(2011/03) Mar 2011

I'm having a little cramps n pulling pain since yesterday... How many weeks are you 2ks??

Annie,

yes yes.. somemore both of us feeling left side pain... i also sayang in circle to calm down both BB and myself.. i ask hubby to put his mouth on my tummy to talk to our BB while i resting on the bed! haha!!! after he did that, surprisely, after awhile, no more needle pain le... so strange...

Ahcapp, most days I feel hungry all the time but some days, I don't have appetite and have the nausea feeling.

Hunger - small meals e.g at least 5 small meals per day instead of 3 big ones. I even woke up after midnight daily to drink oatmeal and eat bread 'cause too hungry.

Nausea - ginger in food makes my nausea better! Thanks to the suggestions by mummies here. I start eatkng more porridge when nausea sinks in. Small meals help too. Avoid food that aggravate your nausea. Always munch wholemeal bread slowly. Sour plums are my best friends now.

gnuly, must be tough on you to do night shifts! Gonna take good care of yourself and the little one!

Linda, ya I drink alot of water. When I try not to drink water after 9, my lips become very dry and I feel vexed, like very dehydrated. In the end, I just give up and drink lah...but my frequent urination has reduced these 2-3 days. Used to be 4-5 times @ night. Now is 3-4 times.

thanks piggypatty..

annie: during my time which was in 2008, 3 months before edd, then i started sourcing for ifc..

but now, its very scary...my sis when she at 3rd mth, already started sourcing for IFC, and to our amaze, its long waiting list! heard principal said almost 50+ waiting list.

i heard punggol also same issue, all long waiting list.

so i think if u really set to enrol in IFC, once after 1st trimester, i think its good to source around, but must put deposit to secure space la.

u hv to discuss with hb first on the pro & cons of IFC ok, its very prone to virus as and when, but once they get over it, its ok.

from what i see, those 18 months and above then send to PG/CC, also fall sick very often, in fact i have friends who send their kids when they reach 18 mths, one was sick for 3 weeks (miss school), the other one week sick one time...

like my SIL, send her boy to IFC, keep falling sick until she withdraw and engage nanny till a yr, then send back to ifc again...but kana 2 times hfmd..

many issues one, just go with what u feel is good for u..

gnuly: i havent see gynae yet...i see online calculator, should be 6 weeks plus..

i think the cramps is most probably the uterus stretching expanding...but well its kindof uncomfortable la..

but still better than contraction pain [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Coffee, Tea, Coke... I love them all! So I control and have no more than 1 of either of them a day. When I was pregnant with #1 I was so depressed cos I thought no coffee, no tea, no coke zero...OHMYGAWD. But my gyne said a cup or two is ok, so I limit to a cup a day. No issues with #1.

Pregnancy is not an illness, just a little control with the caffeine, salt, sugar and make sure food is clean and it's OKAY.

2Ks - Hope all goes well for u then... Maybe my pulling pain n cramps are uterus expanding also...

for those with cramps, last time I did asked my gynae, he say is due to expand of uterus, so long as the cramp is not in the central, is okie. left/right on-off cramp awhile is okie. dun worry

till now, i still can't drink plain water, mouth always so bland, everyday i only drink ribena. dunno how.

my neeusea is back again these few days.

Hi Lin,

Did u check wif gynea regarding spotting? I think there is some hormanal medication which can stabilise the pregnancy.... my good friend also have regular spotting during her 1st trimester, she was so worried n always visit gynea. 1 year on and she now a proud mummy of a baby girl...

milkshake81,

Ribena contain lots of sugar i think.. u try not to drink so sweet... we pregnant ladies have to control the amount of sugar we take everyday wor!!!

I have lotsa craving ... putting on wt... pregnancy is funny... my 2nd pregnancy i was very nauseous n can't take anything spicy , this one...i'm craving spicy stuff... i hav lotsa cramp but little MS... my 1st 2 pregnancy the MS very bad...

BTW, Any working muumies here who have announce ur pregnancy to boss or colleagues or wait till later?

i have cramps too. esp in e middle of e night. whole stomach like so tight. when try to stretch my leg, stomach cramp, lower ankle also a bit cramp. so difficult to sleep nowadays.

treestar - i informed my boss n some colleagues already. cos on probation now, prefer not to hide or wait till when they want to cfm me then i say i m 3 mths now. worry that i will shock them.

Treestar -Haven announce to boss n colleague... Waiting after 12th week...

Milkshake... - hmm... Sometimes my pulling pain is in center lei... but i think cramps is usually sides or lower back...

u can drink honey?? u put a little bit of honey then make it to very very very mild honey water and drink.. at least can taste abt sweetness... but dont buy those cheap cheap bread de... try to get those good honey n drink... but still try to force urself to have some plain water!!!

anyway, u eat fruits and veg??? try to have that more too.. and try to have soup more too! then at least u can get enough water for yourself everyday...

gnuly,

i guess if the pain is on-off awhile, is okie, cause my gynae say, so long as the cramp is not too long, is fine. cause now our body is diff liao.

