(2011/03) Mar 2011

ST, does it include the warranty? tot of buying from the original source.

BBRabbit,

I tot of purchasing online cause got free delivery.

audrey - tks! so nice u get to know the gender at 12wks.

yesterday the gynae said not very confirmed so he is not telling. I was thinking, maybe is another girl so he dun dare to tell..

haha... anyway boy or girl i also close shop.

Thanks audrey, do hope I will get to know the gender.

BBRabbit: Spring maternity has a lauch promo for their essentiel tees at 2 for $$29.90. Regular price is $19.90 each. Promo period: 8th-14th Sept (1 week)

oh no..take care bb rabit.

Hey sunesis, first of all, like to check with you which cc you send your girl to, cause I been finding, but all tell me full, even for next year, so I was like I should have start my own childcare centre...like so high in demand, second, it is always hard at first to send them to school, I am sure if mine, I will cry also.

Does anyone know of any half day course I can send my girl to?

oh and I also saw my gynae yesterday, I tot the same too, I think it is a girl but she just dun want to say, as I was asking for gender and she was like too soon to tell. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pinky pink.. didnt know can take calcium pill from GNC at this age..i shall go GNC n take a look

i also gave him karihome sweeties..he eat 5-6 of them a day...

n i give him scott emulsion the original flavour..he takes it ..i find it very yucky ...

the soyabean milk is which kind? powder or packet?

i did try to give him karihome goat milk..but his interest of it is simlar to his normal milk..ie with much disinterest...

bbrabbit take care

babyplus, i also feel like buying ...what is the cheapest in USD? the one i know is target at USD 149.99

the only thing i haven really tried is to add milo into his milk

Jaime, it's a calcium liquid by childlife. Mix into milk or water or just spoonfeed.

He only likes those traditional soya bean milk from Market or jollibean tt kind but I'm lazy to go out everyday morning to buy!

bb rabit: take care! keep us updated!

jaime: my son also love the karihome sweets...but very ex hor...but i only give him max 3 pcs per day leh..same with some sweets, got limit to how many to take each day..

Milkshake: Yes, it's with warranty. But...Babyplus - product made in China...

Jaime: if buy thru ebay will be cheaper. the price is abt there....after the currency convertion...is abt SGD230...

BB rabit, oh dear please lie down and rest more. Take care ya, and let us know how it goes.

sunesis, hmm maybe gynae really cannot tell from the angle? dun worry abt the unknown 1st. anyway boy or girl is still your own, sure will dote one ya. :)

aaa, so exciting!! thanks for the info, i shall go check out spring maternity too. :)

Experienced mummies, wanna check is it a bad idea to day breastfeed your bb and night time feed bb with FM? Some mummies suggest me to do this way so that at night I can rest and sleep while letting the CL to do the feeding job. It is proven to be workable for bb who bottle feed with FM at night and still able to latch on during day time. However, my thinking is to give the best benefits to bb, is better to fully BF them for the first 6 months at least without introducing any FM. Is that correct?

I found out this.

In fact, studies show that it's a pretty hit and miss affair. Early research showed that, in babies that were lying in a position to see, very experienced sonographers using top-of-the-range scan machines got the sex right in only 70 per cent of cases at 11 weeks, and in just over nine out of 10 cases at 12 weeks.

In a more recent study, sonographers could only correctly identify the sex in 46 per cent of babies at 12 weeks and 80 per cent at 13 weeks.

wah.. it means, by our next visit, if BB's position is correct, all of us will be able to know if who is expecting a boy boy and who is expecting a gal gal le!! hahahaha

sunesis, u didnt try her out on half day? I also cried on the 1st day of my gal's infant care. Couldn't resist, and took time off to pick her earlier.

fangfang, i was provoked to start a childcare too, when I couldn't find a place for my girl. But all the need to go through the childhood education is really draggy and tiring. Julia Gabriel and mindchamps have half day courses.

bb rabit, u will be fine! Take care!

fish, me coming 16 weeks, also don't feel any movements. Gotta wait abit more ba.

annie: my thinking is dont plan/think too much 1st..

for a start usually the 1st few days there is no milk, some ppl milk come in 3 days, 5 days, 7 days...and it is not enough for a baby which feed average 3 hourly. so definitely will need supplement with FM or those bottle FM that the hospital will give u...

