehehe we share n rotate the baby stuff.

http://picasaweb.google.com/107435811188765719302/MummyBabyStuffs#

dear mtbs, sorry to disturb again. have added many BB clothings. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] all in gd cond cos only let my gal wear not more than 3times. lol.

i've alr delivered my gal & looking to clear the abv items. hope mtbs can find them of interest to u.

pls refer to abv link for related pics & descriptions. all items are described to the best of my knowledge. items u see in the provided link are all up for grabs (except for those that have been RESERVED), items once SOLD will be removed from the link.

if keen, pls SMS to 96495528 for fast deal. pls do NOT leave PM or postings in the forum as i'm unable to keep track of them. calls from unknown nos. will not be entertained.

here's wishing all mtbs a safe & happy pregnancy!

it's friday again!! and am going for my detailed scan in the afternoon.. yippie!

can i check with those who have been for the detailed scan at TMC, will the sonographer explain the scan or will they just pass you all the scan photos than when you visit ur gynae, then the results will explain in detailed to you?

for hubby, can he go in with me or must wait till the sonographer complete taking the measurements than ask hubby in? was thinking of bo chap and act blur and ask him enter the room with me.. heehee..

rach - think beside being a lobang queen, you are like a walking dictionary! all ur post very informative for 1st time mummies like me.. thanks alot!!

will pop by the Baby carrier and sling shop @ Novena Sq 2 later after the scan and see what they have.. hmmm.. learnt something new today about manduca carrier or pupsik pouch.. very mountain tortoise hor.. heehee..

yippie.. happy mood today cos it's FRIDAY!!! Loving it!

regards

allets- Good luck!! My scan supposed to be today.BUT due to DH busy, change to next wk

Linda- Take care. Me also down today, due to the stupid haze, cough the whole nite, dry n itchy. Now worry tt asthma come back

Sorry to interrupt.

BRAND NEW AVENT BPA FREE STARTER SET AT $35!

STILL IN SHRINK WRAP!

Includes:

- 2*125ml bottles

- 2*260ml bottles

- 2 extra teats

- pacifier

- brush

Retail Price is $49.90.

Bought at recent TAKA Baby Fair at $39.20

SELLING AT $35.

Self collection weekends at Serangoon Central or weekdays lunch time at City Hall or Suntec City.

Please PM me if interested.

rach: what is the difference of the Signature & Couture Cinch, visited the website but the difference i found is for newborn and toddlers only. Any other advice to give???

blurjen- I love both the cream and oil of earth mama. It just smell so so nice...I used the cream at nite and the oil in the day. Absorb fast. Hope that help.

ya, love the oil and cream too, but realised the smell lingers on my tops even after wash. Don't like tat smell on my tops...

allets, mine did only simple explainations. They'll leave the details to yr gynae. The report is ready about 5 or 10mins after the scan. As for bringing hubby in, depends on which sonographer u've got ba, mine couldn't until she's done with the measurements. On the other hand, Linda could, so depends ba. Enjoy yr scan!

thanks bb rabit! is the cream better or oil better? need to use both? or can only use one? ha ha until now havent start apply stretch mark cream so lazy...

Chen- mine no smell after tt leh...maybe my skin too dry, all absorb v fast.

Blurjen- All depends....I find cream richer, so works for me at nite, 'cos i sleep in aircon with just a singlet...Oil absorb v fast as well, but like wat i said, maybe my skin so so dry. I love both.

Rach: haha.. Pupsik queen.. Hehe, but I mus really agree it's quite conv for mummies who bring bb out alone.. N doesn't wan to lug the pram along. Haha.. Ohhh, Dan manduca sounds more worth? Do they haf any website or anything dat I can view frm? Hehe, thanks for all e info!! Learnt lots frm u.. =D