(2011/03) Mar 2011

pinky pink...apparently she only does pap smear and some other consult on sat..not the normal pregnancy check up...that's what the nurses told me..

let me know if u manage to secure a pregnancy check up slot on sat..then its a good reason for me to switch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit12,

i dono lei... but my hubby quite dark, he told me, last time he dont like to drink milk de.. he drink milo onli.. then he is the darkest in the whole family..

tt why quite worry lei.. but i know zhi ma hu is very good for hair.. maybe zhi ma hu can drink more ba!!!

jaime: me too...2nd one like so relax not so kan cheong lor.

won_mummy: 4 mths still ok, wont recognise ppl..just for a start maybe dont put full day 1st or so..

initially, i also wanted my mum to take care, but also she is working. and after seeing her take care for a few hours, i find that her style is so different from mine...actually their style is so olden style, very diff..i think if she take care full time, sure will spoil the child and will have conflicts

9 weeks pregnant

If extreme mood swings leave you feeling like a drama queen this week, you're not alone. Hormonal fluctuations are treating your emotions like a yo-yo now. One minute you feel weepy and the next you're laughing harder than you've ever laughed before. Take comfort in knowing that those same volatile hormones are helping your baby grow. In fact, this week marks the first time your baby looks almost human. He has all the standard body parts in place now - though they're not yet formed to perfection.

linda - i know they have an outlet at jurong point. forget where u stay le. link fyi. i think they do online order also.

http://www.yummihouse.com/html/main/productsorder.html

2K - haha. yes yes. somemore is grandchildren. sure spoilt de. thats another concern lor. haiz. n i cant quit my job. cant survive w only 1 salary. v siong n i dont want to be so restricted. i want to spend my own $...hehe

jaime, my EDD very near yours and im seeing Dr Joan Thong Pao Wen (RH)2mr... if she is nice, i probably will stick with her.

2ks, thanks for your advice! Will definitely go scout the school and surrounding before deciding the school.

won_mummy, you will carry your bb back home when you're back from work, so it should be fine ba coz the bb still will see you, recognise you. Anyway, when they grow older and understand things, they will know what is what and who is who. Even if you leave your bb to nanny, is the same thing. My mum used to be a nanny and the parents of the the babies my mum looked after always had problem carrying the babies back coz the babies wouldn't wanna leave my mum as my mum spent more time with the babies. However, now after the kids grew up le, they also very close with their own family coz is family/own blood afterall.

I thinking to take full 4 months maternity leave to stay at home and look after my babies for as long as I could then send them to IFC when I need to go back to work. In this way, I can spend the longest time with them. My mum also agree to go fetch my bb at 5pm and when she has off day, we will not send our baby to IFC, thus probably 1 week only need to send the baby to IFC for 4 days as I can look after myself during weekend, so as to spend as much time with my bb. There will be a mixture and I believe the bb will get used to all my family members that way too.

Mrs Teng, where did you find ginger candies? I can only find ginger tea bags.

Linda/fish

really huh..will check it out..but my mum says drink zi ma hu gd nutrients value..tin I mus go ask her if will be dark dark..hmm..

maybe rotation of milk, oatmeal and milo/zima hu..

won_mummy,

haha.. Linda stay at Punggol, but i think Tampines also have... so.. i think that place is much easy for her!!

Linda, try the taste 1st.. but i'm sure it wont taste that sweet...

Annie,

my colleague advise me to take 3 months maternity leave 1st..coz BB will need see doc, blua blua blua during the 1st year.. so.. the remaining 1 month of maternity leave + Annual Leave + Childcare Leave + MC can keep for bring the BB and acc the BB as/when we wana!!

aloha...

she is ok..not very chatty..very business minded..but she does her job well i must say..

pm me when they give u her package price..wanan know how much she has up her price..

coz her consult hours are shorter n shorter every other year...

but confirm i will be "checking in" at raffles hospital for 3 days 2 night in march 2011 .....lazy to go to another hospital liao..

hey mummies

i believe in drinking soya bean milk for fair babies..i drank quite often during my #1..and he is very fair... (i am quite dark though my hubby is quite fair)

so will continue..

