(2011/03) Mar 2011

Lailai - Yeah... the last two weeks was really hectic... Hubby flown back from Australia about one month before he is due to come back cos he injured his finger and need to come back for operation.

So i was practically taking care of him, go to work, take care of all my very demanding patients, come home knocked out and the cycle restart again.. Haha...

Yes... Still eating my Wei's Queenlands Mango ice cream lor.. It's just so nice!!! HAha....

Are you better now? still on MC??

Hi ladies, im back.

Went for Oscar Scan (first trimester scan) at RH yesterday. Done by Dr Tan. Good scan & blood test results, relieved. Bb did not wake up from Milo + Bun breakfast, wasn't cooperative initially, asleep & keep turning away. Follow Doc to detect his vital organs and parts. At one moment, Bb do a stretching of legs, Doc asked if we wanto know the gender, and tada.... something down there, 80% likely a Baby Boy. He is 61.2mm at 12w0D. Gave us back all the 12 scan pictures without us request.

Doc said but dont buy baby boy things first. Next scan at 16th week likely be more firmed on gender.

Maybe old myth saying little MS will likely have Boy has a little bit of truth bah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning mummies....

yeah Bee - hooray. finally 1 long weekend coming up.

fel - my MIL instruct me not to eat mango leh. saying bb skin texture not nice. dont know how true. n i thought we shdnt eat cold stuff? ie ice, ice cream? hmm...u r having mango ice cream?

Won mummy - Hmmm.... I also don't know lei... That day my mIL also commenting say cannot eat mango la, it's TOXIC!!!! But how? I love it so much and crave for it all the time.. It's like all time favourite... Haha....

When my MS really bad and keep puking, i had mango ice cream everynight before i sleep.. Haha... Feels so good...

fel - mango n durian r my all time favourite also. once i see it, i cant resist de...haha...been a torture enduring all these n my family try to avoid eating in front of me. hehe...... maybe ice cream not as bad as actual fruit cos being 'processed' already? hehe....start to cut down a little ba. once in a while i guess shd be fine.

thou its old wives saying. but ni ke xin qi you since its for bb's good.

Fel, wah..u r always so busy! hope it's better for u now..

Yup, I'm still on hospitalisation leave, counting down to work next week but I still have MS on and off. Very very hungry in the morning.

Mango is toxic?! But from What to Expect app, one of the daily tips mentioned that mango is good for pregnancy as a source of vitamin?

ALOHAA, happy for u! I'm going for my OSCAR scan next mon. I hope to get Dr Tony Tan too!

Ladies- THKS. Me on mc for yest n today. Later will see my regular gynae. Belly button still giving me intense pain on n off. Might be due to my placenta position, as per yest scan. Later my gynae will confirm again. Hope the spotting dun come back. I really hope that i do not need anymore weekly injection, my whole bum is sore. Now i am thinking what to eat for lunch. I am like a bottomless pit, always hungry. Do any of u gers wake up in the middle of the nite loooking for food? I do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wow ALOHA, doc tan very good, tell u....congrats!!!

the one who did for me the lady sonographer " this test dont test gender hor, u know right etc..."

so dr tan very nice to tell u lor...i wonder whetehr can request..lai lai..u should request for the dr to do instead of the lady sonographer..that day i do dr tan was on leave, dr chow was busy attending to patients..so i get the lady sonographer..

BBRabit..glad it was all ok..i wake up coz my son need a night feed, i feel hungry but too lazy to go eat..i rather go back to sleep...

rach, my gynae gave me obical calcium pills..

so long its 500mg its good enuf.that reminds me..need to pop pills for today1

Bb rabit, I zzz rather late at about 1am so I usually will have my mini supper at 10-11pm. I'm always hungry yet no appetite but I'm very very very hungry recently especially after clearing my bowels in the morning. My extreme hunger strikes early in the morning from 6-10am. So hungry till the rumbling sound could wake me up from my dream!

Jaime, ok. I must keep my fingers crossed!

BB - glad you're ok. I was always hungry with #1 too. Think this time round I'm just too tired to care much about food.

Am down with a flu, now coughing like crazy, need to get face mask so #1 doesn't get sick. Anyway my doc advise me to get the flu jab when I'm feeling better, she says its safe and will benefit the baby for his/her first 6 months of life. Anyone heard anything like that?