for 3 days baby can tahan suckle even though no milk, cos they have reserve in their body. but after 3 days the reserves finish, and they need milk from other sources i.e. FM. of cos if the mother milk comes in 3 days, then good la...but for many cases i see, they dont...mine come in droplets on the 5th day.

even though my milk comes in 5th day, it still can't satisfy my baby and i got to alternate with FM, so i choose the last feed to be FM, so that bb can be full longer so that we can have sufficient rest too...CL also need rest...

but of cos, as my supply build up, i slowly adjust and convert to full BM...i only bought one tin of FM for the past 14 months.

again, this is my point of view...i last time used to plan and think, but things always dont go my way...cos we follow the baby leads by then

chen: same leh! when i send my boy to IFC, i also cried like nobody business...so sad lor..like leave him there..LOL

But i started with half day for 3 days only...then next 2 days full day..

Hi Annie, It depends if you prefer to go on total or partial bf. Why some mummies recommend formula in the night, is probably formula more filling and bm is more easily digested. So baby gets hungry sooner. It won't be difficult to bf at night actually, just express in the day and get CL to help in the night. I prefer to total bf w/o formula too...

In fact, if baby hasn't sleep through the night after CL leaves, night bf is the most covenient. No need to zombie into the kitchen to sterilize, prepare milk and wash bottle. Just pick baby, latch then go back to both our sleep after baby's fill. I find it really convenient for me this way la.

for me right...the 1st 2 months, last feed i gave FM, then followed by i dreamfeed him before i zzz every night with BM, and my boy sleep thru when he was 2.5 months old

2Ks, ya lor, funny thing is, my girl didn't even cry, and her mama cried. haha. She was just 6mths old la. Wow, yr boy slept through after 2.5mths, that's really wonderful lor. I wish too!

Annie, oh yes, like 2Ks, I had no supply on the initial days, so relied heavily on the milk samples (bottled) TMC gave. Samples finish, still no supply, then bought a tin of fm to tie through. Not long later, supply came and I went on total bf. Wasted my tin of milk powder. This time, I'll trying asking for as many sample bottles as possible... hee.

pinky pink...liquid...hmmm sounds good i will go buy...i will also try the soyabean from the stall...is it because its sweet..

i buy from karihome sweeties from msia...its slightly cheaper

fish...the calcium is for my son..not me..i already eating my calcium already..when u have kid who dont like milk..need to headache how to smuggle calcium into the kid

thanks ST, i wil check out Ebay..still considering..my hubby thinks its a stupid device..

Chen & 2Ks, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I will decide for full bf. I know first few days no milk, but I read from book it is normal as first few days are antibotic for bb, not really milk yet right? and baby can tahan with it coz naturally every mothers can bf their babies sufficiently. Chen, thanks, after you mention about waking up go warm the milk, etc etc I also think latch on will be easier.. haha... at least I can take a nap while bb is latching on? Just close my eyes to rest.. hehe...

chen: they still young ma...they wont know u bring them go where..my son was 4 months old when he go IFC..

ya...i was surprised that he sleep thru when he was 2.5 mths old...then i can have good nite sleep ma..i dreamfeed him before i sleep...

but of coz when the teething season...is OMG...

jaime: malaysia have blueberry flavour one? i like that one..smell very nice...

annie: its very hard to gauge now whether can bf successfully or not...a TMC nurse told me only 20% of mothers managed to bf babies for at least 6 months...

but of cos try your very best...

the 1st few days yellowish stuff is called colostrum..so called beneficial to the baby lots.

I just went for my gynae visit, now coming to 15weeks liao. think the baby was sleeping, not much kicking, saw the fingers near the mouth, dunno is it sucking the thumb. My gynae trying to show us the private part and lucky managed to show us, "saw that saw that, is the "bird bird", so he say is a boy boy, after that he closed his legs and shift away, guess he is too paisey..

anyway , I also can't feel the movement yet. my gynae didnt' gave my any calcium or fish oil supplements, say since i can take fish and drink milk, that is enough. but i dunno if my daily intake is enough or not.

