(2011/03) Mar 2011

Oh. your first time mom - like me..

Chey.. i thought this is your second child.. haha.. sorry paiseah...

btw... gals..

want to check with u all..

izzit we CANNOT eat meggi mee at all???? my colleagues told me, not to have meggi mee for the whole pregnancy... (or at least for the first 3 mths).. is that truth??

Sian.. Wish time can pass faster...

Can u feel your tummy getting bigger? any bulge?

u feel ur tummy getting bigger le??

for me...yes.. i can! but strange thing is.. sometime very big.. sometime still okie.. wonder is becoz of the extra air inside????

then my mummy sometime laugh at me, she said, when she was expecting me last time, after on her 4th mth, then her tummy started showing out... becoz she had terrible M/S in first 3 mths...

but then for me.. i dont have M/S..sometime have terrible neasea... but now on 2nd mth onli.. tummy look like 4-5mths le!!! but BB is onli 20++mm.... so.. i reli think is becoz of the gas!! heehee!!

HAHAHAHA... fish hu..

we're the same... tummy very big.. but full of gas only!!

i also dont have M/S.. sometimes nauseaus only..

ya!!

so.. i think is reli becoz of the GAS!!! wahahahaha!!!

btw.. gals... enjoy weekend, have more sleep and rest during weekend... see u gals next Monday...

Take good care and Love u all!!!

Haha.... Mine is probably showing a little.. super tiny bulge, sometimes i think also due to constipation... haha..

wow.. your all very lucky hor, no MS, or only nausea.. im vomiting like shit..

lately its getting worse..

gnuly15..

i wish i have MS.. cuz it means the body is producing enuff hormones.. and beside that, can lose weight a bit..

am putting more and more weight now.. worried i wont be able to shed all the extra on later part.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Eeee, I hoping my nausea stop soon n I can start to eat. Infact I lost weight now and the 1st visit 3 week ago, the nurse say she will monitor my weight the next visit!

And the only thing expand is the stomach and all pants cannot wear Liao. So MS is not reasli a nice feeling... Arrggggg

fish- thank for the info. I believe all $ spent on these things can give us an assurance of mind for the next 3 trismeter!

And Maggie mee - not that we cannot eat, better not to consume too much cos the noodle been reprocessed

but I will double boiled the noodle till soft then change a new water base and cook again wo the MSG la

Chen- I quitted my job n become a Sahm last year to take care of my boy aft some maid issue that resulted police case... So I will nvr get a maid unless I am at home the whole day to watch her.....

But young kids below 9-10 yrs old may not be able to understand why we stay at home to look aft them .my boy now 10 yrs actually is more sensible to know why I have to quit and look aft him. It also boiled down to your hub being suportive to the family. Actually is nvr easy to hold the burden of a family alone now in Singapore

Now that I m doing my own business in teaching in sch, that give me the flexibility to work for 3 hrs morning and go home liao...

Mummies, I am back from my week 5 scan. I can finally see a tiny sac! =D But my gynae said I need to eat more fruits and yoghurt to clear my bowels 'cause my intestines are not very clean. -_-

And to update, I've been feeling nauseous since Friday. No vomit yet but kept making that 'vomit' sound. 0_0

Linda, your working hours are really flexible! I thought you are a teacher initially.

Lai- u got constipatn is it? Maybe try to drink more water? Other mummies enourage me to drink honey and I feel better drinking honey than plain water during empty stomach

I am a art teacher. Cos my mum in law was a retiree teacher and now we established our company in pri, sec, jc doing visual art such as batik enrichment, print making etc.

I choose to teach morning session as my boy is in the morning class. So finish up a few hrs and normally 1 sch program is 1.5 months.... So very flexible for my arrangment ;)))

Hi mummies, I went for my 3rd check up already. Saw bb's head, body and the heart is pumping fast and strong too! Gynae says bb is growing well. I'm about same week as Fish and my bb's measurement is about 21mm now. Gynae also said bb is growing at the right size.

I also asked about diarrhoea, gynae said it's normal if the watery stools come after constipation.... As long as the diarrhoea is not many times a day. Coz mine is only once every few days and is always after few days of constiptaion.

Wow! That is a good new Annie!

At least now we know how come keep LS lor...

So when will you be gg for your next visit? Did your doc advise u to do the Oscar scan?

Annie, that's nice! =)

Linda, ironically I'm clearing my bowels more regularly nowadays which is everyday in the morning. In the past, I only cleared once in 2 days 'cause I have Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS). I have many syndromes one lah. Will take your advice to take honey. BTW can I take manuka honey?