Type half way, lost connection and lost my whole post! Pissed!

2ks, yes, nowadays more ppl chooose to put their baby at IFC because of the learning ability and government subsidy I guess.

Although there is the prone to virus bad part, but aside from that, I heard from many mummies who put their babies at IFC for a start, have good comments saying that their children now have faster learning skill and they pick up English and Mathematics faster and earlier than kids who are left to nanny's care, becoz normal nanny are mostly hokkien/mandarin speaker and babies who put under their care grows in the nanny's way of living/environment and pick up their habits. However, at IFC/childcare, they have scheduled routine/learning programme for babies/kids, hence they will be more disciplined (1 eg. is these kids put at childcare learn the habit of washing their hands is a must b4 meals, etc). Another good point is they won't cry on their first day of school as they already adapt to the school teaching environment and have from young be mixing with other kids, more social. These are all the good parts. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Annie, agree with you. Which is why I chose IFC over nanny. My girl was in since 6mths. She enjoys her everyday in there.

milkshake81,

i'm drinking 'Yummy house honey'... not very sweet..

was told that ppl with diabetes also can drink this honey... so.. i think we pregnant ladies can also consume that!!!

annie: all u mentioned is true, apart from the illness part, which i think even stay at home also can fall sick.

i can see my son learning very fast, he can already say two syllabus words e.g flower, no more, at 15 months old.

he is also very agile cos the teachers taught him how to sit properly, how to slide down without landing heads down etc.

he is a very easy baby. i send him to ifc when he was 4 months old, and he adapts well.

in fact, now he is sleeping on his own single bed, own room, and when he wakes up, he can come down his bed himself and look for us.

but of cos, its also must see the teachers got heart or not. my son ifc has a couple of china teachers, initially i was skeptical whether are they good...but surprisingly, they are those more involved with teaching de!

2ks, yes, that is why I changed my mentality towards IFC and having serious thought of putting my bb there in future. coz my sis-in-law strongly encourages me to put my bb there, she said "you trust, me you won't regret putting your bb there and you'll thank me one day" Because initially I also not liking childcare and prefers nanny (coz 1 to 1) but after hearing her says all the good things, I started to think and change my mind. So now wanna look for reputable IFC. You see, you also one of them who agree that your boy is learning independently which is really very good. I heard those teachers must undergo some training in order to become a infant teacher, so if the school approves to hire the teacher, I guess the teacher should have the ability to take up the job. Moreover they should be more experience coz they been taking care of so many babies before.

My MIL actually got sounded that she is interested to look after our bb but from the way she handle her house chores, I am not really trusting her. Somemore I scare later more mo cha. If I dislike something also hard to bring it across to her. Later more problems. And she is so hokkien and olden mum, I believe the baby will learn more weird stuff from her. haha...

Time for lunch!

RE: Honey

Seen a chinese documentary that if using hot water to make honey, will make it heaty, but taking honey on it's own is cooling. Luke warm water should just be fine. This one if anyone seeing chinese physical should ask them.

hi pinky pink, i guess as much i will see u here also..i reply to ur query on the april 09 thread on raffles hospital.

i see that you see dr lee i wern? how is she? she was my first choice whne i had my #1 but she was fully booked, so i went to see dr thong pao wen.

overall she is ok, no much talk, just consult, and her stitching i must say is quite good. but just that nowadays she dont do any more sat consult..quite tough to take leave to see during weekdays..

i wanted to try dr lee i wern but i also heard she dont do sat consult.

i prefer a more chatty woman gynae..but i guess all gynae's time is $$$$$...

HI everyone,

Found this, not sure if this is true, going to try later and porridge with ginger as well.

Morning Sickness: Snacking on bananas between meals helps to keep blood sugar levels up and avoid morning sickness.

Heartburn: Bananas have a natural antacid effect in the body, so if you suffer from heartburn, try eating a banana for soothing relief.

my first few postings on this...its my number #2...

rach, remember me, ur happy bellies customer[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

what info you need for update:

nick: preciouzalex

EDD: mid march 2011 (haven see gynae, #2 no need so kan cheong [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]), only saw GP, say heart beating everything ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Doc: Dr Thong Pao Wen

Hosp: Raffles Hospital

Baby:#2

for me , i dont have much symptoms (same for my first 1)..but feel constantly hungry only n can feel quite uncomfortable..eating like a baby..every 2-3 hours must eat something...

who else gg be at raffles besides pinkypink?

annie: ya...so far i didnt regret sending my boy to ifc, i can see he learn alot of things there.

and dont have to be a branded school then he learn, mine is just a neighbourhood school but he still learn very well.

most important also are the teachers. so before u decided on a school, go check out the school and see the school surroundings before u decide.

give u a scenerio, my SIL son enrolled in a branded montessori school with only less than 5 infants (paying $1k per mth), and some pg students and very new school, only less than 1 year open. but when one of the baby kana HFMD, eventually spread to other babies, within a week 4/5 babies kana HFMD.

prove what? the school didnt take action after a couple got hfmd.

what i meant is, must see how fast and efficient a school handle cases too.

