(2011/03) Mar 2011

Angelina & butter8,

What makes you to b a sahm? Partly nobody can help me. Tried send both girls to CC when my #2 turn 18mths beginning of e year. End result? Work near 3mths taken too much leave Cos they sick n Hubby also on off take. End up I feel so bad I quit n back to square one. And now preg with #3... Hubby prefer me contd stay home focus e kids but I still have my concerns... Not easy to raise kids financially too in Singapore. Wanted to find part time but looks tough as I do not have high qualification only diploma. I am not into accounting job too.

Hai don't even dare to think. Pri sch also have problem. Who going to fetch e kids if I work full time?

Zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Cynthia : hubby prefers me to be a sahm, at least til both my kids in primary school. When they're much older n more independent

I know my friend from another thread is doing part time job from home. She's like doing survey on line etc, it's not much but at least she earns something n she can do conveniently from her house. Usually requires 2-3 hours a day

i was on MC yday...zzz whole afternoon, today check got 2 pages to read...

cynthia: ya care corner going to increase price next january. PG i think still affordable...infantcare is the killer...but its still cheapest in sbw la..so prob just stick with it. furthermore i build up good relationship with the teachers lor...

but no doubt i am very tempted to transfer them...cos new centre ma...then bigger more facilities i think...

care corner, if got sibling there, got priority place for the younger one...so my #2 confirm got space there lor.

won_mummy: i would say there is no good or bad IFC...

of cos if u pay a premium, there are more facilities/area/stuff to entertain your kids...

there are no web that u can read about IFC...

to me the main points i consider is:

1. fully aircon? i prefer not too..

2. location easy for me to pick up if hubby not free?

3. turnover rate of teachers?

4. good management of centre

5. involvement of teachers

6. price affordable? not mark up cos of branded?

poky: please gimme more info...home? edd? hospital?

cynthia: how much u pay for the school bus fee at star learners? they were closed in sept for 10 days right for hfmd?

there seems to have alot of kids...

that is the main point lor, when the child is sick, me & hub got to take turns to take leave. actually i think generally their immune system gets better after 1 yr old...before they turn one, i didnt give #1 anything else la...

Angelina,

You can check www.childcarelink.gov.sg for a full price of all childcare in singapore.

My hubby also prefer me to contd SAHM.. just that I know my temper very well.. cannot stay home too long. Kids really change my life. I am someone used to put work first, ignore family and enjoy having meeting up wth friends, makan drinking etc... now is hahaha "yellow face wife". Fully into this family & like cannot part them even for 1-2days! Horrible.

Hi angelina, im looking at Pat schhouse at Mount sinai for my 17 mnth gal ..msot of the play area non aircon. they only on aircon to let them sleep. the environment seems not bad. but its too ex n im still considering the pm shift.

Hi cynthia, Im going to be SAHM when my 2nd bb comes out. i fully understd becoming "yellow face wife"..realli seems boring to stay at home everyday but when i see my gal learn to walk learn to talk each day..realli very happi.

Hi Angelina, my gal is in pats, but i'm not sure how to tell u the worth. haha. I guess the high fees is more for the ratio they have to the kids and the facilities and space they maintain. So far, I find the teachers very good and passionate. They have trained nurses to care for the infants frm 2mths to crawlers, after which the walkers will progress to another class, seperated frm the babies and crawlers.

Their ratio is 1:3 for 2mths to 17mths, and 1:6 for >18mths to 30mths. Hope this little helps. Recently, one of their teachers received the best infant educater award from MCYS. Sounds like I'm selling the school, but so far, so good to me la. My gal's was in since she was 6mths.

Nway, my gal ended up there as a last resort, couldnt find another place with immediate vacancy. Plus, my hub and myself fell in love with the place when we visited it. hee.

They just held a childrens' day celebration last week. I've some photos on their venue and I think u're on my fb, hope they can help give u some pictures or ideas.

2Ks,

Yup alot of kids. Partly they are 2 storey along those terrace house. PG & N1 classes all at level 1, while N2 - K2 all above. Like the place partly is the outdoor play. That time I enrol them school fees is $600 before subsidy. Heard they going increase to $700! When I send them I still working so enjoy e -$300 lo.

School bus for both girls are $160.

