(2011/03) Mar 2011

Mrs Teng,

Aiya at least u lose weight. But this is my first child so i wont know whether i will lose much weight or not.

How you control yr diet???? What do u normally avoid??? Rice , those high carbo food?

hi sunesis,

wow u drank so much sweet stuff..hows ur urine tests so far? ok?

i always afraid i fail my urine test..

my 1st pregnancy my MS was not too serious so i didnt take a lot of sweet drinks...but now my MS seem quite bad..cant take too much water...i oso don knoe what alternative to drink :<

Linda, your son so cute.. You mean you knew the gender in the 3.5 months is it? 3.5 weeks is impossible!!! hahaha... I hope I can know the gender soon too! Can't wait to start shopping and plan bb's things! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

won_mummy, I also fart alot recently.. somemore sometimes are smelly one! haha... but after I release my stools then not smelly liao... Now everytime I eat I must burp 1-3 times in between then can continue with my food, if not like very full if never burp out.

Today seems like a good day for me... So far so good.. No vomiting so far... Yet as usual im not keeping my hope high, cos i think it will come back later...

Mrs Teng - Thanks for sharing the fish oil... shall go source where to get it...Do u know if we can get it from guardian/watsons?

BB Rabbit - It's okay la.. I think is because of the injection you gain weight la... Good for you, no MS...

Linda - You know the sex of your baby at 3.5 weeks or 13.5 weeks?

Another three days to my Oscar test... I really hope the sonographer will be good or maybe kind enough to predict the gender of my baby lor... Don't know if they know about the GENITAL NUB theory... Cos about 11 weeks onwards actually can know le...

hi val,

the previous urine test was ok cos that day i nv drink anything sweet just the pao sheng water that my mum boiled for me...

now i also very worried. my first preggy still can drink lotsa water... this time round i dunno how sia... when i go gynae visit, everytime bladder not full enough. then i also dunno is the ultrasound scan not clear or is it my bladder not full.

oscar test is just draw blood ma...dont think can know gender..

detailed scan by sonographer than can know gender..isnt it....

i think i am not going for oscar too...wanna save the $200

Ya.. Oscar test wont know the gender.. But there will be the nuchal transluency ultrasound ma... Base on the ultra sound, actually can see the GENITAL NUB... Then base on the degree of the genital nub, can know the gender..

You can google/yahoo genital nub and you will understand what i say...

sunesis,

I think i also gain something like 26kg for my 1st pregnancy...the gynea keep telling me im too fat n gaining wt too fast n it is adnormal...but i can't control the wt gain... this gynea even comment im fat during my delivery... make me so sad n demoralise...plus his charges is exhorbitort hence im not going back to this gynea again...

My gynea for my 2nd child is v.nice n patience n respect my birth plan. so im going bk to him for my no.3... plus his v.experience.

gnuly - what is Genital NUB theory?

i dunno if i want to know the gender of my bb... already got one girl, hope to have a boy but read that MS cases 50% higher chance of a girl. told my husband, be it boy or girl i also close shop liao...

oscar test is draw blood, how abt triple test? actually i dont feel like doing any test. but hubby say just go triple test, cheaper. but how is it done? draw blood also? n how much? anyone knows?

annie - yes! aft i clear my stools then not smelly. but prob is i can only clear once in every 2 days. unlike before, everyday. n plus all e food intake, no hebal tea intake, feel my body so heaty

hi 2ks, is there a taka baby fair this week?

usually nothing much for me to buy as i still find some items too ex..unless they wan to do the exchange of milk bottles n get discount for new bottles.

but for those first time mums i think too early to buy leh.. :p

2Ks - Taka baby fair over already right? By the time the next one comes, maybe i deliver liao? Oops..

Treestar - yah the 1st gynae so bad, say u fat. my gynae nv say i fat, just say that i have to work on losing them. I'm seeing another gynae now cos is near my current hse. Until now, been twice also nv take my weight...

tweety: generally boys can be seen early, mine before 16 weeks gynae already told me 80% is boy..

girls think longer cos usually they shy, cover..LOL

val: ya..bb fair until 22 aug..the pigeon exchange bottle is for BPA free bottle..otherwise medela also gt offer i think..

ya lor..i went there look see look see, also will spend money leh..

Gap Maternity

anyone else wanna tag along?

Need 2-3 pcs more to qualify for free ground shipping..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

find taka baby fair not all good deals... last time dunno, go taka baby fair buy alot, find out later other sales even cheaper...=(

but good thing is everything under 1 roof so easier to buy baby stuff...

sunesis,

UR also seeing Dr Woo?