for ginger, i use to munch on the pickled ginger..those see by aji ichiban..or those shop that sell pickled stuff..but choose the ginger version...spicy n appetising..

annie - tks. sounds good! i shall do a search for infant care too. looks like its a better option.

fish - oic. haha. linda @ punggol. yes yes, i think i saw their adver, another branch @ tampines. i also intend to take abt 3mths. maybe 3mths + 2 weeks. keep 10 days for bb checkup, etc.

starfruit - hmm..just wondering, too much zi ma fu will it be too 'nutrient' for now?

annie: the only down point i feel is house chores....despite after a hard day work, you still got to take care of baby, do house chores, might be taxing for those with help all along de..

its tough being a mother, a wife, and double up as maid...LOL

fish: choy choy la...but for what i know some companies dont allow u to su gak su gak take ML as you wish, cos think diff for them to submit claim. maybe u got to check yr company policy 1st...

you one year how many days leave? not enough ma? got extra 6 days CCL already leh

2Ks,

of coz CHOY CHOY CHOY la... nobody wish BB sick ma!!

but i'm juz telling Annie that, we have to keep some ML too (if company allows).. then we can on/off spend sometime with our BBs ma!!!

btw.. i got 14 Days leave..

milkshake - btw, u might want to try take warm water? sometimes i feel plain water v tasteless n sick also. but warm water is easier to swallow.

hi Wonmummy,

i tin better do rotation..cos all along I like drink zi ma hu so din tink so much..but better drink milk too for rotation..

can i oso check when eat druits mus cut "skin"?..some say cut skin better..

i have been drinking ton of water. Dunno why but i have been feeling very thirsty.

Have u ladies been eating durians?

starfruit12,

i dont peel off the skin lei.. but i will wash the fruit under the running water for at least 1 min and try to clean the fruit as clean as possible...

Jazz2,

i ate once after pregnant, actually quite tempting to have Durian lei.. but was told, Durian not to eat too much during pregnancy, coz BB will grow very big! haha

jazz2: me me! i just ate durians...mao shan wang is good...

but still eat in moderation.

fish: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i tell u by the time u need to go back to work hor..u will miss the baby, separation anxiety

haiz...

aloha...the standard supplements are the cheapers one like folic and obimin which is like less than sgd 10 at pharmacy.

fish oil have to pay...so buy ur self outside cheaper...i kena bluff the first time...coz i tot all included including fish oil which is the expensive one.

oh..my time in 2008 was sgd 2.5k. so i guess went up a little.

i gg at end of the month coz hubby out of town..no choice unless go alone..quite sad...

Wonmummy,

i try warm water, after drinking feel very neusea.

i dunno why i cannot take plain water le, cause my mouth already very bland. How i wish i can just tale plain water instead of ribena

Oh dear, Been feeling really terrible these few days, I look at food n run to vomit! I didn't eat anything since yest bfast, just managed to eat some rice n soup with pickled green chili, otherwise really cannot eat.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jaime, r you a sahm? My hubby also travels alot fr work.

Alone with #1 n feeling miserable. Hehe. My boy must b wondering why mummy is no fun today!

Fish, coz I have 21 days of annual leave + by then will have childcare leave of 6 days so total 27 days for next year (Jun to Dec = 6 mths) so I think is more than enough for 21 days of leave for 6 months to spend leh.. I can't bring forward my annual leave and I don't think I will go holiday when bb is still so small, thus, I don't want to waste my maternity leave by saving it and later too many days. I rather take the whole shot of 4 months to stay at home to accompany my bb as long as possible b4 I go back to work coz I wanna bf, stay at hm is easier than pumping at work. I mean I will still need to pump at work after I go back work but at least don't want so early. Can delay 1 month more better than nothing.

2ks, you can hire part time maid to come your house 1-2 times a week to help do house chore ma.. I heard not ex.. $10 per hour only and they can do alot of things for you. So far I'm still staying with my parents, so my mum does all the house chores. Next year after June then will move to my new house then by then I will need to take care of the house chores myself. If I can't cope I intend to hire part time maid.