Mrs Teng,

Honey cannot use hot water/any metal spoon/cup stir...

it will breakdown the good things in the honey...warm water will be fine...

Hi jaime, I'm seeing Dr Cordelia Han from RH. Heard of her? How's her stitching skill? Good? I'm contemplating whether to change gynae.

Dr Thong and Dr Lee are pretty well-known in RH! =)

i haven heard of dr han, but dr thong's stitching is fanstatic..i felt nothing..recover very fast as well...

but she dont talk much that kind..i suppose most are like that..for me i feel she prefers to talk to my hubby than me :p

she is not that pro natural per say..ie coz when i say i dont want epidural , she was not all supportive

..though i did use epidural in the end which is besides the point lar...coz first 1 mar..everything want to experience..as a gynae i tot u should respect the patient and support the patient all the way

i know there are some gynae who are more pro natural than others bah...i guess some gynae are more realistic i guess...

lai lai, when ur EDD?? #1?

Won_mummy

Ooh u just started working in this company... seems like ur company quite family oriented... which is good.=)

gnuly15

I 'll probably only announce after 16 weeks or when start to show. cos patang plus my mgmt not so accomodating to preggies...

my colleague was almost forced to leave when she preggie but as she is msian so only 2 month maternity leave so still not as bad... I got 4 months maternity..so they sure v.unhappy one... haiz

jaime, my EDD is 28 March 2011. Currently on week 6.

#1 mummy so very kan chiong. Hee.

I have a feeling that my Dr Han will tell me to use epidural too. She's very straightforward and realistic 'cause I don't look like the kind that can endure pain. But like u, I want to experience labour pain...hmmm...

annie/2k - just wondering, cos i know bb will start to recogise us around 4-6th mth. if 4th mth put them in infant care le, will there be an issue? i will want to put my bb in child care cos they learn more things n more independant. but have concerns abt infant care. any suggestions?

treestar - ya. 2mths only. din intend to conceive so soon, but hit on 1st attempt cos planning for rabbit bb. bo bian. hehe. yes. lucky that they are v understanding. but haven talk abt my maternity eligibility thou i check com policy i m entitled.

mrs teng - yes, support fish's advice. cannot use metal spoon to make honey. luke warm or room temp water is more suitable for making honey.

won_mummy: 4-6 months still ok. for a start i put half a day at ifc only. then slowly increase. and also take the chance to go salon, pedicure before i go back to work.

from what i see from my friends, those about 18 months send to PG one, more tough, cried and refuse to go in school etc.

ifc main concern is virus, cough and flu is a package that visits every now and then. but once after 1 yr old, it get better.

u can consider and compare the pro and cons between maid, nanny, in laws, ifc first.

Jaime, dr lee does Saturday! I've seen her on sat for my pap smear! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

she's nice n can b chatty too, very caring. I was quite impressed.

2k - at 1st i thought my MIL will want to take care cos she not working. end up she grumble saying 4th mth onwards v diff to take care, n she dont want to give up all her activities (dance, sing, etc). then, i ask my mum instead. but she like a bit unwilling cos she currently working. i say i will want to put into childcare when 18mths. then she worried if she quit for me, she cant find job aft that (she loves to work...haha). hence, looking at infant care as alternative. but worried abt e recogising family part. maid n nanny is a no-no thing for me.

Hi everyone, just back frm my mum place cos tdy no class..

Gnuly- pls give your full email add and I will send u the list ok ;)?

Fish and won, I aso experience a bit cramp at left side, I Don no is it due to my bad nausea when I vomit, my left side pull a little, or even when walking for so long... So I have to take a seat sometime and the cramp pulling feeling will go off, this sat I will ask dr Adrian why like that??

Btw- where did u buy the yummy hse honey? My mum bought me the organice manuka honey but I taste it too sweet and probably frm start, I nvr realli like sweet thing

if this is recommend for diabetes, then I will go grab

lai lai..

totally understand..my #1...by this time i already seen the gynae...but now , i feel fine, no spotting, trust my family doctor...

so no need so kan cheong n contribute to the gynae's another beemer or slk

Star fruit- my mum told me don take too much dark food Cos later bb skin will be dark, my first boy- I alway eat branched, he came out with very smooth skin and even the nurses say he look like a girl complexion!! Haa

maybe try to take lesser?