I am trying to find nearby so I can reduce the cost of school bus. Care Corner is out as they told me the long wait list. Little Campus also. My First skool the same. So fed up. Its my frd told me star learners opening new class and she just send her gal there so I faster enrol both of them since they also like the place there.

Now I also try to slow pace. last night arguement with hubby. Perhaps been preg will be more emotional Just felt he can't get my concerns lo. He still insisted I continue SAHM even till my #1 go to Pri 1 in another 2 yrs time. He say my life will be busy enough with 3 kids!

#1 pri 1, #2 k1, #3 gg PG! He told me need alot of attention n supervision blah blah blah. All he say he say.

He grow in a family whereby HIS mum is not working and take care of 4 of his siblings. That why I guess it projects that HE want me to do the same as his mum EXCEPT having 4 kids la ! hahahaha

My Concerns is always $ la. can say i $ minded... always felt not giving my child e best... I will envy with those kids that their parents send to enrichment etc.. whilst I cannot. I can only home school them to my means. Worry they might lose out etc. THis is KIASU mummy attitude haha.

Sorry for e long complaint...

chen let me add u..i kepo pat school house concert..

pat schoool house is my #1 choice..but hubby dont agree n with #2..i also think we shouldnt splurge so much on #1..

when to see the winnign teacher..apparently my son's senior infant care teacher is also nominated as one for the 5 finalist..

i would say that teacher is very smart, sometimes maybe too street smart that can manipulate etc..lip service #1..but wat i tell her i have confident she will execute..not those blur blur kind lor..

i went to see pico again..if u wana know more can email me...i will add u on FB...

cynthia: no no...u are always free to rant here man...

i can understand...i am the opposite...

deep in my heart, sometimes i also think of being a sahm, so that i can devote 100% time to my children. but i know i cant...

u are not alone lor, sometimes i also tot that i am giving my child not enough. like my previous thread, they have the buy virus, if this one buy, everyone will buy, whereas i cant afford lor..

then everyone will join those extra classes during weekends, which i know i cant afford to spend those money always...

my hub always console me, said they are still young, they wont understand as much as now they more focus on play...just send them to cc is good enough...

the only consolation, your children grew close to you, u know their characters well, and i am sure they love you lots too! i believe when u see their smiles (minus the naughty), everything is worth it right??

we are so nearby, we arrange for a meet up soon ya?? yday i was just mentioning to my hubby that i made a new 'friend' who stay near us...

cynthia

my hubby everyday tel me the best arrangement is for me to be at SAHM after #2 comes out...but i worry if i attempt , it will be a point of no return,...

say if i cant make it as a SAHM, then i need to go back to work n make arrangement all over for the two kids

i say 2 conditions for me to be a SAHM, i need a car and a maid...he willing to give me his car but not that maid...sigh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

coz i dont like to stay home..i like to go out even with the kid etc...but if i have 2 i cant manage..i need another helper if i go out right?

Hey Cynthia

Your kids are not losing out, they are having your full time attention which is the best in the world. I guess $ matters always come into all parents' concern, and we all want the best for our kids.

After reading your last comments, I cant stop wondering how 'heck care' I am as a mother...wahahah cause my gal is now 20 months and we just bring her to my mum's place where she just eat, sleep, watch TV and then we bring her home in the evening.

just my 2cent worth.

jaime: have u ever like half hearted like, u wanna have maid to help you at home but at the same time also feel like sending the baby to ifc?

for me its either one, maid of IFC...but cos i seen what #1 learn at school, i choose ifc...but sometimes when the kid get sick, i get paranoid

Jaime, accepted yr request on fb liao. U met the winning teacher, Jessica? Actually, I've no idea how she emerged as the winner, but I know she takes lots of initiatives with the infants. Once, my gal was running a temp, she didn't wait for us to fetch her, which was towards the end of the day liao. She sponged and washed her to bring the temp down. Thought that was a nice gesture.

Oh, btw, their performance is postponed till tmr, due to heavy rain last week. So, I'm excited abt tmr... haha.

2Ks, feeling better ???