Mummies interested in IFC, can check out the list of preschools here, it's a PDF file. Hope the link works.

app2.nea.gov.sg/NEADownload.aspx?res_sid=20090706283588421239

Pretty useful, except that it doesn't have the contact no. of the school, so might need to google those you're interested in.

starfruit - actually i din eat a lot of fruits. but heard u can use knife to shave it lightly under running water to clear e 'wax'?

jazz - i keep feeling thirsty also. been drinking lots of water n go toilet like once every hr..haha

milkshake - oh dear. then try to make less sweet honey n ribena ba. better than nothing.

annie: me same sediments as u...i also have 21 days leave and only can bring forward one year. so far my last year leave i still got 12 days to clear till end yr. this year 21 days still untouched. for my #1, i also one shot take the 16 weeks ML. i prefer to stay with bb more. and i work till the day i admitted lor.

u knw i wish for some help la, but at the tot of spending $200 more on help, i rather i do it myself slowly lor. $200 can buy alot of bb stuff, my mindset now, is can do do lor, cant finish i do it another day.

2Ks, I still thinking when to start taking my ML coz I don't want to work half way then admit to hospital. Haha.. *worry* I thinking to take 2 weeks before EDD to stay at home and prepare for the day. If my water broken in office, very ma lu leh. haha.. at least at home I still can bathe one more time before rush to the hospital, coz afterwards don't know I can bathe with my mother and MIL nagging me about 1 month cannot bathe, etc...

I can't bring forward my leave at all, have to finish up within a year if not will be forfeit, that is why I don't want to keep too much leaves coz bb check up also won't be more than 30 days for 6 months period. I guess I can manage. Moreover my company is flexible, if I need to take off, I can just tell them the reason even if I don't have leave and they will let me go. So far I ever tried once which I over took 1 day of leave and my company didn't charge me unpaid leave. I hope I can bf my bb directly for as long as possible, that is why I thought of taking the whole shot 16 weeks ML.

Annie,

wow.. ur company GOOD...21 days.. or u have been working in this company for many years??? but if u have so many leave.. then i think it should be fine with u!!

i'm juz showing my concern to tell u wat i feel.. i dont mean anything..

Saw today newsletter from What To Expect and thought maybe some of you are interested to know more about diarrhoea as I understand there are some mummies here complaint having diarrhoea like me.

//

Diarrhea in Pregnancy

Here's everything you'll need to know, and do, if you find yourself visiting the bathroom too often.

What it is: Diarrhea is medically defined as loose (or watery) and unusually frequent bowel movements. But, really, do you need a definition? Diarrhea is definitely one of those "you'll know it if you have it" symptoms.

What causes it: Unlike constipation, which can be caused by pregnancy's fluctuating hormones, diarrhea tends to be caused by something that originates outside your body — and something that's not necessarily harmful either. Diarrhea may be the result of all that good-for-you food you're now eating, the extra water you're drinking, or even the exercise routine you've begun. Some women find that their prenatal vitamin causes loose stools; changing brands can sometimes make all the difference.

That said, there are things that can cause diarrhea during pregnancy that have nothing to do with hormones or lifestyle changes. Food poisoning, intestinal parasites, or a simple stomach flu may be behind a nasty bout. If you suspect any of these might be the case, call your practitioner ASAP so you can be tested and treated, when possible.

What you need to know about it: Diarrhea tends to be much less common than constipation during pregnancy and generally doesn't last as long. In fact, diarrhea that persists for more than a couple of days, no matter how mild, is worth a call to your practitioner. Diarrhea can not only be a pain in the rear but can quickly lead to dehydration, a major risk factor for premature labor. For that reason alone, if you've got it, take it seriously.

What to do about diarrhea during pregnancy: Keep away from foods that will only make the problem worse: dried fruits (consider prunes your enemy); fatty or spicy foods; and milk, especially if you're lactose intolerant. The so-called BRAT diet (bananas, rice, applesauce, toast) has been recommended for years but the newest thinking expands on those options to include important vitamins and minerals (especially zinc) that are not provided by the BRAT diet. While BRAT foods are indeed gentle on your digestive track, try adding the following:

•other starchy foods like potatoes, unsweetened cereals, crackers, and toast

•vegetables, such as cooked carrots, and non-milk-based soups with noodles, rice, and/or vegetables

• lean meats

•yogurt, especially with live, active cultures of lactobacillus acidophilus

Avoid "simple" high-sugar drinks (apple and grape juice, gelatin, regular colas, and other soft drinks), which can draw water into your tummy, making diarrhea last even longer. Sports drinks (like the electrolyte-replacement favorite, Gatorade) and water are much better options. And, as always (but particularly now), avoid fatty and fried foods.