Lailai - how come the doc will say your intestines are not very clean? You're seeing an O&G doc right? Not gastroenterologist right..? Ultrasound scan can see intestines one meh?

Another busy busy day.. Go out half day want my life liaoz...

SOoooo tired Lo..... Hopefully my girl now KO will KO till tmr...

Nauseousness getting worse also... Haven't really puke but the feeling very Gan khor Lo.... Sianz....

Hi to all! ^_^

Gonna c my gynae for the 2nd time on Monday. Can't wait to c or hear the heartbeat.. Really excited bout it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gnuly, I don't know leh. My gynae showed me where's my sac, uterus, bladder & intestines. My intestine is just beside the uterus & the sac. Then she said from the ultrasound scan, my intestines looked congested. I also don't know how she saw it? It looks like a long white thing to me.

rach, same here! I was shopping @ best denki with hubby and suddenly, my face changed. The nausea feeling just came like that and I just wanna go home immediately. Feeling xinku now. Really say too early about no MS. =X

Gnuly

I also vomiting like shit.. So u r not alone.. Keke

Mummies who did not haf MS.. Pls thank ur lucky stars n not wish for it.. U will never wanna haf a taste of this horrible phase.. I envy u gals who can eat n function normally..

Vomitting plus giddiness is driving me nuts. Cannot function properly.. I still haf to take care if my super active toddler. Next wk I going for my 10wk chk up.. Hope things will turn out well.

Food to avoid:

I read somewhere that we r not allowed to take raw food nor eggs. N to avoid processed meat eg; ham, hotdog. And also no excessive intake of vitamin A.. FYI [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all, hope all ladies r well.. Went out today, brought boy fr swimming lesson .. Came hm nap a lil while n went church n dinner.. By the time I reached hm I was aching so badly .. Anyone experienced heel pain ? I'm nw having heel pain n my spinal cord hurts too.. =(

Linda, so good. I wish I have such flexi working hours.

Can we eat sour plum? I can't sleep due to nausea. Gonna wake up to pop some sour plum so that I can feel better and blurp.

Lailai - i didnt know your gynae ultrasound machine so good ah.. lol..

summer's mommy - u also vomiting like shit ah... sometimes i feel like its a waste of $$$ lor... eat and puke the whole meal out... super super super duper kang khor also lor... till my stomach become so squashed and queasy...

hi everyone, I am new here... just wanna find out if you gals have any good gynaes to recommend? I am interested in Glen Eagles however, I did not like the gynae whom I visited last week. Any other good recommendations? Btw, I am having twins =)

Hi kristelle,

Congrats!!!! and welcome to the club.

I w Gleneagles too. I seeing Dr Tanny Chan, a lady, her clinic at Gleneagles Medical Center. I was recommanded by my SIL as she got twins too which is why gave me the confidence to visit her.

But her price abit steep but she is good.

Linda, my next visit will be 1 month later... 28th Aug...by then I should be near to 13 weeks already.. I heard from the nurse oscar scan only done in week 20? but my gynae told me next visit I'll be doing a blood test and NT test? dunno if I heard wrongly.. These 2-3 tests next visit will cost around $310!! My next visit I will be starting my package and placing the deposit of $700 already. So next month I need to pay $1010 (excluding medicine) pocket burns hole liao.. But am still looking forward to my every visit. Do you know what kind of blood test will that be? I very scare of blood test leh.. Anyone knows how much blood they will take out from us? I'm afraid of the pain! Arghhh...

Btw, I am also prescribed fish oil supplements. The nurse says I can start now. Very big capsule.. abit hard to swallow.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hihi Kristelle!!!! Congrats on your TWINS!!!! Dont mind me asking, you conceived your twins naturally? Hee Hee!!! =)

Annie - Oscar test is done between 11-13th week 6 days... I think the nurses told u wrongly, week 20th should be the detailed scan...

If im not wrong, blood test will be like HIV, Rubella, Rhesus status, Haemoglobin, then as part of the oscar blood test, there is

• free beta- hCG (human chorionic gonadotrophin)

• PAPP-A (pregnancy associated plasma protein A)

Lai lai - I took normal honey. No artifically ingredients. But I don no if can take manuka or other type flavour cos there is no evidence proof to say cannot take also;)

is best to take normal one. Did u eat any guava??