Bb rabbit, glad that all is fine, will pray for u n ur bb.

Fish- for bird nest is urs cave nest or house nest??

The double boil method is the same but for cave nest u can boil up to 3 hrs, house nest only 1 hr. I usually get the unprocessed nest as I m afraid if they use chemical to processed the nest it afact bb.

So it's alot of work, I soak soft, pour water away pluck all the

dirt, feather etc. Double boil water with goji berry, ginseng slice for 1 hr after that I put in nest n boil for another 1-2 hr( depend on cave or house nest) when ready put Rock sugar, leave to cool n consume before bedtime.

Pink,

wah! wat's diff betwen cave nest and house nest! stone.. chim... those En Yan Seng selling is cave nest ot house nest?

then usually how many time we need to drink once per week??

hi bb rabit: so glad you're doing alright. must have been a bad fright for you. do take more rest during this long weekend, ya. i also get hungry in the middle of the night. sometimes i'll try to ignore it but other times, really buay tahan, gotta take Milo to curb the hunger pangs. lately been getting very bad gas pains... omg. yeah, and since i only manage 5hrs sleep daily, i'll get super tired during the day. arghs.

Lailai, Jaime: U have to book appt with Dr Tony Tan then oscar test confirm will be done by him personally. I believed since he saw the little something down there so give me a favour by divulging to me lor... hahaha.

That day nurse did blood pressure test on both hands for 3 times. Thereafter calculate the average. Hmmmh, dunno why.

Nowadays i prefer to walk to Mrt on the days im going public. Hence weekly i have several 10mins walk which I treat it as exercise. Hopefully can ease the delivery.

BB rabit, glad to hear everything is alright now. The young doc really deserves a telling off, make u go through the ordeal tsk! Thank God u r zai enough to hold back the injection. Sayang u, be a good girl and rest in bed ya. :)

Alohaa, congrats on your little boy!!

Pink,

my colleague told me, best time to eat bird nest is after u nap for a few hrs then wake up in the middle of the night wor!!!

juz woder, actually when is the best timing to eat bird nest? can eat right after waking up in the morning when stomach is totally empty?

hi ladies, for those who know the gender through oscar test, when did you do the test and which hospital? I did mine already but my sonographer refused to tell me the gender even though i asked three time!

Mummies, I have been eating a lot of bread cos it is the only food that will not make me vomit..

Is it true that it will be difficult for me to slim down after birth????

hi ladies, i lost so much weight after my first child that i became skinnier than b4 pregnancy. not sure why you all always worry about weight gain, but i think if u fully breastfeed, sure slim down alot.

jazz2,

ya.. i was told that we can have bird nest after 3mths.. but my colleague wife.. she has been eating bird nest since 2nd mth!!!

btw... how many time we need to eat bird nest per week??

fish - i will suggest once a week will be sufficient. thats wat e medical hall ppl tells my parents.

my colleague told me, she has a friend who got preg. n her MIL damn excited cos 1st grand children. give her birds nest, etc almost everyday, since 1st mth. end up, she too 'poo' le, she drop her bb when she at 5th mth. n herself, she also had quite a bit. now her daughter is healthy n radiance. but, chinese sin seh say she got too much phelm in her body. could be due to mother's too much birds nest intake during preg.

so everything, controlled amt n make sure u have e nutrient can le. try not to overdo.

Fish- dun take bird nest now cos still early and some Chinese physician will say eat only after 5 or 6 mth preggy,

Even when I bought the bird nest during eu yan seng 20% sales, the lady I'd kind euff to remind me not to take now and tell me to take only later.

Cos some say is still a bit liang qi for bb. And we cannot over consume too cos it can trigger bb lung development making it prone to asthma, etc.

Dun worry abt not taking now. U shld concentrate on eating well with lots of fruits n water. Next mth. U can cook

Tonic cordeycep with black chicken twice a week and take the supplement pill once you r ready;)

Wild ginseng with pork rib can be taken at 7 mth too! This is to bu qi but cannot consume too much cos bb can be quite big size too ;)

prettymimieyes, yup Dr Khi told me, though can't really confirm yet la. U're with her too right? My NT scan was at TMC, after that was my regular appt with her. Thought they'll usually arrange on the same day lei...