Remember, while a mild case isn't anything to really worry about, severe diarrhea (more than three stools a day), or stools that are bloody, have mucus, or are purely liquid are a sign to give your practitioner a call (today).

//

Annie, I find this interesting. Most or in fact all of my friends start going into labour when it's wee hours in the morning. Like at home, in the middle of sleep. Those dramatic ones are only seen in dramas perhaps. Hee.

Fish, I worked in my current company for 4 years + le, that is why my leaves has just got increased to 21 days this year. Don't worry lah, I know what you mean. Coz for my case is different. Many of you can carry forward your leaves for at least 1 year but I can't and I calculate after giving birth in March + maternity leave will be June/July liao, so really no point to save my 1 month ML. Then following new year will have another 21+6 days leaves again. Thus, I rather slack at home longer. Hahaha... I am a lazy person! :p

Lai lai,

The tradition is to announce after 12 weeks... but announce earlier also good so pple will understand ur preggie and be more considerate.

won_mummy,

Me was like u...im trying for baby but never expect so soon. im really happy tough, feel very fulfill to become mother of 3 before hitting 30yr old =P hope everything will be ok... with 3rd one coming i must think about moving near my parents place. But my parent place is really far from my hubby n my workplace.

Chen, you find water broken in office half way while you work interesting? Hahaha... Wait you dirty your desk area and give ppl a fouly smell how? So embarrassing!! I heard my friend says if your water broken, you must wrap a towel and rush to hospital if not you will dirty your car seat too if the water continues to flow.. haha...

treestar, u're good! 3 before 30!!! Not sure if I can even afford a 3rd child, standard of living is increasing. Hmm, but ya... I would love to have 3 too!

aiyah Annie, u mis-read me. I meant labour or water bag burst usually when we're at home, middle of the night. For most cases la. Baby is cooperative after all. hee.

fish: no la..u meant good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

annie: oic...if u feel comfortable just go with it.

but then i have to point out something 1st..those direct latch on baby one, once baby used to it, it may not accept bottle, so the caretaker might have problem feeding it.

treestar: u are good! i also wanted 3 kids but age catching up and then also i cant afford [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

treestar - wow having 3rd child before hitting 30! so envy. i was only hoping to have my 1st b4 i turn 30. haha. last time dream of getting married at age 21, but nobody want. lol. good life for u next time! when u r still v young, ur kids already v independant le.

nope pinky pink..i am at FTWM, #1 at ifc, hubby travels 50% of the time. hope to change soon esp with #2 coming. that;s what he told me. hope the aug's trip is the last travel trip..

i see ur april 09 forum lots of SAHM isit...i see u all always arrange to meet during weekday (envy of all FTWM)

gosh i am the opposite of u..i am eating non stop coz once hungry i feel super uncomfortable.

i just finish 75 g of famous amos cookies...3 hours after lunch...gosh...

i dont remember such hunger pangs during my #1

Annie & Chen,

but i think when we are abt to give birth, the tummy already very very very big.. i dont we also very difficult to come to office le ba!! hahaha!!

milkshake: hope when u reach 2nd trimester will be better for u...

ribena was my favourite also when i having #1, drink until wanna vomit..LOL

chen, ha ha..mine was oatmeal n raisin...hungry hungry no choice...without telling the office ppl..think they know i am preggy..how come an adult lady eating so much all of a sudden...n non stop

Jaime, uh, ya la a few sahm in the April thread, I used to work til June then decided to stay hm with my boy. My colleague is poohwei frm the may thread n my pri sch friend is aupok also in may thread. Hehe. V small world

nw u mention famous Amos I also feel like eAting Liao. I'm hungry but nothing I see looks like I can digest it without vomitting. I dun think nausea with #1 was this bad!