Guava add with a little of suan mei powder works for me. But cos I suspect now I m lactose intolerance, I drank similac mum milk powder and straight away go toilet, just like Annie

annie had confirmed w her gynae that is normAl to LS - visit toilet ;)

Annie- how come they prescribe fish oil? Is it cheaper than we buy frm pharmacy? So far my fish oil is small size like 5 cents sizes so is easier to swallow than the big big calcium and other lei

the Oscar scan is done 12 weeks and full detail done at 20-22 weeks. U better confirm with them again or else the appointment to book Oscar scan will be delay too

suan mei - sour plums- better not to eat too much cos too acidic too. I realise aft eating, my nausea got worse snd vomit out a lot of gas and air, ESP when no appeitite n empty stomach, this make it worse lei;((

fish and I love to eat but we realize this problem aft eating too.. So maybe u have to monitor if realli cannot, drink Ginger tea. 1 of the mummy ask me to drink, at least helped abit on my nite nausea although I vomited out some Ginger tea that made my throat very hot

gnuly, it's either her machine is powerful or my intestines are really too dirty! Haha.

Linda, rach and M, thanks for your reply! I think it is not easy to be SAHM too but I'm toying with the idea.

Wanna ask all mummies on how you curb MS? What do you usually eat? Hubby and I live alone so we always buy from outside. I suddenly lost my appetite and can't eat much. The smell of pork is so disgusting to me now. I just ate a few spoonfuls of rice and vegetable and call it a day. Very scared I will vomit out.

Lailai - How about porridge? Cook some chicken porridge, add ginger... sesame oil... hmm... they perks my appetite.. hee hee...

Sometimes, when very nausea or xin ku, i drink hot milo... works for a while..

Hi Fish,

thks for the info on the different kinds of tests..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]now most of us would have a better idea...but tests usually done at wk 12 and wk 16 I so heard..2 tests and one is detailed scan or sometin....

btw, best nt to eat maggi mee..

Hi Chen,

you finished your thick neck test?

Hi Rach,

what BP..?(a bit blur)..

and saw some mentioning about to be working or SAH..My personal opinion is it depends on individuals and the kind of lifestyle each individual wants..and oso depends if the person wants to spend more on quality time with kids during the inital phrase,a few years of SAH is fine when the kiddio is young, that's when the good bond is established but when the kiddo grows up, no harm to rejoin society again..oso depends on the work stress, some work is more stressful than others , for those doing more" stressful roles" during preggy, best to rest I would tin..but some roles are "more easy"..so guess it doesnt matter...

haha..didnt movie stars always " retreat" once they are preggy....kekek..eg: zhang bo zi, zoe tay, laiyiling, zhaowei..kekekek

Lai- me too- although I cooked everyday for my boy n hubby, since I preggy, I dread sick of the pork, chicken and even hot dog... Even handling with the slicing part make me vomit

but I still have to cook sometime

Kristelle

Congrats on your twins. As far as I know it's better to have a gynae from KKH to handle multiples because they have better neo-natal facilities. Not scaring u but usually twins are born premies and they either have to stay in Special Care Unit (SCN) or Neonatal Care Unit (NCU). That's would naturally means that babies got to stay longer than mummy.

Unless you have already bought the Neonatal Insurances, which help very much in the hospital bills. Just using CPF alone sometimes no sufficient becos there is a limit to daily amount.

My gals were born at 34 weeks plus and they stayed for 21 days in SCN. My total bill for both of them comes close to 30K before CPF deduction and claim from the Neonatal Insurance. And this is from KKH, so can you imagine going to private hospitals? And I even asked for downgrading for my gals which I was pretty lucky to get, otherwise it would have been more.

But if you can manage to carry till full term, which is 37 weeks, that shouldn't be a problem. As long as the babies weight hits beyond 2kg and no major complications, they won't need to stay in SCN or NCU.

I had a friend with multiples also went for private hospital but towards the end of the 2nd trimester, she was referred back to KKH due to some complications.

I remembered seeing many sets of multiples in SCN all due to low birth weight. It's not easy lor. For me, no way I could do a proper confinement or rest properly bcos I have to go to hospital to deliver my BM. It's very tiring and with a C-section wound, I had to struggle everyday to the hospital until my gals are ready to discharge.

Thanks gnuly, I tried porridge for dinner and it works! But now, I'm hungry again. Hee.

Linda, I suspect I need to consult TCM 'cause I have indigestion and bowel problem before pregnancy. I used to take TCM medication to regular bowel movement. I belong to the yang deficiency and dampness. But since I got pregnant, I stop taking all TCM medication and all problems come back again. BTW, I just read from Internet that pork causes dampness. My diarrhoea has come back again since yesterday. Sigh.