Cynthia, I know how you feel, you just want to provide the BEST for your kids, wat 2Ks said is right, I'm sure the rewards received later in life from your kids,will make your decision the right 1. Dun worry too much 1st, everything will fall in place, after #3 then see how you cope then maybe can sign up for part time work first lor. Chill gal, if not kena pre/post natal depression that's worse for everyone!

I also secretly hopes to be a sahm but i know I can't. My character doesn't give me the postive acknowledge to be a sahm. Who knows, I might change once I see my #1 then #2 and so on......

btw, just to ask for IFC, do the teachers 'teach' the babies? I mean they are like 3 - 9 months, how to teach, just play & feed them only right? Think I'm going to recce the IFC near my place before I make my decision to see who will be looking after my bb.

Jamie,

You still not bad your hubby give you a car. I have bicycle i very happy hahaha. With more kids we chose to give up all e luxury. But I am glad is we do not have car to add on the extra burden. Hubby is someone he prefer more kids. Very family oriented. He do helps in housework, bathing the gals n playing with them EXCEPT coaching cos he tell me he is not a good teacher.

2Ks,

I told Hubby made new frd too. He say I should have more nearer frd to share to help to talk etc. Your Hubby same thoughts as mine. Felt going enrichment is like a commercial needs. At this age should enjoy childhood and love study & schooling instead of packing them with so much enrichment. Pri sch have more activites up for them too so tell me not to worry.

fangfang,

At 20mths still ok. My #2 is 28mths I didn't stress her so much as her jiejie whom is 4yo. I only intro drawings, painting, colouring, pasting, motor skills like building blocks. Still not so worry for toddlers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You have more time for her too yeah.

Sometime when we have more kids, will tends to neglect either one I really agree. SOmetime I neglect my #1 or #2 either. When #3 is out, for sure BB is getting all the attention. Now what I can do it get the gals to involve in #3 activites like taking diapers, washing dirty clothes, changing etc. Hope will let them bond this way.

Hugs Hugs! Thanks to all mummies hearing my complaints...If not keep inside will become depression hai..

Seriously, I have not even tot of how to settle my #2 (see how heck care I am) wahahaah, with my #1 and my sister's new born at my mum's place, I am also lost, tried CC but around my area are all full, tot of having a maid to help my mum, but scared the maid gives me problem.

Sigh....

tres: thanks...feeling much better after sleeping...sleep too much end up i cant sleep at nite.

about IFC, their age is more to play...and they learn thru play...like they sing songs to the kids, practice motor skills with them...

like my son, the school taught him how to come down from a slide safely, so now whenever he saw a new slide, he always use the safe way 1st before sliding from the front. the school teaches him songs, dances...its actually cute when u see the kid, coming back and show u what he learn in school.

to be frank, i do not have much time to sing song, read books with him...all he learn is from school...

and best of all...i forget how to sing those children songs la..LOL

they do flash cards too...if u are in my FB, u can see my photos under at infantcare...

they also teach him how to get along with other kids, now when my boy see a baby, he will want to sayang and rock the baby leh...

Tres,

I guess for IFC their program will be music & movement & motor skills. Music playing and let them learn to grip hold objects bah....

fangfang: #2 i also feel that i am very very bo chup...haha...maybe still too early to think...will get my butt moving and start preparing in december ba..

cynthia: add me to msn if u have, we can chat there, [email protected]

ya, talk to me more la...keep yr mind sane man...its not easy to be sahm, in fact kudos to you...i definitely more bo chup than you...everything leave to the cc...

generally, everyday after work and house chores, i basically have no extra time to bond with my #1, so i always tell myself, weekends are for my kids...

sometimes i look at my dogs, i pity them also la cos less time with them, so i made sure my love is evenly shared lor...erm...hubby will be the last...wakakaka...

cynthia.he not buying a car for me..he say i drive his car..he take public to work lor...

chen, the teacher i am mentioning from my IFC,she also got nominated..but prob didnt win coz jessica won right..i wonder where can see the finalist n winners..

2ks..if got maid ah..i prob wont do full day IFC, maybe half day or play group like 2-3hours..

or maybe got JG play nest that kind 2-3 times a week...coz i am not trained as a childhood education teacher ..i guess IFC will do a preset curriculum etc..