Find him rather quiet but he never fail to patiently address all the concern i hav.. his stitches is also good.

U also staying bukit merah area?! hee...

Sunesis - Genital nub theory is

All embryos have a small bud or swelling. It's known as the genital nub or protuberance. If you are having a boy, testosterone starts being produced when you are about seven weeks pregnant, prompting the bud to grow and develop into a penis and scrotum. In a girl the genital nub will become the clitoris and labia.

This is a gradual process and it is only from about 11 weeks that it becomes possible to see any difference between the sexes. By this stage, all babies have something sticking out. In boys, it tends to point upwards at an angle of more than 30 degrees from the spine. In girls, it’s more horizontal to the body, at an angle of less than 30 degrees. The baby needs to be lying on its back for the sonographer to see this.

Mummies - can go here and see.. got very clear pictures..

http://www.baby2see.com/gender/external_genitals.html

sunesis,

But every appt i will take my wt at the digital weighing machine at the other end of the clinic leh then inform the nurse my wt.

Dr Woo never comment abt my wt, he is more concern abt the baby growth

won-mummy

Both are the same, just take TMC call is OSCAR. While the rest of the places call it triple test. Yes, got to draw blood.

It's best that u take the test to make sure baby is not at risk for down syndrome. Tell you hubby it's important hor. Dun think by saving money now is good. I mean 'Choy CHoy" if dun test, anything happen, you are just wasting more money in future.

gnuly

I think Guardian may have the neurogain PB+ but I'm very sure that pharmacy at KKH has it and definitely cheaper there too!

thks gnulyl5 for the info abt genital nub...my first one is gal now my mum is praying i get a boy..

but i told her my symptoms more or less the same like the first pregnancy..but this time round i get more tired and MS is worse. i heard symptoms the same shld be same gender baby as before leh...

sigh..i hope im wrong this time

treestar - I stayed at Punggol, i see him at the Punggol Plaza clinic. i got weigh myself la but the nurse never ask me for it.

Mrs Teng - OSCAR and triple blood test is different leh... pricing also different

mrs teng:

gynae did mentioned that those above 35 yrs old, its better to go for oscar test...but he said those below 35yrs old, NT scan is good enough, but its also up to the parents la..afterall maybe a few tubes of blood but have peace of mind..

sunesis

The triple test is what doctors have been using all along, and the Oscar test (which does the same thing but more accurate) is new. Oscar test is 90% accurate while triple test is 70% accurate, that's why Oscar is more expensive.

mrs teng - tks! haha..actually is i don't feel like taking not him. he ask me to go for triple test. i did ask my hubby. be it bb is normal or down, we will still want it right? if yes, y bother to take those tests.

yes, i think most prob i will go for triple test. to have a peace of mind. so its just blood hor? cos i heard doc mentioned abt 'yang shui' etc. wonder is it done differently.

sunesis - i think cos OSCAR is a newer technology n higher accuracy. thats y more ex. n it can only be done in TMC. triple test is done in our gynae clinic?

mummies correct me if i m wrong.

Val - I am also praying for a boy!!! Hee Hee... hope my first born is a boy... =)

Mrs Teng - Okay... I shall go check it out.. Can start taking during second trimester right?

2ks

Agree with you on that. My gynae was telling me that in the past those below 35 years just do the double test, no need to draw blood. And all those above 35 years got to draw but in the end, results over the years had shown that the down syndrome rates for those under 35 years were higher becos they did not do the blood test (in a way, less accurate affirmation) while those above 35 years were thoroughly screened.

gnuly, are u talking abt the Dhaxtra fish oil? My hubby called the distributor when I was bf my no.1, they said it's not sold off rack in any pharmacies or commercial stores. Can only be bought from some clinics. Which is why I would go back to my clinic to buy fish oil over the counter when i was bf. Breastmilk got no DHA. It's not cheap, but I think it's a very good brand of fish oil.

went to see gynae today for my Wk12 check up (blood test, OSCAR) and saw the bb. **Happy**

Original EDD: 1 March changed to 28 Feb. think i cannot stay in this thread anymore. :p

Won_mummy

Yes, for the peace of mind. And at least, the rest of your pregnancy you dun have to stress so much also.

The "yang shui" part only takes place if you are at very high risk after knowing the results from your triple test. That one really have to sit down and weigh pros and cons and decide carefully lor.