Anyone is with Dr Adrian Woodsworth? Is he generous with medical leave? Or anyone can recommend any good and generous gynae? My hubby hopes I can rest at home for the whole of 1st trimester and my bosses are very supportive. I just need gynae to certify but my current gynae is sticky about it.

hi Lailai..

am with Adrian woodworth.. he's good only that he talks very fast.. u need to prepare with your quest when u see him if not , the moment he opens his mouth to speak.. u'll forget all the things u need to ask.. cuz that's what me and SIL faced.

For medical leave, yes.. he's very generous.. often he asked me how many days I need instead cuz his normal practice is 3 days MC even for normal consultation.. for yr case, you can check with him.. you can just see him and consult first.. don have to sign up the package first..

Hey rynn, thanks for your prompt reply! You are really a silent reader leh! =P

I heard many positive comments about him especially on his professionalism and stitching skills. However, negative comments are he's very 'chop chop' and gives people the 'bochup' feeling.

I am staying in Sengkang so I think I will give him a try. Thanks! =)

hehehe.. i dunno what to comment lor thats why i just read only.. trying not to be over excited.. am just relaxing and just enjoy the moment.. maybe my past experience taught me to be like this, u know its very devastating if u really expect something so hard and then things turn out otherwise..

he's not bo chup.. he's available on the phone always.. and if i face and prob.. he's always there to answer my queries.. maybe he appear very cool.. but i find him very fatherly..

Poky

I think I'm should be ready for the bad new soon. My body seemed to return back to normal. No tender breast or tender abdominal. The symptoms that I had earlier are all gone leh. Dun even feel nausea leh. will wait and see what happen the next few days.

Lailai

My previous gynae (SF loh from KKH) is very generous with MC. Most of the time I see him, wil give me 2 weeks. It like the entire pregnancy he offers me MC. My entire 1 trimester was MC all the way.

I think i need MC or Hospitalization leave badly... My whole stomach is so crunched up(dont know how to describe the feeling)

Vomit till nth to come out already... Yet still very super xin ku..

Worse thing is, im on night shift for next few days..

Mrs Teng - Maybe your MS is getting better? Be optimistic!!! =) will pray for u...

Hi Panda,

Thanks for your prompt response. How much does Dr Tanny charge per visit? I went to this gynae on my 1st visit and I wasn't happy with him. Due to the way he was talking to me. Felt that his EQ was somewhat low. This is my first pregnancy and I asked him if I could drink Green Tea, he told me to google it online. I mean, here I am paying good money and there he was, trying to be funny. Also, becos I was having identical twins, he told me that it wasn't his preferred type of twins since they are in the same 'house', they could jolly well fight to death. I was quite upset. I didn't think gynaes should speak in this manner should they? It was downright unprofessional! And yes, he also gave me this P medication which causes me to cough nonestop like a dog!So I will definitely want a switch in gynae.

Hi gnuly, thanks for the wishes. Yup I conceived them naturally. Me and hubby didn't plan for this pregnancy actually. It was an accident. =P I would have never tot in a million years that we would have twins.

Hi Mrs Teng,

Thanks for the detailed information. But it all sounds extremely scary and expensive. I am not very comfortable with govt hospitals as I have heard plenty of horror stories there and that the staff there are not very nice. I do not know how true that is but I am not about to take the risk. Yup, I know that the twins won't be able to last 40 weeks in the womb. At a mere 8 weeks, I have ballooned into this fat piece of lard. I cannot imagine if I am to carry these babies to full term. I think I will probably lose my balance and trip over myself. It's horrifying to learn that I have put on 7kg. I am eating more meals but I don't eat that much each time. Oddly, the smell of coffee, which used to mesmerize me each time, puts me off and makes me nauseated. Oh and I will need to ask you this, after going thru a C-sect, will it be possible for us to engage the malay massage lady to help us lose weight? Or is that not possible due to the C-sect wound?

Kristelle - Lucky you!!!! Do you have any MS?

Wow... 7kg at 8th week... That's quite a lot hor...

rynn, I understand. Just gonna keep ourselves occupied and positive at the same time! =)

Mrs Teng, look at the brighter side! Will keep you in my prayers too. Thanks for the recommendation! =)

gnuly, you should go and get yourself covered! For me, I didn't vomit out food but gastric juice. I've been tossing on the bed for hours due to nausea, queasy stomach (lots of gas, keep farting) & excess saliva in my mouth! I kept going to the toilet also. Mine is not MS..is NS (night sickness)..thank goodness I'm on medical leave...else I really wonder how to go to work?!

Lailai... how to get covered? omg.. i also want... everyday i work, i nurse patients, see them vomit or nauseated, only make me run to another room to puke myself..

Sigh... My next appt is 18days away....

Lailai - oh, talk abt NS... Mine is also something like that.. Or rather its throughout the whole day, worse during night time...