Fel, wow you have been so bz...i still wonder where you go..take care..and dont eat too much mango icecream..a bit toxic..

Hi Bb rabit, dont move ard too much..try to do bedrest if possible..

Hi Fish, bird's next is better towards later stage onwards eat then better..if not bb too much pleghem in thorat or somtin..proven by my friends sis kiddo..

fel - ans to ur qns abt how to control resistance....BABY is e key word [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] whenever i wanna do/eat/drink something 'illegal' or not too healthy i will think of baby. then i will control le.

thats y ppl say mother is e most wei da person in e world? we r willing to contribute anything n everything for them. its every mother's wish to have a healthy baby.

n my hubby keep reminding me dont be so stubborn. must listen to our mum's advice esp food like crab, sotong, ice, mango, big fish, etc. it will not harm adult, but just afraid bb inside might not be able to 'handle' it.

Linda/starfruit, is it really true now it's not good to take bird's nest? I just had one cup on monday which is my 12w! ):

won_mummy, i feel bad cos drinking bubble tea now - but half cup only. My way of controlling hehe. I shall be more disciplined like u!

won_mummy and Linda,

wah!! hmm.. okie okie...meanswhile i juz drink wolfberry and red dated water during office hr!!!

bird nest wait till nx mth then start...

Linda,

btw... i'm also member of Eu Yan Seng, i know last mth they have 20% discount for bird nest.. i missed the chance.. any idea when they have promotion again huh?? 20% can save alot wor

Pinkypink, so coincidence! My appt on Mon is at 1.30pm! Hee.

ALOHAA, I only book the slot. Didn't specify who to do for me but my gynae Dr Han said it should be either Dr Tony tan or Amelia. Keeping my fingers crossed!

Fish- I also drinking wolfberry n red date every day and it' help in constipation very smooth too ;)

I don no when they will have. Infact, I bought the ginseng 1 week before then they started the sales event... There goes my burnt pocket lor

Linda,

for the wolfberry n red date hor.. do u boil it or u juz pour in hot water and drink the whole office hr???

then can we add a few slices of hua qi seng or ginseng into the drinks????

audrey - i not so wei da also lar...haha...how to really control 100%. will die...lol....i do 'illegal' at times also with limits/quota for myself....ie max 2 cups of kopi or tea per week. n i do it outside when my hb/parents dont know..hehe....do drink bubble tea also. but aft long begging my hb. n if i drink, we will share it n w/o ice.

Hi, had a look at this http://www.confinementfood.com/

Cos it just hit me that I'm not staying with my in laws anymore so my MIL can't cook for me as often. I'm not Chinese but I believe to a certain extent on traditions etc. I want to have this for a week or two.

Any second time mommies tried them? is the food good? Any where else to recommend? I wanna barf just looking at the pig kidney, stomach and liver... that will all go to my husband.

Fish- u nid to beat and crack the red dates- I took the one with seeds- good for boiling ;)

Aft that u have to wash the red date and boil abt 15 mins, wolfberry is added in lastly, not boil together one

How do u do your?

If u work the next day, u just have to boil the nite, leave it to cool, then transfer to a flask or water bottle to bring to work

Audrey- u can stop till 5 mth then take la. Now 12 weeks, so early and normally bb that consume so much bird nest- when bb out, can have a lot of phlegm too ;)

Bird nest can keep in airtight container room temp.

Andrea- frog leg can consume- is actually good as it bu our inner qi and keep us warm and strengthen our lung, if u worry, don take every day. I took alternate week. Stop a while then will eat again,

There is nothing wrong to take frog legs at this stage lei

Fang- is to bu blood and increase your alertness too. Is can be taken every day, but sometime I ate red dates too much till abit heaty- I will stop a few days before I consume

U nid to boil before u put into hot flask

hey linda, noted, will boil tomorrow onwards, hope I am still hadworking enough to continue after tomorrow first try. I reckon I look very pale and tired, I dun even have interest to look at myself in the mirror, thus I need to bu bu...

Linda,

ur suggestion is good wor! i can boil it and trandfer to a flask!! okie.. i shall do that!!

M,

I noticed that they have trial meal at $30 per meal.. maybe we can orde the trial meal 1st and try before decide if we wana order the food from them or not.