Moshi moshi..How's everyone. Busy closing...i start to dislike my job [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Airmex- i do get tt kind of feeling like u. And i usually try to rest more on bed, less walking

2k- this is the website for pte yoga class. We need 6 to start leh. They even have pte aqua fitness...i am also keen on that. Let see if any north side mummies keen anot...Other than Cynthia, i also stay so near u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.inspiremumbaby.com/inspiremumdetails.asp?no=1

oh ya... I'm still nursing bad cough, refuses to take cough mixture except at night.

Anyone heard anything that coughng can do to affect the bb?

I'm worried, been coughing hard, hope the bb is still growing well inside!

Cynthia,

wah! after reading your post.. i think your hubby very similar with my hubby lor! most of the points you written to Jamie and 2Ks are what i'm going to see and experience after our 1st BB out in next March...

bb rabit: yup...i know u are very near, u wanna eat my home cooked food ma...LOL...

your gynae give u green light already? aqua fitness i not keen...i scared of water...kekekeke

tres: i suggest taking medicine...it will speed up yr recovery...then u faster recover than good for baby ma...like i sick, i take medicine, cos i dont wanna to suffer another day! get well faster than good for baby...

what kind of cough is it? cold or hot cough? if hot cough, can take some hashima..its good

tres: hot cough is like with green phlegm...

yours is dry cough then u can take some hashima to nourish your throat...

Fish- I m good....JUST super busy wif qter end closing and also my pregnacy induced gastric plus v mild spotting..still busy today..but decided to make myself happier by popping in. ...when will my nitemare end....

2k- I think i can go ahead bah, since i start to walk ard our flat every nite after dinner, 1 round..I will add u to my msn later as well...i am just 3 blk away...3XXc....u sure can invite me over for dinner...

Tres- U can try honey...if it is heaty cough...eat it..i took UMT 20 manuka honey when i was coughing like mad during ivf

Fish- BTW, the clothing we ordered few wk ago in Sept will arrive next wk...so happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks,

Added you. usually I will online during day time. Afternoon depends haha.

Fish,

No worries, just take as some pointers. Sometime when you start been a SAHM, after a while ok. Starting I also cannot take it. ALot things to do and proper time management too. But slower as it gets routine... ok

jaime, thanks! I was looking for the webby on the awards and u found it.

allets, can can. I'll be at somerset, wat time will u be dropping by? My lunch is between 12 to 2pm.

bb rabit: ya..we have a sembawang party...kekeke...i on for the yoga la..but not enough people leh...

come in here will make u happier huh...then come in more!

cynthia, i hope u found comfort in this forum and in 2k. hee. In fact, it's really a privilege to be a SAHM. I aim to be one too, yet there are so many 'buts' in my mind...

Perhaps, along the way, more mummies here will be joining yr 'industry'... potentially me. haha.

2Ks, isn't hashima too 'lang' for us??

Bb rabit, it was mentioned that take honey will promote phlegm, my phlegm just went away wor!

Take doc medicine will be drowsy lah, can't afford a few more MCs.. been taking a lot!!

calling for North side mummies, pls let 2k or me know if u are keen on yoga. 10 class for 300 buck, homebased.

2k- I m so so happy suddenly. "cos i got my parcel from a spree. The ON size S tshirt is too too huge for me, make me feel tt i m slim 'cos S also too big. HAHHAHA. Self denial

Cynthia- I always saluate to SAHM. I can never b one, 'cos i need to provide for my parent, also not my character. I cannot tahan 24/7 on standby.

tres: add a few pcs of pao sheng then wont liang ...or add longan..

hashima good for cough....but of cos....everything anything in moderation, same applies to bird nest okie..

bb rabit: hahaha! you very cute...okie, maybe u see me then u will feel smallish still ok!

lets meet up soon! kekeke

2k- Sure. I m FAT lor. just tt i got small shoulder n boob, tt why loose mah...hahah. But at arm/ tummy, just right [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bb rabit: i tell u hor...when u are engorged hor...i think u wont think u got no boobs...prob u cant recognise them anymore! LOL

mummies with #1, need your tips for own reference.... (i know still early to ask now.. juz wana to know to gain some knowledge)..

few mths later when we are abt to give birth le! when should be the best time to call our gynae if we suspect we are going to give birth?

wat are the steps.. i wana to write down somewhere and guide hubby nx time...