Currently only taking Folic acid and obimin, all the way till deliver

Jaime, I dunno cuz I always tell them dun put the sweet syrup but he likes it. Sigh, trying Meiji chocolate milk diluted with normal milk today

annie, 2Ks, I'm not sure abt baby having no milk for 1st few days. I did think so too, but my girl cried badly in my ward for milk. I allowed her to suckle for stimulation, no milk though, and she cried so badly until nurses fed her. So I duno how this theory works. Oh, but the initial milk drops are very nutritous for baby, it's colostrum.

aiyoh finally back from oscar test and now back in office...it wasnt a long wait but bb wasnt cooperative i went into the room 3 x to try to scan and get the values....drank so much water that i wanted to vomit in the end

jaime, pinkypink

i give packet drinks of milo, dutch lady yoghurt milk drink, and sometimes he takes the chocolate milk for school children kind like magnolia junior (i think?)

and as for multi vits, i give him 1-3 gummies a day. i get my multivits from overseas sprees eg vitacost.com...he has been eating that for long time liao

my boy dun like the rest of the nourishing drinks like soya bean drink, fresh milk, fm etc...headache but learn to accept that already

milkshake, when I did my oscar scan I also saw my bb's one hand keep wiping (around) his face leh.. Like sucking his thumb. The other hand he keeps moving it around the side of his head..

2Ks, I know we can't predict whether we can bf successfully. But I will give a very good and hardworking try. I believe every mothers should have milk de! If not last time the babies how to survive when there are still no formula milk?

annie

actually now too early to think whether to bf full or half or not. naturally every mother wishes to full bf their babies but the first few weeks are the hardest to go by and many drop out by then. so its good if you can standby some fm if your milk no kick in

my milk kicked in on day 2.5 i think. i had engorgement during my stay in hosp, not even discharged yet oredi kena engorgement. then kena fever from it. so it really depends on when your milk kicks in and if your bb is a hungry/demanding baby or not. if really cannot, some fm wont kill...once your bm comes in then can convert to full bf liao

as to whether to fm your bb at night for rest, well entirely up to you but if you want your milk output to increase instead of decrease, you sill need to wake up at night and pump or latch in order to strip off the milk...

if you want full bf, then also need to do at night. else you will have a drop in supply....

2Ks, what happens during teething season?? i m scared haha....

milkshake, congrats!! u describe your boy boy til so cute hehe. :) Folic acid need to take all the way to delivery? I'm only told to take til my current supply finishes, also taking multi-vits, calcium and fish oil now. Seems like i m taking alot....

hey 2k..

did you mention before which IFC you send your kid to???

I'm searching for one... which is non-air con or partially air-con

Thanks, pixie.. Yes, I will defintely buy 1 small can of FM to put at home in case. Think I will have to diligently wake up at night to bf in order to keep/increase my milk supply. So far I see two of my friends who recently just gave birth, they also had hard to bf-ing their babies for the first week but after their persistance, they are now so pro and able to bf their babies fully, w/o any FM.

annie

yup, you sure can do if you are hardworking (every 3 hrs must pump or latch) and persistent (try even when no milk)

jia you!

annie, ya, they are so cute...

audrey, i also dunno leh, heard others took calcium fish oil etc, but my gynae didn't gave me, so i am also confused..

Annie: make sure you get the FM from the hospital before you head home cos previously I forgot and end up have to buy the big tin of FM from the provision shop and end up cannot finish as new born bbs drink very little and within a month of opening the tin got to discard...

milkshake

different gynae believe in different things. some gynae say you can get your fish oil from fish, no need supplement liao. but if you are kiasu, can always buy from guardian and take them yourself...

right now i take 6 different pills a day

pixiepixel...16 month can chew gummies or not ah...coz a bit sticky , chewy..

can share me the link of the multivit @ vitacost..

i realise i only gave him cod liver oil as supplement for now..nothing else...

jaime

i kiasu, maybe? coz my boy no take fm thats why i try to give him multivits. but if your child eats healthily, no need for multivits actually. too much, also discharged from urine (waste ur $$)...

so it all depends you from which school of thought, hor?

i give:

http://www.vitacost.com/Rainbow-Light-Gummy-Bear-Essentials-Multivitamin-and-Multimineral

can chew bah, this gummies i give my boy for 1yr+ liao. now he 2.5, so he was taking this when he was over 1yo ley...got teeth can liao

geezz... i saw the multivits link.. we can also get them locally in SG.

For my, my gynae didnt recommend to take any fish oil.. but i diligently take them daily.

you can try to search in this link

http://pinkofhealth.biz/

i got mine from there.. the shops is at Millenia Walk.

They also have a sister company called Vitakids Pte Ltd in paragon and forum..