Gnuly

Can take during 2nd trimester and until you stop breastfeeding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] some gynae starts even earlier lor, just as long as the fetus head starts to form, they will let mummies take liao.. It also dependent on how bad is your MS. Sometimes, the DHA thingy, the fetus dun like and make you throw up, den it's a waste lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs teng & won_mummy - icic... aiyah so confusing all these test. the first preggy i dun even know wat test did i do.

anyway i think maybe do triple blood test can liao... cheaper...

Mrs Teng, ya ya, i disliked the fish oil when I was carrying #1. Threw up not long after each capsule intake, and the smell was a turn off. So wasteful and ex some more. Could only take it better after morning sickness goes away.

yeah ..I am back ..better stay on.

Regarding the fish oil, the nurse told me it's optional. If i want to start eating now...can go back to buy.

How come fish oil is optional in this stage?

Linda, I am in my 8th week now. My stomach also like 4 months preggie lor haha TSK. And i dun vomit, so it just pretty much stays that big throughout sighh.

Oh no your MS sounds quite bad, have a good rest and hope u feel better soon!

BB Rabbit, same here.. I am only able to wear pre-preggie dresses that are loose fitting, even those are sometimes a little tight at the waist when i sit down. My pants or shorts now i can only wear them unbuttoned (but with this amazing bellaband that i bought to keep them up and secure) confirm cannot button lor, can't breathe haha!

won_mummy/2ks, i dun really fart but i burp alot alot!! So paiseh lor... and ppl dun offer me seats on mrt also, and I still feel paiseh to take the reserve seat cos it's not obvious yet, end up standing and being so tired most of the time errrrr.

Chen, sounds good. Shall consider Dr Khi. Do update how your visit on wed goes ya. :)

Linda,

wow! quite a few days no see u le wor!! haha!! wah!! ur info quite useful..

btw.. u said Adrian Tan scan machine is better ya? are u looking at the front screen position infront of the 'bed' while u lying down? i'm find it too small and far for me to see lei!!

val,

taka baby fair till Sept... still can go.. but i think not very cheap lei!!! haha

Annie & gnulyl5,

I think Linda 1st BB is boy boy... was told that Baby boy is much easier to see coz once see got bird bird.. it somehow confirm already!! haha!!!

I hope i wont be seeing tt bird bird!!! but if reli got bird bird.. it's okie still la!!! mama papa still love love la!! wahahaha

sunesis - dont confuse dont confuse. m also 1st time mummy...hehe. basically, there r 2 main stage/test we need to do...during week 12 or week 16, can do either OSCAR or triple test....finally, during week 20 for a detailed test (complusory).

ST - i was given fish oil + folic acid pill (cant remember e brand). doc says start when i reaches week 12. now, during 1st tri we just need folic acid.

audrey - me too! i felt paiseh when i sit on reserve seat too....there was once, i fell asleep. when i wake up, i saw e gal wearing bb doll dress n she looks preg. i offered her my seat cos i felt her stomach looks bigger than mine. but when i stand up, she say she is not....lol...so maloo...

Linda,

wow! quite a few days no see u le wor!! haha!! wah!! ur info quite useful..

btw.. u said Adrian Tan scan machine is better ya? are u looking at the front screen position infront of the 'bed' while u lying down? i'm find it too small and far for me to see lei!!

val,

taka baby fair till Sept... still can go.. but i think not very cheap lei!!! haha

Annie & gnulyl5,

I think Linda 1st BB is boy boy... was told that Baby boy is much easier to see coz once see got bird bird.. it somehow confirm already!! haha!!!

I hope i wont be seeing tt bird bird!!! but if reli got bird bird.. it's okie still la!!! mama papa still love love la!! wahahaha

Chen

I think babies got their preference also... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mine very choosy, by dinner time dun want to eat rice one. every time take rice sure throw up clean n clear. But eat burger, wah! the whole thing can figure without a problem.

At these rate, I think by the time I reach 2nd trimester, my face will be "han bao bao" liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

gnulyl5,

wow! ur link.... so CHIM!!!! i think even i reli study this website clearly... when i look at my BB, i wont be figure out how to see if my BB is a gal or boy wor!!! to me.. all pics are the same lei!! wahaha

Mrs Teng,

i think my BB super love rice! actually i'm not reli a rice lover... i perfer noodle... but after pregnant, i found that i perfer rice then noodle!! diaoz diaoz!!!